ARCHIVED - National Energy Board hosts 2013 Safety Forum focussing on Emerging Issues in Oil and Gas Industry Safety Management

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

For immediate release
4 June 2013

National Energy Board hosts 2013 Safety Forum focussing on Emerging Issues in Oil and Gas Industry Safety Management

CALGARY - The National Energy Board (NEB or the Board) is taking concrete action to continually improve safety and environmental protection in the energy sector. As a key component of the NEB’s Action Plan on Safety and Environmental Protection 2011-2012, the Board will be hosting a forum on the safety of energy infrastructure on June 5-6, 2013 in Calgary, Alberta, at the BMO Centre at Stampede Park.

This event presents an opportunity to explore emerging practices and regulatory actions in the oil and gas industry. Key topics to be discussed include corporate leadership’s role in building and maintaining a safety culture, integration within management systems and effective safety performance measurement.

“The NEB requires its regulated companies to have effective management systems that provide the foundation for a pervasive culture of safety,” said Gaétan Caron, the NEB’s Chair and CEO. “A strong safety culture will increase protection of the public, workers and the environment while at the same time help to build public trust in the energy sector and its regulators, a critical component to the energy sector’s continued success.”

The Safety Forum is yet another step the Board is taking towards achieving its target of zero incidents on NEB-regulated pipelines and facilities. The Forum will seek to identify opportunities that both industry and regulators can take to improve safety outcomes and will serve to generate further discussion and change in the days to follow.

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry with the safety of Canadians and protection of the environment as its top priority. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit www.neb-one.gc.ca.

- 30 -

For further information:

Rebecca  Taylor
Communications Advisor

National Energy Board
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Related documents:

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - L’Office national de l’énergie accueille le Forum sur la sécurité 2013 consacré à la gestion de la sécurité dans le secteur du pétrole et du gaz

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 4 juin 2013

L’Office national de l’énergie accueille le Forum sur la sécurité 2013 consacré à la gestion de la sécurité dans le secteur du pétrole et du gaz

CALGARY - L’Office national de l’énergie (l’Office) pose des gestes concrets dans le but de constamment renforcer la sécurité et la protection de l’environnement dans le secteur de l’énergie. Comme il s’agissait d’un des éléments importants de son Plan d'action 2011-2012 de l'ONÉ en matière de sécurité et de protection de l'environnement, l’Office accueillera un forum sur la sécurité de l’infrastructure énergétique les 5 et 6 juin 2013 à Calgary, en Alberta. L’événement se tiendra au Centre BMO du parc du Stampede.

Le Forum procurera une occasion d’examiner les pratiques et les mesures de réglementation émergentes dans le secteur pétrolier et gazier. Parmi les principaux thèmes qui seront abordés, notons le leadership des entreprises dans la création et le maintien d’une culture de sécurité, l’intégration d’une telle culture dans les systèmes de gestion et la mesure efficace du rendement en ce qui concerne la sécurité.

« L’Office exige des sociétés qu’il réglemente qu’elles mettent en place des systèmes de gestion qui établissent des assises solides pour bâtir une culture de sécurité omniprésente, » a déclaré Gaétan Caron, président et premier dirigeant de l’Office. « L’existence d’une solide culture de sécurité protègera davantage la population, les travailleurs et l’environnement et aidera les acteurs du secteur de l’énergie, incluant les organismes de réglementation, à gagner la confiance de la population, élément essentiel à la réussite à long terme. »

Le Forum sur la sécurité est une autre étape que l’Office franchit en vue d’atteindre l’objectif de zéro incident qu’il s’est fixé pour les pipelines et les installations relevant de la compétence. Le but du Forum est de rechercher les occasions qui s’offrent à l’industrie et aux organismes de réglementation d’améliorer leurs résultats sur le plan de la sécurité et à susciter une débat et amener des changements dans les jours qui suivront.

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada en mettant la sécurité des Canadiens et la protection de l’environnement au cœur de ses priorités. Sa raison d’être consiste à réglementer, dans l’intérêt public canadien, les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie. Pour un complément d’information sur l'Office et son mandat, consultez le site www.one-neb.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Renseignements :

Rebecca  Taylor
Conseillère en communications

Office national de l'énergie
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Document pertinent :

Date de modification :