Policy and Regulation at the National Energy Board

Policy and Regulation at the National Energy Board [PDF 60 KB]

Questions and Answers

Policy and Regulation at the National Energy Board
Gaétan Caron, Chair and CEO

Speech to the the C.D. Howe Institute
January 13, 2014

Introduction

I am pleased to be here today to discuss the interplay of policy and regulation at the National Energy Board (NEB).

I will start by outlining the Board’s role and activities: who we are and some of the key traits for which we are known.

I will then describe how the Canadian public interest with regard to energy issues is evolving. The NEB believes “the public interest is inclusive of all Canadians and refers to a balance of economic, environmental and social considerations that changes as society’s values and preferences change over time.”

Lastly, I will outline recent legislative changes that affected how the Board operates, and proposed legislative changes that may affect how we operate in the future.

NEB’s Role and Activities

Established in 1959, the NEB is charged with regulating pipelines, power lines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. This includes regulating:

  • Construction and operation of interprovincial and international oil and gas pipelines, international power lines and designated interprovincial power lines;
  • Tolls and tariffs for pipelines under the NEB’s jurisdiction;
  • Exports of natural gas, oil and electricity, as well as imports of natural gas; and
  • Oil and gas exploration and development on frontier lands and offshore areas not covered by provincial or federal management agreements.

To give you a more tangible idea of what we do, consider the following figures:

  • The NEB regulates approximately 73,000 kilometers of pipelines and 1,400 kilometers of power lines. In 2012, these pipelines shipped approximately $106.3 billion worth of energy products at an estimated transportation cost of $6.9 billion. The power lines transmitted approximately $2.2 billion worth of electricity.
  • In 2012, the NEB conducted 253 compliance activities related to security, public safety, and environmental protection.
  • Each year, the Board receives approximately 260 applications for pipeline/power line-related facilities and tolls, and 440 applications for export/import authorizations.

NEB Approach and Key Characteristics

But the figures I just mentioned are only part of the story. It is also important to recognize the unique manner and context in which the NEB operates.

First, the Board is and has always been an independent, quasi-judicial, federal regulatory tribunal. We operate within the mandate set for us by Parliament, but at arm’s length from government and free from political influence. Our role is to implement - not set - policy choices affirmed by legislation.

The Board and its staff must not only be free from bias, but be perceived as free from bias. This is upheld by an array of conflict of interest requirements, an NEB Code of Conduct, and prohibitions on investing or holding shares in energy companies. We also have guidelines on meetings with external parties as well as a requirement that decisions or recommendations must be based on evidence on the public record.

Second, our governing legislation requires us to integrate all relevant social, economic and environmental considerations related to a project when making a decision or recommendation. The integration of these three factors is at the heart of our mandate.

For example, when assessing applications to build facilities and installations, the NEB carefully evaluates all relevant information presented, including evidence related to:

  • Design and safety;
  • Environmental protection;
  • Socio-economic matters;
  • Impact on Aboriginal interests;
  • Impact on landowners;
  • Economic feasibility; and
  • Any other public interest that may be affected.

Third, although attention is often focused on the NEB’s review of projects’ initial applications, we regulate over the complete life-cycle of projects. When they are being built, we inspect. When they are being operated, we audit. And when a pipeline has reached the end of its usefulness, we review abandonment applications to ensure that it is abandoned in a safe and environmentally responsible manner.

We also require the companies we regulate to anticipate, prevent, manage, and mitigate any potentially dangerous conditions associated with their activities. Our Board Members and staff will not hesitate to use our full enforcement toolkit to achieve compliance with rules and regulations protecting safety and the environment.

Evolving Public Interest

Now that you have a better idea of who we are and what we do, I will talk about the shifting landscape in which we operate. Legislative changes, which I will discuss in a moment, are part of this, but there has also been an evolution in the Canadian public interest with regard to pipelines and energy projects, including:

  • Increased expectations of environmental accountability from Canadians;
  • Growing concern over the safety of energy infrastructure; and
  • Increased public scrutiny of major projects such as Northern Gateway, Keystone XL, and Line 9 in Ontario and Quebec.

