ARCHIVED - NEB Approves Trans Mountain Toll Methodology for Proposed Expanded System

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

For immediate release
May 16, 2013

NEB Approves Trans Mountain Toll Methodology for Proposed Expanded System

CALGARY - The National Energy Board (NEB or Board) today approved the application by Trans Mountain Pipeline ULC (Trans Mountain) under Part IV of the NEB Act for the toll methodology that would be implemented on the proposed Trans Mountain expanded system, if the system is eventually expanded.

After considering the entirety of the record, the Board finds, on balance, that the toll methodology as proposed by Trans Mountain will produce tolls that will be just, reasonable and not unjustly discriminatory, pursuant to Part IV of the National Energy Board Act (NEB Act). The Board’s reasons can be found in its Reasons for Decision at www.neb-one.gc.ca.

Among the reasons for its decision, the Board finds that the Open Season and negotiation process conducted by Trans Mountain was fair and transparent. The Board’s view is that the appropriateness of the Open Season, the presence of alternate sources of transportation, and the Board’s mandatory review of the toll methodology mitigated concerns of parties related to Trans Mountain’s potential dominant position in toll negotiations with shippers.

The Board's of the view that the proposed allocation of capacity between firm service and uncommitted service, and the proposed allocation of uncommitted capacity between dock and land destinations, are appropriate. As a result, the Board finds that Trans Mountain would satisfy its common carrier obligations.

The Board noted in its decision that it expects regulated companies to invest the resources required for safe operations, environmental protection and full regulatory compliance at all times. Trans Mountain is expected to provide sufficient planning and resources to deliver on its pipeline safety commitments now and during the operation of any expanded system.

The Toll Order and specified relief is contingent on the expanded system being approved under Part III of the NEB Act and will come into effect if and when this expanded system is placed into service.

This application did not seek Board approval to construct the expanded system. The NEB does not currently have a Part III facilities expansion application before it from Trans Mountain regarding the future planned expansion of the Trans Mountain pipeline system.

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry with the safety of Canadians and protection of the environment as its top priority. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit www.neb-one.gc.ca.

- 30 -

For further information:

Brianne Rohovie
Communications Officer

National Energy Board
Telephone: 403-292-4800
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Related documents:

  • Reasons for Decision RH-001-2012 [Filing A51913]
  • 2012-06-29 - Application for Approval of the Transportation Service and Toll Methodology for the Expanded Trans Mountain Pipeline System (RH-001-2012) [Folder 828580]

For a printed copy of Reasons for Decision RH-001-2012:

National Energy Board Library
Suite 210, 517 Tenth Avenue SW
Calgary, Alberta
T2R 0A8
E-mail: library@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-299-3561
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - L’Office national de l'énergie approuve la méthode de conception des droits de Trans Mountain pour le réseau agrandi proposé

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 16 mai 2013

L’Office national de l'énergie approuve la méthode de conception des droits de Trans Mountain pour le réseau agrandi proposé

CALGARY - L’Office national de l’énergie (l’Office) a approuvé aujourd’hui la demande présentée par Trans Mountain Pipeline ULC aux termes de la partie IV de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie (la Loi) concernant la méthode de conception des droits devant être utilisée pour le réseau pipelinier agrandi de Trans Mountain, si un tel agrandissement est réalisé.

Après avoir examiné l’ensemble du dossier, l’Office juge que, globalement, la méthode de conception des droits proposée par Trans Mountain instaurera des droits justes, raisonnables et sans distinction injuste, au sens de la Loi. Les raisons invoquées par l’Office sont présentées dans ses Motifs de décision, disponibles à l’adresse www.one-neb.gc.ca.

Parmi ces raisons, l’Office estime que l’appel de soumissions et le processus de négociation tenus par Trans Mountain ont été équitables et transparents. Selon l’Office, le caractère approprié de l’appel de soumissions, la présence d’options de rechange pour le transport du pétrole et l’examen obligatoire de la méthode de conception des droits par l’Office ont atténué les craintes des parties à l’égard de la position dominante potentielle de Trans Mountain dans les négociations sur les droits avec les expéditeurs.

L’Office estime que l’attribution de la capacité proposée entre le service garanti et le service non souscrit, d’une part, et l’attribution proposée de la capacité non souscrite entre le quai et les destinations terrestres, d’autre part, sont acceptables. Ainsi, l’Office est d’avis que Trans Mountain satisferait à ses obligations de transporteur public.

L’Office a indiqué dans sa décision qu’il attendait des sociétés réglementées qu’elles investissent les ressources nécessaires pour assurer, en tout temps, une exploitation sécuritaire des pipelines, la protection de l’environnement et le respect intégral de la réglementation. Il attend donc de Trans Mountain qu’elle planifie et déploie les ressources nécessaires pour respecter ses engagements en matière de sécurité pipelinière dès maintenant et pendant l’exploitation de l’éventuel réseau agrandi.

L’ordonnance sur les droits et l’exemption précisée sont conditionnelles à l’approbation du réseau agrandi aux termes de la partie III de la Loi et elles prendront effet à la mise en service de celui-ci, le cas échéant.

Cette demande ne visait pas à obtenir l’autorisation de l’Office pour construire le réseau agrandi. À ce jour, l’Office n’a reçu de Trans Mountain aucune demande d’agrandissement d’installations aux termes de la partie III de la Loi concernant l’agrandissement futur envisagé du réseau pipelinier de Trans Mountain.

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada en mettant la sécurité des Canadiens et la protection de l’environnement au cœur de ses priorités. Sa raison d’être consiste à réglementer, dans l’intérêt public canadien, les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie. Pour un complément d’information sur l'Office et son mandat, consultez le site www.one-neb.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Renseignements :

Brianne Rohovie
Agente des communications

Office national de l'énergie
Téléphone : 403-292-4800
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Documents pertinents :

  • Motifs de décision RH-001-2012 [Dépôt A51913]
  • 2012-06-29 - Demande d’approbation de la méthode d’établissement des droits et des services de transport pour le réseau pipelinier agrandi de Trans Mountain (RH-001-2012) [Dossier 828580]

Pour obtenir une copie des Motifs de dédision RH-001-2012  :

Bibliothèque de l'Office national de l'énergie
517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., bureau 210
Calgary (Alberta)
T2R 0A8
Courriel : bibliotheque@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-299-3561
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Date de modification :