Memorandum of Guidance - Implementation of the Fair Market Access Procedure for the Licensing of Long-term Exports of Crude Oil and Equivalent

File 8000-A000-13
17 December 1997

To: ALL COMPANIES UNDER THE BOARD'S JURISDICTION AND INTERESTED PARTIES

Re: Implementation of the Fair Market Access Procedure for the Licensing of Long-term Exports of Crude Oil and Equivalent

The attached Memorandum of Guidance sets out the Fair Market Access procedure ("FMA procedure") to be followed by applicants for long-term crude oil and equivalent ("crude oil") export licences issued by the National Energy Board ("the Board") under Part VI of the National Energy Board Act ("NEB Act").

With regard to the Part VI Regulations ("Regulations"), the Board has considered the views and recommendations of interested parties and concurs that some provisions in the existing Regulations are inconsistent with the new market-based approach to regulating the long-term exportation of crude oil. Therefore, the Board is proceeding with recommending that the Governor-In-Council approve amendments to the Regulations by removing therefrom subsections 25(b) and (d) in their entirety, by amending subsection 25(c) by removing paragraph 25(c)(ii) therefrom, and by removing subsection 25(f) therefrom, with the exception of paragraph 25(f)(v).

The Board is further recommending that the Regulations be amended by adding a new subsection requiring an applicant to demonstrate the manner in which it has informed buyers of the crude oil available for sale and the manner in which it has given interested buyers the opportunity to purchase that crude oil.

Michel L. Mantha
Secretary

Attachment


File 8000-A000-13
17 December 1997

MEMORANDUM OF GUIDANCE

Fair Market Access Procedure for the Licensing of Long-term Exports
of Crude Oil and Equivalent

I. Introduction

By letter dated 5 February 1996, the Minister of Natural Resources Canada ("the Minister") asked the National Energy Board ("the Board"), pursuant to subsection 26(2) of the National Energy Board Act ("NEB Act"), to develop for her consideration a market-based procedure for the review of crude oil and equivalent ("crude oil") export licence applications. The Minister requested that the procedure be modelled along the lines of the Complaints Procedure which is used as part of the Market-Based Procedure in assessing applications for long-term natural gas exports, or the Fair Market Access ("FMA") procedure used to assess electricity permit applications.

After having considered the natural gas and electricity models, the Board determined that, having regard to the characteristics of crude oil supply and markets and to the economic interests of Canadian crude oil producers and consumers, the FMA model is well suited to the licensing of crude oil exports. The Board's views are more fully set out in its letter of 27 May 1996.[1] That letter sought the views of interested parties on the appropriateness of using such a model.

[1] Board letter dated 27 May 1996 to "Interested Persons" entitled "Proposed Procedure for Dealing with Crude Oil and Equivalent Export Licence Applications".

After having considered the views of interested parties, the Board, in October 1996, recommended to the Minister that its proposed FMA procedure for crude oil and equivalent be implemented. The Board further recommended that upon acceptance of this recommendation, the Board would review its Part VI Regulations ("Regulations") to determine whether they continued to be consistent with the new market- based approach inherent in the FMA procedure. The Board's recommendation was accepted by the Minister in December 1996.

II. The Fair Market Access Procedure

The FMA procedure for dealing with the licensing of long-term exports of crude oil and equivalent is set out below.

Any party wishing to export crude oil from Canada on a long-term basis must demonstrate that it has provided fair market access to potentially-interested Canadian refiners and marketers (i.e. "buyers"). This places two obligations on an export licence applicant (the "Applicant"):

  • The Applicant must inform potential Canadian buyers of the volumes and type(s) of crude oil associated with the proposed export; and
  • If any Canadian buyer expresses an interest in purchasing all or part of the available volumes, the Applicant must enter into good faith negotiations with that potential buyer and negotiate on the same basis as it has negotiated, or which it is in the process of negotiating, with its export customer(s). The Applicant is obligated only to disclose to potential Canadian buyers the volumes, type(s) of crude oil and the term associated with the proposed export. The Applicant is not required to provide pricing information at this stage of the procedure.