The NEB is very aware of this shift and has responded in various ways. One initiative that I would like to highlight is our effort to increase the amount of easy-to-access pipeline information available to the public. The NEB website now includes safety and environmental compliance and enforcement information such as:

  • NEB audits of company operations;
  • Inspection Officer Orders and Incident Investigation Reports;
  • Information on Administrative Monetary Penalties (which will be described later);
  • Board Orders, Letters, and Directives related to safety and environmental issues;
  • Corrective Action Plans related to the above; and
  • Other relevant documents, including any significant correspondence.

Meaningful communication with people that live and work around pipelines is critical to dispelling myths and building trust. This responsibility is shared between the NEB and the companies it regulates.

In an effort to advance discussions on critical topics around safety and environmental protection, the Board held a Safety Forum this past June. During this event, a broad consensus emerged that:

  • Industry must strengthen public trust in its ability to operate safely.
  • A target of zero incidents is achievable but requires commitment to building and maintaining a culture of safety and implementing effective management systems.
  • Corporate leaders are responsible for building and maintaining a culture of safety in their organizations.
  • Transparency is a cornerstone of public trust and the public should be involved in identifying what information should be public.
  • Safety must be defined broadly to include environmental protection and process safety, which focuses on preventing catastrophic incidents.

Changes in 2012

I will now move to the interplay between policy and regulation. The NEB is independent in terms of its decisions and recommendations. At the same time, it is connected to government in key ways. One is the NEB’s budget, which is set by the Government of Canada and affects the manner in which we pursue our mandate.

In 2012, the Government of Canada provided the NEB with an additional $13.5 million to hire staff to increase inspections by 50% to 150 and double the number of comprehensive audits to 6. From April 1, 2012 to March 31, 2013, we conducted 182 inspections, exceeding our target, and conducted the expected number of audits.

A more direct connection between policy and regulation is legislation that directly affects what we do and how we do it. The Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity Act (often referred to as Bill C-38) was passed in 2012. It included several important provisions related to the NEB, notably:

  • Setting a 15 month time limit for NEB review of a facility application. It should be noted that with the exception of the Mackenzie Gas Project, all NEB hearings in the eight years prior to 2012 were completed within 15 months.
  • Amending the process for reviewing export and import licenses, including changing the requirement for hearings for some licensees. For exports, the Board can now only consider whether the quantity to be exported is surplus to reasonably foreseeable Canadian requirements, whereas previously the Board could consider any matter that it believed to be relevant.
  • Requiring both approvals and denials by the Board on major facility applications to go to the Governor in Council (GiC) for a decision. Previously, NEB decisions to deny a project application were final and only NEB approvals were subject to a GiC decision.
  • Providing the Board with authority to levy Administrative Monetary Penalties (AMPs), which can now be issued for violations related to safety and environmental protection. The maximum daily penalty is $25,000 per violation for individuals and $100,000 per violation for companies. Each day a violation continues is considered a separate violation, and penalties can be issued per infraction, per day with no maximum total penalty.

The NEB is diligently implementing these changes, and as an organization committed to continuous improvement, is doing so as efficiently and effectively as possible.

Proposed Future Changes

In June 2013, the Government of Canada announced its intention to introduce further changes to energy-related legislation. This commitment was reinforced in the October 2013 Speech from the Throne. The Government’s press releases from June 2013 provide a glimpse of what may be coming:

  • Liability: Establishing the “polluter pay” principle in legislation and allowing governments to seek compensation for environmental damage from a spill. Companies operating major pipelines would need to have at least $1 billion in financial resources. In the Offshore Arctic and Atlantic, absolute liability would be raised to $1 billion and a deposit of at least $100 million (or participation in an industry-pooled fund of at least $250 million) would also be required.
  • Transparency: Emergency and environmental information would be made more accessible to the public, including public release of emergency plans, safety plans, and environmental effects monitoring reports.
  • Compliance and Enforcement: The NEB’s inspection powers, including the power to conduct a compliance audit, would be clarified, and our ability to use certain enforcement tools (e.g. AMPs) would be widened.

