ARCHIVED - NEB to hear NGTL’s Integration Asset Transfer Application

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

For immediate release
22 April 2014

NEB to hear NGTL’s Integration Asset Transfer Application

CALGARY - The National Energy Board (NEB or the Board) will hold a public hearing to consider an application filed by NOVA Gas Transmission Ltd. (NGTL) requesting approval for the acquisition of certain assets currently owned by ATCO Gas and Pipelines Ltd. (ATCO Pipelines). The Board is also being asked to approve the sale by NGTL of certain assets to ATCO Pipelines.

If approved, the project would include the following asset exchanges:

  • NGTL Transferred Assets, which are comprised of metering facilities (31 delivery and 89 receipt meter stations) and pipeline infrastructure (1,418 km); and
  • ATCO Transferred Assets, which are comprised of a compressor station (1), metering facilities (12 delivery and 21 receipt meter stations) and pipelines infrastructure (1,303 km).

Given the volume of assets involved and the field work required to complete the transfer of ownership, NGTL and ATCO have put forward the plan to execute the assets swap in four stages. NGTL is proposing that a separate certificate of public convenience and necessity (CPCN) be issued for each stage and each CPCN be made effective as of the date of the closing of the respective stage.

The infrastructure under consideration already exists; as such the exchange of assets would not require new construction or the addition of new right-of-way.

A complete list of the issues under consideration can be found in Appendix I of the Hearing Order, which is available on the Board’s Web site.

The Board has granted standing to all ten applicants who have submitted an application to participate in this process. As a result, the Board may hear from eight intervenors and two commenters have been granted standing to submit letters of comment.

The hearing is scheduled to start 22 of July 2014 at a time to be confirmed at a later date. Interested persons wishing to attend the hearing should note that by then, the Board will have relocated to Centre 10, 517 10th Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta. The hearing room will be on the 2nd floor.

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry with the safety of Canadians and protection of the environment as its top priority. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit www.neb-one.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Please visit the NEB Web site for general information about the hearing process and how you can participate effectively. To access the information, go to www.neb-one.gc.ca, select Hearing and Information Sessions, and then click on Participate in a Public Hearing.

For further information:

Stacey Squires
Communications Officer

National Energy Board
E-mail: stacey.squires@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-299-2717
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Related documents:

For a printed copy of the Hearing Order:

National Energy Board Library
Suite 210, 517 Tenth Avenue SW
Calgary, Alberta
T2R 0A8
E-mail: library@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-299-3561
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Audience de l'Office national de l'énergie prévue pour la demande de NGTL visant son projet de cession d'actifs pour intégration

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 22 avril 2014

Audience de l'Office national de l'énergie prévue pour la demande de NGTL visant son projet de cession d'actifs pour intégration

CALGARY - L’Office national de l’énergie tiendra une audience publique pour examiner une demande de NOVA Gas Transmission Ltd. (NGTL) sollicitant l’approbation de l’acquisition de certains éléments d’actif appartenant actuellement à ATCO Gas and Pipelines Ltd. (ATCO Pipelines) et une autorisation est aussi demandée pour la vente à ATCO Pipelines de certains actifs de NGTL.

Si le projet est approuvé, l’échange d’actifs comprendra ce qui suit :

  • les éléments cédés par NGTL et qui regroupent des installations de comptage (31 stations au point de livraison et 89 au point de réception) ainsi que des pipelines (sur 1 418 kilomètres);
  • les éléments cédés par ATCO Pipelines et qui regroupent une station de compression, des installations de comptage (12 stations au point de livraison et 21 au point de réception) ainsi que des pipelines (sur 1 303 kilomètres).

Compte tenu du nombre d’éléments d’actif en cause et du travail requis sur le terrain pour mener à terme l’échange, NGTL et ATCO Pipelines prévoient l’exécuter en quatre étapes. NGTL propose qu’un certificat d’utilitépublique distinct soit délivré et entre en vigueur à la conclusion de chacune de ces étapes.

Étant donné que l’infrastructure en question existe déjà, en tant que tel l’échange d’actifs ne nécessite aucune nouvelle construction ni l’ajout de nouvelles emprises.

La liste complète des questions à l’étude se trouve à l’annexe I de l’ordonnance d’audience, sur le site Web de l’Office.

L’Office a accordé le droit de participer à l’audience aux dix personnes qui en ont fait la demande. Ainsi, le statut d’intervenant a été donné à huit personnes et celui d’auteur de lettre de commentaires aux deux autres.

Le volet oral de l’audience devrait débuter le 22 juillet 2014, à une heure qui sera déterminée plus tard. Les personnes intéressées à assister à l’audience doivent prendre note que l’Office sera alors déménagé à l’édifice Centre 10, au 517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., à Calgary, en Alberta. La salle d’audience sera au 2e étage.

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada en mettant la sécurité des Canadiens et la protection de l’environnement au cœur de ses priorités. Sa raison d’être consiste à réglementer, dans l’intérêt public canadien, les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie. Pour un complément d’information sur l'Office et son mandat, consultez le site www.one-neb.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Veuillez visiter le site Web de l’Office pour obtenir des renseignements généraux sur le processus d’audience et la façon d’y participer de manière efficace. Pour y accéder, une fois à l’adresse www.one-neb.gc.ca, cliquez sur « Audiences et séances d’information », puis sur « Participez à une audience publique ».

Renseignements :

Stacey Squires
Agente des communications

Office national de l’énergie
Courriel : stacey.squires@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-299-2717
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Documents pertinents :

Pour obtenir une copie de l'ordonnance d'audience:

Bibliothèque de l'Office national de l'énergie
517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., bureau 210
Calgary (Alberta)
T2R 0A8
Courriel : bibliotheque@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-299-3561
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Date de modification :