Memorandum of Understanding between the National Energy Board and the Northwest Territories Water Board

Memorandum of Understanding between the National Energy Board and the Northwest Territories Water Board [PDF 397 KB]

MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING
RE: COOPERATION RE DOWN-HOLE INJECTION

BETWEEN:

THE NORTHWEST TERRITORIES WATER BOARD
(the "NWTWB")

-and-

 

THE NATIONAL ENERGY BOARD
(the “NEB”)

(Collectively the “Parties”)

PREAMBLE

WHEREAS the NWTWB and the NEB each have jurisdiction pursuant to their enabling statutes over waste and the means by which it is disposed of in the Inuvialuit Settlement Region of the Northwest Territories;

AND WHEREAS each of the Boards is a Responsible Authority for environmental assessments under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act;

AND WHEREAS the Parties wish to establish a process by which the NEB and the NWTWB can work together on environmental assessments for applications seeking authority to dispose of waste by means of down-hole injection;

AND WHEREAS it is desirous that duplication of effort be minimized wherever possible;

NOW THEREFORE THE PARTIES HAVE AGREED:

1. DEFINITIONS AND PURPOSE

1.1 In this Memorandum of Understanding “down-hole injection” means the injection of fluids from oil and gas operations, including but not limited to produced water, fluids containing drill cuttings, and drilling, completion and work-over fluids, into a well authorized by the NEB under the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act.

1.2 The purpose of this Memorandum of Understanding is to ensure that water licence applications to the NWTWB for issuance of water licences which include a request that the applicant be allowed to dispose of waste by down-hole injection are reviewed adequately by the NEB and the NWTWB with a minimum of duplication;

2. JOINT SCREENING WORKING GROUP

2.1 Upon receipt by the NWTWB of an application for a water licence containing a proposal to dispose of waste (as that term is defined in the Northwest Territories Waters Act, S.C. 1992, c. 39) by down-hole injection, the NWTWB agrees to notify the NEB of the request and provide to the NEB a copy of the application and all other relevant information pertaining to it.

2.2 The parties agree to form a Joint Screening Working Group (the "JSWG") for the purpose of providing information at the environmental screening stage on the matter of down-hole injection. After reviewing the project description for the proposed project for down-hole injection and considering the appropriate environmental information on the matter, the NEB agrees to provide the JSWG with its conclusions on whether or not down-hole injection is environmentally acceptable in each case.

2.3 In any licence which is subsequently issued by the NWTWB where the applicant has proposed to deal with its waste by down-hole injection the NWTWB may include in the licence, conditions that specify the applicant must comply with any conditions which may be imposed by the NEB as such conditions may relate to down-hole injection matters.

3. CONFIDENTIALITY

3.1 Each of the parties hereto agrees to keep confidential all information obtained by it in the carrying out of this Memorandum of Understanding concerning the operations or business of the other except for such information which is generally available to the public or is required by law to be made public.

4. TERMINATION

4.1 This Memorandum of Understanding may be terminated by either party on its giving at least three months notice in writing to the other party.

5. TERM

5.1 This Memorandum of Understanding will terminate upon the expiration of five years from the date of execution unless the parties agree, in writing, to renew the Memorandum of Understanding for successive terms upon the same terms and conditions.

6. GENERAL

6.1 This  Memorandum of Understanding may be amended at any time in writing by the parties as executed by their duly authorized representatives.

6.2  Any notice or other communication required to be given under this Memorandum of Understanding will be made in writing and will be delivered personally, sent by fax, electronic communication or by first class prepaid mail to the addresses listed below:

The NWTWB:

The Executive Director
The Northwest Territories Water Board
5114 49th St.
Box 1326
Yellowknife, NT XIA 2N9
Phone: 867-765-0106 Fax: 867-765-0114

The NEB:

Chief Conservation Officer
National Energy Board
444 - 7th Avenue SW
Calgary, Alberta T2P 0X8
Phone: 403-292-4800
Fax: 403-292-5503

6.3 The date of receipt of any notice shall be deemed to be:

  • if personally delivered or sent by courier, the date of delivery;
  • if sent by certified or ordinary mail, 7 business days after mailing; or if sent by electronic communications or fax, 24 hours after the time of transmission,
  • excluding from the calculation, weekends and public holidays.

6.4 Nothing in this Memorandum of Understanding shall be interpreted as requiring either party to take any action that would be contrary to law.

6.5 This Memorandum of Understanding may be executed in counterparts, each of which will be deemed as an original and all of which constitute one and the same document.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF each of the parties has executed this Memorandum of Understanding by its duly authorized representatives on the _____ day of _______________, 2008.

NATIONAL ENERGY BOARD

___________________________

___________________________

THE NORTHWEST TERRITORIES WATER BOARD

___________________________

___________________________

Date modified:

Protocole d’entente entre l’Office national de l’énergie et l’Office des eaux des Territoires du Nord-Ouest

PROTOCOLE D’ENTENTE
OBJET : COLLABORATION À L’ÉGARD DE L’INJECTION EN FOND DE PUITS

ENTRE :

L’OFFICE DES EAUX DES TERRITOIRES DU NORD-OUEST (l’« OETNO »)

-et-

L’OFFICE NATIONAL DE L’ÉNERGIE (l’« ONÉ »)

 (collectivement les « parties »)

PRÉAMBULE

ATTENDU QUE l’OETNO et l’ONÉ sont toutes deux compétentes, en vertu de leurs lois habilitantes respectives, en matière de déchets et de modes d’élimination dans la région désignée des Inuvialuit des Territoires du Nord-Ouest;

