Forward Regulatory Plan 2017-2019: Regulations Amending the National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations (Miscellaneous Amendment Regulations)

Title or working title of the Regulatory Initiative:
National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations (Miscellaneous Amendment Regulations)

Description of the objective:
Enabling Act: National Energy Board Act

The Regulations Amending the Onshore Pipeline Regulations 1999, SOR/2013-49 clarified and consolidated management system requirements, outlined accountable officer provisions, included requirements for emergency management and security programs and renamed the regulations the National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations, SOR/99-294 (OPR). The OPR is made under subsection 48(2) of the National Energy Board Act. It provides the requirements that regulated pipeline companies must meet for managing safety, security and environmental protection throughout the lifecycle of their facilities, from design through to construction, operation and abandonment.

The Standing Joint Committee for the Scrutiny of Regulations (SJCSR) reviewed the 2013 amendments and identified a number of issues, including the clarity of certain terms, typographical and grammatical errors and inconsistencies between the English and French versions. The National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations (Miscellaneous Amendment Regulations) amends the OPR to address the issues raised by the SJCSR.

Indication of business impacts:
There are no expected business impacts.

Public consultation opportunities:
These are minor amendments and create no impact to stakeholders and the public. Through the Miscellaneous Amendment process, the amended regulations will be published in Canada Gazette, Part II, with no consultation period. Communication on this matter will occur on the NEB’s website.

Departmental contact:
Chantal Briand, Regulatory Drafting Specialist
National Energy Board
Suite 210, 517 Tenth Avenue SW
Calgary, Alberta T2R 0A8
(403) 292-4192 or 1-800-899-1265
chantal.briand@neb-one.gc.ca

Date modified:

Plan prospectif de la réglementation 2017-2019 : Règlement modifiant le Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres (le règlement correctif modifiant le Règlement)

Titre définitif ou provisoire de l’initiative de réglementation
Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres (le règlement correctif modifiant le Règlement)

Description de l’objectif
Loi habilitante : Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie

Le Règlement modifiant le Règlement de 1999 sur les pipelines terrestres, DORS/2013-49 clarifie et regroupe les exigences relatives aux systèmes de gestion; souligne les dispositions concernant le dirigeant responsable; inclut les exigences pour le programme de gestion des urgences et le programme de sécurité, et renomme le règlement Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres, DORS/99-294 (le RPT). Le RPT est pris en application du paragraphe 48(2) de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’Office. Il énonce les exigences que doivent remplir les sociétés pipelinières réglementées pour gérer la sûreté, la sécurité et la protection environnementale tout au long du cycle de vie de leurs installations, de la conception jusqu’à la cessation d’exploitation, en passant par la construction et l’exploitation.

Le Comité mixte permanent d’examen de la réglementation (le comité mixte) a passé en revue les modifications de 2013 et a relevé des problèmes, notamment le manque de clarté de certains termes, des erreurs typographiques et grammaticales, et des incompatibilités entre les versions anglaise et française. Le Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres (le règlement correctif modifiant le Règlement) modifie le RPT de manière à corriger les problèmes soulevés par le comité mixte.

Répercussions sur les entreprises
Aucune répercussion sur les activités n’est prévue.

Possibilités de consultation publique
Il s’agit de modifications mineures n’ayant aucun effet sur les parties prenantes et le public. Le règlement modifié sera publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II, au moyen du processus de règlement correctif modifiant le Règlement, sans période de consultation. Les communications à ce sujet seront affichées dans le site Web de l’Office.

Personne-ressource
Chantal Briand, Spécialiste, rédaction de règlements
Office national de l’énergie
517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., bureau 210
Calgary (Alberta)  T2R 0A8
(403) 292-4192 ou 1-800-899-1265
chantal.briand@neb-one.gc.ca

Date de modification :