ARCHIVED - NEB Announces Public Hearing for Enbridge's Edmonton to Hardisty Pipeline Project

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

For immediate release
11 March  2013

NEB Announces Public Hearing for Enbridge's Edmonton to Hardisty Pipeline Project

CALGARY - The National Energy Board (NEB or the Board) will hold a public hearing, which will include an oral portion, to consider an application from Enbridge Pipelines Inc. (Enbridge) to construct and operate a new pipeline approximately 181 km in length to transport crude oil from Enbridge’s existing Edmonton Terminal to its existing Hardisty Terminal.

The proposed project also includes the construction and operation of a new initiating pump station at Enbridge’s Edmonton Terminal, a new pump station at each of its existing Kingman and Strome stations, as well as associated facilities and infrastructure at its Edmonton and Hardisty Terminals.

The proposed pipeline right-of-way (RoW) will be alongside and contiguous to an existing Enbridge pipeline RoW and other linear disturbances for approximately 96.6 per cent of its length.

The issues the Board will consider are the need, the economic feasibility, the potential commercial impacts, the appropriateness of the tolling methodology, the potential environmental and socio-economic effects, the appropriateness of the general route and land requirements, the engineering design and integrity, the potential impacts on landowners, land use and Aboriginal interests, as well as safety, security, and contingency planning associated with the construction and operation of the project.

The Board must hear from any person who, in the Board’s opinion, is directly affected by the proposed project, and may choose to hear from any person who has relevant information or expertise. Further information on how you can apply to participate is provided in the Hearing Order. The Board will use the information you provide in your Application to Participate [Filing A50766] to make a decision as to whether you will be allowed to participate in this hearing. When completing your Application to Participate, you must demonstrate that your interest in this proceeding, or the information or expertise you wish to contribute, is relevant to one or more of the Issues identified in the List of Issues in the Hearing Order.

If the Board determines you are eligible to participate, it will be in one of three ways:

  1. as a Commenter (by writing your views in a Letter of Comment);
  2. as an Intervenor; or
  3. as a Government Participant.

The deadline for filing your Application to Participate is noon (Calgary time) on 17 April 2013.

The Hearing Order provides important information on the hearing process and procedures to follow. You can also contact the Board’s Process Advisor for this Project, Debbie Kuchinski at 403-299-3656 (toll-free 1-800-899-1265) or deborah.kuchinski@neb-one.gc.ca if you have questions about this hearing or how to participate.

The Board will communicate the details regarding the date(s) and the location(s) of the oral portion of this hearing in a future procedural update.

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry with the safety of Canadians and protection of the environment as its top priority. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest.

- 30 -

For further information:

Whitney Punchak
Communications Officer

National Energy Board
E-mail: whitney.punchak@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-299-3122
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Related documents:

For a printed copy of Hearing Order OH-001-2013:

National Energy Board Library
Suite 210, 517 Tenth Avenue SW
Calgary, Alberta
T2R 0A8
E-mail: library@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-299-3561
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - L'ONÉ annonce une audience publique pour le projet pipelinier d'Edmonton à Hardisity d'Enbridge

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 11 mars  2013

L'ONÉ annonce une audience publique pour le projet pipelinier d'Edmonton à Hardisity d'Enbridge

CALGARY - L'Office national de l'énergie (l'ONÉ ou l'Office) tiendra une audience publique, qui comportera une partie orale, pour étudier une demande de Pipelines Enbridge Inc. (Enbridge) sollicitant l'autorisation de construire et d'exploiter un nouveau pipeline d'une longueur approximative de 181 km pour transporter du pétrole brut depuis le terminal actuel d'Enbridge à Edmonton jusqu'à celui de Hardisty.

Enbridge prévoit aussi construire et exploiter une nouvelle station de pompage en début de parcours au terminal d'Edmonton, une nouvelle station de pompage à chacune de ses stations Kingman et Strome existantes, ainsi que l'infrastructure et les installations connexes aux terminaux actuels d'Edmonton et de Hardisty.

L'emprise pipelinière proposée longera, de manière contiguë, une emprise pipelinière existante d'Enbridge et d'autres perturbations linéraires sur environ 96,6 % de sa longueur.

L'Office se penchera sur les enjeux suivants : la nécessité du projet; la faisabilité économique; les retombées commerciales possibles; le caractère approprié de la méthode de tarification; les effets environnementaux et socioéconomiques éventuels; le caractère approprié du tracé général et des besoins en terrains; la conception technique et l'intégrité; les conséquences possibles pour les propriétaires fonciers, l'utilisation des terres et les intérêts autochtones; enfin, la sécurité, la sûreté et la planification des mesures d’urgence reliées aux étapes de construction et d'exploitation du projet.

L'Office doit entendre les personnes qui, selon lui, sont touchées directement par le projet, et il peut entendre celles qui possèdent de l'expertise ou de l'information pertinente. L'ordonnance d'audience renferme plus d'information sur la façon de soumettre une demande de participation [Dépôt A50766]. L'Office utilisera les renseignements fournis pour rendre une décision sur votre participation à l'audience. Les personnes qui remplissent une demande de participation doivent démontrer que leur intérêt pour cette instance, ou encore l'expertise ou l'information qu'elles possèdent, est en rapport avec au moins une des questions de la liste figurant dans l'ordonnance d'audience.

Si l'Office détermine que vous pouvez prendre part à l'audience, ce sera de l'une ou l'autre des trois façons suivantes :

  1. en faisant part de votre point de vue dans une lettre de commentaires;
  2. en agissant à titre d’intervenant;
  3. en tant que participant du gouvernement.

La date limite pour soumettre les demandes de participation est le 17 avril 2013 à midi, heure de Calgary.

L'ordonnance d'audience renferme de l'information importante sur le processus d'audience et la procédure à suivre. Vous pouvez aussi prendre contact avec la conseillère en processus pour ce projet, Debbie Kuchinski, au 403-299-3656 (sans frais au 1-800-899-1265) ou à deborah.kuchinski@neb-one.gc.ca si vous avez des questions sur l'audience ou la façon d'y participer.

L'Office communiquera de plus amples renseignements sur la date et le lieu de la partie orale de l'audience dans une future mise à jour procédurale.

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada et qui accorde la priorité absolue à la sécurité des Canadiens ainsi qu’à la protection de l’environnement. Sa raison d’être consiste à réglementer, dans l’intérêt public canadien, les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie.

- 30 -

Renseignements :

Whitney Punchak
Agente de communications

Office national de l'énergie
Courriel : whitney.punchak@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-299-3122
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Documents pertinents :

Pour obtenir une copie de l’ordonnance d’audience OH-001-2013 :

Bibliothèque de l'Office national de l'énergie
517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., bureau 210
Calgary (Alberta)
T2R 0A8
Courriel : bibliotheque@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-299-3561
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Date de modification :