Proposed changes to the National Energy Board Export and Import Regulatory Framework

On 6 July 2012, the Government of Canada enacted the Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity Act which made amendments to parts of the National Energy Board Act (Act) that affect the National Energy Board’s (NEB or Board) export and import framework. As a result of these changes, on 11 July 2012 the Board issued:

  • Interim Memorandum of Guidance Concerning Oil and Gas Export Applications and Gas Import Applications under Part VI of the National Energy Board Act (Interim Oil and Gas MOG). The Interim Oil and Gas MOG provided guidance to applicants until such time as the Board had completed a review and update of the Board’s export and import regulatory framework. The Board also sought public comments on aspects of the Board’s hydrocarbon export and import regulatory framework in September 2012; and,
  • Update of the Electricity Memorandum of Guidance to Interested Parties Concerning Full Implementation of the September 1988 Canadian Electricity Policy (2012 MOG Update). The 2012 MOG Update advised interested parties of the changes to the Act and provided guidance to electricity export applicants until such time as the Board had completed a review and update of the Board’s export and import regulatory framework.

In order to make changes to the NEB’s export and import regulatory framework, the Board is proposing amendments to the National Energy Board Part VI (Oil and Gas) Regulations and the National Energy Board Export and Import Reporting Regulations. Concurrently, the Board is proposing amendments to the Toll Information Regulations. The proposed amendments can be found below. Please note that as part of changes to the NEB’s export and import regulatory framework the Board is also proposing amendments to the National Energy Board Electricity Regulations.

The Board received the letters below during the public comment period which ended on 18 October 2013. The comments posted here are not the views or opinions of the National Energy Board. The comments are posted in the language in which they were submitted.

If you have any questions regarding the proposed amendments or the consultation process please contact Suchaet Bhardwaj at Suchaet.Bhardwaj@neb-one.gc.ca or 403-299-2746.

Date modified:

Changements proposés au cadre de réglementation de l’Office national de l’énergie en matière d’exportation et d’importation

Édictée le 6 juillet 2012, la Loi sur l’emploi, la croissance et la prospérité durable a eu pour effet de modifier certaines parties de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie (Loi), ce qui a eu une incidence sur le cadre utilisé par l’Office pour réglementer les exportations et les importations. Par suite des modifications, le 11 juillet 2012, l’Office a publié ce qui suit :

  • Directives provisoires concernant les demandes d’exportation de pétrole et de gaz et les demandes d’importation de gaz en vertu de la Partie VI de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie (Directives provisoires concernant le pétrole et le gaz) afin de fournir une orientation aux demandeurs d’ici à ce que l’Office ait fait un examen et une mise à jour du cadre de réglementation en matière d’exportation et d’importation. En septembre 2012, l’Office a également sollicité les commentaires du public sur différents aspects de son cadre de réglementation des exportations et des importations des hydrocarbures.
  • Mise à jour de 2012 des Directives à l’intention des parties intéressées concernant la mise en application de la Politique canadienne de l’électricité de septembre 1988 (mise à jour de 2012) afin d’aviser les parties intéressées des changements apportés à la Loi et de fournir des directives aux demandeurs de permis d’exportation d’électricité d’ici à ce que l’Office ait fait un examen et une mise à jour du cadre de réglementation en matière d’exportation et d’importation.

Dans le but de modifier son cadre de réglementation relatif aux exportations et aux importations, l’Office propose des changements au Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie concernant le gaz et le pétrole (partie VI de la Loi) et au Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les rapports relatifs aux exportations et importations. Parallèlement, l’Office propose des changements au Règlement sur les renseignements relatifs aux droits. Le lecteur trouvera ces changements ci-dessous. L’Office tient à souligner qu’il propose également des changements au Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie concernant l’électricité.

L’Office a reçu les lettres ci-dessous au cours de la période de consultation publique qui a pris fin le 18 Octobre 2013. Les commentaires du public affichés ici ne représentent ni les points de vue, ni les opinions de l’Office national de l’énergie. Ces commentaires sont affichés dans leur langue d’origine.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les changements proposés ou sur le processus de consultation, veuillez communiquer avec Suchaet Bhardwaj (Suchaet.Bhardwaj@neb-one.gc.ca ou 403-299-2746).

Date de modification :