FAQ - Amendments to the National Energy Board Act and the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act on Navigation and Navigation Safety

  1. What are the changes related to navigation and navigation safety under the National Energy Board Act and the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act?
  2. What are some of the key implications of the legislative changes?
  3. When did this change come into effect and how will the transition of responsibilities occur?
  4. How will the legislative changes affect environmental and socio-economic assessments of projects on rivers and other waterbodies?
  5. Do these changes lessen the rigor of the regulatory review of effects on navigation and navigation safety?
  6. Does the NEB have the resources to accommodate these changes?
  7. What would the NEB require companies to do if an incident occurred near a water crossing?
  8. Will projects still need to be submitted to Transport Canada for review?
  9. How does the NEB’s new responsibility affect the Filing Manual requirements?
  10. What is a watercourse crossing?
  11. How does the NEB define navigable waters?
  12. Is there a preferred method for pipeline or power line crossings?
  13. Has the Operations and Maintenance (O&M) notification process changed as a result of the amendments made to the NEB Act related to navigation and navigation safety?

1. What are the changes related to navigation and navigation safety under the National Energy Board Act and the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act?

As a result of the Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity Act, amendments have been made to the National Energy Board Act (NEB Act) and the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act (COGOA) related to navigation and navigation safety. These changes require the National Energy Board (NEB) to take into account project effects on navigation and navigation safety for NEB-regulated pipeline and power line crossings of navigable waters before recommendations or decisions are made on applications under s. 52 and 58 of the NEB Act and s. 5.1 of COGOA.

2. What are some of the key implications of the legislative changes?

The amendments to the NEB Act require the NEB to take into account the effects of pipeline and power line crossings of navigable waters. The amendments to the COGOA will require the NEB to take into account the effects of COGOA pipeline crossings of navigable waters. Previously, this had been the responsibility of Transport Canada.

Now that these amendments have come into force, the NEB is the “one window” federal regulator for NEB-regulated pipeline and power line projects that cross navigable waters. The NEB is solely responsible for assessing project effects on navigation and navigation safety on NEB regulated projects. Pipeline proponents will only file one application with the NEB for facilities which cross water bodies. Similarly, persons who are directly affected by a project can rely on the NEB’s review to bring their concerns forward.

3. When did this change come into effect and how will the transition of responsibilities occur?

The change in regulatory responsibilities was introduced in 2012 and came into force on 3 July 2013. Transport Canada and the NEB have entered into a Memorandum of Understanding to ensure a seamless transition of responsibilities It describes how each will co-operate during the transition and provides guidance as to when a project is regulated by the NEB or Transport Canada.

4. How will the legislative changes affect environmental and socio-economic assessments of projects on rivers and other waterbodies?

The NEB conducts an environmental and socio-economic assessment during its review of applications for projects under its jurisdiction pursuant to the NEB Act, COGOA, and where applicable, the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act 2012 (CEAA 2012). The legislative changes with respect to navigation and navigation safety to the NEB Act and the COGOA will be incorporated into the Board’s comprehensive environmental and socio-economic impact assessment. The NEB considers many factors including:

  • physical and meteorological environment
  • soil, soil productivity and vegetation
  • wetlands, water quality and quantity
  • fish, wildlife, and their habitat
  • species at risk or species of special status and related habitat
  • heritage resources
  • human occupancy and resource use
  • traditional land and resource use
  • human health, aesthetics and noise

NEB staff currently assesses the potential effects of pipelines and power lines on human occupancy and resource use, including watercourses under the NEB Act. An environmental and socio-economic assessment considers the likelihood of adverse effects, proposed mitigation measures to protect the environment and the rights and interests of those affected. It also considers the likelihood of adverse effects after the mitigation measures are implemented. The NEB attaches conditions to Board orders or certificates to address any unmitigated impacts. This process also provides an opportunity for public and Aboriginal participation.

Once an environmental and socio-economic assessment has been conducted, the NEB may make its decision or recommendation under the NEB Act or the COGOA.