This is not an exhaustive list of what was mentioned last summer and we cannot speculate on what exact legislative changes Parliament may enact.

Closing Remarks

Regardless of what happens with the legislation, the next two years will be very busy for the NEB due to a major increase in industry activity. For example, whereas the Board conducted an average of 14 hearings per year over the last 5 years, this is forecast to increase to 27 hearings in 2013/14. Three major hearings may also happen concurrently in 2014/15:

  • Trans-Mountain Expansion - application filed Dec 2013, hearings will be held before spring 2015;
  • Energy East - project description expected in first half of 2014, application 3-6 months later; and
  • Beaufort Sea Exploration Joint Venture - environmental assessment to begin in Q2 of 2014, applicant intends to file Drilling Program Authorization in Q4 of 2014.

In dealing with these and other files, the NEB and its 450 employees will continue to operate in our usual manner - with independence, balancing social, economic, and environmental considerations, and focusing on the full life-cycle of projects.

At the same time, we will also continue to adapt, whether this means responding to shifts in the Canadian public interest by increasing public access to safety information, or adjusting our processes and operations in order to implement legislative changes.

Thank you and I look forward to your questions.

Date modified:

Les politiques et la réglementation à l’Office national de l’énergie

Les politiques et la réglementation à l’Office national de l’énergie [PDF 87 ko]

Questions et réponses

Les politiques et la réglementation à l’Office national de l’énergie
Gaétan Caron, Président et premier dirigeant

Discours prononcé à l’Institut C.D. Howe
Le 13 janvier 2014

Introduction

Je suis très heureux de venir vous parler aujourd’hui de la corrélation qui existe entre les politiques et la réglementation à l’Office national de l’énergie.

Je commencerai par vous décrire brièvement le rôle et les activités de l’Office, sa démarche et certaines de ses principales caractéristiques distinctives.

Puis, je traiterai de l’évolution de l’intérêt public dans le copntexte des enjeux énergétiques changeants. Pour l’Office, « l’intérêt public englobe les intérêts de tous les Canadiens et consiste en un équilibre entre les intérêts économiques, environnementaux et sociaux qui change en fonction de l’évolution des valeurs et des préférences de la société ».

Enfin, je vous ferai part de récentes modifications législatives qui ont eu des répercussions sur les activités de l’Office, et des modifications législatives proposées qui pourraient changer son mode de fonctionnement dans les années à venir.

Rôle et activités de l’Office

Créé en 1959, l’Office a comme mandat de réglementer les pipelines et les lignes de transport d’électricité ainsi que la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie dans l’intérêt de la population canadienne, ce qui comprend notamment :

  • la construction et l’exploitation des oléoducs et des gazoducs internationaux et interprovinciaux, des lignes internationales de transport d’électricité et de lignes interprovinciales désignées;
  • les droits et tarifs des pipelines relevant de sa compétence;
  • les exportations de gaz naturel, de pétrole et d’électricité ainsi que les importations de gaz naturel;
  • l’exploration et la mise en valeur des ressources pétrolières et gazières dans les régions pionnières et les zones extracôtières non assujetties à des accords de gestion provinciaux ou fédéraux.

Voici quelques chiffres qui vous donneront une idée plus précise de l’ampleur de notre tâche :

  • À l’heure actuelle, la réglementation de l’Office touche environ 73 000 kilomètres de pipelines et 1 400 kilomètres de lignes de transport d’électricité. En 2012, ces installations ont acheminé des produits énergétiques d’une valeur de quelque 106,3 milliards de dollars à un coût de transport estimatif de 6,9 milliards de dollars. Les lignes de transport d’électricité ont transporté de l’électricité pour une valeur estimée à environ 2,2 milliards de dollars.
  • Toujours en 2012, l’Office a réalisé 253 activités de vérification de la conformité portant sur la sécurité du public, la sûreté des installations et la protection de l’environnement.
  • Chaque année, l’Office reçoit environ 260 demandes visant des installations ou des droits pour des pipelines ou des lignes de transport d’électricité, et 440 autres demandes sollicitant des autorisations d’exportation et d’importation.

