ARCHIVED - National Energy Board Update

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

National Energy Board Update [PDF 922 KB]

National Energy Board Update

Roland George
Board Member
National Energy Board

 

Inuvik Petroleum Show
Inuvik, Northwest Territories

 

11 June 2013

 

 

Slide 1 speaking notes (click to view)

Good morning and thank you for the opportunity to talk about how I see the National Energy Board (NEB) continuing to work with the people of the North and Northern institutions in the years and decades to come. This presentation will address:

  • Why I believe we have, at the NEB, an effective toolkit to promote safety, environmental protection, and protection of communities when companies propose to us to explore for oil or gas, to develop it, to produce it, and to transport it; and
  • The NEB’s commitment to continual improvement and to working with Northern institutions towards “made-in-the-North” solutions.

 

NEB Role in Canada’s North

Post Devolution Northwest Territories COGOA Map

 

Slide 2 speaking notes (click to view)
  • The NEB is an independent federal quasi-judicial board. Within the mandate set by Parliament for the regulation of pipelines, energy development and trade, we are responsible for promoting safety and security, environmental protection, and economic efficiency in the Canadian public interest.
  • In the North, the Board has regulatory responsibilities for oil and gas exploration and production activities. These regulatory responsibilities are set out in the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act - referred to as COGOA - and the Canada Petroleum Resources Act - referred to as CPRA.
  • The map shown here illustrates the NEB’s role following devolution in the Northwest Territories. We will continue to regulate the offshore, the Norman Wells Proven Area and pipeline, and the onshore land part of the Inuvialuit Settlement Region. I will discuss devolution, and what we are doing to prepare for it, in greater detail in the coming slides.
  • The NEB focuses on safety, protecting the environment, and conservation of oil and gas resources, through COGOA, while land tenure or rights issues, benefits plans, and royalty management is administered by federal departments (Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development and Natural Resources Canada). This ensures a clear separation between the safety, environmental, conservation and technical issues related to Northern oil and gas development and the financial side.
  • Currently, there is some activity taking place in the Sahtu Region, however, there is no drilling taking place in Canada’s offshore Arctic. In January of this year, the NEB approved applications made by both ConocoPhillips and Husky, under COGOA, to drill and alter wells in the Sahtu Region.
  • It is important to understand that no work or activity proposed for the exploration of oil or gas under the NEB’s responsibility will occur unless we are satisfied that the company’s plans are safe for all people and will protect the environment. Processes for environmental screening or assessment under the various land claim agreements must also be respected.

 

Robust Northern Regulatory Framework

  1. Clear and effective processes
  2. Meaningful engagement
  3. Clear expectations of companies
  4. Enforcement and compliance verification mechanisms to promote safety

 

Slide 3 speaking notes (click to view)
  • In the North, we are working to develop a robust regulatory framework which will result in future decisions on applications being made in a manner that addresses the safety of the public and workers and the protection of the environment. To achieve this, we are:
    • First, working diligently to establish clear and effective processes;
    • Second, committed to continuing to have meaningful engagement with Northerners and Northern Institutions;
    • Third, setting out clear expectations for companies; and,
    • Finally, striving to ensure we have appropriate enforcement and compliance verification mechanisms to promote safety.

 

Clear and Effective Processes

Willard Hagen, Chair, Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board and Gaétan Caron, Chair/CEO of the National Energy Board, sign a Memorandum of Understanding.

 