5. Do these changes lessen the rigor of the regulatory review of effects on navigation and navigation safety?

No. The NEB will take into account navigation and navigation safety for NEB-regulated pipeline and power line projects that cross navigable waters with the same rigor as previously carried out by Transport Canada. The NEB conducts independent, fair and publically accessible regulatory review processes for projects under its jurisdiction. The NEB imposes or recommends terms and conditions on project approvals, as well as inspects and verifies compliance in order to protect the safety of Canadians and the environment.

6. Does the NEB have the resources to accommodate these changes?

Yes. NEB staff currently assesses the potential effects of pipelines and power lines on human occupancy and resource use, including watercourses under the NEB Act. Under the COGOA, NEB staff currently participate in the environmental assessment processes carried out by Northern Boards / Committees that assess oil and gas project effects on navigation and navigation safety.

7. What would the NEB require companies to do if an incident occurred near a water crossing?

In the event of an incident, the NEB will assess the situation including any potential impacts to people and the environment, as well as monitor the company’s response. The NEB may take immediate action to protect human life or property using the full suite of enforcement tools available. If the incident results in a spill of hydrocarbons, the NEB will also verify that a regulated company conducts a complete remediation of any environmental effects resulting from the incident. The NEB will not consider clean-up to be complete until it is satisfied that there has been full remediation of the site of all environmental effects. The NEB incident investigation will determine the root cause of the incident and will require corrective actions be taken to prevent reoccurrence. For more information please see the Board’s Remediation Process Guide.

The NEB holds regulated companies accountable for anticipating, preventing, mitigating and managing incidents of any size or duration and are required in our Regulations to have Emergency Response Plans. We expect regulated companies to develop a strong safety culture as part of their management system. Any release of product is considered unacceptable by the Board.

8. Will projects still need to be submitted to Transport Canada for review?

No. Now that these amendments to the NEB Act and COGOA have come into force, Transport Canada will no longer be involved in the day-to-day consideration of NEB-regulated pipeline and power line projects.

9. How does the NEB’s new responsibility affect the Filing Manual requirements?

The NEB’s Filing Manual and Electricity Filing Manual have been updated to guide applicants regarding the information that is required for the NEB to assess project effects on navigation and navigation safety.

10. What is a watercourse crossing?

A watercourse crossing refers to permanent or temporary structures that are or will be constructed in, on, under, over, through or across a water body.

Watercourse crossings are common along Canadian pipeline routes. These particular locations merit focus because of the associated environmental sensitivities, and complex design and installation activities.

11. How does the NEB define navigable waters?

The changes to the NEB Act and COGOA require the NEB to take into account the impact of the project on navigation and navigation safety. Under the NEB Act, “navigable water” has the same meaning as in the Navigable Waters Protection Act (NWPA), or the Navigation Protection Act (NPA) when that Act comes into force: “It includes a canal and any other body of water created or altered as a result of the construction of any work.”

For the purposes of practical application, the NEB intends to follow Transport Canada’s longstanding practice of being guided by the following: Navigable water will be considered as any body of water capable, in its natural state, of being navigated by floating vessels of any description for the purpose of transportation, recreation or commerce, and may also be a human-made feature such as a canal or reservoir.

The changes to the NEB Act do not restrict the NEB’s consideration of the impacts of a project on navigation and navigation safety to the schedule of “navigable waters” that is proposed for inclusion in the Navigation Protection Act, once that Act comes into force.

12. Is there a preferred method for pipeline or power line crossings?

Industry best practices to cross watercourses include using trenchless methods or working in fully dry conditions. NEB-regulated companies are required to have management systems that anticipate, prevent, manage, and mitigate impacts to human safety and damage to the environment or property. Management systems give companies the flexibility to select the most appropriate methods provided they satisfy the NEB’s objectives for safety and environmental protection.

13. Has the Operations and Maintenance (O&M) notification process changed as a result of the amendments made to the NEB Act related to navigation and navigation safety?

The notification process for O&M activities remains the same.

With respect to the NEB’s decision making, as it relates to O&M activities, it must take into account the effects on navigation and navigation safety, as is the case when the Board considers O&M activities in the context of the pipeline’s original application under s. 58 order or s. 52 certificate. Works that are physically or operationally connected to pipelines are to be considered by companies when providing O&M notifications. Companies should provide information, in their O&M notification, on potentially navigable waterbodies that may be affected by O&M activities and proposed mitigation to reduce or eliminate effects.

