ARCHIVED - NEB Announces Public Hearing for TCPL’s King’s North Connection Project

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

For immediate release
17 November 2014

NEB Announces Public Hearing for TCPL’s King’s North Connection Project

CALGARY - The National Energy Board (NEB or the Board) will hold a written public hearing to consider an application from TransCanada Pipelines Limited (TCPL) to construct and operate approximately 11 km of new pipeline and associated facilities (the Project). The Project location crosses the three municipalities of Vaughan, Toronto, and Brampton, as well as the Regional Municipalities of York and Peel.

  • The Board has identified and will consider the following issues in this hearing:
  • The need for the proposed Project.
  • The economic feasibility of the proposed Project.
  • The potential commercial impacts of the proposed Project.
  • The potential environmental and socio-economic effects of the proposed project, including any cumulative environmental effects that are likely to result from the project, including those required to be considered by the NEB’s Filing Manual.
  • The appropriateness of the route and land requirements for the proposed Project.
  • The engineering design and integrity of the proposed Project.
  • Potential impacts of the proposed Project on Aboriginal interests.
  • Potential impacts of the proposed Project on landowners and land use.
  • Contingency planning for spills, accidents or malfunctions, during construction and operation of the Project.
  • The terms and conditions to be included in any approval or recommendation.

The Board must hear from anyone who, in the Board’s opinion, is directly affected by the proposed Project, and may choose to hear from anyone who has relevant information or expertise.

To participate in this hearing, please visit the NEB website at www.neb-one.gc.ca, click on Submit Applications and Regulatory Documents and select Apply to Participate. When completing your Application to Participate, you must show that your interest in this Project, or the information or expertise you wish to contribute, is relevant to one or more of the Issues identified in the List of Issues in the Hearing Order [Filing A64282].

The deadline for filing an Application to Participate is noon (Calgary time) on 11 December 2014.

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry with the safety of Canadians and protection of the environment as its top priority. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit www.neb-one.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Please visit the NEB website for general information about the hearing process and how you can participate effectively. To access the information, go to www.neb-one.gc.ca, select Hearing and Information Sessions, and then click on Participate in a Public Hearing.

For further information:

Stacey Squires
Communications Officer

National Energy Board
E-mail: stacey.squires@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-299-2717
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265
Facsimile: 403-292-5503
Facsimile (toll free): 1-877-288-8803
TTY (Teletype): 1-800-632-1663

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - L’Office annonce une audience publique pour le projet de pipeline de raccordement King’s North de TCPL

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 17 novembre 2014

L’Office annonce une audience publique pour le projet de pipeline de raccordement King’s North de TCPL

CALGARY - L’Office national de l’énergie tiendra une audience publi que pour examiner une demande soumise par TransCanada Pipelines Limited (TCPL) dans le but de pouvoir construire et exploiter un nouveau pipeline d’environ 11 km ainsi que les installations connexes (le projet). L’emplacement du projet passe par les municipalités de Vaughan, Toronto et Brampton de même que par les communautés urbaines de York et Peel.

L’Office examinera les questions suivantes dans le cadre de l’audience :

  • La nécessité du projet proposé;
  • La faisabilité économique du projet;
  • Les incidences commerciales éventuelles du projet;
  • Les éventuels effets environnementaux et répercussions socioéconomiques du projet, notamment les effets environnementaux cumulatifs qui pourraient en découler, dont ceux qui doivent être examinés conformément au Guide de dépôt de l’Office;
  • Le caractère approprié du tracé et des besoins en terrains pour le projet;
  • La conception technique et l’intégrité des installations du projet proposé;
  • Les répercussions possibles du projet sur les intérêts autochtones;
  • Les répercussions possibles du projet sur les propriétaires fonciers et l’utilisation des terres;
  • La planification des mesures d’urgence en cas de déversement, d’accident ou de défaillance pendant la construction et l’exploitation du projet;
  • Les conditions dont devrait être assortie toute approbation ou recommandation.

L’Office doit entendre les personnes qui, selon lui, sont touchées directement par le projet, et il peut entendre celles qui possèdent des renseignements pertinents ou une expertise appropriée.

Pour participer à cette audience, se il vous plaît visitez le site Web de l'ONÉ au www.neb-one.gc.ca, cliquez dans la section Applications et Documents de réglementation et sélectionnez une demande de participation. Les personnes qui remplissent une demande de participation doivent démontrer que leur intérêt, information ou expertise est en rapport avec au moins une des questions de la liste figurant dans l’ordonnance d’audience [Dépôt A64282].

Les demandes de participation doivent être déposées au plus tard à midi (heure de Calgary) le 11 décembre 2014.

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada en mettant la sécurité des Canadiens et la protection de l’environnement au cœur de ses priorités. Sa raison d’être consiste à réglementer, dans l’intérêt public canadien, les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie. Pour un complément d’information sur l'Office et son mandat, consultez le site www.one-neb.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Consultez le site Web de l’Office pour obtenir des renseignements généraux sur le processus d’audience et la façon d’y participer de manière efficace. Pour accéder aux renseignements, tapez www.neb-one.gc.ca, sélectionnez Audiences et séances d’information puis cliquez sur Participez à une audience publique.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Stacey Squires
Agente des communications

Office national de l’énergie
Courriel : stacey.squires@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-299-2717
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur (sans frais) : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663

Date de modification :