Proposed changes to the National Energy Board Electricity Regulations

On 6 July 2012, the Government of Canada enacted the Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity Act which made amendments to parts of the National Energy Board Act (Act) that affect the National Energy Board’s (NEB or Board) export and import framework. As a result of these changes, on 11 July 2012 the Board issued an Update of the Electricity Memorandum of Guidance to Interested Parties Concerning Full Implementation of the September 1988 Canadian Electricity Policy (2012 MOG Update). The 2012 MOG Update advised interested parties of the changes to the Act and provided guidance to electricity export applicants until such time as the Board had completed a review and update of the Board’s export and import regulatory framework.

In order to make changes to the NEB’s export and import regulatory framework as it pertains to electricity exports, as well as to the filing requirements for IPL permit applications, the Board is proposing amendments to the National Energy Board Electricity Regulations. The proposed amendments can be found below. Please note that as part of changes to the NEB’s export and import regulatory framework the Board is also proposing amendments to the National Energy Board Export and Import Reporting Regulations that may impact electricity exporters. Those amendments can be found here.

The Board received the letters below during the public comment period which ended on 18 October 2013. The comments posted here are not the views or opinions of the National Energy Board. The comments are posted in the language in which they were submitted.

If you have any questions regarding the proposed amendments or the consultation process please contact Suchaet Bhardwaj at suchaet.bhardwaj@neb-one.gc.ca or 403-299-2746.

Date modified:

Changements proposés au Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie concernant l’électricité

Édictée le 6 juillet 2012, la Loi sur l’emploi, la croissance et la prospérité durable a eu pour effet de modifier certaines parties de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie (la Loi), ce qui a eu une incidence sur le cadre de réglementation des exportations et des importations. L’Office national de l’énergie a ensuite publié, le 11 juillet 2012, la Mise à jour de 2012 des Directives à l’intention des parties intéressées concernant la mise en application de la Politique canadienne de l’électricité de septembre 1988, afin d’aviser les parties intéressées des changements apportés à la Loi et de fournir des directives aux demandeurs de permis d’exportation d’électricité en attendant l’examen et la mise à jour du cadre de réglementation.

Dans le but de modifier son cadre de réglementation des exportations et des importations lorsqu’il s’agit d’exportations d’électricité ainsi que d’exigences de dépôt pour les demandes de permis de LIT, l’Office propose des changements au Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie concernant l’électricité et sollicite les commentaires du public sur ces changements. Le lecteur trouvera ces changements plus bas. L’Office tient à souligner qu’il propose également des changements au Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les rapports relatifs aux exportations et aux importations qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur les exportateurs d’électricité. Ces modifications peuvent être consultées ici.

L’Office a reçu les lettres ci-dessous au cours de la période de consultation publique qui a pris fin le 18 octobre 2013. Les commentaires du public affichés ici ne représentent ni les points de vue, ni les opinions de l’Office national de l’énergie. Ces commentaires sont affichés dans leur langue d’origine.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les changements proposés ou sur le processus de consultation, veuillez communiquer avec Suchaet Bhardwaj à l’adresse électronique suchaet.bhardwaj@neb-one.gc.ca, ou par téléphone en composante le 403-299-2746.

Date de modification :