Date modified:

FAQ - Modification de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie et de la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada - Navigation et sécurité en la matière

  1. Quelles modifications ont été apportées à la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie et à la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada en ce qui concerne la navigation et la sécurité en la matière?
  2. Quelles sont les principales implications des modifications législatives?
  3. Quand ce changement est-il entré en vigueur? Comment le transfert des responsabilités sera-t-il effectué?
  4. En quoi les modifications législatives modifieront-elles l’évaluation des effets environnementaux et socioéconomiques des projets sur les rivières et les autres plans d’eau?
  5. Est-ce que les modifications atténuent la rigueur de l’évaluation des effets sur la navigation et la sécurité de la navigation?
  6. L’Office dispose-t-il des ressources nécessaires pour assumer ces nouvelles responsabilités?
  7. Quelles mesures l’Office exigerait-il des sociétés s’il survenait un incident près d’un franchissement de cours d’eau?
  8. Faudra-t-il continuer à soumettre les projets à l’examen de ansports Canada?
  9. Quelle est l’incidence des nouvelles responsabilités de l’Office sur les exigences du Guide de dépôt?
  10. Qu’est-ce qu’un « franchissement de cours d’eau »?
  11. Comment l’Office définit-il la notion d’« eaux navigables »?
  12. Y a-t-il une méthode privilégiée pour faire franchir un cours d’eau à un pipeline ou à une ligne de transport d’électricité?
  13. Est-ce que le processus d’avis d’exploitation et d’entretien a été changé compte tenu des modifications apportées à la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie visant la navigation et la sécurité en la matière?

1. Quelles modifications ont été apportées à la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie et à la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada en ce qui concerne la navigation et la sécurité en la matière?

Par suite de l’adoption de la Loi sur l’emploi, la croissance et la prospérité durable, des modifications visant la navigation et la sécurité en la matière ont été apportées à Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie (Loi) et à la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada (LOPC). Ces modifications font en sorte qu’avant de faire des recommandations ou de rendre une décision en vertu des articles 52 et 58 de la Loi et de l’article 5.1 de la LOPC, l’Office national de l’énergie doit maintenant examiner les effets sur la navigation et la sécurité en la matière des pipelines et lignes de transport d’électricité de son ressort qui franchissent des eaux navigables.

2. Quelles sont les principales implications des modifications législatives?

Les modifications apportées à la Loi exigent de l’Office qu’il tienne compte des incidences du franchissement d’eaux navigables par un pipeline ou une ligne de transport d’électricité. Les modifications apportées à la LOPC exigent de l’Office qu’il tienne compte des incidences du franchissement d’eaux navigables par un pipeline sous le régime de la LOPC. Avant les modifications, cette responsabilité revenait à Transports Canada.

Depuis l’adoption des modifications, l’Office est l’organisme de réglementation « unique » des projets énergétiques qu’il réglemente et qui prévoient le franchissement de voies navigables. Seul l’Office a la responsabilité d’évaluer les effets des projets assujettis à sa réglementation sur la navigation et la sécurité de la navigation. Même si leur projet vise des installations devant franchir des cours d’eau, les promoteurs de projet n’auront à déposer qu’une seule demande auprès de l’Office. Les personnes directement touchées par un projet peuvent également avoir confiance que l’examen de l’Office tient compte de leurs préoccupations.

3. Quand ce changement est-il entré en vigueur? Comment le transfert des responsabilités sera-t-il effectué?

La modification des responsabilités en matière de réglementation a été apportée en 2012 et est entrée en vigueur le 3 juillet 2013. Afin d’assurer un transfert harmonieux des responsabilités, Transports Canada et l’Office ont conclu un protocole d’entente qui décrit la manière dont chaque partie collaborera pendant le transfert et qui fournit une orientation pour déterminer laquelle doit assurer la réglementation d’un projet donné.

4. En quoi les modifications législatives modifieront-elles l’évaluation des effets environnementaux et socioéconomiques des projets sur les rivières et les autres plans d’eau?

