Fact sheet: The National Energy Board is a life cycle regulator

  • The NEB holds those we regulate accountable so that Canadians and the environment are protected. Although attention is often focused on the NEB’s review of applications, we continue to regulate over the complete lifecycle of a pipeline project using a wide variety of enforcement tools and activities.

    Phases of a regulated facility
    Text description of this graphic

    Facility life cycle and NEB tools and activities

    • Company's planning and pre-application
      • Information requirements (Filing Manual)
      • Pre-application meetings
    • Application assessment and/or public hearing
      • Environmental and socio-economic assessment
      • Conditions on approval
    • Construction and post construction
      • Ensure condition compliance
      • Inspections
      • construction monitoring reports
    • Operations and maintenance
      • Audits
      • Inspections
      • Incident inspection
    • Abandonment
      • Environmental and socio-economic assessment
      • Conditions on approval
      • Inspections

Our top priorities are safety of Canadians and protecting the environment. Pipeline design materials, construction and operations are governed by requirements set out in the NEB’s National Energy Board Onshore Pipeline Regulations, which reference the Canadian Standards Association (CSA). CSA requirements place a heavy emphasis on quality throughout a project’s life cycle.

  • For large-scale projects, the NEB requires companies to consult with all individuals, groups and agencies that the project may affect. The consultation should begin early in the planning and design phases of the project, and continue throughout the project’s life cycle.

Pre-application and application

We provide guidance on what we expect from a company in our Filing Manual and sometimes in pre-application meetings.

A company may file a project description before it files an application. We use this description to start our public and Aboriginal engagement as well as our Participant Funding Program.

When the company files its application to build a new pipeline, we review the application to see if it can be built and operated safely, and whether it is in the public interest. We hear from directly affected people and groups, and may hear from experts about concerns. We then make a decision or recommendation on the pipeline approval, along with any necessary conditions.

Construction and operations

Once a project receives approval, we use our enforcement tools to make sure the company quickly and effectively complies with NEB requirements.

Some conditions must be met before construction may begin. We must also evaluate and approve a detailed route.

During construction and operation, some of the enforcement tools we use are notices of non-compliance, orders, administrative monetary penalties, suspension of operation, and audits.

To check on compliance and safety, we inspect construction activity. We also review reports provided by the company.

We expect companies to have effective awareness programs and pipeline crossing guidelines, to make sure development is safe for those who live and work nearby. During construction and after a project is built, we address landowner concerns through our issue resolution process. This may involve a field visit or individual follow-up in person with the landowner and the company.

Each year, the NEB conducts six comprehensive audits and at least 150 inspections of regulated companies to verify compliance. It also conducts more than 100 technical meetings and exercises. These tools allow us to detect and correct non-compliances before they become issues.

We post all compliance and enforcement actions we take on our public website.

After a pipeline is built, the company may decide to add to or change the pipeline. We oversee all such activities. Some may need further approval.

We require companies to strive for zero ruptures. Should an incident occur that creates a risk to public safety or protection of property and the environment, we can order the company to take immediate actions to address the risk. We then investigate the incident and report the results. We expect companies to remediate the effects of a pipeline leak or rupture, as well as put in place actions to prevent more occurrences.

Abandonment

If a company wants to abandon a facility, it must submit an application to us which includes details on the safety, environment, and discussions with affected landowners. We will review the application and if it is approved, we may impose conditions and then inspect the abandonment activities. The company is responsible to have the funds available to address any issues during and after abandonment. NEB oversight typically ends when the pipeline abandonment project work is completed and all NEB-ordered conditions are met.

Download The National Energy Board is a Lifecycle Regulator [PDF 152 KB]

For more information on the NEB and its role as a life cycle regulator:

Date modified:

Fiche de renseignements – Réglementation des installations tout au long de leur cycle de vie

  • L’Office national de l’énergie tient les sociétés qu’il réglemente responsables de leurs actions afin de protéger les Canadiens et l’environnement. Même si l’attention est souvent axée davantage sur l’étude des demandes visant les projets, la réglementation de l’Office couvre le cycle de vie complet des installations. Pour ce faire, il a recours à une vaste gamme d’outils et d’activités de conformité.