La démarche de l’Office et ses principales caractéristiques

Mais tous ces chiffres ne présentent qu’une image partielle de l’Office, qui fait abstraction de son mode de fonctionnement et de son contexte uniques.

Premièrement, l’Office continue d’être, comme il l’a toujours été, un tribunal fédéral de réglementation indépendant et quasi judiciaire. Il fonctionne dans le cadre du mandat que le Parlement lui a conféré, mais sans lien de dépendance avec le gouvernement et libre de toute influence politique. Son rôle est de mettre en œuvre, et non de définir, des choix politiques qui se sont traduits en lois et en règlements.

L’Office et son personnel doivent non seulement être impartiaux, ils doivent également être perçus comme étant libres de tout préjugé. Pour ce faire, l’Office a mis en place toute une gamme d’exigences en matière de conflit d’intérêts, un code de conduite pour son personnel et des interdits d’investir dans des sociétés du secteur énergétique ou de détenir des actions de celles-ci. En outre, l’Office dispose de lignes directrices qui encadrent les rencontres avec les parties externes et l’obligation de rendre des décisions ou de formuler des recommandations qui reposent uniquement sur la preuve versée au registre public.

Deuxièmement, lorsque l’Office rend une décision ou présente une recommandation au gouvernement au sujet d’un projet, la loi applicable l’oblige à tenir compte de tous les aspects sociaux, économiques et environnementaux pertinents. Son mandat gravite autour de l’intégration de ces trois facteurs.

Ainsi, au moment d’examiner des demandes visant la construction d’installations, l’Office étudie toute l’information pertinente qui lui est présentée, notamment en ce qui a trait aux éléments suivants :

  • la conception et la sécurité;
  • la protection de l’environnement;
  • les questions socioéconomiques;
  • les incidences sur les intérêts autochtones;
  • les répercussions sur les propriétaires fonciers;
  • la faisabilité économique;
  • tout autre aspect pouvant compromettre l’intérêt public.

Troisièmement, même si l’attention est souvent accordée à l’étude des demandes initiales visant des projets, la réglementation de l’Office couvre le cycle de vie complet d’un projet. Son travail consiste en des inspections durant la construction, des audits durant l’exploitation et, quand un pipeline atteint la fin de sa vie utile, il évalue les demandes de cessation d’exploitation pour que l’opération se fasse de façon sûre et responsable sur le plan environnemental.

Il exige aussi des sociétés de son ressort qu’elles prévoient, préviennent, gèrent et atténuent les conditions potentiellement dangereuses associées à leurs activités. Les membres de l’Office et le personnel n’hésiteront pas à utiliser tous les mécanismes d’application de la loi pour assurer la conformité aux règles et règlements visant la sécurité du public et la protection de l’environnement.

Évolution de l’intérêt public

Maintenant que vous avez une meilleure idée de qui nous sommes et de ce que nous faisons, j’aimerais vous parler du contexte sans cesse changeant dans lequel l’Office évolue. Je reviendrai dans un moment sur les modifications législatives qui font partie de ce portrait, mais je voudrais d’abord parler de l’évolution de l’intérêt public canadien face aux pipelines et aux projets énergétiques, lequel se manifeste notamment par :

  • de plus grandes attentes des Canadiens en ce qui a trait à la responsabilisation en matière d’environnement;
  • des préoccupations croissantes à l’égard de la sécurité de l’infrastructure énergétique;
  • de l’intérêt grandissant de la population pour les projets d’envergure comme Northern Gateway, Keystone XL et la canalisation 9 au Québec et en Ontario.

