ARCHIVED – Notice of Proposed Regulatory Change - NEB Damage Prevention Regulations

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

File Ad-GA-ActsLeg-Fed-NEBA-RRG-DPR 0201
18 November 2013

To: Oil and Gas Companies under the Jurisdiction of the National Energy Board and
Interested Parties

Notice of Proposed Regulatory Change (NOPRC) 2013-01 - National Energy Board Damage Prevention Regulations

Experience has shown that many incidents involving pipelines are caused by construction and excavation activities. Unsafe practices during these activities can cause damage to pipelines and put the safety of people and the environment at risk. Pipeline safety is the National Energy Board's (NEB's) top priority. The NEB will take all available actions to protect Canadians and the environment.

The responsibility to prevent pipeline damage is shared between anyone who plans to undertake construction or excavation near a pipeline and the pipeline company. Other parties with a key role in preventing damage include one-call centers, pipeline locators and regulators. The NEB's regulatory framework for damage prevention is designed to make sure companies and individuals are effective in managing safety and environmental protection when working near NEB-regulated pipelines (pipelines).

The National Energy Board (Board) is proposing to amend its regulations relating to damage prevention as set out in the attached NOPRC 2013-01. The regulations that will be amended as a result of this initiative are the National Energy Board Pipeline Crossing Regulations, Part I (PCR Part I) National Energy Board Pipeline Crossing Regulations, Part II (PCR Part II) and Onshore Pipeline Regulations (OPR). These proposed amendments advance the regulation development commitment made in the NEB's Damage Prevention Framework Plan (February 2012) as well as commitments made in the July 2011 Action Plan on Safety and Environmental Protection. On 28 December 2012, the NEB published the Discussion Paper - Proposed Changes to NEB Regulations for Damage Prevention. Stakeholders were invited to comment on four key topics of discussion. The comments received were considered in the development of the NOPRC.

At this time, the Board invites all regulated companies and interested parties to provide comments on NOPRC 2013-01. The Board is also seeking input on the type of guidance that may be required to accompany the proposed sections contained in NOPRC 2013-01. The closing date for submitting comments is 18 December 2013.

The NOPRC 2013-01, attached to this letter, can also be found on the Board's website under Acts and Regulations/Regulations, Guidance Notes and Related Documents under the National Energy Board Act/Proposed changes to the National Energy Board Damage Prevention regulations with a set of Questions and Answers for more information.

Comments may be provided electronically or in hard copy by mail or by fax sent to the contact information below.

NOPRC 2013-01 NEB Damage Prevention Regulations
Sheri Young
Secretary of the Board
National Energy Board
444 - 7th Avenue S.W.
Calgary, AB  T2P 0X8
Facsimile 403-299-5503 or 1-877-288-8803
Email damagepreventionregs@neb-one.gc.ca

If you have any questions please contact Andrea Hardi
(andrea.hardie@neb-one.gc.ca) at 403-292-8604 or by calling 1-800-899-1265.

Yours truly,

Sheri Young
Secretary of the Board

Attachment


Notice of Proposed Regulatory Change - NEB Damage Prevention Regulations
File Ad-GA-ActsLeg-Fed-NEBA-RRG-DPR 0201

Pipeline Crossing Regulations, Part 1 & Part 2
Onshore Pipeline Regulations
NOTICE OF PROPOSED REGULATORY CHANGE
NOPRC 2013-01

The National Energy Board (NEB) is proposing to amend its regulations relating to damage prevention as set out in the attached NOPRC 2013-01. This notice of proposed amendment is intended to advance the regulation development commitment made in the NEB's Damage Prevention Framework Plan (February 2012) as well as commitments made in the July 2011 Action Plan on Safety and Environmental Protection. The NOPRC 2013-01 also reflects the NEB's expectation for continual improvement to ensure companies and individuals are effective in managing safety and environmental protection when working near NEB-regulated pipelines. The regulations that will be amended as a result of this initiative are the National Energy Board Pipeline Crossing Regulations, Part I (PCR Part I), National Energy Board Pipeline Crossing Regulations, Part II (PCR Part II) and National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations (OPR).

On 26 June 2013, Canada's Minister of Natural Resources, the Honourable Joe Oliver, announced the Government of Canada's latest steps to enhance Canada's pipeline system   (Media Release). These measures outline a commitment to strengthen Canada's pipeline safety system (Backgrounder). As a result of this announcement, several legislative amendments are anticipated and consequential regulation amendments may follow. The proposed amendments have not yet been introduced in Parliament. Changes to regulations that may be required subsequent to the proposed legislative amendments announced by the Minister are not included in the NOPRC 2013-01.

