Forward Regulatory Plan 2017-2019: Regulations Amending the National Energy Board Export and Import Regulatory Framework

Title or working title of the Regulatory Initiative:
Regulations Amending the National Energy Board Export and Import Regulatory Framework

Description of the objective:
Enabling Act: National Energy Board Act

On 6 July 2012, the Government of Canada enacted the Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity Act which made amendments to parts of the National Energy Board Act (Act) that affect the National Energy Board’s (NEB or Board) export and import regulatory framework.

In order to make changes to the NEB’s export and import regulatory framework, the Board will propose amendments to the National Energy Board Part VI (Oil and Gas) Regulations, the National Energy Board Electricity Regulations and the National Energy Board Export and Import Reporting Regulations. Concurrently, the Board will propose amendments to the Toll Information Regulations.

Indication of business impacts:
There may be business impacts. The "One-for-One" Rule and/or the small"business lens may apply.

Public consultation opportunities:
Proposed amendments to the NEB Export and Import Regulatory Framework were posted on the NEB website for public comment from August to October 2013. The Board received 11 letters of comment regarding the proposed amendments. These letters have also been posted on the NEB website. Draft regulations amending the regulations described above will be pre-published in the Canada Gazette, Part I for a 30-day public comment period, anticipated for fall 2018.

Departmental contact:
Suchaet Bhardwaj, Market Analyst
National Energy Board
Suite 210, 517 Tenth Avenue SW
Calgary, Alberta  T2R 0A8
(403) 299-2746 or 1-800-899-1265
suchaet.bhardwaj@neb-one.gc.ca

Date modified:

Plan prospectif de la réglementation 2017-2019 : Règlement modifiant le cadre de réglementation de l’Office national de l’énergie en matière d’exportation et d’importation

Titre définitif ou provisoire de l’initiative de réglementation
Règlement modifiant le cadre de réglementation de l’Office national de l’énergie en matière d’exportation et d’importation

Description de l’objectif
Loi habilitante : Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie

Édictée le 6 juillet 2012, la Loi sur l’emploi, la croissance et la prospérité durable a eu pour effet de modifier certaines parties de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, ce qui a eu une incidence sur le cadre de réglementation en matière d’exportation et d’importation.

Dans le but de modifier son cadre de réglementation en matière d’exportation et d’importation, l’Office proposera des changements aux Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie concernant le gaz et le pétrole (partie VI de la Loi), Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie concernant l’électricité et Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les rapports relatifs aux exportations et importations Parallèlement, l’Office proposera des modifications au Règlement sur les renseignements relatifs aux droits.

Répercussions sur les entreprises
Il peut y avoir des incidences sur les entreprises. La règle du « un pour un » et/ou la lentille des petites entreprises peuvent s’appliquer.

Possibilités de consultation publique
Les modifications proposées au cadre de réglementation de l’Office visant les exportations et les importations ont été publiées sur son site Web, pour commentaires du public, du mois d’août au mois d’octobre 2013. L’Office a reçu 11 lettres de commentaires au sujet des modifications proposées. Ces lettres ont elles aussi été publiées sur son site Web. L’ébauche des modifications à la réglementation dont il est question plus haut fera l’objet d’une publication préalable dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I pour commentaires du public pendant une période de 30 jours, prévue à l’automne 2018.

Personne-ressource au ministère
Suchaet Bhardwaj, analyste du marché
Office national de l’énergie
517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., bureau 210
Calgary (Alberta)  T2R 0A8
403-299-2746 ou 1-800-899-1265
suchaet.bhardwaj@neb-one.gc.ca

Date de modification :