ARCHIVED - 2012 Rate of Return on Common Equity (ROE) per Discontinued RH-2-94 Formula

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

2 December 2011

On 8 October 2009, the Board released its decision on the review of the RH-2-94 Decision, finding that there was a doubt as to the ongoing correctness of the RH-2-94 Decision and determining that it would no longer be in effect. The Board indicated that because some settlements between pipeline companies and shippers reference the ROE generated by the RH-2-94 Formula, the Board would publish this ROE value in 2009 and 2010 and if requested by parties, beyond 2010.

On 6 October 2011, the Board received a request to provide the 2012 ROE result in accordance with the RH-2-94 Formula. The Board will publish the ROE results pursuant to the discontinued RH-2-94 Formula for calendar years until 2014 unless parties ask the Board to extend this practice further.

In calculating the ROE for 2012, the Board relied upon an average 10-year Government of Canada bond yield forecast of 2.45 percent (Source: November 2011 Consensus Forecasts). To this forecast, the Board added 61 basis points, which was the average yield differential between the 10- and 30-year Government of Canada bonds observed during the month of October 2011 (Source: Financial Post). This calculation produced a forecast 30-year Government of Canada bond yield of 3.06 percent for 2012, which is 66 basis points lower than the 3.72 percent forecast yield used in the ROE calculation for 2011. The yield differential of 66 basis points was multiplied by 0.75, producing a downward adjustment of 50 basis points to the 2011 ROE of 8.08 percent. For the convenience of parties, the ROE for 2012 as determined by the discontinued RH-2-94 Formula is 7.58 percent.

Related Links

2012 Rate of Return on Common Equity (ROE) per Discontinued RH-2-94 Formula [Filing A37437]

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Taux de rendement du capital-actions ordinaire (RCA) pour 2012 selon la formule abandonnée RH-2-94

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Le 2 décembre 2011

Le 8 octobre 2009, l’Office a rendu sa décision concernant la révision de la décision RH-2-94. Le bien-fondé de la décision RH-2-94 ayant été mis en doute, l’Office a déterminé qu’elle ne serait plus en vigueur. Comme certains règlements entre les sociétés pipelinières et les expéditeurs renvoient au RCA découlant de la formule RH-2-94, l’Office a précisé qu’il publierait le RCA en 2009 et 2010 et, à la demande des parties, après 2010.

Le 6 octobre 2011, l’Office a reçu une demande de publication du RCA obtenu pour 2012 selon la formule RH-2-94. L’Office publiera le RCA obtenu d’après la formule abandonnée RH-2-94 pour les prochaines années civiles jusqu’en 2014, à moins que les parties lui demandent de continuer cette pratique plus longtemps.

Pour calculer le RCA de 2012, l’Office s’est fondé sur le rendement moyen prévu de 2,45 % des obligations du gouvernement du Canada sur une période de 10 ans (source : Consensus Forecasts, novembre 2011). À ce taux prévu, l’Office a ajouté 61 points de base, soit la différence entre les taux de rendement effectifs moyens des obligations du gouvernement du Canada de 10 ans et de 30 ans, tels que notés durant le mois d’octobre 2011 (source : Financial Post). Selon ce calcul, le rendement prévu des obligations du gouvernement du Canada est de 3,06 % pour 2012, soit 66 points de base de moins que le rendement prévu de 3,72 % utilisé dans le calcul du RCA pour 2011. Ce différentiel de rendement de 66 points de base a été multiplié par 0,75, ce qui a donné une révision à la baisse de 50 points de base au RCA de 8,08 % établi pour 2011. Pour la commodité des parties, le RCA pour 2012 tel que déterminé par la formule abandonnée RH-2-94 est de 7,58 %.

Liens pertinents

Taux de rendement du capital-actions ordinaire (RCA) pour 2012 selon la formule abandonnée RH-2-94 [Dépôt A37437]

Date de modification :