ARCHIVED - Funding Available to Participate in the NEB’s Regulatory Process Regarding the Trans Mountain Expansion Project

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

For immediate release
22 July 2013

Funding Available to Participate in the NEB’s Regulatory Process Regarding the Trans Mountain Expansion Project

CALGARY - The National Energy Board (NEB, or the Board) is making funding available under its Participant Funding Program to assist landowners, Aboriginal groups, incorporated non-industry, not-for-profit organizations, and other interested persons to participate in the regulatory process of the proposed Trans Mountain Expansion Project.

The project would expand the existing Trans Mountain pipeline system in Alberta and British Columbia and include approximately 981 km of new pipeline, new and modified facilities, such as pump stations and tanks, and the reactivation of 193 km of existing pipeline between Edmonton and Burnaby. There would also be an expansion of the Westridge Marine Terminal. The current project description can be found on the NEB website at www.neb-one.gc.ca.

Funding is being made available to help those interested review and comment on a project application to be submitted by Trans Mountain Pipeline ULC. To receive funding, interested persons will have to apply for and be accepted as an intervenor in the NEB’s regulatory process for this project. Funding must be used to prepare for and participate in the hearing process, which will be announced by the Board at a later date.

A funding review committee, independent of the regulatory process, will consider all applications for funding and make recommendations on the allocation of funds.

Funding applications should be submitted as soon as possible. Funding will only be awarded for hearing related activities conducted after your application has been approved. Please review the Participant Funding Program Guide to determine when and how to apply for funding and what funding will cover.

A List of Issues identifying the topics the Board will consider during the review process will soon be available on the NEB website and a funding envelope will also be announced. Those who are interested in applying for Participant Funding are encouraged to review information on the proposed project.

Interested persons should also review the Application for Funding Form and the Contribution Agreement available on the Board's website (www.neb-one.gc.ca) under Participant Funding Program.

Please visit the NEB website for general information about the hearing process and how you can participate effectively. To access the information, go to www.neb-one.gc.ca, select Hearings and Information Sessions, and then click on Participate in a Public Hearing.

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry with the safety of Canadians and protection of the environment as its top priority. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit www.neb-one.gc.ca.

- 30 -

FOR BROADCAST USE:

The National Energy Board announced today that Participant Funding will be available for the Trans Mountain Expansion Project. The Project would expand the existing Trans Mountain pipeline system in Alberta and British Columbia. Funding applications should be submitted as soon as possible. To find out more about the project, or to apply for funding, visit www.neb-one.gc.ca.

For further information:

Carole Léger-Kubeczek
Communications Officer

National Energy Board
Telephone:403-299-7875
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Aide financière offerte pour faciliter la participation au processus réglementaire de l'office national de l'énergie relatif au projet d'agrandissement de Trans Mountain

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 22 juillet 2013

Aide financière offerte pour faciliter la participation au processus réglementaire de l'office national de l'énergie relatif au projet d'agrandissement de Trans Mountain

CALGARY – L'Office national de l'énergie met son Programme d'aide financière aux participants à la disposition des propriétaires fonciers, groupes autochtones, organismes constitués en sociétés sans but lucratif hors de l'industrie et autres parties intéressées pour les aider à participer au processus réglementaire concernant le projet d'agrandissement de Trans Mountain.

Le projet permettrait l'agrandissement du réseau pipelinier existant de Trans Mountain en Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique. Il prévoit de nouvelles canalisations sur une distance de quelque 981 kilomètres, l'ajout et la modification d'installations comme des réservoirs et des stations de pompage, ainsi que la remise en service d'un pipeline déjà en place entre Edmonton et Burnaby sur une distance de 193 kilomètres. En outre, le terminal maritime Westridge serait agrandi. Des détails au sujet de la description du projet se trouvent dans le site Web de l'Office à l'adresse www.neb-one.gc.ca.

L'aide financière est offerte pour aider les personnes qui seraient intéressées à examiner et commenter la demande devant être soumise par Trans Mountain Pipeline ULC. Pour obtenir des fonds, elles doivent s'inscrire et être acceptées comme intervenant au processus réglementaire de l'Office concernant le projet. Cette aide doit servir à se préparer et à prendre part au processus d'audience, qui fera l'objet d'une annonce publique par l'Office à une date ultérieure.

Un comité d'examen de l'aide financière, indépendant du processus réglementaire, étudiera toutes les demandes reçues et fera des recommandations quant aux sommes à allouer.

Les demandes d'aide financière doivent être soumises le plus tôt possible. L'aide financière n'est accordée que pour les activités connexes à l'audience réalisées après l'approbation de la demande. Consultez le Guide sur le Programme d'aide financière aux participants pour savoir quand et comment faire une demande, et ce qui est couvert.

Une liste des questions cernant les sujets sur lesquels l'Office se penchera pendant le processus d'examen pourra bientôt être consultée dans son site Web, et le montant total de l'aide financière disponible sera aussi annoncé. Quiconque est intéressé à présenter une demande d'aide financière est invité à passer en revue l'information sur le projet proposé.

Les personnes intéressées devraient par ailleurs prendre connaissance du contenu du formulaire de demande d'aide financière et de l'accord de contribution standard, aussi sur le site Web de l'Office (www.neb-one.gc.ca), sous Programme d'aide financière aux participants.

Veuillez visiter le site Web de l'Office pour obtenir des renseignements généraux sur le processus d'audience et la façon d'y participer de manière efficace. Pour y accéder, une fois à l'adresse www.neb-one.gc.ca, cliquez sur « Audiences et séances d'information », puis sur « Participez à une audience publique ».

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada en mettant la sécurité des Canadiens et la protection de l’environnement au cœur de ses priorités. Sa raison d’être consiste à réglementer, dans l’intérêt public canadien, les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie. Pour un complément d’information sur l'Office et son mandat, consultez le site www.one-neb.gc.ca.

- 30 -

AUX FINS DE RADIODIFFUSION
L'Office national de l'énergie a annoncé aujourd'hui que les participants pourront profiter d'une aide financière dans le cadre du projet de Trans Mountain, qui vise l'agrandissement de son réseau pipelinier existant en Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique. Les demandes d'aide financière doivent être soumises le plus tôt possible. Pour un complément d'information sur le projet ou pour présenter une demande d'aide financière : www.neb-one.gc.ca.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Carole Léger-Kubeczek
Agente des communications

Office national de l'énergie
Téléphone : 403-299-7875
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Date de modification :