L’Office est parfaitement conscient de cette évolution et a réagi de différentes manières. Je tiens à souligner les efforts qu’il a déployés pour accroître la quantité d’information sur les pipelines qui est facilement accessible au public. Il présente dans son site Web toutes les activités de conformité et d’exécution qu’il mène en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement, notamment :

  • les audits des activités des sociétés;
  • les ordres d’inspecteur et les rapports d’enquête sur les incidents;
  • les renseignements sur les sanctions administratives pécuniaires (que je vous décrirai plus tard);
  • les ordonnances, les lettres et les directives portant sur des questions de sécurité et d’environnement;
  • les plans de mesures correctives liés à ce qui précède;
  • d’autres documents pertinents, dont les échanges de lettres importantes.

Il est essentiel d’entretenir un dialogue sérieux avec les gens qui vivent et travaillent autour des pipelines afin de dissiper les mythes et d’instaurer la confiance. Cette responsabilité incombe à la fois à l’Office et aux sociétés de son ressort.

Soucieux de faire progresser les discussions sur des sujets critiques portant sur la sécurité et la protection de l’environnement, l’Office a tenu un forum sur la sécurité en juin dernier. Il en est ressorti un consensus clair :

  • L’industrie doit renforcer la confiance du public en sa capacité d’exploiter de façon sécuritaire.
  • L’objectif de zéro incident est atteignable, mais non sans un engagement à instaurer et à maintenir une culture de sécurité et la mise en place de mécanismes de gestion efficaces.
  • Il incombe aux dirigeants d’entreprise de veiller à l’établissement et au maintien de cette culture dans leur organisation.
  • La transparence est un élément indispensable pour gagner la confiance du public, et la population doit être consultée au sujet des informations à rendre publiques.
  • La notion de sécurité doit être prise dans son sens large et regrouper la protection de l’environnement et la sécurité des processus, afin d’éviter que des catastrophes surviennent.

Changements survenus en 2012

J’en viens à l’interaction entre les politiques et la réglementation. J’ai déjà indiqué que l’Office est un organisme qui est indépendant quand vient le temps de rendre une décision ou de formuler une recommandation. Il demeure toutefois lié au gouvernement sur certains aspects-clés. Tout d’abord, le gouvernement du Canada établit son budget, ce qui influe sur la façon dont il remplit son mandat.

En 2012, le gouvernement du Canada a octroyé à l’Office un montant supplémentaire de 13,5 millions de dollars pour embaucher du personnel et augmenter de 50 % le nombre d’inspections, pour le porter à 150, et doubler celui des audits exhaustifs, le faisant passer à six. Du 1er avril 2012 au 31 mars 2013, l’Office a mené 182 inspections, soit plus que l’objectif visé, et le nombre d’audits effectué a été celui attendu.

Les lois et règlements qui régissent les activités de l’Office et la façon de les mener illustrent encore mieux la corrélation qui existe entre les politiques et les règlements. La Loi sur l’emploi, la croissance et la prospérité (souvent désignée « projet de loi C-38 ») a été adoptée en 2012. Elle renferme plusieurs dispositions importantes qui touchent l’Office, notamment :

  • l’imposition d’un délai de 15 mois pour l’examen des demandes visant des installations. Je tiens à souligner qu’à l’exception du projet gazier Mackenzie, toutes les audiences de l’Office au cours des huit années précédant l’adoption de cette loi, en 2012, ont été menées à terme en moins de 15 mois;
  • la modification du processus d’examen des licences d’importation et d’exportation, plus particulièrement en ce qui a trait à la nécessité de tenir des audiences. Dans le cas des exportations, l’Office doit désormais limiter son examen à la question de savoir si la quantité à exporter est excédentaire aux besoins raisonnablement prévisibles des Canadiens, alors qu’auparavant, il pouvait tenir compte de toute question qu’il jugeait pertinente;
  • la nécessité de soumettre au gouverneur en conseil l’approbation ou le rejet par l’Office d’un projet d’installations d’envergure. Auparavant, sa décision de rejeter une demande visant un projet était définitive; seules ses approbations devaient être agréées par le gouverneur en conseil;
  • l’attribution à l’Office du pouvoir d’imposer des sanctions administratives pécuniaires (SAP) en cas d’infractions ayant trait à la sécurité et à la protection de l’environnement. Dans le cas des particuliers, la pénalité quotidienne maximale est de 25 000 $ par infraction; pour les sociétés, ce montant passe à 100 000 $. Une violation est jugée distincte pour chacun des jours au cours desquels elle se continue, ce qui signifie que des sanctions peuvent être imposées chaque jour pour chaque infraction, sans maximum global.

