Upstream Jurisdictional Issues

17 September 1999

TO: PIPELINE COMPANIES SUBJECT TO THE JURISDICTION OF THE NATIONAL ENERGY BOARD (NEB OR THE BOARD)

RE: Upstream Jurisdictional Issues

Recent jurisprudence affecting the jurisdiction of the NEB over upstream production facilities has now clarified the circumstances under which such facilities need not  form part of an application to the Board. The purpose of this letter is to draw attention to these developments and to assist in developing a common understanding of the NEB's jurisdiction.

Westcoast Energy Inc. v Canada (National Energy Board), a 1998 judgement of the Supreme Court of Canada, held that there were two ways in which upstream gathering and processing facilities could come within federal (i.e. NEB) jurisdiction. Firstly, such facilities could come under NEB jurisdiction if they formed part of a single federal work or undertaking, such as an interprovincial gathering line;Secondly, upstream gathering and processing facilities could come within NEB jurisdiction even where they did not form part of a single federal work or undertaking, provided that they were fully integrated with a pipeline under federal jurisdiction.

A March 1999, Federal Court of Appeal judgement entitled Canadian Hunter Exploration Ltd. v The National Energy Board has furthered clarified the issue of upstream jurisdiction. In that case a producer constructed a facility system encompassing upstream gathering lines and processing facilities, which terminated at a central tie-in point. Facilities usually considered to be production facilities, such as separators and dehydrators, were located at the central tie-in point. The central tie-in was also the location of a connection to an interprovincial pipeline owned and operated by the same producers. The Federal Court of Appeal ruled that the existence of the connection between the central tie-in point and the interprovincial line was insufficient to subsume all of the gathering lines and the central tie-in point into NEB jurisdiction.

Counsel and agents representing pipeline companies before the NEB should therefore be aware that a mere connection between an interprovincial pipeline and upstream facilities ordinarily associated with the production of hydrocarbon resources will not, in the absence of other factors, serve to bring the upstream gathering and production facilities within the jurisdiction of the NEB.

Where a connection between upstream gathering and processing facilities and downstream interprovincial transportation facilities exists, the extension of the jurisdiction of the NEB will not include the upstream gathering and processing facilities unless there is a finding that the upstream facilities are integral to the downstream interprovincial pipeline.

On the question of whether upstream facilities are integral to a downstream interprovincial pipeline the decision of the Federal Court of Appeal in the Canadian Hunter case may also be helpful. In Canadian Hunter, the Federal Court of Appeal relied on one of its 1996 decisions, Consumers' Gas Co. v National Energy Board, for the proposition that, in determining whether ostensibly provincial facilities are integral to a pipeline under the jurisdiction of the NEB, a distinction must be drawn between cases where the primary undertaking is federal, and those instances where the primary undertaking is provincial.

In cases where the primary undertaking is federal, even a relatively minor degree of constitutional dependency by the provincial undertaking on the federal undertaking may be sufficient to draw the whole system into the jurisdiction of the NEB. However, where the primary undertaking is provincial, the existence of a substantial interprovincial aspect to the undertaking will likely be necessary in order to draw the entire system within the jurisdiction of the NEB.

The Canadian Hunter judgement provides substantial assistance and clarity to those persons, or companies, who are contemplating the construction of facilities to gather, process, and transport their own gas, oil, or other commodities, across a provincial border. In such cases, the jurisdiction of the NEB typically will not extend upstream from the point of connection between the interprovincial pipeline and the upstream production facilities. The Canadian Hunter decision has expedited consideration of recent applications before the NEB by preventing the emergence of jurisdictional issues.

Although clarity in respect of federal environmental assessment requirements has not been addressed by the Canadian Hunter decision, it is anticipated that, in the majority of situations, NEB environmental scoping decisions will follow the constitutional jurisdiction of the physical facilities.

Copies of the Federal Court judgement in the Canadian Hunter case may be obtained from the NEB Library.

Michel L. Mantha
Secretary

Date modified:

Installations en amont

Le 17 septembre 1999

À : COMPAGNIES PIPELINIÈRES RELEVANT DE LA COMPÉTENCE DE L’OFFICE NATIONAL DE L’ÉNERGIE (ONÉ OU L’OFFICE)

OBJET : Compétence à l’égard des installations en amont

La jurisprudence récente concernant la question de la compétence de l’ONÉ à l’égard des installations de production en amont a permis de clarifier les circonstances dans lesquelles il n’est pas nécessaire d’inclure de telles installations dans une demande déposée devant l’Office. Les présentes visent à attirer votre attention sur ces développements et à promouvoir une compréhension commune du champ de compétence de l’ONÉ.

