ARCHIVED - National Energy Board responds to oil release south of Regina

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

For immediate release
18 January 2014

National Energy Board responds to oil release south of Regina

CALGARY – The National Energy Board (NEB or Board) is responding to a release of crude oil on the Alberta Clipper pipeline south of Regina, Saskatchewan owned and operated by Enbridge Pipelines Inc. The release was reported to the NEB just before noon today. The size of the release has yet to be determined by the NEB. There is no immediate safety concern for local residents and precautions are being taken to ensure continued public safety.

The release of crude oil occurred at the Rowatt pump station and all free product has been contained to company property. The affected section of pipe has been shut down and no further oil is being released into the environment.

The NEB's Emergency Response Team has been deployed and will be onsite to monitor and assess the company's immediate response. Representatives from Enbridge are on the ground securing and assessing the incident site. First responders have also been notified.

In an emergency, the Board works with federal, provincial and territorial partners to coordinate the regulatory response. The NEB's priority in any emergency is to make sure that people are safe and the environment is protected.

The National Energy Board holds regulated companies fully responsible and accountable for responding in a manner that protects the public, property and the environment. This includes clean-up and site remediation. The Board's long-term goal with any incident is the full restoration and re-vegetation of the site including any potential effects on sub-surface groundwater. We do not relax our expectations of a company, or our response, regardless of the size of the incident.

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry with the safety of Canadians and protection of the environment as its top priority. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit www.neb-one.gc.ca.

- 30 -

For further information:

Rebecca  Taylor
Communications Advisor

National Energy Board
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Intervention de l’office après un déversement de pétrole au sud de Regina

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 18 janvier 2014

Intervention de l’office après un déversement de pétrole au sud de Regina

CALGARY – L'Office national de l'énergie est en mode d'intervention après un déversement de pétrole brut au sud de Regina, en Saskatchewan, provenant du pipeline Alberta Clipper, qui appartient à Pipelines Enbridge Inc. et est exploité par celle-ci. L'incident a été signalé à l'Office un peu avant midi et il lui reste encore à en déterminer l'ampleur. Rien n'indique que la sécurité des personnes qui habitent dans les environs est en péril, et des précautions sont prises pour s'assurer qu'il en demeure ainsi.

Le déversement de pétrole brut est survenu à la station de pompage Rowatt et tout le produit déversé a été contenu sur les terrains de la société. L'exploitation du tronçon de canalisation touché a été interrompue pour éviter que davantage de pétrole ne soit déversé autour.

L'équipe d'intervention d'urgence de l'Office a été dépêchée sur place pour surveiller et évaluer les activités de la société en rapport avec l'incident. Des représentants d'Enbridge se trouvent sur le terrain pour empêcher l'accès aux lieux et évaluer la situation. Les premiers intervenants ont aussi été mis au courant.

À l'occasion de telles situations d'urgence, l'Office travaille de concert avec ses partenaires des paliers fédéral, provincial et territorial pour coordonner l'intervention qui s'impose. La priorité de l'Office en cas d'urgence consiste à assurer la sécurité des personnes et la protection de l'environnement.

L'Office tient les sociétés réglementées entièrement responsables des interventions, qui doivent se dérouler de manière à protéger le public, les biens et l'environnement, et il les oblige à rendre des comptes. L'intervention comprend les travaux de nettoyage et de remise en état des lieux. L'objectif à long terme de l'Office, quel que soit l'incident, est une remise en état intégrale et une revégétalisation des lieux, ce qui comprend la correction de toute répercussion éventuelle sur les eaux souterraines. Les attentes de l'Office à l'endroit des sociétés, tout comme son intervention, ne varient pas en fonction de l'ampleur de l'incident.

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada en mettant la sécurité des Canadiens et la protection de l’environnement au cœur de ses priorités. Sa raison d’être consiste à réglementer, dans l’intérêt public canadien, les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie. Pour un complément d’information sur l'Office et son mandat, consultez le site www.one-neb.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Rebecca  Taylor
Conseillère en communications

Office national de l'énergie
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Date de modification :