ARCHIVED - New NEB Report Provides Overview of Key Energy Market Dynamics

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

31 March 2014

Media Advisory

New NEB Report Provides Overview of Key Energy Market Dynamics

CALGARY - Today the National Energy Board (NEB or the Board) released a new energy market assessment entitled Canadian Energy Dynamics: 2013. The assessment provides an overview of key elements in Canada’s energy markets, and how these elements changed in 2013.

The energy sector in Canada is dynamic and continually being shaped by new sources of supply, changing demand, and integrated infrastructure development. Important developments in Canadian energy markets in 2013 included increased crude oil production, natural gas supply shifting from west to east, and increasing availability of natural gas liquids. Similarly, continuing trends in electricity fuel sources, oil and gas production in Canada’s North, and exploration in offshore fields are influencing Canada’s energy supply. The Canadian Energy Dynamics report provides insight, statistics and regional descriptions that frame these developments over the last year.

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry with the safety of Canadians and protection of the environment as its top priority. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit www.neb-one.gc.ca.

- 30 -

For further information:

Stacey Squires
Communications Officer

National Energy Board
E-mail: stacey.squires@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-299-2717
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Nouveau rapport de l’Office qui donne un aperçu des grandes forces dynamiques sur le marché de l’énergie

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Le 31 mars 2014

Avis aux médias

Nouveau rapport de l’Office qui donne un aperçu des grandes forces dynamiques sur le marché de l’énergie

CALGARY - L’Office national de l’énergie a publié une nouvelle évaluation du marché de l’énergie intitulée Dynamique du marché de l’énergie au Canada - 2013. L’évaluation présente un aperçu des éléments clés des marchés énergétiques canadiens et la manière dont ces éléments ont changé en 2013.

Au Canada, le secteur énergétique est dynamique et il est continuellement façonné par de nouvelles sources d’approvisionnement, l’évolution de la demande et l’aménagement d’une infrastructure intégrée. Au nombre des développements importants à être survenus en 2013 sur les marchés de l’énergie au Canada, comptons un accroissement de la production de pétrole brut, le passage d’ouest en est des sources d’approvisionnement en gaz naturel et une plus grande disponibilité de liquides de gaz naturel. Ont aussi une influence sur l’offre énergétique canadienne le maintien des tendances au chapitre des combustibles utilisés pour la production d’électricité, l’exploration pétrolière et gazière dans le Nord et l’exploration de gisements extracôtiers. Le rapport Dynamique du marché de l’énergie au Canada fournit de l’information solide, des statistiques et des descriptions régionales autour de ces questions pour l’année écoulée.

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada en mettant la sécurité des Canadiens et la protection de l’environnement au cœur de ses priorités. Sa raison d’être consiste à réglementer, dans l’intérêt public canadien, les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie. Pour un complément d’information sur l'Office et son mandat, consultez le site www.one-neb.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Renseignements :

Stacey Squires
Agente des communications

Office national de l’énergie
Courriel : stacey.squires@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-299-2717
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Date de modification :