ARCHIVED - Proposed Decommissioning Exemption Order

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

File 185-A000-8-1
10 October 2003

To: All Pipelines and Processing Plants under the National Energy Board Jurisdiction

Decommissioning of Pipelines and Related Facilities
Proposed Amendments to the Onshore Pipeline Regulations, 1999 and National Energy Board Processing Plant Regulations

Proposed Decommissioning Exemption Order

On 5 February 2003 the Board solicited comments on a proposal to amend the Onshore Pipeline Regulations, 1999 to include provisions regarding decommissioning and to establish a Decommissioning Exemption Order[1] to exempt certain activities from the requirement to file decommissioning applications. The Board has considered the comments from Enbridge Pipelines Inc., the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers and the Canadian Energy Pipeline Association.

The Board is of the view that many of the suggestions put forward could best be addressed in guidance notes to the regulations, or in an Exemption Order. Both of these instruments can be easily amended to adjust for changing situations, and can provide for more description and explanation than can regulations. The Board agrees with the comments by CEPA that a discussion with industry would be highly beneficial and would like to hold these discussions before proceeding any further to finalize the Decommissioning Exemption Order and guidance notes. Therefore, the Board is adding the matter of decommissioning to the agenda for the NEB Workshop to be held December 2-4, 2003. Further information on the Workshop will be forwarded to you under separate cover. Should you find that the time allotted for discussion at these sessions is insufficient, the Board would be pleased to hold further meetings.

The Board is proposing that the changes also apply to the National Energy Board Processing Plant Regulations. Given that the process for amending regulations takes a considerable amount of time, the Board will start the procedure for amending both sets of regulations by sending the attached amendments to the Department of Justice for its review. All parties will be given an opportunity to comment on the amendments when they are published in the Canada Gazette, Part I. The Board will also make amendments as needed as a result of discussions with industry.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Board Counsel, Margery Fowke at 403-299-3937 or Marian Yuzda at 403-299-3643.

Yours truly,

Michel L. Mantha
Secretary

cc:

  • Canadian Energy Pipeline Association, Facsimile 403-221-8760
  • Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers, Facsimile 403-261-4622
  • Canadian Alliance of Pipeline Landowners' Associations, Facsimile 519-845-0568

Attachment I

ONSHORE PIPELINE REGULATIONS, 1999

Proposed Amendments:

New definition:

"decommission" means the permanent cessation of the operation of a pipeline without discontinuance of service.

Replace:

"abandon" means to remove permanently from service.

With:

"abandon" means the permanent cessation of the operation of a pipeline which results in the discontinuance of service.

New Section:

45.1 (1) If a company proposes to decommission the pipeline or a section thereof, the company shall submit an application for the decommissioning to the Board.

(2) The application shall include the rationale for the decommissioning and the measures to be employed for the decommissioning.

Consequential amendments:

2. Subject to section 3, these Regulations apply to onshore pipelines designed, constructed, operated, decommissioned, or abandoned after the coming into force of these Regulations.

4. (1) When a company designs, constructs, operates, decommissions or abandons a pipeline, or contracts for the provision of those services, the company shall ensure that the pipeline is designed, constructed, operated, decommissioned or abandoned in accordance with the applicable provisions of....

(2) Without limiting the generality of subsection (1), the company shall ensure that the pipeline is designed, constructed, operated, decommissioned or abandoned in accordance with the design, specifications, programs, manuals, procedures, measures and plans developed and implemented by the company in accordance with these Regulations.

7. For the purposes of these Regulations, the Board may require a company or person to submit a design, specification, program, manual, procedure, measure, plan or document to the Board if...

(b) the Board receives any information that the design, construction, operation, decommissioning or abandonment of a pipeline, or any part of a pipeline, is or may cause....

52. (1) A company shall immediately notify the Board of any incident relating to the construction, operation, decommissioning or abandonment of its pipeline and shall submit a preliminary and detailed incident report to the Board as soon as is practicable.

53. (1) A company shall conduct an audit and an inspection on a regular basis to ensure its pipeline is designed, constructed, operated, decommissioned or abandoned in compliance with....


Attachment II

NATIONAL ENERGY BOARD
PROCESSING PLANT REGULATIONS

Proposed Amendments:

New definition:

"decommission" means the permanent cessation of the operation of a pipeline without discontinuance of service.

Replace:

"abandon" means to remove permanently from service.

