ARCHIVED - Administrative Monetary Penalties Regulations published in Canada Gazette, Part I

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

For immediate release
15 February 2013

Administrative Monetary Penalties Regulations published in Canada Gazette, Part I

CALGARY - The National Energy Board (NEB or the Board) has developed draft Administrative Monetary Penalties (AMPs) Regulations. These regulations are being published in the Canada Gazette, Part I for thirty days to provide an opportunity for interested Canadians to review and comment. Comments must be received by 18 March 2013.

The NEB requires pipeline companies to anticipate, prevent, manage and mitigate potentially dangerous conditions associated with their pipelines. AMPs are financial penalties the Board will be able to impose on companies or individuals for non-compliance with the National Energy Board Act or its regulations intended to encourage safety and environmental protection.

These regulations will be in place by July 2013.

The proposed regulations can be viewed on the Canada Gazette website at http://www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-eng.html or by visiting the NEB’s website.

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry with the safety of Canadians and protection of the environment as its top priority. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest.

For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit www.neb-one.gc.ca.

- 30 -

For further information:

Rebecca  Taylor
Communications Advisor

National Energy Board
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

To provide comments on the draft regulations please contact:

Suchaet Bhardwaj
ampsap@neb-one.gc.ca
National Energy Board
Suite 210, 517 Tenth Avenue SW
Calgary, Alberta  T2R 0A8
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Related documents:

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Publication du Règlement sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires dans la Gazette du Canada, partie I

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 15 février 2013

Publication du Règlement sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires dans la Gazette du Canada, partie I

CALGARY - L’Office national de l’énergie a produit une ébauche du Règlement sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires (le Règlement). Sa publication dans la Gazette du Canada, partie I marque le début d’une période de 30 jours au cours de laquelle les Canadiens intéressés peuvent passer le Règlement en revue et formuler des commentaires à son sujet. Ces commentaires doivent être reçus d’ici le 18 mars 2013.

L’Office exige des sociétés pipelinières qu’elles anticipent les situations pouvant constituer un danger afin de les prévenir, de les gérer ou d’en atténuer la menace. Les sanctions administratives pécuniaires sont des pénalités financières que l’Office pourra imposer à des sociétés ou à des personnes en cas de non-conformité à la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie ou aux règlements y afférents qui visent à favoriser la sécurité et la protection de l’environnement.

Le Règlement sera en vigueur à compter de juillet 2013.

L’ébauche peut être consultée sur le site Web de la Gazette du Canada à partir de l’adresse http://www.gazette.gc.ca/rp-pr/p1/index-fra.html, ou encore sur le site Web de l’Office.

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada et qui accorde la priorité absolue à la sécurité des Canadiens ainsi qu’à la protection de l’environnement. Sa raison d’être consiste à réglementer, dans l’intérêt public canadien, les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie.

Pour un complément d’information sur l’Office et son mandat : www.one-neb.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Rebecca  Taylor
Conseillère en communications

Office national de l'énergie
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Pour offrir ses commentaires sur l’ébauche du Règlement :

Suchaet Bhardwaj
ampsap@neb-one.gc.ca
Office national de l’énergie
517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., bureau 210
Calgary (Alberta)  T2R 0A8
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Documents pertinents :

Date de modification :