Memorandum of Understanding between the National Energy Board and the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration, U.S. Department of Transportation

Pipeline Hazardous Materials Safety Administration, U.S. Department of Transportation (PHMSA) - 1 November 2005 [PDF 778 KB]

I. Purpose

The National Energy Board (NEB) of Canada and the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA) of the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) (together, "the Parties") enter into this Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) to enhance cooperation and coordination between the Parties for the purpose of improving pipeline safety in both Canada and the United States.

II. Background

NEB regulates aspects of the energy industry in Canada including the construction and operation of inter-provincial and international pipelines; pipeline traffic, tolls and tariffs; the construction and operation of international and designated inter-provincial power lines; the export and import of natural gas; the export of oil and electricity; and Frontier oil and gas activities.

PHMSA regulates safety, reliability, and environmental soundness in the design, construction, testing, operation, maintenance, and spill response planning for natural gas and hazardous liquid pipeline facilities used in or affecting U.S. interstate and foreign commerce.

The pipeline infrastructure in Canada and the United States is interconnected and the continued safe operation of this infrastructure is dependent on the adequacy and effectiveness of design, construction, operation, maintenance, and other aspects of pipeline transportation activities in both nations. The Parties recognize that the conduct of their responsibilities has and will in the future require them to examine, regulate, or otherwise oversee interconnecting pipeline facilities or activities. The Parties further recognize that appropriate cooperation in the development and implementation of regulatory programs will provide greater regulatory certainty to pipeline companies operating pipelines which cross the boundary between Canada and the United States.

III. Terms of Agreement

  1. The Parties contemplate that cooperation may take the form of staff exchanges, emergency management planning and exercises, joint training initiatives, consultative regulatory development, and sharing of compliance data and reports. To the extent any investigation reports, findings, and company intelligence are shared in furtherance of the purposes of this MOU, each party shall protect any non-public records or portions thereof provided by the other party from unauthorized disclosure in accordance with applicable law and shall obtain the consent of the providing party before disclosing any confidential information. PHMSA further agrees that it will specify when information it provides is being submitted "in confidence" so that that the NEB can refuse disclosure of that material in accordance with Canada's Access to Information Act.
  2. The Parties contemplate that cooperation may take place on research and development activities. These activities can take the form of coordination meetings to identify mutual areas of research and the possible co-funding of identified research projects.
  3. When either party undertakes a compliance audit on a pipeline that crosses the border between Canada and the United States, the party undertaking the audit shall notify either the NEB Secretary or the PHMSA's Assistant Administrator/Chief Safety Officer as appropriate. Where appropriate, such notification may include an invitation to observe the audit.
  4. When either party commences an enforcement action on a pipeline that crosses the border between Canada and the United States, the party commencing the action shall notify either the NEB Secretary or the PHMSA's Assistant Administrator/Chief Safety Officer as appropriate.
  5. If an Alaskan Natural Gas Pipeline is authorized by law to be designed, constructed and operated, the Parties will coordinate and collaborate in the manner described herein as appropriate.

IV. Other Provisions

  1. Nothing in this MOU or any annex is intended to impose any funding obligations on either of the Parties. Nothing in this MOU or any annex is intended to diminish or otherwise affect the authority of either party to carry out its statutory, regulatory or other official functions or to commit either party to providing a particular service they would not otherwise provide in the scope of each party's individual mission and functions.
  2. Nothing in this MOU or any annex shall be construed to conflict with current law, regulation, or directive of the NEB or the DOT. If a term of this MOU or any annex is determined to be inconsistent with such authority, that term shall be invalid to the extent of the inconsistency. The remainder of that term and all other terms shall remain in effect.
  3. Nothing in this MOU or any annex is intended to create any right or benefit, substantive or procedural, enforceable at law by any person or organization against either party, its agencies or officers, state agencies or officers carrying out programs authorized under federal law, or any other person.
  4. This MOU and any annexes hereto may be amended or modified at any time by written agreement of the NEB Secretary and the PHMSA Administrator.
  5. Should disagreement arise on the interpretation of any provision of this MOU or any amendments and/or modifications thereto that cannot be resolved at the operating level, the area(s) of disagreement shall be stated in writing by each party and presented to the other party for consideration. If agreement on interpretation is not reached within thirty days, the Parties shall forward the written presentation of the disagreement to respective higher officials for appropriate resolution.

V. Principal Contacts

The Parties designate the principal contacts identified in Attachment A. Each party's contact may be changed at its discretion upon notice to the other party.