Proposed Amendment

Titles

The titles of the National Energy Board Pipeline Crossing Regulations, Part I and the National Energy Board Pipeline Crossing Regulations, Part II will be amended to become the National Energy Board Pipeline Damage Prevention Regulations, Part I and the National Energy Board Pipeline Damage Prevention Regulations, Part II. The replacement of the word "Crossing" with "Damage Prevention" will better reflect the activities that the regulation governs.

Interpretation

"One-Call Centre" means an organization that, within a defined geographical area coordinates requests for locates and notifies its potentially affected members of any proposed ground disturbances, constructions, installations, or excavations for the purposes of protecting their facilities from damage and ensuring public safety.

Effective and Timely Communication

PCR Part I will be amended to require anyone planning construction or excavation within the area prescribed in the National Energy Board Act to make a locate request by contacting a One-Call centre at least three working days before the day on which the construction or excavation is to start. If a One-Call centre is not established in the area, parties are required to contact the pipeline company directly at least three working days before the day on which the construction or excavation is to start.

PCR Part II will be amended to require pipeline companies to be members of One-Call centres in geographical areas where a centre exists and the company has a pipeline.

Safe Work Practices for Construction and Excavation

PCR Part I will be amended to clarify that any project owner (e.g. a municipality) who undertakes any construction or excavation activities to which the Regulation applies will be responsible for the supervision and monitoring of all persons working on behalf of the project owner, including employees, contractors, and sub-contractors.

Damage Prevention Programs with a Management System Approach

PCR Part II will be amended to require pipeline companies to have a Damage Prevention Program, which includes the following components:

  • a public awareness program to inform the public of the presence of the pipeline, how to work safely near the pipeline, how to respond to an emergency relating to a damaged pipeline, and the services of One-Call centres, where established,
  • guidelines on information required in requests by third parties for written permission,
  • ongoing monitoring of the use of the land on which the pipeline is located and the land adjacent to the pipeline right-of-way,
  • a process to ensure timely responses to locate requests,
  • ongoing emergency responder education,
  • standards for pipeline locates, and
  • a process to manage the movement of vehicles and mobile equipment across the pipeline.

The OPR will be amended to identify the Damage Prevention Program as a sixth distinct program area to which the management system requirements apply.

Low Risk Crossings by Agricultural Vehicles

PCR Part I and PCR Part II will be amended to capture the intent of Order MO-21-2010: An Exemption Order Respecting Crossings by Agricultural Vehicles or Mobile Equipment. This amendment will allow the NEB to maintain, in one location, all regulations and orders pertaining to the prevention of damage to pipelines.

At this time, the NEB will not be making any significant changes to the intent of the Order; however some of the wording may be amended to better match the wording already found in the current NEB regulations. The NEB follows Treasury Board guidelines and Department of Justice requirements for the regulation drafting and amendment process. The final wording of any proposed regulatory amendments is subject to the Department of Justice's legal drafting requirements and Governor in Council approval.

Related Documents:

Questions and Answers - Notice of Proposed Regulatory Change (NOPRC) - NEB Damage Prevention Regulations

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ – Avis de projet de modification réglementaire- Réglementation de l’Office national de l’énergie sur la prévention des dommages

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Dossier : Ad-GA-ActsLeg-Fed-NEBA-RRG-DPR 0201
Le 18 novembre 2013

Destinataires : Sociétés pétrolières et gazières du ressort de l'Office national de l'énergie et parties intéressées

Avis de projet de modification réglementaire (APMR) 2013-01 Réglementation de l'Office national de l'énergie sur la prévention des dommages

Madame, Monsieur,

L'expérience démontre que beaucoup d'accidents pipeliniers sont causés par des activités de construction et d'excavation. Les pratiques peu sûres peuvent causer des dommages et compromettre la sécurité des personnes et de l'environnement. La sécurité des pipelines est la priorité absolue de l'Office. L'ONÉ prend tous les moyens à sa disposition pour protéger la population canadienne et l'environnement.

La prévention des dommages incombe aux personnes qui planifient des travaux de construction ou d'excavation près des pipelines et aux entreprises pipelinières. Les centres d'appel unique, les localisateurs de pipelines et les organismes de réglementation jouent également un rôle clé dans la prévention des dommages. Le cadre de réglementation de l'ONÉ vise à assurer que les entreprises et les particuliers s'acquittent efficacement de leurs obligations en matière de sécurité et de protection de l'environnement quand ils travaillent près des pipelines réglementés par l'ONÉ (les pipelines). Les activités de surveillance de la conformité et d'exécution soutiennent ce cadre et servent à promouvoir le respect des exigences.