Slide 4 speaking notes (click to view)
  • Regulatory efficiency, coordination and predictability are all key elements of an effective regulatory framework.
  • To promote effective communication and regulatory efficiency, the NEB has federal, provincial and territorial partnerships in place to deal with overlapping jurisdictions and common regulatory objectives. We are committed to enhancing and developing cooperative agreements with regulators and land claim organizations.
    • We have, for example, established Memoranda of Understanding with the Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement of the Department of the Interior of the United States of America, the Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board (shown in the photo here), the Mackenzie Valley Environmental Impact Review Board, the Inuvialuit Environmental Impact Screening Committee, the Inuvialuit Environmental Impact Review Board, the Nunavut Water Board and the Nunavut Impact Review Board.
  • As there is an increase in industry interest and activity in the North, there will be an unprecedented demand on our services. To ensure that we are able to respond to this increase in demand, we are working to build our capacity through additional staff and ensuring we have the right people with the right skills.
  • As I am sure you are all aware, the consensus on the terms of a final devolution agreement was announced on March 11, 2013. This agreement, targeted to take effect in April 2014, will transfer administrative control over public lands and inland waters, as well as law making powers from the Government of Canada to the Government of the Northwest Territories.
  • In order to ensure continuity where the NEB will no longer be the regulator, we are committed to providing support and any skills and expertise that is required to Northern Boards, the Government of Canada and the Government of the Northwest Territories as they work to devolve responsibilities for oil and gas from Canada to the Government of the Northwest Territories.
    • We are, for example, working to develop Memoranda of Understandings and Service Agreements with Northern regulators, working to ensure knowledge and skill transfer, and helping to develop required Acts and Regulations.
  • In an effort to cooperate and provide mutual support, the Board is pursuing a Project Specific agreement with the Environmental Impact Review Board - known as the EIRB - for coordinated review of the Imperial Beaufort Exploratory Joint venture.
  • We are also part of a joint industry/government working group to explore options for coordinated environmental reviews of exploratory drilling projects in the Sahtu Region.

 

Meaningful Engagement

Northwest Territories Engagement Map

 

Slide 5 speaking notes (click to view)
  • In developing a robust regulatory framework in the North, there are a number of key elements that are needed to ensure success. One of which is meaningful engagement with Northerners and Northern institutions that could be affected by potential activities, in support of our shared objectives for safety and environmental protection. This is of particular importance to the Board and, thus, is one of our strategic priorities.
  • During the Review of Offshore Drilling in the Canadian Arctic, we committed to continuing the dialogue. In this vein, we continue to proactively engage with all of you. The map shown here reflects the communities that we have held meetings in over the past two years.
  • This year alone, our staff and Board Members held over 50 meetings across the North to continue to listen to those who will be most affected by oil and gas activities.
    • These meetings have included, for example, numerous discussions about what your key concerns might be around oil and gas exploration and development, explaining our role, and getting your feedback on how we can best design our future engagement activities to better facilitate participation of Northerners.
    • In addition, we have an expectation that companies seeking to explore and develop northern oil and gas will work collaboratively with Northerners and Northern institutions. By listening to one another, respecting one another and sharing knowledge and expertise, improved safety and environmental protection outcomes can be achieved.
  • As we prepare for the future, it is our goal that Northerners will continue to see in the NEB a trusted and credible organization that holds companies it regulates accountable for addressing the environmental and safety concerns of communities.

 

Clear Expectations of Companies

Filing Requirements for Arctic Offshore Drilling in the Canadian Arctic

 

Slide 6 speaking notes (click to view)
  • Filing requirements and guidance documents are intended to provide clarity to industry and the public regarding what the Board’s expectations are from industry, specifically around what information a proponent must submit in support of an application. The applicant must demonstrate that it has complied with applicable legislation and regulatory requirements.
  • In the past, our regulations were prescriptive, specifying design and operational details. We have come to realize that there are challenges with this style of regulation, as it is a “one-size-fits-all approach”. We have moved towards goal-oriented regulations, with prescriptive elements where appropriate, such as management processes and reporting requirements, that provide flexibility but ensure a consistent level of performance.
  • Based on the input we received during the Arctic Review, we have developed the Filing Requirements for Arctic Offshore Drilling in the Canadian Arctic. Given that every application will be different, these Filing Requirements provide relatively high level guidance to industry on what information is required when they submit an application. This provides the Board with the flexibility to be able to determine, on a case by case basis, what specific information is required in order to assess that particular project on its merits.
  • In other words, the information set out in the Filing Requirements does not prevent the Board from requesting any additional information for a particular application, if we believe the information is relevant to the project. To complement these Filing Requirements, we are developing more specific guidance products which will set out clear expectations for companies. Draft Financial Viability and Financial Responsibility Guidelines were released in May 2013 for comment. Additional guidance documents, expected to be released in the Summer of 2013, include:
    • Filing Requirements for Geophysical Operations; and,
    • Filing Requirements for Drilling Operations involving Hydraulic Fracturing.
  • The Board has announced that we are formally seeking comments on the guidelines for financial responsibility, entitled Draft Financial Viability and Financial Responsibility, from all interested parties until October 31, 2013. The guidelines are intended to clarify expectations around what an applicant must do to demonstrate they have the financial resources to conduct the proposed activity safely - the financial viability - and the financial resources to address a ‘Worst Case Scenario’, referring to a severe event with extreme and significant effects and consequences - the financial responsibility. In other words, the applicant must provide an estimate of all costs associated with the applied-for project and with a worst case scenario, including containing the event, environmental clean-up and compensation to affected parties, and provide demonstration of their ability to pay for these. The Board will have immediate access to unfettered funds, if necessary, to address costs resulting from an incident where the Operator does not pay for these costs itself.
  • While we are not formally seeking comments on the other guidance documents that we are preparing, the option is always available to interested parties to contact the Board to discuss or express any concerns related to our guidance documents.