ATTENDU QUE chacun des offices est une autorité responsable en matière d’évaluations environnementales en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale;

ATTENDU QUE les parties souhaitent définir un processus au titre duquel l’ONÉ et l’OETNO peuvent collaborer au moment des évaluations environnementales dans le cadre de demandes d’autorisation pour l’élimination de déchets par injection en fond de puits;

ATTENDU QU’il est souhaitable de réduire au minimum tout dédoublement d’effort chaque fois que possible;

À CES CAUSES, LES PARTIES ONT CONVENU DE CE QUI SUIT :

1. DÉFINITIONS ET OBJET

1.1 Dans le présent protocole d’entente, par « injection en fond de puits » il faut entendre l’injection dans un puits, autorisée par l’ONÉ en vertu de la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada, de liquides découlant de l’exploitation pétrolière et gazière, y compris mais sans s’y limiter des eaux produites, des fluides renfermant des déblais, ainsi que des fluides de forage, de complétion et de reconditionnement.

1.2 Le présent protocole d’entente vise à s’assurer que les demandes de permis d’utilisation des eaux présentées à l’OETNO et incluant une demande d’autorisation pour l’élimination des déchets par injection en fond de puits soient examinées de façon appropriée par l’ONÉ et l’OETNO en évitant le plus possible les dédoublements d’efforts.

2. GROUPE D’EXAMEN INITIAL CONJOINT

2.1 Sur réception, par l’OETNO, d’une demande de permis d’utilisation des eaux incluant une proposition d’élimination des déchets (selon la définition qui est donnée de ce terme dans la Loi sur les eaux des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, L.C. 1992, c. 39) par injection en fond de puits, l’OETNO convient d’en aviser l’ONÉ et de lui fournir une copie de la demande ainsi que de tous les autres renseignements pertinents s’y rapportant.

2.2 Les parties conviennent de constituer un groupe d’examen préalable conjoint (le « GEPC ») qui fournira de l’information, au moment de l’examen environnemental préalable, sur la question de l’injection en fond de puits. Après étude de la description du projet d’injection en fond de puits et évaluation de l’information environnementale appropriée sur la question, l’ONÉ convient de remettre au GEPC ses conclusions dans chaque cas quant au caractère acceptable ou non, sur le plan environnemental, de l’injection en fond de puits.

2.3 Pour chaque permis subséquemment délivré par l’OETNO lorsque le demandeur avait proposé d’éliminer ses déchets par injection en fond de puits, l’OETNO peut imposer certaines conditions stipulant que le demandeur doit également se plier aux conditions imposées par l’ONÉ alors celles-ci peuvent avoir trait aux questions d’injection en fond de puits.

3. CONFIDENTIALITÉ

3.1 Chacune des parties aux présentes convient de garder confidentielle toute l’information obtenue dans le contexte de l’application du présent protocole d’entente et portant sur les activités ou les affaires menées par l’autre partie, sauf dans le cas de l’information qui est généralement de notoriété publique ou qui doit être rendue publique de par la loi.

4. RÉSILIATION

4.1 Le présent protocole d’entente peut être résilié par l’une ou l’autre des parties en donnant à l’autre partie un préavis par écrit d’au moins trois mois.

5. DURÉE

5.1 Le présent protocole d’entente prendra fin cinq ans après la date de sa signature, sauf si les parties conviennent, par écrit, de le reconduire pour des périodes successives de même durée et aux mêmes conditions.

6. GÉNÉRALITÉS

6.1 Les parties peuvent modifier le présent protocole d’entente par écrit quand bon leur semble sur apposition des signatures de leurs représentants dûment autorisés.

6.2 Tout avis ou tout autre document requis aux termes du présent protocole d’entente devra être produit par écrit et remis en mains propres ou envoyé par télécopieur, par voie électronique ou par courrier affranchi de première classe aux adresses qui suivent :

OETNO

Directeur général
Office des eaux des Territoires du Nord-Ouest
5114, Quarante-neuvième Rue
C.P. 1326
Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord-Ouest) XIA 2N9
Téléphone : 867-765-0106
Fax : 867-765-0114

ONÉ

Délégué à l’exploitation
Office national de l’énergie
444, Septième Avenue S.-O.
Calgary (Alberta) T2P 0X8
Téléphone : 403-292-4800
Fax : 403-292-5503

6.3 La date de réception d’un avis sera réputée être :

  • sept jours ouvrables après son envoi dans le cas de courrier certifié ou ordinaire;
  • vingt-quatre heures après son envoi dans le cas de communications électroniques ou par télécopieur;
  • exception faite dans tous les cas des week-ends et des jours fériés.

6.4 Rien, dans le présent protocole d’entente, ne doit être interprété comme exigeant de l’une ou l’autre des parties qu’elle prenne des mesures allant à l’encontre de la loi.

6.5 Le présent protocole d’entente peut être signé en plusieurs exemplaires, tous considérés comme originaux et tous constituant ensemble un seul et même document.

EN FOI DE QUOI des représentants dûment autorisés de chacune des parties ont signé le présent protocole d’entente le _____ jour de _______________ 2008.

OFFICE NATIONAL DE L’ÉNERGIE

___________________________

___________________________

OFFICE DES EAUX DES TERRITOIRES DU NORD-OUEST

___________________________

___________________________

Date de modification :