With:

"abandon" means the permanent cessation of the operation of a pipeline which results in the discontinuance of service.

New Section:

43.1 (1) If a company proposes to decommission its processing plant, the company shall submit an application for the decommissioning to the Board.

(2) The application shall include the rationale for the decommissioning and the measures to be employed for the decommissioning.

Consequential Amendments:

3. The duties imposed on a company under these Regulations are duties in respect of a processing plant that is designed, constructed, operated, decommissioned or abandoned by the company.

4. A company shall ensure that its processing plant is designed, constructed, operated, decommissioned or abandoned in accordance with the provisions of...

5. A company shall ensure that its processing plant is designed, constructed, operated, decommissioned or abandoned in accordance with the designs, specifications, programs, manuals, procedures, measures and plans developed and implemented by the company in accordance with these Regulations.

7. The Board may order a company to submit to the Board within a specified period a design, specification, program, manual, procedure, measure, plan or document if...

(b) the Board receives any information that the design, construction, operation, decommissioning or abandonment of the company's processing plant, or a part of it, is or may cause...

9. (1) A company shall develop a program for the design, construction, operation, decommissioning and abandonment of pressure vessels and pressure piping at its processing plant and shall submit the program to the Board prior to implementation.

10. A company shall develop, implement and maintain quality control and quality assurance programs in respect of the design, construction, operation, decommissioning and abandonment of its processing plant.

15. (1) If a company contracts for the provision of services in respect of the construction, operation, decommissioning or abandonment of its processing plant, the company shall

(a) inform the contractor of all conditions or features that are special to the construction, operation, decommissioning or abandonment; ...

(c) take all reasonable steps to ensure that the construction, operation, decommissioning or abandonment activities are conducted in accordance with the manuals developed under sections 27 and 30; and

(d) authorize a person to halt a construction, operation, decommissioning or abandonment activity in circumstances where, in the person's judgment, the construction, operation, decommissioning or abandonment activity is not being conducted in accordance with the manuals developed under sections 27 and 30 or is creating a hazard to the safety of anyone at the construction, operation, decommissioned or abandonment site.

46. A company shall immediately notify the Board of any incident relating to the construction, operation, decommissioning or abandonment of its processing plant and shall submit to the Board a preliminary incident report as soon as practicable and a detailed incident report as soon as practicable.

52. (1) A company shall conduct audits and inspections on a regular basis to ensure that its processing plant is designed, constructed, operated, decommissioned or abandoned in compliance with....

53. (1) When a company constructs, operates, decommissions or abandons a processing plant, the company or its agent or mandatory shall inspect the construction, operation, decommissioning or abandonment to ensure that the requirements of these Regulations are met and that the terms and conditions of any certificate or order issued by the Board are complied with.

Endnotes

[1] In the original letter this was referred to as the Decommissioning Streamlining Order. In order to avoid confusion with the section 58 Streamlining Order, the Board proposes to refer to this as the Decommissioning Exemption Order.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Ordonnance d'exemption proposée visant la désaffectation

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Dossier 185-A000-8-1
Le 10 octobre 2003

Destinataires : Tous les pipelines et toutes les usines de traitement réglementés par l'Office national de l'énergie

Désaffectation de pipelines et d'installations connexes
Modification proposée du Règlement de 1999 sur les pipelines terrestres et du Règlement de l'Office national de l'énergie sur les usines de traitement
Ordonnance d'exemption proposée visant la désaffectation

Le 5 février 2003, l'Office a sollicité des commentaires concernant une proposition visant à modifier le Règlement de 1999 sur les pipelines terrestres afin d'y ajouter des dispositions au sujet de la désaffectation et d'établir une ordonnance d'exemption visant la désaffectation[1], pour permettre d'exempter certaines activités de l'exigence de présenter une demande de désaffectation. L'Office a étudié les commentaires formulés par Enbridge Pipelines Inc., l'Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers et l'Association canadienne des pipelines de ressources énergétiques.