Upon receipt of notification, potential Canadian buyers will have 30 days to formally notify the Applicant of their interest in purchasing all or part of the available volumes of crude oil. If Canadian buyers express an interest in purchasing the crude oil, the parties would enter into negotiations, recognizing that simultaneous negotiations may be occurring, or may already have occurred, with potential export customers.

The proposed procedure is premised on the belief that the crude oil market will normally operate to satisfy the requirements of Canadian buyers at fair market prices. There is a shared responsibility on the part of both the Applicant and the Canadian buyers to ensure that Canadians are given an opportunity to obtain crude oil on similar terms and conditions as are made available to export customers. Once negotiations have begun, both the Applicant and the potential buyers are expected to negotiate in good faith.

Once the Applicant has determined whether or not there is any interest on the part of Canadian buyers and it has negotiated in good faith with such buyers, the Applicant may file a complete export licence application with the Board. Upon receipt of an application, and upon satisfying itself that an Applicant has complied with the filing requirements of the Regulations, the Board will set the application down for a public hearing. In the absence of any filings by Canadian crude oil buyers or other interested parties expressing serious concern with the application, the Board would normally proceed with a written hearing.

To demonstrate that it has complied with the FMA procedure for crude oil, the Applicant will have to demonstrate that:

(a) no Canadian buyer was interested in buying all or part of the crude oil on similar terms and conditions as contained in the export sales contract(s); or

(b) that Canadian buyers expressed an interest in purchasing crude oil from the Applicant and that satisfactory contractual arrangements were reached. In accordance with the Regulations, the Applicant would be required to submit the terms and conditions of its export sales contract as part of its export licence application. Should a Canadian buyer express concern that it had not been provided fair market access, it would have to demonstrate to the Board that it was either not informed of the crude oil available for sale or that the Applicant had refused to enter into good faith negotiations with respect to offering the crude oil on similar terms and conditions as are made available to the export customers.

In addition, in fulfilment of its mandate, the Board will take into account all other relevant public interest considerations, including the need for the applied-for licence.

In summary, the Board will issue an export licence if it is satisfied that its discretion should be exercised in favour of granting of an application for a crude oil export licence, having regard to whether the Applicant has:

  • satisfactorily demonstrated that it has provided fair market access;
  • fully complied with the filing requirements of the Regulations;
  • filed any supplementary information as may be required by the Board; and
  • adequately addressed all relevant public interest considerations.

The burden of proof will rest with the Applicant that the applied-for crude oil export licence should be issued.

Date modified:

Directives - Mise en application de la méthode de l’accès équitable au marché aux fins de l’octroi de licences d’exportation à long terme de pétrole brut et d’équivalents

Dossier 8000-A000-13
le 17 décembre 1997

Pour : TOUTES LES COMPAGNIES RELEVANT DE LA COMPÉTENCE DE L’OFFICE ET AUTRES PARTIES INTÉRESSÉES

Objet : Mise en application de la méthode de l’accès équitable au marché aux fins de l’octroi de licences d’exportation à long terme de pétrole brut et d’équivalents1

Le protocole d’instructions ci-joint expose la méthode basée sur l’accès équitable au marché (AÉM) à laquelle doivent se conformer les compagnies qui sollicitent la délivrance de licences d’exportation à long terme de pétrole brut et d’équivalents par l’Office national de l’énergie (l’« Office »), en vertu de la partie VI de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie (« Loi sur l’ONÉ »).

Pour ce qui concerne le Règlement concernant le gaz et le pétrole (partie VI de la Loi) (« Règlement »), l’Office a examiné les points de vue et les recommandations des parties intéressées et convient que certaines dispositions du Règlement en vigueur ne concordent pas avec la nouvelle approche axée sur les conditions du marché qui doit sous-tendre la réglementation des exportations à long terme de pétrole brut. Par conséquent, l’Office recommandera au gouverneur en conseil d’approuver les modifications suivantes au Règlement, à savoir : l’élimination complète des paragraphes 25b) et d), la modification du paragraphe 25c) par la suppression de l’alinéa 25c)(ii) et l’élimination de tout le paragraphe 25f), sauf l’alinéa 25f)(v).

