FAQs on Project Description

What is a Project Description?

A Project Description describes a project that a company expects to file an application for at a later date. It is written by the company and submitted to the Canada Energy Regulator (CER). A Project Description is not an application; rather, it provides preliminary information about an expected application, allowing the CER to initiate preparatory processes in anticipation of that application. The company will provide a more thorough description and analysis of the proposed project when it submits its formal application, which generally occurs some months after the Project Description is submitted.

The CER’s website provides further information on Pre-Application Project Descriptions, including the types of projects for which a Project Description should be filed and the information that should be included.

Are Project Descriptions publicly available?

Yes.  Project Descriptions submitted to the CER are publicly available via the Regulatory Documents section of the CER’s website and via the section on Major Applications and Projects before the CER.

What is a Project Description used for?

The CER uses a Project Description to initiate certain pre-application activities, such as:

The CER will initiate each of these processes at an appropriate time before the application is submitted.

When does the CER determine the hearing process?

After an application is submitted, the CER will review it and determine whether a hearing is required and if so, whether it is to be a written or an oral hearing. A hearing will always be held for certain types of applications, such as for new interprovincial or international pipelines over 40 kilometers in length (these are known as s. 52 facility applications or Part III applications, referring to the section and part of the Canadian Energy Regulator Act under which they are submitted).

If it will convene a hearing, the CER issues a Hearing Order providing details on the hearing process, including how persons who are directly affected or who have relevant information or expertise can participate and the deadline to apply to intervene. Further information is available on the CER’s website via the Canada Energy Regulator Hearing Process Handbook.

What can I do after a Project Description is filed?

Various people will often undertake different forms of preparation after a Project Description is filed but prior to a hearing, recognizing that time will be limited once a hearing begins. For example:

  • The company that submitted the Project Description will prepare its application while continuing its ongoing consultation and completing field studies.
  • Persons who think they are directly affected or who have relevant information or expertise might use the time to contact the proponent for more information, undertake research, or to commission studies.
  • Individuals and organizations that want to participate might form a group with others who hold common positions or knowledge related to the proposed project so as to present an effective and efficient single voice on one or more issues at a hearing. In addition, as noted in the CER’s Participant Funding Guide, a relevant factor in determining funding provision is whether an applicant for funding would play an important and distinct role in the process.

Who should I contact if I have concerns following submission of a Project Description?

The CER encourages you to contact the company that submitted the Project Description in order to discuss your questions or concerns. This may allow the company to address certain concerns, such as undertaking further study or consultation or modifying the project, prior to submitting its application.

Contact information for the company can be found in the Project Description or via the company’s website.  For questions on process, the CER can be contacted at 1-800-899-1265.

When is the best time for me to make submissions to the CER on the merits of the project?

Because a Project Description is only used by the CER to initiate certain preparatory processes in anticipation of an application, the filing of a Project Description is not the most appropriate trigger for you to make submissions on the merits of the project to the CER.

Instead, you are encouraged to make such submissions after an application is filed and information on how to participate has been issued.  Not only will an application include a more thorough description and analysis of the project, it will also contain the most timely information, as certain details of the project may have changed since the Project Description was submitted (the project may even be put on hold).

Following the application submission, the CER will issue information on the process to be followed, options for public participation, and the availability of participant funding.  This may be in the form of a Hearing Order or Procedural Update. You are encouraged to wait until such information is issued before submitting comments on the project to the CER, applying to participate in the process, or applying for participant funding.

The CER will generally not respond to letters or submissions on such matters prior to issuing process and participation information.  Please check the CER’s website regularly for updates.

Date modified:

FAQ - Descriptions de projets

Qu’est-ce qu’une description de projet?

Comme son nom l’indique, une description de projet sert à décrire un projet, plus précisément un projet pour lequel une société prévoit déposer une demande à une date ultérieure. Cette description est rédigée par la société et présentée à l’Office national de l’énergie. Une description de projet n’est pas une demande mais renferme plutôt de l’information préliminaire au sujet d’une demande à venir, ce qui permet à l’Office de lancer les processus voulus en prévision de cette possible demande. La société fournira une description et une analyse plus détaillées du projet proposé lorsqu’elle déposera sa demande officielle, ce qui survient habituellement quelques mois après la présentation de la description de projet.

Le site Web de l’Office fournit de l’information supplémentaire au sujet de la description de projet préalable à la demande, y compris sur les types de projets pour lesquels une description devrait être fournie et les renseignements qui devraient être inclus.