À titre d’organisme voué à l’amélioration continue, l’Office s’applique, dans la mesure du possible, à mettre en œuvre ces changements de manière efficiente et efficace.

Projet de modification réglementaire

En juin 2013, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé son intention d’apporter de nouvelles modifications aux lois touchant à l’énergie. Cet engagement a été réitéré dans le discours du Trône d’octobre 2013. Les communiqués de presse émis par le gouvernement en juin 2013 donnent un aperçu de ce que l’avenir pourrait réserver :

  • Responsabilité - Consécration dans la loi du principe du pollueur-payeur et autorisation pour les gouvernements de réclamer une indemnité pour les dommages à l’environnement à la suite d’un déversement accidentel. Les sociétés exploitant les principaux pipelines devraient avoir des ressources financières d’au moins un milliard de dollars. Dans le cas de l’exploitation des ressources extracôtières de l’Arctique et de l’Atlantique, la responsabilité absolue serait portée à un milliard de dollars, et il faudrait également verser un dépôt d’au moins 100 millions de dollars (ou participation par la société à une caisse créée par l’industrie d’au moins 250 millions de dollars).
  • Transparence - Accès plus facile pour le public à l’information sur les situations d’urgence et l’environnement, notamment la publication des plans d’urgence, des plans de sécurité et des rapports de surveillance des effets environnementaux.
  • Conformité et exécution - Clarification des pouvoirs d’inspection de l’Office, dont celui de procéder à une vérification de la conformité, et élargissement de sa capacité d’utiliser certains outils d’exécution (comme les SAP).

Il ne s’agit pas d’une liste exhaustive de ce qui a été mentionné l’été dernier et nous ignorons quelles modifications législatives précises le Parlement pourrait adopter.

Mot de la fin

Quelles que soient les modifications législatives qui seront apportées, l’Office aura du pain sur la planche au cours des deux prochaines années, car on enregistre une forte augmentation des activités dans le secteur de l’énergie. À titre d’exemple, alors que l’Office a tenu, en moyenne, 14 audiences par année au cours des cinq dernières années, il s’attend à ce que ce nombre passe à 27 en 2013-2014. Trois grandes audiences pourraient se tenir en même temps en 2014-2015 :

  • le projet d’agrandissement du réseau pipelinier de Trans Mountain, dont la demande a été déposée en décembre 2013 et pour laquelle les audiences auront lieu avant le printemps de 2015;
  • le projet Énergie Est, dont la description est attendue au premier semestre de 2014 et la demande en soi de trois à six mois plus tard;
  • le projet d’exploration en coentreprise dans la mer de Beaufort, dont l’évaluation environnementale devrait débuter au deuxième trimestre de 2014 et pour lequel le demandeur prévoit solliciter une autorisation pour le programme de forage au quatrième trimestre de 2014.

Pour régler ces dossiers et d’autres encore, l’Office et ses 450 employés continueront de travailler comme ils l’ont toujours fait, c’est à dire en toute indépendance, en s’employant à trouver un équilibre entre les intérêts sociaux, économiques et environnementaux, et en se concentrant sur le cycle de vie complet des projets.

Parallèlement, l’Office continuera de s’adapter, soit en tenant compte de l’évolution de l’intérêt public canadien par un accès accru du public à l’information sur la sécurité ou en ajustant ses processus et son fonctionnement pour mettre en œuvre des modifications législatives.

Je vous remercie de votre attention. Je serai heureux de répondre à vos questions.

Date de modification :