VI. Effective Period/Termination

This MOU will be effective as of the date of final signature by both of the Parties and will remain in effect until terminated by either party. Either party may terminate this MOU and any annexes hereto upon written notice to the other party.

APPROVED BY:

_______________________________
Jim Donihee
Chief Operating Officer
National Energy Board
_____________________
Date
_______________________________
Stacey L. Gerard
Acting Assistant Administrator/Chief Safety Officer
Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration
U.S. Department of Transportation
_____________________
Date

Attachment A: Principal Contacts

The following are the principal initial contacts for each party:

National Energy Board

Ken Paulson
Acting Business Leader
Operations Business Unit
444 Seventh Avenue SW
Calgary, Alberta T2P 0X8
Telephone: 403-299-3194
Fax: 403-292-5876

Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration, U.S. Department of Transportation

Jeff Wiese
Director of Program Development, OPS
400 Seventh Street SW, Room 2103
Washington, DC 20590
jeff.wiese@dot.gov
Telephone: 202-366-2036
Fax: 202-366-4566

Date modified:

Protocole d’entente entre l’Office national de l’énergie et la Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration, Département des Transports des États-Unis

Protocole d’entente entre l’Office national de l’énergie et la Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration, Département des Transports des États-Unis (PHMSA) - 1er novembre 2005 [PDF 83 ko]

I. Objet

L’Office national de l’énergie (ONÉ) du Canada et la Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA) du Département des Transports (DOT) des États-Unis (les parties) concluent le présent protocole d’entente (le protocole) afin de rehausser leur coopération et leur coordination pour améliorer la sécurité des pipelines au Canada et aux États-Unis.

II. Contexte

L’ONÉ réglemente divers aspects de l’industrie énergétique au Canada, notamment : la construction et l’exploitation de pipelines interprovinciaux et internationaux; le transport, les droits et les tarifs pipeliniers; la construction et l’exploitation de lignes internationales de transport d’électricité et de lignes interprovinciale désignées; l’exportation et l’importation de gaz naturel; l’exportation de pétrole et d’électricité; et les activités pétrolières et gazières sur les terres pionnières.

La PHMSA réglemente la sécurité, la fiabilité et le respect de l’environnement en ce qui concerne la conception, la construction, les essais, l’exploitation, la maintenance ainsi que la planification des interventions en cas de déversement pour les pipelines transportant du gaz naturel et des liquides dangereux et qui sont utilisés dans le commerce outre-frontière et le commerce entre les États américains.

L’infrastructure pipelinière du Canada et des États-Unis est interconnectée et la sûreté de son exploitation dépend de la justesse et de l’efficacité de la conception, de la construction, de l’exploitation, de la maintenance et d’autres aspects du transport par pipeline dans les deux pays. Les parties reconnaissent qu’il leur incombe d’examiner, de réglementer et de surveiller les installations pipelinières interconnectées ou les activités y afférentes. Elles reconnaissent également qu’une coopération appropriée dans l’élaboration et la mise en oeuvre des programmes de réglementation assurera une plus grande certitude réglementaire aux sociétés pipelinières exploitant des pipelines qui traversent la frontière canado-américaine.

III. Dispositions de l’entente

  1. Les parties envisagent que leur coopération pourrait prendre la forme d’échanges de personnel, de plans et d’exercices de gestion de situation d’urgence, de programmes conjoints de formation, de consultations pour l’élaboration des règlements, et de partage des données et des rapports sur l’assurance de la conformité. Dans l’éventualité où des rapports d’enquête, des résultats ou des renseignements commerciaux seraient partagés en accord avec les objectifs du protocole, chaque partie s’abstiendra de divulguer tout document ou portion de document non public fourni par l’autre partie sans son autorisation conformément aux lois applicables, et s’engage à obtenir le consentement de l’autre avant de divulguer une information confidentielle. La PHMSA convient en outre de le préciser lorsqu’elle fournit une information « confidentielle » de sorte que l’ONÉ puisse en refuser la divulgation conformément à la Loi canadienne sur l’accès à l’information.
  2. Les parties envisagent que la coopération pourrait s’exercer dans le domaine de la recherche et du développement, sous forme par exemple de rencontres de coordination en vue de cerner les aires de recherche réciproques et les possibilités d’un cofinancement de certains projets de recherche.
  3. Lorsque l’une ou l’autre partie entreprend la vérification de conformité d’un pipeline qui traverse la frontière canado-américaine, la partie qui l’entreprend doit en aviser soit le secrétaire de l’ONÉ, soit l’administrateur adjoint ou l’agent de sécurité en chef de la PHMSA, selon le cas. Au besoin, l’avis pourra inclure une invitation à assister à la vérification en observateur.
  4. Lorsque l’une ou l’autre partie entreprend une action coercitive à l’égard d’un pipeline qui traverse la frontière canado-américaine, la partie qui entreprend l’action doit en aviser soit le secrétaire de l’ONÉ, soit l’administrateur adjoint ou l’agent de sécurité en chef de la PHMSA, selon le cas.
  5. Si la loi autorise la conception, la construction et l’exploitation d’un pipeline de gaz naturel en Alaska, les parties coordonneront leur activité respective et collaboreront de la manière décrite aux présentes, au besoin.

