ARCHIVED - Latest Assessment Increases NWT's Discovered Oil and Gas Resources

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

For immediate release
25 November 2014

Latest Assessment Increases NWT's Discovered Oil and Gas Resources

CALGARY - Today the National Energy Board (NEB) released an “Assessment of Discovered Conventional Petroleum Resources in the Northwest Territories and Beaufort Sea” which found the overall resource assessment for the Northwest Territories (NWT) to be larger than what was previously understood.

The discovered conventional petroleum resource volumes in the study area are:

  • 467.0 billion m³ (16.4 Tcf) of marketable natural gas;
  • 195.1 million m³ (1227.8 million barrels) of crude oil; and
  • 8.5 million m³ (53.3 million barrels) of natural gas liquids.

In the Beaufort Sea and NWT Mainland, natural gas estimates are up 40 per cent over previous NEB assessments, while oil is down 11 per cent and NGLs are down 25 per cent. This is the first time the NEB has done an analysis of the NWT Arctic Islands, so there is no comparison for change in that area.

The report is the first of its kind - compiling the data of the discovered petroleum resources in the NWT Mainland, NWT Arctic Islands and Beaufort Sea into one report. The report also includes a number of natural gas discoveries made in the NWT since 1999 that had not been included in the NEB’s previous national resource assessments.

The report’s assessment includes production volumes up to December 2013 from the Norman Wells oil field of the Mackenzie Plain, the Ikhil gas field of the Mackenzie Delta and the Cameron Hills oil field in the eastern side of the Great Slave Plain.

This report concentrates on discovered conventional natural gas, natural gas liquids and crude oil resources without establishing economic criteria related to development. Unconventional resources are not addressed in this report because of the early stage of development for this type of resource in the NWT study regions.

NEB staff will be delivering a presentation on this assessment and other topics at the Yellowknife Geoscience Forum from November 25–27, 2014.

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada's energy industry with the safety of Canadians and protection of the environment as its top priority. Its purpose is to regulate pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. For more information on the NEB and its mandate, please visit www.neb-one.gc.ca.

- 30 -

For further information:

Tara O'Donovan
Communications Officer

E-mail: tara.odonovan@neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-299-3633
Telephone (toll free): 1-800-899-1265

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Accroissement des ressources pétrolières et gazières découvertes dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest selon la plus récente évaluation

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 25 novembre 2014

Accroissement des ressources pétrolières et gazières découvertes dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest selon la plus récente évaluation

CALGARY – L’Office national de l’énergie a publié aujourd’hui une Évaluation des ressources pétrolières découvertes dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et la mer de Beaufort dont les chiffres, pour les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (T.N.-O.) sont plus importants que ce qui était ressorti précédemment.

Pour le secteur étudié, les ressources en hydrocarbures classiques découvertes sont les suivantes :

  • 467,0 milliards de mètres cubes (16,4 billions de pieds cubes) de gaz naturel commercialisable;
  • 195,1 millions de mètres cubes (Mm³), ou 1 227,8 millions de barils (Mb), de pétrole brut;
  • 8,5 Mm³ (53,3 Mb) de liquides de gaz naturel (LGN).

En mer de Beaufort et sur la terre ferme dans les T.N.-O., les estimations pour le gaz naturel sont de 40 % supérieures aux évaluations précédentes de l’Office, alors qu’elles régressent de 11 % pour le pétrole et de 25 % pour les LGN. Puisque c’est la première fois que l’Office mène une analyse pour les îles de l’Arctique des T.N.-O., aucune donnée comparative n’existe à cet égard.
Il s’agit du premier rapport de ce type regroupant des données sur les ressources en hydrocarbures découvertes dans la mer de Beaufort ainsi que sur la terre ferme et pour les îles de l’Arctique des T.N.-O. Il tient en outre compte d’un certain nombre de découvertes de gaz naturel dans les T.N.-O. depuis 1999 qui n’avaient pas été incluses dans les évaluations précédentes des ressources naturelles publiées par l’Office.
L’évaluation présentée dans le rapport prend en compte les volumes de production, jusqu’en décembre 2013, du champ pétrolier de Norman Wells de la plaine de Mackenzie, du champ gazier d’Ikhil du delta du Mackenzie et du champ pétrolier des collines Cameron du côté est de la plaine de Great Slave.
Ce rapport est axé sur les ressources de gaz naturel, de LGN et de pétrole brut découvertes, sans établir de critères économiques liés à leur mise en valeur. Les ressources non classiques n’y sont pas abordées, car leur mise en valeur en est à un stade précoce dans les régions des T.N.-O. visées par l’étude.

Des membres du personnel de l’Office présenteront un exposé sur cette évaluation et d’autres sujets à l’occasion du colloque sur les sciences de la terre qui se tiendra à Yellowknife du 25 au 27 novembre 2014.

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada en mettant la sécurité des Canadiens et la protection de l’environnement au cœur de ses priorités. Sa raison d’être consiste à réglementer, dans l’intérêt public canadien, les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie. Pour un complément d’information sur l'Office et son mandat, consultez le site www.one-neb.gc.ca.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Tara O'Donovan
Agente des communications

Courriel : tara.odonovan@neb-one.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-299-3633
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-899-1265

Date de modification :