Fact Sheet: Implementation of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012: National Energy Board Audit Completed by the Office of the Auditor General

Background Information on the Audit

The Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development (CESD) group within the Office of the Auditor General  (OAG) carried out an audit of the National Energy Board’s (NEB or Board) implementation of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 (CEAA 2012). The audit looked at practices in place from July 2012 to July 2014. The final version of the report is included in the Report of the Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development that was tabled with Parliament on 7 October 2014.

The NEB’s implementation of CEAA 2012

The Board welcomes the opportunity for feedback as part of our commitment to continual improvement. The Board is pleased with the OAG’s overall conclusion that the NEB has successfully implemented the requirements of CEAA 2012. We are dedicated to providing meaningful participation for Canadians. Some of our most recent achievements include:

  • The NEB’s Enhanced Aboriginal Engagement program, which reaches 100’s of Aboriginal groups every year.
  • Making over $3.45 Million available in 2014 alone to support meaningful participation in hearings through our Participant Funding Program.
  • Easy access to one-on-one support and information sessions through our Process Advisors.

The NEB values public participation. It is an important part of our hearing process. The OAG has pointed out areas we can improve, we welcome those comments, and we want the public to know we are acting on it.

We have plans for further improvement, which is a strong value at the NEB. The Board will continue work on the areas for improvement identified in the OAG report. The NEB has developed and is already implementing a Corrective Action Plan (CAP) to address the recommendations.

Summary of OAG Recommendations

Based on the findings of the report, the OAG Audit had four recommendations. The NEB should establish and implement a clear action plan that sets out specific corrective actions that will be taken. In particular, the NEB’s action plan should include:

  • Updating guidance on the public participation framework to ensure consistency with CEAA 2012;
  • Developing guidance on public participation for projects designated under the CEAA 2012 that are also regulated under the Canadian Oil and Gas Operations Act (COGOA);
  • Assessing whether our public and Aboriginal participation processes and timeframes provide Aboriginal groups and the public with an opportunity to participate in a meaningful way; and
  • Further developing and updating our cumulative effects guidance for projects regulated under COGOA and designated under CEAA 2012.

NEB’s Corrective Action Plan (CAP)

The NEB supports continual improvement and has established a corrective action plan that sets out the actions that will be taken to address the OAG recommendations. 

In order to improve understanding and transparency, the NEB is revising two of its guidance documents, “Participation in a Facilities Hearing” and “Participation in other Hearings”. These documents are being updated to reference the standing test on CEAA 2012, and to include factors that may be considered when making “level of participation” decisions. The NEB will complete an assessment of its processes for opportunities for meaningful participation by Aboriginal groups and the public. In 2015, any reasonable measures to improve the ability of the public and Aboriginal groups to participate will have been identified.

For CEAA 2012 designated projects regulated under the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act, the NEB is revising its guidance on public participation as well as cumulative effects assessment.

All work is expected to be completed in 2015.

Date modified:

Fiche de renseignements : Mise en application de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012) : le Bureau du vérificateur général a terminé sa vérification de l’Office national de l’énergie

Renseignements généraux sur la vérification

Le Commissaire à l’environnement et au développement durable, rattaché au Bureau du vérificateur général (BVG), a procédé à une vérification pour contrôler la mise en application par l’Office national de l’énergie de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012) [LCEE (2012)]. Cet examen a porté sur les pratiques en place de juillet 2012 à juillet 2014. La version définitive du rapport du Commissaire à l’environnement et au développement durable a été déposée au Parlement le 7 octobre 2014.

La mise en application de la LCEE (2012) par l’Office

L’Office se réjouit de la conclusion générale du BVG qui juge que la mise en application des exigences de la LCÉE (2012) a été réalisée. L’Office ne ménage aucun effort pour permettre une participation significative des Canadiens à ses processus. Parmi ses plus récentes réalisations, on note celles-ci :

  • programme de participation accrue des Autochtones permettant de communiquer avec des centaines de groupes autochtones chaque année;
  • enveloppe de plus de 3,45 millions de dollars en 2014 seulement offerte dans le cadre de son Programme d’aide financière aux participants pour favoriser la participation à ses audiences;
  • aide en personne et séances d’information facilement accessibles par l’entremise de ses conseillers en processus.

La participation du public est chère à l’Office et elle constitue un élément important de son processus d’audience. Le BVG a souligné des points à améliorer; l’Office est réceptif à ces commentaires et tient à ce que le public sache qu’il y donnera suite.

Il a déjà lancé des projets en ce sens; le désir d’amélioration est une valeur fondamentale à l’Office. L’Office continuera à renforcer les points faibles relevés dans le rapport du BVG. Il s’emploie d’ailleurs à mettre en œuvre le plan de mesures correctives (PMC) qu’il a élaboré en réponse aux recommandations.

Résumé des recommandations du BVG Dans son rapport, le BVG a formulé quatre recommandations qui exigent que l’Office élabore et mette en place un plan d’action bien défini qui expose les mesures correctives précises qui seront adoptées. Le plan d’action de l’Office devrait renfermer notamment ce qui suit :

  • des lignes directrices actualisées et conformes à la LCEE (2012) pour son cadre de travail pour la participation du public;
  • une définition des lignes directrices sur la participation du public pour les projets désignés en vertu de la LCÉE (2012) qui relèvent aussi de la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada (LOPC);
  • un examen des processus et des échéanciers établis pour déterminer s’ils sont propices à une participation significative du public et des groupes autochtones;
  • des lignes directrices sur les effets cumulatifs approfondies et révisées pour les projets relevant de la LOPC et désignés en vertu de la LCEE (2012).

Plan de mesures correctives (PMC) de l’Office

L’Office est un promoteur de l’amélioration continue et a mis en place un plan de mesures correctives précisant ce qui sera fait pour donner suite aux recommandations du BVG.

Par souci de compréhension et de transparence accrue, l’Office révise actuellement deux de ses documents d’orientation, soit Participation à une audience concernant des installations et Participation à d’autres audiences. Ce travail consiste à mettre à jour ces documents pour y ajouter des renvois vers les critères liés au droit de participation contenus dans la LCEE (2012) et les facteurs pouvant être pris en considération dans une décision portant sur le « degré de participation ». L’Office réexaminera ses processus afin d’offrir des possibilités aux groupes autochtones et au public d’y participer de façon significative. En 2015, il s’emploiera à cerner les mesures raisonnables pouvant faciliter cette participation.

En ce qui a trait aux projets désignés en vertu de la LCEE (2012) qui relèvent de la LOPC, l’Office passera en revue ses documents d’orientation sur la participation du public et sur l’évaluation des effets cumulatifs.

Ces chantiers devraient être menés à terme au cours de 2015.

Date de modification :