ARCHIVED - NEB Approves Jordan Cove LNG Natural Gas Export License

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

For immediate release
20 February 2014

NEB Approves Jordan Cove LNG Natural Gas Export License

CALGARY - The National Energy Board (NEB or Board) approved an application for a 25 year natural gas export licence to Jordan Cove LNG L.P. (Jordan Cove LNG) to export natural gas. The license is for a maximum term amount of 442.68 109m³. The proposed export points include existing natural gas pipelines that cross the Canada/US border near Kingsgate and Huntingdon, BC.

Issuance of the licence to export natural gas is subject to the approval of the Governor in Council (GiC).

Recent developments in gas production technology have resulted in a significant increase in the Canadian gas resource base and North American gas supply. One of the major impacts of this increase is lower demand for Canadian gas in traditional gas markets in the United States and eastern Canada. As a result, the Canadian gas industry is seeking to access overseas gas markets.

When evaluating natural gas and LNG export licence applications, the Board considers if the quantity of gas proposed to be exported is surplus to Canadian requirements, taking into account trends in the discovery of gas in Canada. Each application is assessed on its own merits. The Board determined that the quantity of gas proposed to be exported is surplus to Canadian requirements. The Board is satisfied that the gas resource base in Canada, as well as North America, is large and can accommodate reasonably foreseeable Canadian demand, this natural gas export application, and a potential increase in demand. The Canadian natural gas market will continue to respond appropriately to changes in supply and demand.

The Board continuously monitors the Canadian and North American natural gas market. The Board has technical expertise in gas market supply and demand fundamentals and geological resource assessment. Natural gas market assessments, including long-term and short-term reports, are available on the Board’s website. For a full list, please see Energy Reports - Natural Gas.

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry with the safety of Canadians and protection of the environment as its top priority. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit www.neb-one.gc.ca.

- 30 -

For further information:

Whitney Punchak
Communications Officer

National Energy Board
E-mail: whitney.punchak@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-299-3122
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Related documents:

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - L’Office national de l’énergie approuve la licence d’exportation de gaz naturel demandée par Jordan Cove LNG

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 20 février 2014

L’Office national de l’énergie approuve la licence d’exportation de gaz naturel demandée par Jordan Cove LNG

CALGARY - L’Office national de l’énergie a approuvé la demande de licence d’exportation de gaz naturel de 25 ans que lui a présentée Jordan Cove LNG L.P. (Jordan Cove LNG) relativement à un volume maximal de 442,68 Gm³ sur toute la durée de la licence. Les exportations se feraient à partir de points où des gazoducs existants traversent la frontière canado-américaine, notamment près de Kingsgate et de Huntingdon, en Colombie Britannique.

La délivrance de la licence d’exportation de gaz naturel est assujettie à l’agrément du gouverneur en conseil

L’évolution récente des techniques de production de gaz a été à l’origine d’une forte hausse des ressources gazières canadiennes disponibles, et de l’offre à l’échelle nord-américaine, et l’une des conséquences importantes de cette situation est le recul de la demande de gaz canadien sur les marchés habituellement desservis aux États-Unis et dans l’Est du Canada. C’est dans ce contexte que le secteur gazier au pays cherche à accéder aux marchés d’outre-mer.

Au moment d’évaluer une demande de licence d’exportation de gaz naturel ou de GNL, l’Office examine la question de savoir si la quantité à exporter est excédentaire aux besoins des Canadiens, en tenant compte des tendances en matière de découvertes de gaz au pays. Chaque demande est évaluée au cas par cas. L’Office a établi que le volume d’exportation de gaz naturel avancé dans la demande constitue un excédent à la lumière des besoins des Canadiens. L’Office ne doute pas que les ressources gazières au Canada, comme dans le reste de l’Amérique du Nord, sont importantes et en mesure de répondre à la fois à la demande canadienne raisonnablement prévisible, aux exportations de gaz naturel proposées dans la demande et à une hausse future plausible de la demande dans son ensemble. Le marché du gaz naturel canadien continuera de répondre comme il se doit à l’évolution de l’offre et de la demande.

L’Office surveille constamment les marchés gaziers canadien et nord-américain. Il possède les compétences techniques pour analyser les éléments fondamentaux de l’offre et de la demande de gaz naturel ainsi que pour évaluer les ressources géologiques. Ses évaluations du marché du gaz, y compris ses rapports à court et à long terme, sont disponibles dans son site Web. Il s’en trouve une liste complète dans la section Rapports sur l’énergie - Gaz naturel.

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada en mettant la sécurité des Canadiens et la protection de l’environnement au cœur de ses priorités. Sa raison d’être consiste à réglementer, dans l’intérêt public canadien, les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie. Pour un complément d’information sur l'Office et son mandat, consultez le site www.one-neb.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Whitney Punchak
Agente de communications

Office national de l'énergie
Courriel : whitney.punchak@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-299-3122
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Documents connexes

Date de modification :