Board Hearing Process Provides Opportunity for Meaningful Participation

For immediate release
April 01 2015

Board Hearing Process Provides opportunity for Meaningful Participation

CALGARY - The National Energy Board (NEB or the Board) today responded to the declaration issued by several BC Mayors on 31 March regarding the NEB’s review of the Trans Mountain Expansion Project (the Project).

We are committed to a thorough and fair environmental assessment and regulatory review of the Project. Our processes are fair and guided by legislation, including the National Energy Board Act (NEB Act). We are also bound by the rules of natural justice, and our decisions are subject to review by the Federal Court of Appeal. In addition, Board members and Staff are bound by a code of conduct that prohibits any ownership or other interests in companies or industries regulated by the Board.

We consider public involvement to be a fundamental component throughout the lifecycle of a project - from project design to abandonment - in order to address the potential impacts of that project.

The Board will hear from those who are directly affected by the Project and from those who have expertise to share. There are approximately 400 intervenors and 1,300 commenters in this hearing. That is the most participants in the history of NEB hearings.

Our hearing processes are designed to be flexible to meet the needs of the wide range of applications we receive. Based on the circumstances of each hearing, the Board must decide how to best gather the information it needs to make a decision in the Canadian public interest.

The Board chose to test the evidence using a written format for questioning so that all intervenors have an opportunity to participate meaningfully. In our experience, written responses to questions about highly technical matters can be an appropriate way to test the evidence.

In the first round of information requests, approximately 10,000 questions were asked by 122 intervenors, and responded to by Trans Mountain. Of these, 50 intervenors requested better responses for roughly 2,000 answers because they said they were not satisfied with the responses they received. In some cases, we agreed that Trans Mountain could have done a better job of answering and we directed them to do so. For those where a further answer was not required, the Board provided detailed reasons for its decision. Rest assured, the Board puts its mind to each and every question before it makes a decision.

The Board has determined that this hearing is fair to all participants and meets the requirements of natural justice. The hearing includes an opportunity to file evidence, two opportunities to ask Trans Mountain written questions, opportunities for Aboriginal communities to provide oral Aboriginal traditional evidence, and the option of both written argument and oral summary argument. On numerous occasions, at the request of intervenors or on its own motion, the Board has shown flexibility in moving deadlines and adding further opportunities to test evidence filed by Trans Mountain.

The review of this application will be no less rigorous compared to past reviews. This application will be subject to full review pursuant to the requirements of the NEB Act and the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012.

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry with the safety of Canadians and protection of the environment as its top priority. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit www.neb-one.gc.ca.

- 30 -

For further information:

Tara O'Donovan
Communications Officer

E-mail: tara.odonovan@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-299-3633
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265

Date modified:

Processus d’audience de l’Office national de l’énergie adapté à une participation significative

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 1er avril 2015

Processus d’audience de l’Office national de l’énergie adapté à une participation significative

CALGARY - L’Office national de l’énergie a répondu aujourd’hui à la déclaration faite le 31 mars par plusieurs maires de la Colombie-Britannique au sujet de son examen du projet d’agrandissement de Trans Mountain (le projet).

L’Office s’est engagé à mener une évaluation environnementale et un examen réglementaire rigoureux du projet. Ses processus sont équitables et conformes aux lois en vigueur, dont la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie. Il respecte aussi les règles de la justice naturelle, et ses décisions sont sujettes à une révision par la Cour d’appel fédérale. En outre, ses membres sont liés par un code de conduite qui les empêche de détenir tout titre de propriété ou autre de sociétés ou d’industries réglementées par l’Office.

Selon l’Office, la participation du public est indispensable à chaque étape du cycle de vie d’un projet, c’est-à-dire de sa conception à la cessation de son exploitation, afin de mettre en lumière les répercussions possibles de celui-ci.

L’Office entendra les personnes directement touchées par le projet et celles qui souhaitent partager des renseignements pertinents ou une expertise appropriée. Il y a quelque 400 intervenants et 1 300 auteurs d’une lettre de commentaires pour l’audience, du jamais vu depuis la création de l’Office.

Les processus se veulent souples de façon à tenir compte des besoins propres à un large éventail de demandes reçues. Selon les circonstances, l’Office doit décider de la meilleure façon de recueillir l’information dont il a besoin afin de rendre une décision dans l’intérêt public canadien.

L’Office a choisi de vérifier l’exactitude de la preuve sous forme de questions par écrit afin que tous les intervenants aient la possibilité d’une participation significative. L’expérience démontre qu’il s’agit là d’une façon de faire appropriée en présence de sujets très techniques.

À l’occasion de la première série de demandes de renseignements, une dizaine de milliers de questions ont été posées par 122 intervenants, et Trans Mountain y a répondu. Par la suite, 50 intervenants ont demandé des réponses plus complètes à environ 2 000 questions, n’étant pas satisfaits de celle reçue. Dans certains cas, l’Office a reconnu que Trans Mountain aurait pu répondre de manière plus adéquate et il lui a ordonné de le faire. Dans les autres cas, il a fourni des raisons détaillées justifiant sa décision. Il ne fait aucun doute que l’Office analyse sérieusement chacune des questions avant de rendre sa décision.

L’Office a déterminé que cette audience était équitable pour tous les participants et qu’elle satisfaisait aux exigences en matière de justice naturelle. Elle permet de déposer des éléments de preuve, il est possible de poser des questions par écrit à Trans Mountain à deux moments différents, les communautés autochtones peuvent présenter une preuve traditionnelle orale, et la possibilité d’une plaidoirie écrite et d’un résumé oral est offerte. À de nombreuses occasions, soit à la demande des intervenants, soit de son propre chef, l’Office a fait preuve de souplesse en reportant des dates limites et en ajoutant de nouvelles possibilités de vérifier l’exactitude de la preuve déposée par Trans Mountain.

Cette demande sera examinée avec autant de rigueur que n’importe quelle autre présentée antérieurement. Elle sera assujettie à toutes les exigences imposées par la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie et la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012).

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada en mettant la sécurité des Canadiens et la protection de l’environnement au cœur de ses priorités. Sa raison d’être consiste à réglementer, dans l’intérêt public canadien, les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie. Pour un complément d’information sur l'Office et son mandat, consultez le site www.one-neb.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Tara O'Donovan
Agente des communications

Courriel : tara.odonovan@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-299-3633
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265

Date de modification :