Fact Sheet: Landowners and the NEB

Fact Sheet: Landowners and the NEB [PDF 255 KB]

Landowner Involvement

The NEB regulates approximately 73,000 kilometers of pipeline, a lot of which runs through the property of many thousands of landowners across Canada. These landowners are key players in the development, safety and security of pipelines. An important part of our role as a national energy regulator is to make sure the rights and interests of landowners along NEB-regulated pipelines are respected.

The NEB encourages open and respectful communication between the companies we regulate, and the landowners affected by company facilities. We expect companies to start consulting and building relationships with landowners at the planning stage of a project, and to continue this relationship through until a pipeline or facility is no longer in use.

The NEB assists landowners in being active, informed and involved in the projects on their property throughout the entire lifecycle of a project, and are available as a resource for landowners, should any issues or concerns arise. Pre-planning and Application

  • The NEB requires regulated companies to communicate with and involve landowners when they are developing projects.
  • During a project application, the NEB encourages directly affected landowners to participate in the hearing either as a commentor or as an intervenor.
  • The NEB has created Templates for Public Participation to help landowners organize the information required to participate in a hearing process, oppose a detailed pipeline route, object to a right-of-entry request by the company, or file a complaint with the NEB.
  • The NEB employs people called Process Advisors, who are specifically trained to help the public understand the application process and how to participate in a hearing.

NEB Land Matters Group

The Land Matters Group (LMG) was established by the Board to increase the dialogue among members of the public, Aboriginal groups and industry who have an interest in land matters and are impacted by the activities of NEB-regulated companies.

The list of members include: The Alberta Energy Regulator, Farmers Advocacy Office (British Columbia), Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers, Union des producteurs agricoles du Québec, Union of Ontario Indians, Canadian Federation of Agriculture, The Canadian Energy Pipeline Association, West Coast Environmental Law, Synergy Alberta, The Canadian Energy Pipeline Association, Metis National Council and the NEB.

Members participate in a variety of ways including a Steering Committee and sub-committees that are supported by NEB staff and resources. Group meetings include updates and discussions on emerging issues of the various organizations represented, as well as presentations on various Board initiatives including:

  • Proposed changes to Damage Prevention Regulations;
  • Safety Culture Framework;
  • NEB’s online Application to Participate form;
  • Land Agent code of conduct and training;
  • Physical Pipeline Abandonment; and
  • Administrative Monetary Penalties.

The LMG continues to be a key resource for the Board in providing expert advice for emerging initiatives on content, consultation processes and effective rollout. To learn more about the Land Matter Group or any other landowner-related information, please go to our website at www.neb-one.gc.ca and click on Participation and Lands.

Construction and Operation

  • The NEB requires companies to minimize the disturbance to landowner’s property and to compensate them for any damages that may occur.
  • The NEB holds companies fully responsible and accountable for full remediation of any effects that occur as a result of their pipeline operations or maintenance activities regardless of cost.
  • Should a company not meet NEB requirements, the Board can and will take action by conducting investigations, hiring third party contractors to assess specific concerns, and issuing safety or environmental orders.

Abandonment

  • The NEB expects companies to discuss abandonment plans with landowners at the planning stage, to ensure that concerns are discussed and dealt with up front.
  • We require a public hearing for any application to abandon a pipeline, to give landowners the opportunity to express their views as to whether proposed abandonment procedures would adequately protect property, safety and the surrounding environment.
  • Pipeline companies must demonstrate to the Board’s satisfaction that they have enough money set aside to cover all pipeline abandonment activities.
  • The NEB has recently clarified its requirements of companies on decommissioning pipelines, including explicitly stating that we consider decommissioning to be an interim step in the eventual abandonment of a pipeline, in order to provide landowners with additional certainty that a proper and fulsome abandonment process will take place even after a pipe is decommissioned.

Safety is Everyone’s Business!

Whether you are a property-owner operating heavy machinery on your land, a municipal employee, or a contractor planning a project that involves digging, complying with pipeline damage prevention regulations is a must to ensure your safety, the safety of those around you, and the protection of the environment.

As the federal regulatory champion of the Canadian Common Ground Alliance, the National Energy Board works with regional partners and stakeholder groups to raise awareness about safe work practices around pipelines and other buried infrastructure.

We produce several publications that explain the Regulations and safe procedures for anyone working and living around pipelines – including our Guidance for Safe Crossings of NEB-Regulated Pipelines Using Agricultural Vehicles and Mobile Equipment, Excavation and Construction Near Pipelines, and many more. Please visit the NEB web site at www.neb-one.gc.ca and check our Damage Prevention pages to learn more.

Date modified:

Fiche de renseignements : Les propriétaires fonciers et l’Office

Fiche de renseignements : Les propriétaires fonciers et l’Office [PDF 1675 ko]

Participation des propriétaires fonciers

L’Office réglemente environ 73 000 kilomètres de pipelines dont bon nombre passent sur les terres de plusieurs milliers de propriétaires fonciers partout au Canada. Ces propriétaires fonciers sont des acteurs clés dans la mise en place, la sûreté et la sécurité des pipelines, et une partie importante de notre rôle dans la réglementation nationale de l’énergie consiste à veiller au respect des droits et intérêts des personnes à qui appartiennent les terres longeant les pipelines réglementés par l’Office.

L’Office encourage une communication ouverte et respectueuse entre les sociétés qu’il réglemente et les propriétaires fonciers touchés par les installations. Il s’attend à ce que les sociétés amorcent des consultations et établissent des relations avec les propriétaires fonciers lorsqu’elles planifient un projet, et à ce qu’elles maintiennent ces relations pendant toute la durée utile d’un pipeline ou d’une installation.

