Fact Sheet: Pipeline integrity

Oil and natural gas pipelines are made from steel piping which is buried beneath the ground. The NEB regulates over 73,000 km of pipeline. The most important part of our job is keeping those pipelines safe. One way we do that is by requiring companies to test the integrity of their pipelines.

Before the NEB will allow a pipeline to become operational, the company has to submit testing results for thorough analysis by NEB professional engineers. This is part of a larger requirement for companies to have an integrity management program in place to help prevent, manage and mitigate issues that could affect public safety and the environment.

Assessing a pipeline’s integrity

There are three main ways to evaluate the integrity, or condition, of a pipeline:

  • Internal (in-line) inspections
  • Direct assessment of the pipe,
  • Hydrostatic testing

In-line inspections

In-line inspections tools are used to identify, locate, and measure anomalies. An instrumented vehicle is propelled through the pipeline and provides highly detailed information about the interior and exterior of the pipeline. There are three types of anomalies looked for:

  • Metal loss (or corrosion)
  • Cracks
  • Changes to the shape of the pipe

The pipeline must allow for the passage of the tool and have specific equipment in place to handle the equipment required.

Example of a tool:

Magnetic flux leakage tools use magnetic technology to detect, discriminate and size metal loss in liquid and gas

Magnetic flux leakage tools use magnetic technology to detect, discriminate and size metal loss in liquid and gas

Image provided courtesy of PII Pipeline Solutions, a GE and Al Shaheen joint venture

Based on the test results each anomaly must be assessed to determine if it could cause damage. The company would then address significant issues and make required repairs to the pipeline. Many types of defects can be assessed using the correct in-line inspection tools. 

Examining the pipe

Inspection results are validated through integrity digs where you excavate the pipeline to evaluate it.

Hydrostatic testing

Hydrostatic testing, or hydrotesting, is one of several commonly used methods to verify the integrity, or condition, of the pipeline. Essentially this is testing a pipeline for strength and leaks. The pipeline is filled and pressurized with water, and then examined for leaks or ruptures.

A hydrostatic test gives you a snapshot of a single point in time; it does not provide the probability of future issues with the pipe.

Continued vigilance

Regardless of the method used, or the combination of methods used, the NEB reviews the results presented by the company to ensure the pipeline can be operated safely. Only if the NEB determines the pipeline is safe will it be allowed to operate. Should companies fail to live up to their commitments around safety and environmental protection, the NEB does not hesitate to take strong enforcement action.

Date modified:

Fiche de renseignements - Intégrité des pipelines

Les oléoducs et les gazoducs consistent en une tuyauterie en acier enfouie dans le sol. L’Office réglemente plus de 73 000 km de pipelines. La partie la plus importante de notre travail consiste à assurer la sécurité de ces pipelines. Pour ce faire, nous exigeons entre autres que les sociétés testent l’intégrité de leurs pipelines.

Avant d’autoriser l’exploitation des pipelines, l’Office demande aux sociétés de lui soumettre les résultats des tests effectués afin que ses ingénieurs puissent les analyser en profondeur. Cette exigence s’inscrit dans l’obligation qu’ont les sociétés de mettre en place un programme de gestion de l’intégrité pour les aider à prévenir, gérer et atténuer les problèmes susceptibles de nuire à la sécurité du public et à l’environnement.

Évaluation de l’intégrité des pipelines

L’intégrité, ou l’état, d’un pipeline peut être évaluée de trois façons principales :

  • inspection interne;
  • évaluation directe de la conduite;
  • essai hydrostatique.

Inspection interne

Les outils d’inspection interne servent à détecter, localiser et mesurer les anomalies. Un dispositif instrumenté est lancé dans le pipeline et fournit des renseignements très précis et détaillés sur l’intérieur et l’extérieur de la canalisation. Trois types d’anomalie sont surveillés :

  • dégradation du métal (ou corrosion);
  • fissurations;
  • changements dans la forme de la conduite;

Le pipeline doit permettre le passage de l’outil et avoir du matériel précis en place pour que l’équipement requis puisse être manœuvré.

Exemple d’outil

Les outils servant à détecter la perte de flux magnétique font appel à la technologie magnétique pour déceler, différencier et mesurer la perte de métal dans les liquides et le gaz.

Magnetic flux leakage tools use magnetic technology to detect, discriminate and size metal loss in liquid and gas

Image offerte par PII Pipeline Solutions, coentreprise de GE et Al Shaheen

Toutes les anomalies doivent être évaluées en fonction des résultats des tests afin de pouvoir déterminer si elles risquent de causer des dommages. La société s’attaque ensuite aux problèmes importants et fait les réparations nécessaires au pipeline. Bon nombre d’anomalies peuvent être évaluées à l’aide des outils d’inspection interne adéquats.

Examen de la canalisation

Les résultats des inspections sont validés par des fouilles d’intégrité qui consistent à dégager le pipeline pour l’évaluer.

Essai hydrostatique

Les essais hydrostatiques sont une des méthodes couramment employées pour vérifier l’intégrité, ou l’état, d’un pipeline. Ils visent essentiellement à vérifier la solidité du pipeline et à déceler les fuites. La canalisation est remplie d’eau et mise sous pression pour permettre la détection de fuites ou de ruptures.

L’essai hydrostatique donne une vue d’ensemble du pipeline à un moment précis; il ne fournit pas de probabilités quant aux problèmes futurs de la canalisation.

Vigilance soutenue

Peu importe les méthodes employées, l’Office étudie les résultats soumis par la société pour s’assurer que le pipeline peut être exploité en toute sécurité. Le pipeline peut être mis en exploitation uniquement si l’Office détermine qu’il est sûr. Si les sociétés ne respectent pas leurs engagements en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement, l’Office n’hésite pas à prendre des mesures fermes pour assurer leur mise en application.

Date de modification :