ARCHIVED - Process for Amending the Cost Recovery Regulations

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The National Energy Board (NEB) has completed the process for amending the National Energy Board Cost Recovery Regulations as they relate to the allocation of costs within the electricity industry.

The amendments arose from a 2004 request from several members of the electricity industry for a review of the cost recovery methodology for the electricity industry. Changes in the structure of the Canadian electricity industry had resulted in a separation of the transmission function from generation, distribution and marketing, including exporting. The existing Regulations allocated recoverable costs attributable to regulation of the electricity industry to electricity exporters. The amended Regulations instead recover NEB costs attributable to regulation of the electricity industry from power line companies, thus resulting in a more equitable cost recovery structure while retaining the existing attribution and recovery mechanisms

Starting in 2005, the NEB engaged regulated companies, industry associations and potentially interested parties about the issue, options, criteria for evaluation of options and proposed amendments. Engagement activities have included letters, workshops and meetings and opportunities to provide comment on the proposed amendments. Below is all public information related to the process.

December 2009. Publication: Canada Gazette, Part II

The Regulations Amending the National Energy Board Cost Recovery Regulations were published in the 9 December 2009 Canada Gazette, Part II, and come into force on 1 January 2010. The substantive changes in the amended Regulations affect regulated electricity companies only. They require that costs currently recovered from electricity exporters be instead recovered from NEB-regulated power line companies that transport electricity. Each company is allocated a levy based on the amount of energy that it transmits. There will also be a levy on newly approved power line companies equal to 0.2% of the capital cost to construct the applied-for facilities.

August 2009. Pre-publication: Canada Gazette, Part I

The draft of the Regulations Amending the National Energy Board Cost Recovery Regulations was pre-published in Part I of the Canada Gazette on 8 August 2009 with a one month review period to 8 September 2009. Following are the written comments submitted during the Canada Gazette, Part I, review period.

A discussion of the comments received is available in the Regulatory Impact Assessment Statement published on the Canada Gazette Website, Part II: Official Regulations, Wednesday, December 9, 2010, Vol. 143, No. 25.

Electricity Cost Recovery Concept Development and Review (2005-2006)

The Board has received the following comments in relation to the Electricity Cost Recovery Concept:

The Board is pleased to present the proposed cost recovery concept for the electricity sector. Written comments on the concept shall be filed with the Secretary of the Board by 20 February 2006.

Information Session 19 January 2006

National Energy Board Electricity Cost Recovery Workshop - Summary of Workshop Discussion - 2 June 2005

Electricity Cost Recovery Alternatives

The NEB engaged Chymko Consulting Ltd. as a cost recovery consultant to provide assistance in a review of the NEB's electricity cost recovery regulations. As part of the project, Chymko Consulting was asked to research electricity cost recovery methodologies of other countries and Canadian jurisdictions and provide a written report to that effect. The report is titled Electricity Cost Recovery Alternatives [PDF 515 KB].

2 June 2005 Workshop Presentations and Documents

Background Information

Useful links

Cost Recovery

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Processus de modification du règlement sur le recouvrement des frais

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

L'Office national de l'énergie (ONÉ) a achevé le processus de modification du Règlement sur le recouvrement des frais de l'Office national de l'énergie concernant l'affectation des frais au sein du secteur de l'électricité.

Les modifications ont fait suite aux demandes formulées en 2004 par plusieurs membres de l'industrie de l'électricité pour que l'Office revoie la méthodologie de recouvrement de ses frais dans ce secteur. Des changements structurels survenus au sein de l'industrie canadienne de l'électricité ont eu pour effet de séparer la fonction transport des fonctions production, distribution et commercialisation, y compris l'exportation. Le Règlement actuel répartit entre les exportateurs d'électricité, les frais recouvrables qui sont afférents à la réglementation du secteur de l'électricité. Suivant les modifications proposées, ces frais seraient plutôt recouvrés auprès des compagnies de transport, créant ainsi une structure de recouvrement plus équitable, tout en conservant les mécanismes de répartition et de recouvrement actuels.

Dès 2005, l'Office a favorisé la participation des compagnies réglementées, des associations du secteur et des parties pouvant être intéressées dans la question, les possibilités qui pourraient exister en la matière, les critères d'évaluation de celles-ci ou les modifications proposées. En ce sens, il y a notamment eu des échanges de correspondance, des ateliers et des réunions visant à permettre de présenter des commentaires au sujet des modifications qui ont été proposées. Toute l'information publique ayant trait au processus se trouve ci-après.

Décembre 2009. Publication : Gazette du Canada, Partie II

Le Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur le recouvrement des frais de l'Office national de l'énergie a été publié le 9 décembre 2009 dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II, et entrera en vigueur le 1er janvier 2010. Les principaux changements dans le Règlement modifié touchent uniquement les compagnies d'électricité réglementées. En effet, les frais qui sont actuellement recouvrés auprès des exportateurs d'électricité le seront dorénavant auprès des compagnies de transport d'électricité réglementées par l'ONÉ. Chaque compagnie versera une contribution calculée en fonction de la quantité d'énergie transportée. De plus, les compagnies de lignes internationales nouvellement approuvées devront verser une contribution équivalant à 0,2 % du coût en capital des installations faisant l'objet d'une demande d'autorisation.

Août 2009. Publication préalable : Gazette du Canada, Partie I

Le projet de Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur le recouvrement des frais de l'Office national de l'énergie a fait l'objet d'une publication préalable dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 8 août 2009 et une période d'examen d'un mois terminé le 8 septembre 2009 a été allouée. Voici les lettres de commentaires reçues durant la période d'examen prévue dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada :

Les commentaires reçus ont fait l'objet d'une discussion qui a été documentée dans le Résumé de l'étude d'impact de la réglementation publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II : Règlement officiels, le mercredi 9 décembre 2009, vol. 143, no 25.

Élaboration et examen du concept de recouvrement des frais auprès du secteur de l'électricité (2005-2006)

L'Office a reçu les commentaires suivants sur le concept de recouvrement des frais auprès du secteur l'électricité :

L'Office a le plaisir de présenter le concept de recouvrement des frais auprès du secteur de l'électricité. Veuillez faire parvenir vos commentaires par écrit au secrétaire de l'Office d'ici le 20 février 2006.

Séance d'information le 19 janvier 2006

Atelier de l'Office national de l'énergie sur le recouvrement des frais auprès du secteur de l'électricité - Sommaire des délibérations de l'atelier - 2 juin 2005

Solution de rechange pour le des frais - Secteur de l'électricité

L'ONÉ a retenu les services de Chymko Consulting Ltd. à titre de consultant en matière de recouvrement des frais pour l'examen du règlement sur le recouvrement des frais de l'ONÉ auprès du secteur de l'électricité. Chymko Consulting a été mandaté pour étudier les méthodes que pratiquent les organismes de réglementation d'autres pays et d'autres provinces canadiennes pour recouvrer leurs frais auprès du secteur de l'électricité, et de produire un rapport en conséquence. Ce rapport est intitulé Electricity Cost Recovery Alternatives [anglais seulement : PDF 515 ko].

Présentations et documents de l'atelier du 2 juin 2005

Documents d'information

Liens utiles

Recouvrement des frais

Date de modification :