ARCHIVED - NEB Releases Decision on TransCanada Tariff Amendments

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

For immediate release
10 October 2013

NEB Releases Decision on TransCanada Tariff Amendments

CALGARY - The National Energy Board (NEB or the Board) today announced its decision on TransCanada PipeLines Limited’s (TransCanada’s) application for approval of tariff amendments, with reasons to follow.

On 17 June 2013, TransCanada filed an application seeking Board approval to amend its Canadian Mainline Gas Transportation Tariff as follows:

  • to modify provisions applicable to Diversions and Alternate Receipt Points (ARPs);
  • to eliminate the overrun feature of Storage Transportation Service (STS);
  • to eliminate provisions that establish requirements for the timing and duration of open seasons for Short-Term Firm Transportation (STFT) service and Short-Term Short Notice (ST-SN) service; and
  • to modify renewal provisions for Firm Mainline Services.

The Board has denied some elements of the application and amended others. Please refer to the Letter Decision [Filing A54706] for the complete details of the decision. Reasons for the Decision will be published at a later date.

Diversions and ARPs
The Board has decided to deny the proposed amendments to the Tariff in respect of alternate receipt points and diversions.

STS Overrun
The Board has decided to deny the proposed amendments to eliminate the overrun feature of STS service.

STFT and ST-SN Open Season Requirements
The Board has decided to maintain the current timing of the open seasons for STFT and ST-SN. However, the Board has decided to amend the Tariff provisions so that the minimum duration TransCanada is required to hold these open seasons is reduced to 48 hours.

Renewal Provisions
The Board has decided to amend renewal provisions for Firm Mainline Services to require contract holders to provide TransCanada with two years’ notice of their intention to renew (instead of the six month renewal notice provision in existence prior to this decision), and to require a renewal term to be one or more full years.

Renewal Notice Transition Mechanism
The Amended Renewal Provisions are in effect immediately with one exception. The Board has established a Renewal Notice transition mechanism to provide Firm Mainline Service contract holders with at least 90 days’ notice to decide whether to renew their Existing Contracts and maintain the option of retaining their renewal rights. The transition mechanism is in effect immediately until 31 January 2014.

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry with the safety of Canadians and protection of the environment as its top priority. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit www.neb-one.gc.ca.

- 30 -

For further information:

Tara O'Donovan
Communications Officer

E-mail: tara.odonovan@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-299-3633
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265

Related documents:

For a printed copy the Letter Decision RH-001-2013:

National Energy Board Library
Suite 210, 517 Tenth Avenue SW
Calgary, Alberta
T2R 0A8
E-mail: library@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-299-3561
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Décision au sujet des modifications au tarif de TransCanada

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 10 octobre 2013

Décision au sujet des modifications au tarif de TransCanada

CALGARY - L’Office national de l'énergie a rendu aujourd'hui sa décision relativement à la demande d’approbation de modifications au tarif de TransCanada PipeLines Limited (TransCanada), avec motifs à suivre.

Le 17 septembre 2013, TransCanada a déposé une demande sollicitant de l'Office qu'il l’autorise à modifier son tarif de transport de gaz sur le réseau principal de la façon suivante :

  • modification des dispositions relatives aux détournements et points de réception auxiliaires (PRA);
  • suppression des dépassements à l’égard du service de transport assorti de stockage (STS);suppression des dispositions liées aux exigences visant le moment et la durée des appels de soumissions à l’égard du service de transport garanti à court terme (TG-CT) et du service à court terme et à court préavis (CT-CP);
  • modification des dispositions relatives au renouvellement des services garantis sur le réseau principal.

L’Office a rejeté certains éléments de la demande et en a modifié d'autres. Veuillez vous reporter à la lettre de décision [Dépôt A54706] pour les détails. Les motifs seront publiés à une date ultérieure.

Détournements et PRA
L’Office a décidé de rejeter les modifications au tarif proposées pour les détournements et PRA.

Dépassements à l’égard du STS
L’Office a décidé de rejeter les modifications au tarif proposées pour les dépassements à l’égard du STS.

Exigences des appels de soumissions à l’égard du TG-CT et du service CT-CP
L’Office a décidé de conserver la période actuellement en vigueur pour les appels de soumissions à l’égard du TG-CT et du service CT-CP. Cependant, il a aussi décidé de modifier les dispositions du tarif de manière que la durée minimale des appels de soumissions de TransCanada soit ramenée à 48 heures.

Dispositions relatives au renouvellement
L’Office a décidé de modifier les dispositions relatives au renouvellement pour les services garantis sur le réseau principal de manière à exiger un avis de deux ans à TransCanada en vue du renouvellement des contrats (contre six mois comme c’était auparavant le cas), et ceux-ci devront être renouvelés pour une période d’une ou de plusieurs années complètes.

Mécanisme de transition pour l’avis de renouvellement
À une exception près, les dispositions modifiées relatives au renouvellement entrent en vigueur immédiatement. Le mécanisme de transition pour l’avis de renouvellement prévu par l'Office donne aux titulaires de contrats de services garantis sur le réseau principal un avis d’au moins 90 jours pour décider s’ils souhaitent renouveler leurs contrats existants et maintenir la possibilité de conserver leurs droits de renouvellement. Le mécanisme de transition entre en vigueur immédiatement et le demeure jusqu’au 31 janvier 2014.

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada en mettant la sécurité des Canadiens et la protection de l’environnement au cœur de ses priorités. Sa raison d’être consiste à réglementer, dans l’intérêt public canadien, les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie. Pour un complément d’information sur l'Office et son mandat, consultez le site www.one-neb.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Renseignements :

Tara O'Donovan
Agente des communications

Courriel : tara.odonovan@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-299-3633
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265

Documents pertinents :

  • 2013-06-17 Demande d'approbation de propositions relatives au tarif (RH-001-2013) [Dossier 963233]

Pour obtenir une copie de la lettre de décision  RH-001-2013 :

Bibliothèque de l'Office national de l'énergie
517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., bureau 210
Calgary (Alberta)
T2R 0A8
Courriel : bibliotheque@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-299-3561
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Date de modification :