L’Office effectue une évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique dans le cadre de son examen d’une demande visant un projet sous le régime de la Loi, de la LOPC et, le cas échéant, de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012) (LCÉE 2012). Les changements à la Loi et à la LOPC concernant la navigation et la sécurité en la matière seront incorporés à la rigoureuse évaluation des effets environnementaux et socioéconomiques de l’Office, qui tient compte de nombreux facteurs, notamment :

  • l’environnement physique et météorologique;
  • le sol, la productivité du sol et la végétation;
  • les zones humides, la qualité de l’eau et la quantité;
  • le poisson, la faune et leur habitat;
  • les espèces en péril ou à statut particulier et les habitats connexes;
  • les ressources patrimoniales;
  • l’occupation humaine et l’utilisation des ressources;
  • l’usage des terres et des ressources à des fins traditionnelles;
  • la santé humaine, l’esthétique et le bruit.

L’Office suit présentement un processus d’évaluation des effets potentiels des pipelines et des lignes de transport d’électricité sur l’occupation humaine et l’utilisation des ressources, dont les cours d’eau sous le régime de la Loi. L’évaluation des effets environnementaux et socioéconomiques porte sur la probabilité que des effets négatifs se produisent, sur les mesures d’atténuation proposées pour assurer la protection de l’environnement et sur les droits et intérêts des personnes touchées. Elle tient également compte de la probabilité que des effets négatifs subsistent après la mise en œuvre des mesures d’atténuation. Par ailleurs, l’Office assortit de conditions les ordonnances et certificats qu’il délivre afin de contrecarrer tous les effets ne faisant pas l’objet de mesures d’atténuation. Le processus est également conçu pour permettre à la population et aux peuples autochtones de participer.

Au terme de son évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique, l’Office peut rendre une décision ou formuler une recommandation en vertu de Loi ou de la LOPC.

5. Est-ce que les modifications atténuent la rigueur de l’évaluation des effets sur la navigation et la sécurité de la navigation?

Non. L’Office fera preuve de la même rigueur que Transports Canada dans son examen des composantes navigation et sécurité de la navigation de tous les projets de pipeline ou de ligne de transport d’électricité qu’il réglemente et qui doivent franchir des eaux navigables. Les processus d’examen menés par l’Office à l’égard des projets de son ressort sont indépendants, équitables et accessibles par le public. Outre les conditions imposées à l’approbation d’un projet, l’Office effectue des inspections et des vérifications de la conformité afin d’assurer la sécurité des Canadiens et Canadiennes et la protection de l’environnement.

6. L’Office dispose-t-il des ressources nécessaires pour assumer ces nouvelles responsabilités?

Oui. L’Office suit présentement un processus d’évaluation des effets potentiels des pipelines et des lignes de transport d’électricité sur l’occupation humaine et l’utilisation des ressources, dont les cours d’eau visés par la Loi. Selon les modalités de la LOPC, du personnel de l’Office participe présentement aux processus d’évaluation environnementale menés par les offices et les comités d’examen du Nord qui sont chargés d’évaluer les effets des projets pétroliers et gaziers sur la navigation et la sécurité en la matière.

7. Quelles mesures l’Office exigerait-il des sociétés s’il survenait un incident près d’un franchissement de cours d’eau?

En pareille circonstance, l’Office évaluerait la situation, y compris les conséquences éventuelles sur les personnes et l’environnement, et les mesures prises par la société impliquée. Grâce à l’éventail complet d’outils d’application de la réglementation à sa disposition, l’Office peut prendre des mesures immédiates pour protéger la vie humaine ou la propriété. Si l’incident entraîne un déversement d’hydrocarbures, l’Office veillera également à ce que la société réglementée prenne toutes les mesures nécessaires pour corriger tous les effets environnementaux en découlant. Pour l’Office, le nettoyage n’est terminé qu’une fois que tous les effets environnementaux sur le site ont été corrigés à sa satisfaction. L’enquête de l’Office déterminera la cause de l’incident et exigera la prise de mesures correctives afin d’éviter toute récidive. Pour de plus amples renseignements, prière de se reporter au Guide sur le processus de réhabilitation de l’Office.

Selon les règlements de l’Office, les sociétés réglementées sont tenues de prévoir, de prévenir, d’atténuer et de gérer tous les incidents, peu importe leur envergure ou leur durée, et de mettre en œuvre un plan d’intervention en cas d’urgence. L’Office s’attend en outre à ce qu’elles intègrent à leur système de gestion une solide culture axée sur la sécurité. Aux yeux de l’Office, tout rejet de produit est inacceptable.

