Electricity Filing Manual – Guide C – Requirements For Substituted Service Applications

Table of Contents


When an applicant elects for federal law, certain sections of the NEB Act which are normally reserved for pipelines, also apply to IPLs pursuant to section 58.27 of the NEB Act. A reference to the word:

  • (a) a "company" were a reference to the applicant for or holder of the certificate issued in respect of the line;
  • (b) a "pipeline" or "line" were a reference to the international or interprovincial power line; and
  • (c) "hydrocarbons" were a reference to electricity.

Goal

The applicant provides sufficient information to demonstrate that they have attempted to locate and serve notices on the potentially affected landowner(s), in compliance with legislative requirements.

Filing Requirements

Sections 3 to 5 of the National Energy Board Substituted Service Regulations state:

  • 3. (1) Subject to subsection (2), where a company has been unable to effect personal service of a notice on a person after having made reasonable attempts to do so, the Board may, on application by the company, order substituted service of the notice on the person by one or more of the methods referred to in subsection 5(1).
  • (2) The Board shall not order substituted service of a notice on a person unless
    • (a) the Board is satisfied that personal service of the notice on the person is impractical in the circumstances; and
    • (b) the information provided in accordance with section 4(c) discloses that there is a reasonable possibility that substituted service of the notice on the person will bring the notice to the attention of that person.
  • 4. An application for an order under section 3 shall be made by filing with the Board five copies of a written application, with evidence by affidavit disclosing
    • (a) the efforts made to effect personal service;
    • (b) the prejudice to any person that would result from further attempts at personal service; and
    • (c) the last known address of the person on whom a notice is required to be served, the address of the residence or place of business of the person or any other place thought to be frequented by the person, the names and addresses of any persons who may be in communication with the person, or any other information respecting where the person might be found.
  • 5. (1) Substituted service of a notice may be effected by one or more of the following methods:
    • (a) leaving the notice with an adult person at the residence or place of business of the person or at any other place thought to be frequented by the person;
    • (b) leaving the notice with any other adult person who may be in communication with the person;
    • (c) sending the notice by registered mail to the last known address of the person;
    • (d) publishing the notice in one or more publications in general circulation in the area where the person was last known to be or is thought to be; or
    • (e) any other method that appears to the Board more likely to bring the notice to the attention of the person.

Guidance

This section applies to the service of notices pursuant to sections 34 and 87 and subsection 104(2) of the NEB Act which would only apply to elections pursuant to sections 58.23, 58.24 and 58.27 of the NEB Act. Personal service is defined in the Substituted Service Regulations as any manner permitted by the general rules of practice in the Federal Court of Canada and in a manner determined by the Board.

Where a company is required to complete personal service of a notice on a person and has made reasonable attempts to do so, without success, the company would apply to the Board for approval of substituted service and the sample notice to be used. This may be the case where the whereabouts of a landowner is unknown and the company has made reasonable attempts to locate the landowner.

Date modified:

Guide de dépôt – Électricité – Rubrique C – Exigences à l’égard des demandes concernant d’autres modes de signification

Table des matières


Lorsque le demandeur choisit d’être assujetti aux lois fédérales, certaines dispositions de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, qui visent habituellement les pipelines, s’appliquent aux LIT, suivant l’article 58.27 de cette même loi. Dans cette rubrique :

  • a) « compagnie » fait référence au demandeur ou au titulaire du certificat délivré pour la ligne;
  • b) « pipeline » ou « ligne » font référence à une ligne internationale ou interprovinciale de transport d'électricité;
  • c) « hydrocarbures » fait référence à l'électricité.

But

Le demandeur fournit assez de renseignements pour démontrer qu’il a tenté d’entrer en contact avec les propriétaires fonciers potentiellement touchés et de leur signifier des avis, conformément aux exigences législatives.

Exigences de dépôt

Les articles 3 à 5 du Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur la signification prescrivent ce qui suit :

  • 3.(1) Sous réserve du paragraphe (2), l’Office peut, à la demande d’une compagnie qui n’a pu effectuer la signification à personne d’un avis malgré des efforts raisonnables, ordonner un ou plusieurs modes de signification parmi ceux prévus au paragraphe 5(1).
  • (2) L’Office n’ordonne un autre mode de signification de l’avis que si :
    • a) d’une part, il est convaincu que la signification à personne n’est pas pratique dans les circonstances;
    • b) d’autre part, les renseignements fournis conformément à l’alinéa 4c) indiquent qu’il existe une possibilité raisonnable de faire porter l’avis à l’attention de l’intéressé par cet autre mode de signification.
  • 4. Une demande d’ordonnance en vertu de l’article 3 doit être effectuée par le dépôt auprès de l’Office de cinq exemplaires d’une demande écrite, appuyée d’une déclaration sous serment, exposant :
    • a) les efforts déployés pour effectuer la signification à personne;
    • b) le préjudice que de nouvelles tentatives de signifier l’avis à personne pourrait causer à une personne;
    • c) la dernière adresse connue de la personne à qui l’avis est destiné, l’adresse de son domicile ou de son lieu de travail ou de tout autre lieu que cette personne est censée fréquenter, les nom et adresse des personnes pouvant être en communication avec elle ou tout autre renseignement permettant de la trouver.
  • 5. (1) La signification d’un avis autre que la signification à personne peut se faire selon l’un ou plusieurs des modes suivants :
    • a) remettre l’avis à un adulte au domicile ou au lieu de travail de la personne ou à tout autre endroit que cette personne est censée fréquenter;
    • b) remettre l’avis à un adulte qui peut être en communication avec la personne;
    • c) envoyer l’avis par courrier recommandé à la dernière adresse connue de la personne;
    • d) publier une annonce dans une ou plusieurs publications distribuées dans la région où la personne a été connue en dernier lieu ou là où elle est censée se trouver;
    • e) signifier l’avis par tout autre mode que l’Office estime plus susceptible de porter l’avis à l’attention de la personne.

Orientation

La présente section s’applique à la signification d’avis en vertu des articles 34 et 87 et du paragraphe 104(2) de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie qui s’appliquerait seulement aux décisions prises par la compagnie aux termes des articles 58.23, 58.24 et 58.27 de cette même loi. D’après le Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur la signification, la signification à personne s’entend de tout mode permis par les règles de procédure générales de la Cour fédérale du Canada et de la façon prévue par l’Office.

Dans le cas où une compagnie est tenue de signifier un avis à une personne et que malgré des efforts raisonnables, elle n’a pu effectuer la signification, elle doit demander à l’Office d’approuver un autre mode de signification ainsi que le modèle de l’avis proposé. Par exemple, cela peut se révéler nécessaire lorsqu’un propriétaire foncier est introuvable et que la compagnie a déployé des efforts raisonnables pour le retrouver.

Date de modification :