En outre, l’Office propose d’ajouter dans le Règlement un nouveau paragraphe prescrivant que le demandeur doit faire état de la façon dont il a informé les acheteurs éventuels au sujet de la disponibilité du pétrole brut à vendre et donné aux acheteurs intéressés la possibilité de se le procurer.

Le secrétaire

Mantha L. Mantha

Pièce jointe


Dossier 8000-A000-13
le 17 décembre 1997

PROTOCOLE D’INSTRUCTIONS

Méthode de l’accès équitable au marché aux fins de l’octroi
de licences d’exportation à long terme de pétrole brut et d’équivalents

I. Introduction

Dans une lettre datée du 5 février 1996, la ministre de Ressources naturelles Canada (la « ministre ») a prié l’Office national de l’énergie (l’« Office »), aux termes du paragraphe 26(2) de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie (la « Loi sur l’ONÉ »), de lui soumettre un processus axé sur les conditions du marché qui pourrait servir à l’examen des demandes de licences d’exportation de pétrole brut et d’équivalents (« pétrole brut »). La ministre souhaitait que ce processus s’inspire de la méthode d’intervention en fonction des plaintes, qui est utilisée dans le cadre de la méthode axée sur les conditions du marché pour l’examen des demandes de licences d’exportation à long terme de gaz naturel, ou de la procédure d’accès équitable au marché (AÉM), qui sous-tend l’examen des demandes de permis d’exportation d’électricité.

Après avoir étudié les démarches employées dans les domaines du gaz naturel et de l’électricité, l’Office a établi que, compte tenu des caractéristiques de l’approvisionnement en pétrole brut et des marchés ainsi que des intérêts économiques des producteurs et des consommateurs de pétrole brut au Canada, la méthode de l’AÉM semblait convenir le mieux aux fins de l’examen des demandes de licences d’exportation de pétrole brut. Le point de vue de l’Office est exposé plus en détail dans sa lettre du 27 mai 1996[1], où il sollicitait l’avis des parties intéressées sur l’à-propos d’adopter une telle formule.

[1] Lettre de l’Office en date du 27 mai 1996, adressée aux « personnes intéressées » et intitulée « Méthodeproposée de traitement des demandes de licence d’exportation du pétrole brut et des produits équivalents ».

Ayant pris en considération les points de vue des parties intéressées, l’Office, en octobre 1996, a recommandé à la ministre la mise en application de la méthode de l’accès équitable au marché qu’il proposait relativement au pétrole brut et aux équivalents. Il a également proposé que, suite à l’approbation de sa recommandation, il entreprenne de réexaminer le Règlement concernant le gaz et le pétrole (partie VI de la Loi) (« Règlement ») pour voir s’il concorde avec la nouvelle approche axée sur les conditions du marché qui fait partie intégrante de la méthode de l’AÉM. La ministre a agréé la recommandation de l’Office en décembre 1996.

II. Méthode de l’accès équitable au marché (AÉM)

La méthode de l’AÉM, qui sous-tendra la délivrance des licences d’exportation à long terme de pétrole brut et d’équivalents, est exposée ci-dessous.

Toute partie désireuse d’exporter à long terme du pétrole brut du Canada doit démontrer qu’elle a accordé aux raffineurs et aux négociants canadiens potentiellement intéressés (c.-à-d. aux acheteurs éventuels) un accès équitable au pétrole en question. Ce principe impose les deux obligations suivantes au demandeur de licence d’exportation (le « demandeur ») :

  • Le demandeur doit informer les acheteurs canadiens potentiels des volumes et types de pétrole brut visés par l’exportation proposée;
  • Si un acheteur canadien manifeste de l’intérêt à acheter les volumes offerts, en tout ou en partie, le demandeur doit engager avec lui des négociations de bonne foi basées sur les mêmes conditions que celles qu’il a négociées, ou qu’il est en train de négocier, avec des clients externes. Le demandeur n’est tenu de communiquer aux acheteurs canadiens éventuels que les renseignements relatifs aux volumes et au(x) type(s) de pétrole brut et à la durée de l’exportation proposée. Il n’est pas obligé, à cette étape-ci du processus, de fournir de l’information sur les prix.