L'Office est d'avis que la meilleure façon de procéder pour donner suite à nombre des suggestions formulées serait par le biais de notes d'orientation dans le règlement ou d'une ordonnance d'exemption. Ces deux outils sont faciles à modifier lorsque la situation évolue, sans compter qu'ils permettent de donner une meilleure description et une meilleure explication que les dispositions réglementaires. L'Office est d'accord avec les commentaires de l'Association canadienne des pipelines de ressources énergétiques selon lesquels il serait très bénéfique de discuter avec l'industrie; il aimerait que ces discussions aient lieu avant de passer à l'autre étape dans la préparation de l'ordonnance d'exemption visant la désaffectation et des notes d'orientation. Pour cette raison, l'Office a inscrit la question de la désaffectation au programme de l'atelier qu'il donnera les 2, 3 et 4 décembre 2003. Vous recevrez sous pli séparé de plus amples renseignements au sujet de cet atelier. Si vous estimez que le temps réservé aux discussions est insuffisant, l'Office se fera un plaisir d'organiser d'autres rencontres.

L'Office propose que les changements s'appliquent également au Règlement de l'Office national de l'énergie sur les usines de traitement. Étant donné que le processus suivi pour modifier un règlement prend énormément de temps, l'Office entreprendra de modifier les deux textes réglementaires en faisant parvenir les modifications ci-jointes au ministère de la Justice aux fins d'examen. Toutes les parties auront l'occasion de formuler des observations sur ces modifications lorsqu'elles seront publiées dans la partie 1 de la Gazette du Canada. L'Office apportera aussi les modifications nécessaires selon l'issue de ses discussions avec l'industrie.

Si vous avez des questions, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec Margery Fowke, au 403-299-3937 ou avec Marian Yuzda, au 403-299-3643, toutes les deux avocates à l'Office national de l'énergie.

Veuillez agréer mes salutations distinguées.

Le secrétaire,

Michel L. Mantha

c.c. :

  • Association canadienne des pipelines de ressources énergétiques, téléc. : 403-221-8760
  • Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers, téléc. : 403-261-4622
  • Canadian Alliance of Pipeline Landowners' Associations, téléc. : 519-845-0568

Pièce jointe I

 

RÈGLEMENT DE 1999 SUR LES PIPELINES TERRESTRES

Modifications proposées :

Nouvelle définition :

« Désaffectation » Cessation permanente de l'exploitation d'un pipeline sans interruption du service.

Remplacement de :

« Cessation d'exploitation » Mise hors service permanente.

par :

« Cessation d'exploitation » Mise hors service permanente du pipeline qui donne lieu à l'interruption du service.

Nouvelle disposition :

45.1 (1) La compagnie qui se propose de désaffecter un pipeline ou un tronçon de pipeline doit présenter une demande à cet effet à l'Office.

(2) La demande doit inclure une justification ainsi que les mesures qui seront prévues pour la désaffectation.

Modifications accessoires :

2. Sous réserve de l'article 3, le présent règlement s'applique aux pipelines terrestres conçus, construits, exploités ou désaffectés après la date d'entrée en vigueur du présent règlement ou dont l'exploitation a cessé après cette date.

4. (1) La compagnie qui conçoit, construit ou exploite, désaffecte un pipeline ou en cesse l'exploitation, ou qui obtient ces services par contrat, doit veiller à ce que la conception, la construction, l'exploitation, la désaffectation ou la cessation d'exploitation soient conformes aux dispositions applicables :

(2) Sans préjudice de la portée générale du paragraphe (1), il est entendu que la compagnie doit veiller à ce que le pipeline soit conçu, construit et exploité, désaffecté, ou que son exploitation cesse, selon la conception, les exigences techniques, les programmes, les manuels, les procédures, les mesures et les plans établis et appliqués par elle conformément au présent règlement.

7. Pour l'application du présent règlement, l'Office peut exiger qu'une compagnie ou une personne lui soumette une conception, des exigences techniques, un programme, un manuel, une procédure, des mesures, un plan ou des documents pertinents, dans l'un ou l'autre des cas suivants :

b) l'Office est informé que la conception, la construction, l'exploitation, la désaffectation ou la cessation d'exploitation du pipeline ou d'une partie de celui-ci :

52. (1) La compagnie doit signaler immédiatement à l'Office tout incident mettant en cause la construction, l'exploitation, la désaffectation ou la cessation d'exploitation du pipeline et lui présenter, aussitôt que possible par la suite, les rapports d'incident préliminaire et détaillé.

53. (1) La compagnie doit procéder régulièrement à des vérifications et à des inspections pour veiller à ce que le pipeline soit conçu, construit et exploité, désaffecté - ou cesse d'être exploité -, conformément :


Pièce jointe II

RÈGLEMENT DE L'OFFICE NATIONAL DE L'ÉNERGIE
SUR LES USINES DE TRAITEMENT

Modifications proposées :

Nouvelle définition :

« Désaffectation » Cessation permanente de l'exploitation d'un pipeline sans interruption du service.