 

Enforcement to Promote Safety and Protect the Environment

Kakiska Falls

 

Slide 7 speaking notes (click to view)
  • The Board puts safety and environmental protection at the forefront of its responsibilities in protecting Canadians and requires the oil and gas industry we regulate to continually improve their safety and environmental performance. We achieve this through strong compliance verification and enforcement processes, our 40 plus years of environmental assessment expertise, and by taking leadership to drive fundamental change when and where it is needed.
  • We will continue to take all available actions to protect the environment and the public.
  • The NEB believes that carefully designed and well-implemented management systems are the best way for industry to keep people safe and protect the environment. We have seen in recent reports on the causes of major incidents such as the Michigan oil pipeline rupture and the Gulf of Mexico blowout that effective management systems were not what they should have been, exponentially increasing the negative effects of the incident.
  • Another key finding of these reports, reiterated by our own Arctic Offshore Drilling Review in 2011, is a disturbing pattern of organizational cultures that did not put safety first. We have been clear with the companies that we regulate. We expect them to develop a safety culture where everyone, regardless of position, is serious about and actively works to achieve a culture where safety is always top of mind.
  • Robust management systems are the tools through which this outcome is achieved. The NEB must be satisfied that the management system provides a strong foundation for a pervasive culture of safety, forcefully affirmed by the organization’s leadership, rigorously documented in writing, known to all employees, and consistently implemented from the corporate office to the drilling platform or the pump station.

 

Questions?

Polar Bears

 

Slide 8 speaking notes (click to view)
  • Going forward, we will continue to work with all of you in support of our shared objectives of safety and environmental protection when it comes to oil and gas exploration and development in the North. This dialogue remains open, and I look forward to hearing your questions and comments.
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Une mise à jour de l’Office national de l’énergie

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Une mise à jour de l'Office national de l’énergie [PDF 972 ko]

Une mise à jour de l’Office national de l’énergie

Roland George
membre
Office national de l’énergie

 

Inuvik Petroleum Show
Inuvik, Territoires du Nord-Ouest

 

Le 11 juin 2013

 

 

Cliquer pour voir les notes d’allocution (diapo 1)

Bonjour! Je vous remercie de me donner l'occasion de vous parler un peu de la manière dont je vois l'Office national de l'énergie poursuivre sa collaboration avec les populations et les organismes du Nord pendant de nombreuses années encore. Ma présentation portera sur :

  • les raisons pour lesquelles je crois que nous disposons, à l'ONÉ, d'un coffre à outils efficace pour promouvoir la sécurité et la protection de l'environnement et des collectivités lorsque des sociétés nous proposent des activités d'exploration, de mise en valeur, de production et de transport de pétrole et de gaz;
  • l'engagement de l'ONÉ envers l'amélioration continue et la collaboration constante avec les organismes du Nord afin de mettre au point des solutions « propres au Nord ».