L’Office aide les propriétaires fonciers à demeurer actifs, informés et engagés tout au long du cycle de vie des projets qui les concernent, et il reste à leur disposition en tant que ressource en cas de problème.

Planification préliminaire et demande

  • L’Office oblige les sociétés réglementées à communiquer avec les propriétaires fonciers et à solliciter leur participation à l’étape d’élaboration des projets.
  • Lorsqu’une demande visant un projet est déposée, l’Office encourage les propriétaires fonciers directement touchés à prendre part à l’audience en tant qu’auteur d’une lettre de commentaires ou comme intervenant.
  • L’Office a créé des modèles afin d’aider les propriétaires fonciers à organiser les renseignements nécessaires pour participer à une audience, s’opposer au tracé détaillé d’un pipeline, contester une demande de droit d’accès d’une société ou déposer une plainte à l’Office.
  • L’Office emploie des conseillers et conseillères en processus spécialement formés pour aider le public à comprendre le processus de demande de participation et comment participer à une audience.

Groupe chargé des questions foncières de l’Office

Le Groupe chargé des questions foncières a été mis sur pied par l’Office pour intensifier le dialogue entre les membres du public, des groupes autochtones et de l’industrie qui ont un intérêt dans les questions foncières et qui sont touchés par les activités des sociétés réglementées par l’Office.

La liste des membres comprend les organisations suivantes : Alberta Energy Regulator, Farmers Advocacy Office (Colombie-Britannique), Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers, Union des producteurs agricoles du Québec, Union of Ontario Indians, Fédération canadienne de l’agriculture, Association canadienne de pipelines d’énergie, West Coast Environmental Law, Synergy Alberta, Association canadienne de pipeline d’énergie, Ralliement national des Métis et Office national de l’énergie.

Les membres agissent de diverses façons, notamment en participant aux activités du comité directeur et des souscomités avec l’appui des ressources et du personnel de l’Office. Les réunions du groupe comprennent des comptes rendus et des discussions sur les nouveaux enjeux des organisations représentées, ainsi que des présentations sur différentes initiatives de l’Office :

  • Modifications proposées au Règlement sur la prévention des dommages;
  • Cadre sur la culture de la sécurité;
  • Demande de participation en ligne de l’Office;
  • Code de conduite et formation des agents fonciers;
  • Questions physiques liées à la cessation d’exploitation des pipelines;
  • Sanctions administratives pécuniaires.

Le Groupe chargé des questions foncières demeure une ressource clé de l’Office pour fournir de l’expertise quant au contenu, aux processus de consultation et à la mise en oeuvre efficace des nouvelles initiatives. Pour en savoir plus sur le Groupe chargé des questions foncières ou obtenir plus d’information dans ce domaine, consultez notre site Web à www.neb-one.gc.ca et cliquez sur Participation et questions foncières.

Construction et exploitation

  • L’Office exige que les sociétés réduisent au minimum les perturbations causées sur les terres des propriétaires fonciers et qu’elles indemnisent ces derniers en cas de dommages.
  • L’Office tient les sociétés entièrement responsables des mesures correctives requises pour remédier aux effets de l’exploitation ou de l’entretien de leurs pipelines, peu importe le coût.
  • Lorsque les sociétés manquent à leurs obligations, l’Office prend les mesures nécessaires et peut faire enquête, engager des tiers entrepreneurs pour évaluer les problèmes et rendre des ordonnances liées à la sécurité ou à l’environnement.

Cessation d’exploitation

  • L’Office s’attend à ce que les sociétés discutent de leurs plans de cessation d’exploitation avec les propriétaires fonciers à l’étape de la planification, de manière à pouvoir aborder et régler les préoccupations dès le départ.
  • Nous exigeons une audience publique pour toute demande de cessation d’exploitation de pipeline, afin que les propriétaires fonciers puissent exprimer leurs points de vue sur la protection des biens, la sécurité et l’environnement.
  • Les sociétés pipelinières doivent démontrer à la satisfaction de l’Office qu’elles ont suffisamment de fonds mis de côté pour couvrir le coût de toutes les activités de cessation d’exploitation de pipeline.
  • Récemment, l’Office a clarifié ses exigences pour la désaffectation des pipelines, en précisant explicitement qu’il s’agit d’une étape vers la cessation d’exploitation, de sorte que les propriétaires fonciers soient assurés du fait qu’il y aura un processus complet en bonne et due forme même après qu’une conduite a été désaffectée.

La sécurité est l’affaire de tous!

Que vous soyez un propriétaire foncier utilisant des machines lourdes sur vos terres, un employé municipal ou un entrepreneur planifiant des travaux d’excavation, le respect des règlements sur la prévention des dommages aux pipelines est indispensable pour assurer votre sécurité, la sécurité des autres autour de vous et la protection de l’environnement.

En tant que champion de la réglementation fédérale de la Regional Common Ground Alliance du Canada, l’Office national de l’énergie travaille avec des partenaires et des groupes de parties prenantes dans la région pour accroître la sensibilisation aux méthodes de travail sécuritaires à proximité des pipelines et d’autres infrastructures souterraines.

Nous produisons plusieurs publications qui expliquent les règlements et les méthodes sûres pour tous ceux qui vivent et travaillent près des pipelines. Nous vous suggérons entre autres les Directives visant le croisement sécuritaire de pipelines réglementés par l’ONÉ par un véhicule ou de l’équipement mobile agricole et Travaux d’excavation et de construction à proximité de pipelines. Dans le site Web de l’Office à www.neb-one.gc.ca, consultez les pages sur la prévention des dommages pour en savoir plus.

Date de modification :