IV. Autres dispositions

  1. Aucune disposition du protocole, ni de ses annexes s’il y en a, n’est réputée imposer des obligations de financement à l’une ou l’autre partie. Aucune disposition du protocole, ni de ses annexes s’il y en a, n’est réputée diminuer ou avoir un effet sur le pouvoir de l’une ou l’autre partie de s’acquitter de ses fonctions légales, réglementaires ou officielles, ni engager l’une ou l’autre partie à fournir un service particulier qu’elle ne fournirait pas dans le cadre de sa mission et de ses fonctions.
  2. Aucune disposition du protocole, ni de ses annexes s’il y en a, ne doit être interprétée comme étant en contradiction avec une loi, un règlement ou une directive en vigueur à l’ONÉ ou au DOT. Si un terme du protocole, ou d’une de ses annexes s’il y en a, était jugé en contradiction avec une loi, un règlement ou une directive, ce terme sera réputé nul et sans effet dans la mesure de sa contradiction. Le reste de ce terme et tous les autres termes continueront de produire leurs pleins effets.
  3. Aucune disposition du protocole, ni de ses annexes s’il y en a, n’est réputée créer un droit ou un avantage, significatif ou procédural, exécutable en droit par une personne ou un organisme à l’encontre de l’une ou l’autre partie, ses agences ou mandataires, sociétés d’État ou agents chargés d’appliquer des programmes autorisés par une loi fédérale, ou à l’encontre de toute autre personne.
  4. Le protocole et ses annexes, s’il y en a, peuvent être modifiés en tout temps par voie d’entente écrite conclue entre le secrétaire de l’ONÉ et l’administrateur de la PHMSA.
  5. Dans l’éventualité d’un désaccord sur l’interprétation d’une des dispositions du protocole ou d’une modification qui y aurait été apportée, lequel désaccord ne peut être résolu au niveau des exécutants, le ou les points de désaccord devront être signifiés par écrit par chaque partie à l’autre pour qu’elle en prenne connaissance. Si elles ne parviennent pas à s’entendre sur l’interprétation dans un délai de trente jours, les parties doivent signifier par écrit un exposé

V. Principales personnes-ressources

Les parties désignent les principales personnes-ressources mentionnées à l’Annexe A. La personne-ressource de chaque partie peut être changée à discrétion moyennant avis à l’autre partie.

VI. Période d’application/Expiration

Le protocole entrera en vigueur à la date de la signature apposée par les deux parties et il le restera jusqu’à ce qu’il y ait été mis fin par l’une ou l’autre partie. L’une ou l’autre partie peut mettre fin au protocole et à ses annexes, s’il y en a, moyennant avis écrit à l’autre partie.

APPROUVÉ PAR :

_______________________________
Jim Donihee
Chef des opérations
Office national de l’énergie
_____________________
Date
_______________________________
Stacey L. Gerard
Administrateur adjoint par intérim/Agent de sécurité en chef
Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration
U.S. Department of Transportation
_____________________
Date

ANNEXE A : PRINCIPALES PERSONNES-RESSOURCES

Les principales personnes-ressources sont :

pour l’Office national de l’énergie

Ken Paulson
Chef de secteur par intérim
Secteur des opérations
444, Septième avenue S.-O.
Calgary (Alberta) T2P 0X8
Téléphone : 403-299-3194
Télécopieur : 403-292-5876

pour la Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration, U.S. Department of Transportation

Jeff Wiese
Director of Program Development, OPS
400 Seventh Street SW, Room 2103
Washington, DC 20590
jeff.wiese@dot.gov
Téléphone : 202-366-2036
Télécopieur : 202-366-4566

Date de modification :