ARCHIVED - National Energy Board Responds to Discovery of Contaminated Soil North of Hope, BC

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

For immediate release
27 June 2013

National Energy Board Responds to Discovery of Contaminated Soil North of Hope, BC

CALGARY - The National Energy Board (NEB or Board) is responding to the discovery of crude oil on the TransMountain Pipeline north of Hope, BC owned and operated by Kinder Morgan Canada. While conducting scheduled maintenance on the line, KM reported that they found contaminated soil. The size of the release has yet to be determined by the NEB. There is no immediate safety concern for local residents and precautions are being taken to ensure continued public safety.

The NEB received an incident report late yesterday afternoon. The release is located on crown land along the pipeline right-of-way. The pipeline has been shut down to prevent additional oil from being released into the environment.

The NEB’s Emergency Response Team has been deployed and will be onsite to monitor and assess the company’s immediate response, investigation and clean up. Representatives from the affected company are also onsite along with local first responders.

An NEB investigation stemming from the discovery of oil on the TransMountain Pipeline reported on 12 June 2013 is already underway. Through its investigation of this most recent incident, the NEB will seek to determine whether they are isolated or similar in nature.

In an emergency, the Board works with federal, provincial and territorial partners to coordinate the regulatory response. The NEB’s priority in any emergency is to make sure that people are safe and the environment is protected.

The National Energy Board holds regulated companies fully responsible and accountable for responding in a manner that protects the public, property and the environment. This includes clean-up and site remediation. The Board’s long-term goal with any incident is the full restoration and re-vegetation of the site including any potential effects on sub-surface groundwater. We do not relax our expectations of a company, or our response, regardless of the size of the incident.

- 30 -

For further information:

Rebecca  Taylor
Communications Advisor

National Energy Board
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Intervention de l'Office national de l'énergie à la suite de la découverte de sol contaminé au nord de Hope, en Colombie-Britannique

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 27 juin 2013

Intervention de l'Office national de l'énergie à la suite de la découverte de sol contaminé au nord de Hope, en Colombie-Britannique

CALGARY - Une intervention de l’Office national de l’énergie est en cours sur les lieux de la découverte de pétrole brut provenant du pipeline de TransMountain, qui appartient à Kinder Morgan Canada, au nord de Hope, en Colombie Britannique. À l’occasion de travaux d’entretien prévus sur la canalisation, Kinder Morgan a fait rapport de la présence de sol contaminé. L’Office n’a pas encore évalué l’ampleur du déversement. Les résidants locaux ne courent aucun danger imminent, et des précautions sont prises pour assurer la sécurité continue de la population.

L'Office a reçu un rapport d'incident hier en fin d'après-midi. Le déversement se situe sur des terres publiques le long de l’emprise du pipeline. Celui-ci a été fermé pour éviter que davantage de produit ne soit déversé dans l’environnement.

L’équipe d’intervention d’urgence de l’Office a été dépêché sur les lieux, où elle surveillera et évaluera l’intervention immédiate de la société, l’enquête et le nettoyage. Des représentants de la société en cause sont aussi sur place, de même que les premiers intervenants locaux.

L’Office mène déjà une enquête à la suite de la découverte de pétrole rapportée le 12 juin 2013 à l’égard du pipeline de Trans Mountain. Dans le contexte de celle sur l’incident le plus récent, l’Office cherchera à établir s’il s’agit de deux cas distincts ou encore de nature semblable.

Lors d’une situation d’urgence, l’Office s’associe à des partenaires fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux afin de coordonner l’intervention réglementaire. La priorité absolue de l’Office en cas d’urgence est d’assurer la sécurité des personnes et la protection de l’environnement.

L’Office national de l’énergie tient les sociétés entièrement responsables de l’intervention, qui doit veiller à la protection de la population, des biens et de l’environnement, et il les oblige à rendre des comptes. Cela comprend également le nettoyage et l’assainissement des lieux. Dans tout incident, l’objectif à long terme de l’Office est de remettre entièrement le site dans son état antérieur, y compris la revégétalisation de celui-ci, et de remédier aux effets éventuels sur les eaux souterraines. Les attentes de l’Office à l’endroit d’une société et de son intervention ne souffrent d’aucun relâchement, quelle que soit l’ampleur de l’incident.

- 30 -

Renseignements :

Rebecca  Taylor
Conseillère en communications

Office national de l'énergie
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Date de modification :