Les descriptions de projets peuvent-elles être consultées par le public?

Oui. Les descriptions de projets présentées à l’Office peuvent être consultées par le public dans la section des documents de réglementation du site Web de l’Office, à la page des demandes et projets d’envergure devant l’ONÉ.

À quoi sert une description de projet?

La description de projet permet à l’Office de lancer certaines activités préalables à la demande, comme celles énumérées ici :

L’Office lancera chacun de ces processus au moment approprié avant le dépôt de la demande.

À quel moment l’Office établit-il le processus d’audience?

Après dépôt d’une demande, l’Office l’examinera pour établir si une audience est requise, et le cas échéant, si cette audience doit être orale ou par voie de mémoires. Une audience sera toujours requise pour certains types de demandes, par exemple pour de nouveaux pipelines interprovinciaux ou internationaux d’une longueur de plus de 40 kilomètres (communément appelées demandes d’installations en vertu de l’article 52 ou de la partie III de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie).

Si une audience s’impose, l’Office publiera une ordonnance à cette fin, avec tous les détails sur le processus, en précisant notamment comment les personnes directement touchées ou ayant des renseignements ou de l’expertise pertinents peuvent y prendre part, ainsi que la date limite pour demander le statut d’intervenant. D’autres renseignements sont disponibles sur le site Web de l’Office sur le Guide sur le processus d’audience de l’Office national de l’énergie.

Que puis-je faire une fois la description de projet présentée?

Selon les personnes, la préparation peut prendre diverses formes une fois présentée une description de projet compte tenu du fait que le temps sera limité lorsque l’audience sera en marche, par exemple :

  • la société qui a présenté la description de projet préparera sa demande tout en poursuivant ses consultations et en menant à terme ses études sur le terrain;
  • les personnes qui pensent être directement touchées ou avoir des renseignements ou de l’expertise pertinents peuvent profiter de cette période pour communiquer avec le promoteur afin d’obtenir un complément d’information, entreprendre des recherches ou demander la réalisation d’études;
  • les particuliers et les organisations qui défendent des positions communes ou disposent d’information de même nature dans le contexte du projet proposé et qui souhaitent participer pourraient se regrouper, par souci d’efficacité et d’efficience, afin de traiter d’une ou de plusieurs des questions abordées à l’audience. Par ailleurs, tel qu’il est mentionné dans le Guide du Programme d’aide financière aux participants de l’Office, un facteur qui pèse lourd dans la balance pour l’aide financière accordée est l’importance et le caractère distinct du rôle que le participant en question pourrait jouer dans le cadre du processus.

Avec qui devrais-je communiquer si j’ai des préoccupations liées à la présentation d’une description de projet?

L’Office vous invite à communiquer directement avec la société qui a présentée la description de projet pour poser vos questions ou discuter de vos préoccupations. De cette manière, la société peut en traiter sur-le-champ, qu’il s’agisse par exemple du besoin d’entreprendre de nouvelles études ou consultations ou encore de modifier le projet avant le dépôt de la demande.

Les coordonnées des personnes-ressources de la société sont précisées dans la description de projet ou sur le site Web de la société. Pour toute question au sujet du processus, il est possible de communiquer avec l’Office au 1-800-899-1265.

Quel est le moment le plus opportun pour discuter des mérites du projet avec l’Office?

Puisqu’une description de projet ne sert à l’Office qu’à lancer certains processus préparatoires en prévision d’une future demande, la présentation d’une telle description ne constitue pas le moment le plus opportun pour discuter des mérites du projet avec lui.

Il est préférable de le faire une fois la demande déposée et l’information connue quant à la façon de participer. Non seulement une demande comprend-elle une description et une analyse plus détaillées du projet, mais les renseignements sont plus à jour puisque certains détails peuvent avoir changé depuis la présentation de la description (le projet pouvant en outre être reporté).

Après le dépôt de la demande, l’Office publiera des renseignements sur le processus à suivre, les modes de participation du public et la disponibilité éventuelle d’aide financière. Ces renseignements peuvent être inclus dans une ordonnance d’audience ou une mise à jour procédurale. Il vaut mieux attendre de connaître ces détails avant de présenter à l’Office vos commentaires sur le projet, de demander de prendre part au processus ou de cherche à obtenir une aide financière.

En général, l’Office ne répondra pas à de telles lettres ou demandes avant publication de renseignements sur le processus ou la participation. Tout cela fait l’objet de mises à jour régulières sur son site Web.

Date de modification :