    Cycle de vie d'une installation réglementée
    Version texte du graphique

    Cycle de vie de l'installation, outils et activités de l'Office

    • Pendant la planification et avant le dépôt de la demande
      • Renseignements exigés (Guide de dépôt)
      • Rencontres pré-demande
    • Évaluation de la demande et/ou audience publique
      • Évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique
      • Conditions d'approbation
    • Pendant et après la construction
      • Surveillance de la confirmité aux conditions d'approbation
      • Inspections
      • Rapports de surveillance postérieurs à la construction
    • Exploitation et entretien
      • Vérifications
      • Inspsections
      • Enquête en cas d'incident
    • Cessation d'exploitation
      • Évaluation environnementale et socioéconomique
      • Condition
      • Inspections
  • La sécurité des Canadiens et la protection de l’environnement sont au cœur des priorités de l’Office. Les matériaux utilisés dans la conception des pipelines, la construction et l’exploitation sont autant d’aspects régis par le Règlement de l’Office national de l’énergie sur les pipelines terrestres, qui renvoie aux exigences de l’Association canadienne de normalisation (CSA). Ces exigences font valoir l’importance de la qualité à toutes les étapes du cycle de vie d’un projet.
  • Pour les projets de grande envergure, l’Office exige que la société mène un programme de consultation auprès de tous les particuliers, groupes et organismes susceptibles d’être touchés. Le programme de consultation devrait être mis sur pied dès le début de la planification et de la conception du projet et se poursuivre tout au long du cycle de vie utile.

Demande et activités préalables

  • Le Guide de dépôt, et parfois des rencontres préalables à la demande, permettent de préciser les attentes de l’Office à l’égard des sociétés.
  • Une société peut déposer une description de projet avant de présenter sa demande. Cette description permet à l’Office d’entamer les activités d’engagement auprès du public et des Autochtones et de mettre en branle le Programme d’aide financière aux participants.
  • Lorsqu’une société dépose une demande en vue de construire un pipeline, l’Office l’examine afin de déterminer si le pipeline peut être construit et exploité en toute sécurité et dans l’intérêt public. L’Office recueille les commentaires des personnes et groupes directement touchés, et peut entendre des experts s’exprimer sur des sujets de préoccupation. Il décide ensuite soit de recommander l’approbation, assortie des conditions nécessaires, soit de rejeter le projet pipelinier.

Construction et exploitation

  • Après l’approbation d’un projet, l’Office utilise ses outils de conformité pour que la société se plie rapidement et effectivement à ses exigences.
  • La société doit satisfaire à certaines conditions avant la mise en chantier et l’Office doit évaluer et approuver le tracé détaillé.
  • Au nombre des outils de conformité utilisés par l’Office pendant la construction et l’exploitation, mentionnons les avis de non-conformité, les ordonnances, les sanctions administratives pécuniaires, la suspension de l’exploitation et les vérifications.
  • Pour vérifier la conformité et la sécurité, l’Office inspecte les travaux de construction et examine les rapports soumis par la société.
  • L’Office s’attend à ce que les sociétés adoptent des programmes de sensibilisation efficaces et des lignes directrices sur le croisement de pipelines afin d’assurer la sécurité des personnes qui vivent et travaillent à proximité. Pendant la construction et une fois que le projet est réalisé, les préoccupations des propriétaires fonciers sont résolues au moyen du processus de règlement des différends, qui peut prendre la forme d’une visite sur les lieux ou d’un suivi en personne auprès du propriétaire foncier et de la société.
  • Chaque année, l’Office mène six vérifications complètes et au moins 150 inspections de sociétés  réglementées pour vérifier la conformité aux exigences. Il mène également plus de 100 exercices et réunions techniques. Il peut ainsi détecter et redresser les situations de non-conformité avant qu’elles ne deviennent un problème.
  • L’Office affiche sur son site Web toutes les mesures prises pour vérifier la conformité et appliquer la loi.
  • Une fois qu’un pipeline est construit, la société peut décider d’y faire des ajouts ou des modifications. L’Office surveille toutes ces activités, et certaines doivent être autorisées.
  • Les sociétés doivent se fixer un objectif de zéro rupture. En cas d’incident posant un risque pour la sécurité du public ou la protection des biens et de l’environnement, l’Office peut ordonner à la société en cause de prendre les mesures immédiates nécessaires pour parer au risque. L’Office mène ensuite une enquête et rend compte des résultats. Il s’attend à ce que les sociétés prennent des mesures pour atténuer les effets d’une fuite ou d’une rupture de pipeline et à ce qu’elles fassent le nécessaire pour éviter que de tels incidents se reproduisent.

Cessation d’exploitation

  • Les sociétés qui veulent cesser d’exploiter une installation doivent présenter à l’Office une demande contenant des renseignements détaillés sur la sécurité, l’environnement et les discussions tenues avec les propriétaires fonciers touchés. L’Office examine la demande et, si elle est approuvée, il peut imposer des conditions et inspecter les activités de cessation d’exploitation. Il tient les sociétés responsables de disposer des fonds nécessaires pour régler tout problème susceptible de surgir pendant ou après la cessation d’exploitation. Les activités de surveillance de l’Office prennent habituellement fin lorsque les travaux de cessation d’exploitation sont terminés et que toutes les conditions ont été satisfaites.

Télécharger Réglementation des installations tout au long de leur cycle de vie [PDF 159 ko]

Pour un complément d’information sur l’Office et son rôle de réglementation tout au long du cycle de vie,

Date de modification :