Funding Available to Participate in the NEB’s Regulatory Process for the NGTL 2017 System Expansion Project

For immediate release
12 February 2015

Funding Available to Participate in the NEB’s Regulatory Process for the NGTL 2017 System Expansion Project

CALGARY - The National Energy Board (NEB or the Board) is making available a total of $250,000 under its Participant Funding Program to assist landowners, Aboriginal groups, incorporated non-industry, not-for-profit organizations, and other interested persons who participate in the regulatory process hearing for the proposed NOVA Gas Transmission Limited (NGTL) 2017 System Expansion Project. A higher amount may be considered once applications for funding are received.

NGTL filed a project description [Filing A65036] on 15 December 2014, informing the Board that an application seeking approval to build and operate new pipeline facilities as part of its existing NGTL system will be submitted in the first quarter of 2015. The proposed project would include five separate pipeline sections in northern Alberta, totaling 230 km, and additional compression facilities.

Funding is being made available to help those persons who are directly affected or have relevant information or expertise, to prepare for hearing related activities, including reviewing and commenting on the project. Please review the Participant Funding Program Guide to determine when and how to apply for funding and what will be covered by this funding.

A preliminary List of Issues identifying the topics that the Board may consider during the review process is available on the NEB’s website. This list may be updated after the application has been filed. Those who are interested in applying for Participant Funding are encouraged to review this List of Issues before submitting an application for funding.

To receive funding, an interested person must submit an Application to Participate and be accepted as an Intervenor in the NEB’s regulatory process for this project. Details about the regulatory process will be announced at a later date. Interested persons should also review the Application for Funding Form and the Contribution Agreement available on the Board's website
www.neb-one.gc.ca/pfp.

For general information about the NEB hearing process and how you can participate effectively, please visit the NEB website and select Participate in a Hearing.

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry with the safety of Canadians and protection of the environment as its top priority. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit www.neb-one.gc.ca.

- 30 -

FOR BROADCAST USE:

The National Energy Board is making $250,000 available under its Participant Funding Program to support participation in the hearing for the proposed NOVA Gas Transmission Limited 2017 System Expansion Project. This is a proposal to build and operate new pipeline facilities in northern Alberta as part of the existing NOVA Gas Transmission Limited System. The project will include five separate pipeline sections, totaling 230 km, and additional compression facilities.

For further information:

Sarah Kiley
Communications Officer

National Energy Board
E-mail: sarah.kiley@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-614-6526
Telephone: 403-292-4800
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Date modified:

Fonds disponibles pour la participation au processus de réglementation de l’Office relatif au projet d’agrandissement du réseau de NGTL en 2017

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 12 février 2015

Fonds disponibles pour la participation au processus de réglementation de l’Office relatif au projet d’agrandissement du réseau de NGTL en 2017

CALGARY - L’Office national de l’énergie met la somme de 250 000 $, grâce au Programme d’aide financière aux participants, à la disposition des propriétaires fonciers, groupes autochtones, organismes sans but lucratif ou constitués en société hors de l’industrie et d’autres parties intéressées afin de leur permettre de prendre part au processus réglementaire d’audience pour le projet d’agrandissement du réseau de NOVA Gas Transmission Limited (NGTL) en 2017. Un montant plus élevé pourrait être envisagé selon les demandes d’aide financière qui seront présentées.

NGTL a soumis une description de projet [Dépôt A65036] le 15 décembre 2014, informant l’Office qu’une demande visant la construction et l’exploitation de nouvelles installations pipelinières s’ajoutant à son réseau actuel sera déposée au premier trimestre de 2015. Le projet comprendrait cinq tronçons pipeliniers dans le nord de l’Alberta, totalisant 230 km, et des installations de compression supplémentaires.

Les fonds sont mis à la disposition des personnes qui sont directement touchées par le projet, ou qui possèdent de l’information ou une expertise pertinente, à se préparer en vue de l’audience, entre autres en examinant la demande relative au projet et en formulant des commentaires. Consultez le Guide sur le Programme d’aide financière aux participants pour savoir quand et comment faire une demande et quels frais sont remboursés.

Une liste préliminaire de questions, renfermant les points que l’Office pourrait étudier au cours du processus d’examen, est disponible sur son site Web. Cette liste pourrait être mise à jour après le dépôt de la demande concernant le projet. Les personnes intéressées à présenter une demande d’aide financière devraient d’abord prendre connaissance de la liste des questions.

Pour recevoir une aide financière, les personnes intéressées doivent présenter une demande de participation et obtenir le statut d’intervenant au processus de réglementation de l’Office concernant ce projet. Les renseignements sur le processus d’audience seront annoncés à une date ultérieure. Les personnes intéressées devraient aussi prendre connaissance du formulaire de demande d’aide financière et de l’accord de contribution, également sur le site Web de l’Office à
www.neb-one.gc.ca/pafp.

Pour obtenir des renseignements généraux sur le processus d’audience de l’Office et savoir comment participer de manière efficace, consultez le site Web de l’Office et cliquez sur Participez à une audience.

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada en mettant la sécurité des Canadiens et la protection de l’environnement au cœur de ses priorités. Sa raison d’être consiste à réglementer, dans l’intérêt public canadien, les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie. Pour un complément d’information sur l'Office et son mandat, consultez le site www.one-neb.gc.ca.

- 30 -

AUX FINS DE RADIODIFFUSION

L’Office national de l’énergie alloue une somme de 250 000 $, grâce au Programme d’aide financière aux participants, pour favoriser la participation à l’audience relative au projet d’agrandissement du réseau de NOVA Gas Transmission Limited (NGTL) en 2017. Le projet vise la construction et l’exploitation de nouvelles installations pipelinières dans le nord de l’Alberta s’ajoutant au réseau actuel de NOVA Gas Transmission Limited. Il comprendrait cinq tronçons pipeliniers, totalisant 230 km, et des installations de compression supplémentaires.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Sarah Kiley
Agente des communications

Office national de l'énergie
Courriel : sarah.kiley@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-614-6526
Téléphone : 403-292-4800
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Date de modification :