8. Faudra-t-il continuer à soumettre les projets à l’examen de Transports Canada?

Non. L’entrée en vigueur des modifications fait en sorte que Transports Canada ne participera plus à l’examen courant des projets de pipeline ou de ligne de transport d’électricité du ressort de l’Office.

9. Quelle est l’incidence des nouvelles responsabilités de l’Office sur les exigences du Guide de dépôt?

Le Guide de dépôt et le Guide de dépôt - Électricité ont été mis à jour de manière à guider les demandeurs quant aux renseignements exigés par l’Office pour évaluer les effets d’un projet sur la navigation et la sécurité en la matière.

10. Qu’est-ce qu’un « franchissement de cours d’eau »?

Un « franchissement de cours d’eau » est une structure permanente ou temporaire qui passe dans, au-dessus ou au-dessous d’un cours d’eau afin de le franchir.

Les franchissements de cours d’eau sont fréquents le long des tracés pipeliniers canadiens. Ils méritent une attention particulière en raison des risques pour l’environnement qui s’y rattachent et des activités complexes qui sont associées à leur conception et à leur aménagement.

11. Comment l’Office définit-il la notion d’« eaux navigables »?

Les modifications apportées à la Loi et à la LOPC font en sorte que l’Office doit maintenant tenir compte de l’incidence d’un projet sur la navigation et la sécurité de la navigation. La Loi définit le terme « eaux navigables » de la même manière que la Loi sur la protection des eaux navigables (LPEN) et que la Loi sur la protection de la navigation (LPN), une fois celle-ci en vigueur : « Sont compris parmi les eaux navigables les canaux et les autres plans d’eau créés ou modifiés par suite de la construction d’un ouvrage ».

En ce qui concerne la mise en application de la LPN, l’Office a l’intention d’adopter la pratique qui a guidé Transports Canada de longue date : Les eaux navigables comprennent toute étendue d’eau pouvant servir, à l’état naturel, à la navigation de bâtiments flottants de tous genres pour le transport, les loisirs ou le commerce, et pouvant inclure les cours d’eau ou bassins artificiels comme un canal ou un réservoir.

Les modifications apportées à la Loi ne limiteront pas l’Office, au moment de son examen des effets d’un projet sur la navigation et la sécurité en la matière, aux seules « eaux navigables » faisant l’objet d’une annexe devant être intégrée à la LPN, une fois celle-ci en vigueur.

12. Y a-t-il une méthode privilégiée pour faire franchir un cours d’eau à un pipeline ou à une ligne de transport d’électricité?

Les pratiques exemplaires de l’industrie comprennent le recours à des méthodes sans tranchée et les travaux menés à sec. Les sociétés réglementées par l’Office sont tenues de disposer de systèmes de gestion leur permettant de prévoir, de prévenir, de gérer et d’atténuer les effets sur la sécurité de la population et la protection de l’environnement et des biens. De tels systèmes de gestion confèrent aux sociétés la souplesse dont elles ont besoin pour choisir la méthode la plus appropriée au projet, tout en respectant les objectifs de l’Office en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement.

13. Est-ce que le processus d’avis d’exploitation et d’entretien a été changé compte tenu des modifications apportées à la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie visant la navigation et la sécurité en la matière?

Le processus d’avis pour les activités d’exploitation et d’entretien demeure le même.

Pour ce qui est des décisions prises par l’Office dans le contexte de telles activités, elles doivent tenir compte des effets sur la navigation et la sécurité en la matière, tout comme c’est le cas pour la demande d’une ordonnance aux termes de l’article 58 ou d’un certificat aux termes de l’article 52 visant un nouveau pipeline. Les sociétés qui présentent des avis d’exploitation et d’entretien doivent tenir compte des travaux qui ont un lien physique ou opérationnel avec des pipelines. Dans cet avis, les sociétés sont priées de fournir des renseignements sur les plans d’eau potentiellement navigables pouvant être touchées par les activités énoncées, et de proposer des mesures d’atténuation pour réduire ou éliminer les effets possibles.

Date de modification :