Sur réception de l’avis, les acheteurs canadiens potentiels disposeront de 30 jours pour notifier officiellement le demandeur qu’ils sont intéressés à acheter la totalité ou une partie des volumes de pétrole brut offerts. Si des acheteurs canadiens se disent intéressés à se procurer le pétrole brut, les parties engagent des négociations tout en sachant que d’autres négociations peuvent être en cours, ou peuvent avoir eu lieu, avec des clients externes potentiels.

La méthode proposée repose sur la prémisse que le marché du pétrole brut fonctionne généralement de manière à garantir que les acheteurs canadiens puissent satisfaire leurs besoins en pétrole à des prix de marché équitables. La responsabilité de garantir que les Canadiens puissent obtenir du pétrole brut suivant des conditions semblables à celles qui sont offertes aux clients externes incombe autant au demandeur qu’aux acheteurs canadiens. On s’attend à ce que le demandeur et les acheteurs qui entament des négociations les mènent de bonne foi.

Une fois qu’il a établi s’il y a des acheteurs canadiens intéressés et, le cas échéant, négocié de bonne foi avec ceux-ci, le demandeur peut déposer une demande de licence d’exportation intégrale auprès de l’Office. Sur réception de la demande, et après s’être assuré que le demandeur s’est conformé aux exigences de dépôt que prévoit le Règlement, l’Office ordonne la tenue d’une audience publique en vue de l’examen de la demande. Si aucun acheteur de pétrole brut canadien ou autre partie intéressée ne saisit l’Office par écrit de préoccupations sérieuses au sujet de la demande, l’Office s’en tient normalement à une audience par voie de mémoires.

Pour faire la preuve qu’il s’est conformé à la méthode de l’AÉM pour le pétrole brut, le demandeur doit démontrer ce qui suit :

a) aucun acheteur canadien n’était intéressé à acheter le pétrole brut, en tout ou en partie, suivant des conditions semblables à celles que stipulent le ou les contrats de vente à l’exportation; ou

b) des acheteurs canadiens ont manifesté de l’intérêt pour l’achat du pétrole brut du demandeur, et des ententes contractuelles satisfaisantes ont été conclues. Conformément au Règlement de la partie VI, le demandeur serait tenu de présenter dans le cadre de sa demande de licence d’exportation les détails sur les conditions des contrats de vente à l’exportation conclus.

Si un acheteur canadien se plaint qu’il n’a pas bénéficié d’un accès équitable au marché, il lui faut prouver à l’Office qu’il n’a pas été informé de la disponibilité du pétrole brut à vendre ou que le demandeur a refusé d’engager des négociations de bonne foi pour le lui offrir suivant des conditions semblables à celles qu’il propose à ses clients externes.

Dans l’exercice de son mandat, l’Office tiendra également compte de tous autres facteurs d’intérêt public pertinents, y compris la nécessité de la licence demandée.

En résumé, l’Office délivrera une licence d’exportation s’il juge approprié d’exercer son pouvoir discrétionnaire en se prononçant en faveur de la demande de licence, eu égard aux conditions suivantes:

  • le demandeur a démontré de façon satisfaisante qu’il a assuré un accès équitable au marché;
  • il s’est conformé à toutes les exigences de dépôt que prévoit le Règlement;
  • il a déposé tous les renseignements complémentaires demandés par l’Office;
  • il a réglé convenablement toutes les questions d’intérêt public pertinentes.

Il revient au demandeur de faire la preuve que la licence d’exportation sollicitée doit être émise.

Date de modification :