Dans l’arrêt Westcoast Energy Inc. c. Canada (Office national de l’énergie) rendu en 1998, la Cour suprême du Canada a statué que des installations de collecte et de traitement en amont peuvent, de l’une ou l’autre de deux façons, relever de la compétence fédérale (c.-à-d. du ressort de l’ONÉ). Premièrement, de telles installations peuvent relever de la compétence de l’ONÉ si elles constituent une entreprise ou un ouvrage fédéral unique, telle une canalisation de collecte interprovinciale. Deuxièmement, même si elles ne faisaient pas partie d’une entreprise ou d’un ouvrage fédéral unique, les installations de collecte et de traitement en amont peuvent relever de la compétence de l’ONÉ pourvu qu’elles fassent partie intégrante d’un pipeline de compétence fédérale.

En mars 1999, dans l’arrêt Canadian Hunter Exploration Ltd. c. Office national de l’énergie, la Cour d’appel fédérale a clarifié davantage la question de la compétence à l’égard des installations en amont. Dans cette cause, un producteur avait construit un réseau comprenant des canalisations de collecte et des installations de traitement en amont qui aboutissaient à un point central de raccordement. À ce point central de raccordement se trouvaient aussi des installations qui sont habituellement considérées comme des installations de production, telles que des séparateurs et des déshydrateurs. Se trouvait également au point central de raccordement l’emplacement d’une connexion à un pipeline interprovincial qui était possédé et exploité par les mêmes producteurs. La Cour d’appel fédérale a jugé que la présence d’un point de connexion entre le point central de raccordement et la canalisation interprovinciale ne suffisait pas pour faire passer toutes les canalisations de collecte et le point central de raccordement sous la compétence de l’ONÉ.

Les avocats et les mandataires qui représentent des compagnies pipelinières devant l’ONÉ devraient donc savoir que la seule présence d’une connexion entre un pipeline interprovincial et des installations en amont habituellement associées à la production d’hydrocarbures ne suffit pas pour placer ces installations de collecte et de production en amont sous la compétence de l’ONÉ.

Dans les cas où des installations de collecte et de traitement en amont sont connectées à des installations de transport interprovincial en aval, la compétence de l’ONÉ ne s’étendra pas aux installations en amont à moins qu’il soit établi que celles-ci font partie intégrante du pipeline interprovincial en aval.

Pour ce qui est d’établir si des installations en amont font partie intégrante d’un pipeline interprovincial en aval, il peut être utile de se reporter à nouveau à la décision de la Cour d’appel fédérale dans l’arrêt Canadian Hunter. Sur ce point, la Cour d’appel fédérale s’est fondée sur la décision qu’elle avait rendue en 1996 dans l’arrêt Consumers’ Gas Co. c. Office national de l’énergie, pour statuer que de façon à déterminer si des installations manifestement provinciales font partie intégrante d’un pipeline relevant de la compétence de l’Office, il faut faire une distinction entre les cas où l’entreprise principale est fédérale, et les cas où l’entreprise principale est provinciale.

Lorsque l’entreprise principale est fédérale, même un faible degré de dépendance constitutionnelle de l’entreprise provinciale sur l’entreprise fédérale peut faire passer tout le réseau sous la compétence de l’ONÉ. Par contre, si l’entreprise principale est provinciale, il faudra vraisemblablement que l’entreprise ait une forte composante interprovinciale pour faire passer tout le réseau sous la compétence de l’ONÉ.

L’arrêt Canadian Hunter fournit une aide et des éclaircissements utiles aux personnes, ou aux compagnies, qui envisagent de construire des installations pour la collecte, le traitement et le transport, par-delà la frontière provinciale, de leur propres gaz, pétrole ou autres produits. En pareils cas, la compétence de l’ONÉ ne s’étend typiquement pas en amont du point de connexion entre le pipeline interprovincial et les installations de production en amont. L’arrêt Canadian Hunter a accéléré l’examen de demandes présentées récemment à l’ONÉ en prévenant que des questions de compétence ne soient soulevées.

Bien que l’arrêt Canadian Hunter n’apporte pas de clarification au chapitre des exigences relatives au processus fédéral d’évaluation environnementale, il est prévu que, dans la majorité des cas, les décisions rendues par l’Office au sujet de la portée des évaluations environnementales seront dictées par la compétence dont relèvent les installations matérielles en question sur le plan constitutionnel.

Vous pouvez obtenir des copies du jugement de la Cour fédérale dans l’arrêt Canadian Hunter

Le secrétaire,

Michel L. Mantha

Date de modification :