L'Office national de l'énergie propose de modifier sa réglementation sur la prévention des dommages de la manière indiquée dans l'APMR 2013-01 ci-joint. Les règlements qui seront ainsi modifiés sont le Règlement de l'Office national de l'énergie sur le croisement de pipe-lines, partie I, le Règlement de l'Office national de l'énergie sur le croisement de pipe-lines, partie II, et le Règlement de l'Office national de l'énergie sur les pipelines terrestres. Les modifications proposées vont dans le sens de l'engagement d'amélioration de la réglementation pris dans le Cadre de prévention des dommages publié par l'Office en février 2012, lui-même découlant des engagements pris en juillet 2011 dans le Plan d'action en matière de sécurité et de protection de l'environnement. Le 28 décembre 2012, il avait publié le Document de travail au sujet des modifications proposées à sa réglementation sur la prévention des dommages et il invitait alors les parties prenantes à faire part de leurs commentaires autour de quatre points de discussion clés. Les commentaires reçus ont été pris en compte pour l'élaboration de l'APMR.

À ce stade-ci, l'Office sollicite des commentaires sur l'APMR 2013-01 de la part de toutes les sociétés réglementées et parties intéressées. Il les invite également à faire des suggestions quant au type d'orientation qui pourrait être nécessaire pour accompagner les articles proposés dans l'APMR 2013-01. La date limite pour soumettre des commentaires est le 18 décembre 2013.

L'APMR 2013-01 joint à la présente, ainsi que des réponses à différentes questions visant à fournir un complément d'information à ce sujet, sont aussi disponibles dans le site Web de l'Office sous Lois et règlements/Règlements, notes d'orientation et documents connexes en vertu de la Loi sur l'Office national de l'énergie - Changements proposés à la réglementation de l'Office national de l'énergie sur la prévention des dommages.

Les commentaires peuvent être transmis par voie électronique, par la poste ou par télécopieur, comme suit :

APMR 2013-01
Réglementation de l'Office national de l'énergie sur la prévention des dommages
Sheri Young
Secrétaire de l'Office
Office national de l'énergie
444, Septième Avenue S.-O.
Calgary (Alberta)   T2P 0X8
Télécopieur : 403-299-5503 ou 1-877-288-8803
Courriel : preventiondesdommages@neb-one.gc.ca

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec Andrea Hardie au 403-292-8604, ou, sans frais, en composant le 1-800-899-1265.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

La secrétaire de l'Office,

Sheri Young

 

Pièce jointe

Avis de projet de modification réglementaire
Réglementation de l'Office national de l'énergie sur la prévention des dommages
Dossier : Ad-GA-ActsLeg-Fed-NEBA-RRG-DPR 0201

Règlement de l'Office national de l'énergie sur le croisement de pipe-lines, partie I
Règlement de l'Office national de l'énergie sur le croisement de pipe-lines, partie II

Règlement de l'Office national de l'énergie sur les pipelines terrestres
AVIS DE PROJET DE MODIFICATION RÉGLEMENTAIRE
APMR 2013-01

L'Office national de l'énergie propose de modifier sa réglementation sur la prévention des dommages de la manière indiquée dans l'APMR 2013-01 au moyen de changements qui veulent aller dans le sens de l'engagement d'amélioration de la réglementation pris dans le Cadre de prévention des dommages publié par l'Office en février 2012, lui-même découlant des engagements pris en juillet 2011 dans le Plan d'action en matière de sécurité et de protection de l'environnement. L'APMR 2013-01 rend en outre compte des attentes de l'Office en matière d'amélioration continue visant à garantir que les entreprises et les particuliers s'acquittent efficacement de leurs obligations relatives à la sécurité et à la protection de l'environnement quand ils travaillent près des pipelines de son ressort. Les règlements qui seront ainsi modifiés sont le Règlement de l'Office national de l'énergie sur le croisement de pipe-lines, partie I (RCP-I), le Règlement de l'Office national de l'énergie sur le croisement de pipe-lines, partie II (RCP-II), et le Règlement de l'Office national de l'énergie sur les pipelines terrestres (RPT).

Le 26 juin 2013, le ministre des Ressources naturelles du Canada, l'honorable Joe Oliver, a annoncé de nouvelles mesures du gouvernement du Canada pour renforcer le réseau pipelinier du pays (communiqué). Ces mesures découlent de l'engagement pour renforcer le régime de sécurité des pipelines au Canada (document d'information). L'annonce pourrait mener à plusieurs modifications législatives, puis à des modifications corrélatives dans la réglementation. Les modifications proposées n'ont pas encore été présentées au Parlement. Les modifications qui pourraient être apportées aux règlements suite aux modifications législatives proposées et annoncées par le ministre ne sont pas incluses dans l'APMR 2013-01.