Remplacement de :

« Cessation d'exploitation » Mise hors service permanente.

par :

« Cessation d'exploitation » Mise hors service permanente du pipeline qui donne lieu à l'interruption du service.

Nouvelle disposition :

43.1 (1) La compagnie qui se propose de désaffecter une usine de traitement doit présenter une demande à cet effet à l'Office.

(2) La demande doit inclure une justification ainsi que les mesures prévues pour la désaffectation.

Modifications accessoires :

3. Les obligations imposées à une compagnie en vertu du présent règlement se rapportent à une usine de traitement conçue, construite, exploitée ou désaffectée par cette compagnie, ou dont cette compagnie a cessé l'exploitation.

4. (1) La compagnie veille à ce que la conception, la construction, l'exploitation, la désaffectation ou la cessation d'exploitation de son usine de traitement soient conformes aux dispositions :

5. La compagnie veille à ce que la conception, la construction, l'exploitation, la désaffectation et la cessation d'exploitation de l'usine de traitement soient conformes aux dessins, aux exigences techniques, aux programmes, aux manuels, aux méthodes, aux mesures et aux plans élaborés et mis en application par elle conformément au présent règlement.

7. L'Office peut ordonner qu'une compagnie lui soumette, dans le délai spécifié, un dessin, des exigences techniques, un programme, un manuel, une méthode, une mesure, un plan ou un document, dans les cas suivants :

b) l'Office est informé que la conception, la construction, l'exploitation, la désaffectation ou la cessation d'exploitation de l'usine de traitement de la compagnie ou d'une partie de celle-ci :

9. (1) La compagnie élabore un programme de conception, de construction, d'exploitation, de désaffectation et de cessation d'exploitation des appareils et de la tuyauterie sous pression de l'usine de traitement qu'elle soumet à l'Office avant de le mettre en application.

10. La compagnie élabore, met en application et tient à jour des programmes de contrôle de la qualité et d'assurance de la qualité visant la conception, la construction, l'exploitation, la désaffectation et la cessation d'exploitation de l'usine de traitement.

15. (1) Lorsque la compagnie obtient des services par contrat pour la construction, l'exploitation, la désaffectation ou la cessation d'exploitation de son usine de traitement, elle doit satisfaire aux exigences suivantes :

a) informer l'entrepreneur des conditions ou des aspects propres à la construction, à l'exploitation, à la désaffectation ou à la cessation d'exploitation;

c) prendre toutes les mesures raisonnables pour que la construction, l'exploitation, la désaffectation ou la cessation d'exploitation soient exécutées en conformité avec les manuels visés aux articles 27 et 30;

d) autoriser une personne à interrompre la construction, l'exploitation, la désaffectation ou la cessation d'exploitation lorsqu'elle est d'avis qu'elles ne sont pas exécutées conformément aux manuels visés aux articles 27 et 30 ou qu'elles constituent un danger pour la sécurité des personnes se trouvant sur le chantier.

46. La compagnie signale immédiatement à l'Office tout incident lié à la construction, à l'exploitation, à la désaffectation ou à la cessation d'exploitation de l'usine de traitement et lui présente, dès que possible, le rapport d'incident préliminaire et, dès que possible par la suite, le rapport d'incident détaillé.

52. (1) La compagnie procède périodiquement à des vérifications et à des inspections pour veiller à ce que l'usine de traitement soit conçue, construite, exploitée ou désaffectée, ou cesse d'être exploitée conformément :

53. (1) Lorsqu'elle construit, exploite, désaffecte ou cesse d'exploiter une usine de traitement, la compagnie ou son mandataire inspecte les travaux de construction, d'exploitation, de désaffectation ou de cessation d'exploitation afin de veiller à ce qu'ils répondent aux exigences du présent règlement et respectent les conditions de tout certificat ou ordonnance délivré par l'Office.

Notes de fin de document

[1] Dans la lettre envoyée à l'origine, on parlait d'ordonnance de simplification. Afin d'éviter toute confusion avec l'ordonnance de simplification de l'article 58, l'Office propose de désigner l'ordonnance sous l'appellation « ordonnance d'exemption visant la désaffectation ».

Date de modification :