Modifications proposées

Titres

Les titres Règlement de l'Office national de l'énergie sur le croisement de pipe-lines, partie I et Règlement de l'Office national de l'énergie sur le croisement de pipe-lines, partie II seront modifiés et deviendront Règlement de l'Office national de l'énergie sur la prévention des dommages aux pipelines, partie I et Règlement de l'Office national de l'énergie sur la prévention des dommages aux pipelines, partie II. Le remplacement des mots « le croisement des pipe-lines » par les mots « la prévention des dommages aux pipelines » rendra mieux compte des activités que le gouvernement régit.

Définitions

 « centre d'appel unique » Organisation qui coordonne, à l'intérieur d'une zone géographique définie, les demandes de localisation et avise ses membres susceptibles d'être concernés des remuements du sol, des travaux de construction, des ouvrages ou des travaux d'excavation projetés, dans le but de protéger leurs installations contre tout dommage et de garantir la sécurité du public.

Communications efficaces et en temps opportun

Le RCP-I sera modifié de telle manière à exiger de quiconque prévoit entreprendre des travaux de construction ou d'excavation à l'intérieur de la zone prescrite dans la Loi sur l'Office national de l'énergie qu'il présente une demande de localisation en communiquant avec un centre d'appel unique au moins trois jours ouvrables avant le début prévu des travaux. En l'absence d'un centre d'appel unique dans la région, les parties devront communiquer directement avec la société pipelinière au moins trois jours ouvrables avant le début prévu des travaux.

Le RCP-II sera modifié de telle manière à exiger des sociétés pipelinières qu'elles adhèrent aux centres d'appel unique déjà en place dans les régions géographiques où elles ont un pipeline.

Pratiques de travail sûres pour la construction et l'excavation

Le RCP-I sera modifié de telle manière à rendre plus clair le fait qu'il incombera à tout maître d'ouvrage (à savoir, une municipalité) qui entreprend des travaux de construction ou d'excavation visés par le Règlement de superviser et surveiller toutes les personnes qui travaillent au nom du maître d'ouvrage, qu'il s'agisse notamment d'employés, d'entrepreneurs ou de sous-contractants.

Programmes de prévention des dommages intégrant un système de gestion

Le RCP-II sera modifié de telle manière à exiger des sociétés pipelinières qu'elles disposent d'un programme de prévention des dommages comprenant les éléments suivants :

  • un programme de sensibilisation du public visant à informer celui-ci de la présence du pipeline, de la façon de travailler en toute sécurité près de ce dernier et de réagir en cas d'urgence s'il devait subir des dommages, ainsi que des centres d'appel unique qui pourraient déjà être en place;
  • des lignes directrices quant à l'information requise dans les demandes de permission écrites de tiers;
  • un suivi de l'utilisation qui est faite des terrains sur lesquels se trouve le pipeline et de ceux qui sont adjacents à l'emprise pipelinière;
  • un processus afin de répondre dans les délais voulus aux demandes de localisation;
  • une formation continue des intervenants en cas d'urgence;
  • des normes relatives à la localisation des pipelines;
  • un processus de gestion des véhicules et de l'équipement mobile qui croisent le pipeline.

Le RPT sera modifié de telle manière à ajouter un programme de prévention des dommages en tant que sixième programme distinct auxquelles les exigences relatives au système de gestion s'appliquent.

Croisements peu risqués par des machines agricoles

Le RCP-I et le RCP-II seront modifiés de telle manière à tenir compte de l'intention de l'ordonnance d'exemption MO-21-2010 relative aux croisements par des véhicules ou de l'équipement mobile agricole. L'Office sera ainsi en mesure de regrouper tous les règlements et ordonnances liés à la prévention des dommages aux pipelines.

L'Office n'a pas l'intention pour le moment de modifier de façon importante l'intention de l'ordonnance, mais il pourrait en changer le libellé de manière qu'il se rapproche davantage de celui qui se trouve déjà dans sa réglementation. L'Office respecte les lignes directrices du Conseil du Trésor et se plie aux exigences du ministère de la Justice relatives au processus de rédaction et de modification de règlements. Le libellé définitif de toute modification proposée à un règlement est assujetti aux exigences de rédaction juridique du ministère de la Justice et à l'agrément du gouverneur en conseil.

Documents pertinents :

Questions et réponses - Avis de projet de modification réglementaire (APMR) Réglementation de l'Office national de l'énergie sur la prévention des dommages

Date de modification :