 

Le rôle de l’ONÉ dans le Nord du Canada

Carte de compétence selon la LOPC à la suite du transfert de responsabilités aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest

 

Cliquer pour voir les notes d’allocution (diapo 2)
  • L’ONÉ est un tribunal de réglementation quasi judiciaire fédéral indépendant. Dans le cadre du mandat conféré par le Parlement pour réglementer les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l'énergie, nous avons la responsabilité de promouvoir la sécurité, la protection de l'environnement et l'efficience économique dans l’intérêt public.
  • Dans le Nord, l’Office assume aussi des responsabilités en ce qui a trait à la réglementation des opérations d’exploration et de production pétrolières et gazières. Ces responsabilités lui sont conférées par la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada (communément appelée la LOPC) et la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures (communément appelée la LFH).
  • La carte illustre le rôle de l'ONÉ depuis le transfert de responsabilités aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Nous continuerons de réglementer les activités extracôtières, la réserve prouvée de pétrole et de gaz naturel et le réseau pipelinier de Norman Wells, ainsi que la partie terrestre de la région désignée des Inuvialuit. J'aborderai la question du transfert de responsabilités dans les diapos suivantes, pour décrire ce que nous faisons pour nous y préparer.
  • L'ONÉ se concentre sur la protection de l’environnement et la conservation des ressources pétrolières et gazières, par l'entremise de la LOPC, tandis que d'autres ministères fédéraux (Affaires affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada et Ressources naturelles Canada) se chargent d'administrer le mode de faire-valoir ou les questions liées aux droits, les plans de retombées économiques et la gestion des redevances. Il existe ainsi un distinction claire entre la sécurité, l'environnement, la conservation et les questions techniques liées à la mise en valeur du pétrole et du gaz dans le Nord, d'une part, et l'aspect financier, d'autre part.
  • Bien que des activités aient lieu à l'heure actuelle dans la région du Sahtu, aucun forage extracôtier n'est en cours dans l'Arctique canadien. L'ONÉ a approuvé en janvier dernier des demandes présentées par ConocoPhillips et Husky aux termes de la LOPC en vue de forer et de modifier des puits dans la région du Sahtu.
  • Il est important de souligner qu'aucune activité d'exploration pétrolière ou gazière proposée par une société réglementée par l'ONÉ ne peut avoir lieu à moins que l'ONÉ ne soit convaincu à son entière satisfaction qu'elle est à la fois sécuritaire pour toute la population et respectueuse de l'environnement. Les processus d'examen environnemental préalable ou d'évaluation environnementale prévus aux accords de revendications territoriales doivent également être respectés.

 

Un cadre de réglementation solide pour le Nor

  1. Des processus de réglementation clairs et efficaces
  2. Une participation significative
  3. Des attentes claires à l'égard des sociétés
  4. Des mécanismes de vérification de la conformité et de mise à exécution visant à promouvoir la sécurité

 

Cliquer pour voir les notes d’allocution (diapo 3)
  • Nous travaillons à mettre au point un solide cadre de réglementation pour le Nord, afin de faire en sorte que les décisions futures tiennent compte de la sécurité du public et des travailleurs, ainsi que de la protection de l’environnement. À cette fin :
    • nous travaillons diligemment pour établir des processus clairs et efficaces;
    • nous sommes déterminés à continuer de compter sur la participation significative des populations et organismes du Nord;
    • nous définissons des attentes claires à l'égard des sociétés;
    • nous nous efforçons de mettre en place des mécanismes de vérification de la conformité et de mise à exécution appropriés pour promouvoir la sécurité.

 

Des processus de réglementation clairs et efficaces

Willard Hagen, président de l’Office des terres et des eaux de la vallée du Mackenzie et Gaétan Caron, président et premier dirigeant de l’Office national de l’énergie, signent un protocole d'entente.

 

Cliquer pour voir les notes d’allocution (diapo 4)
  • Un cadre de réglementation efficace doit reposer sur des éléments clés, tels que l'efficience, la coordination et la prévisibilité.
  • Afin de promouvoir l'efficacité de la communication et de la réglementation, l'ONÉ a créé des partenariats fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux qui permettent de composer avec les cas de chevauchement de compétence et d'objectifs communs de réglementation. Nous sommes déterminés à conclure des accords de coopération avec les organismes de réglementation et les organisations de revendication territoriale et à améliorer les accords existants.
    • Par exemple, nous avons établi des protocoles d'entente avec le Bureau de la sécurité et de l'autorité en environnement du département de l'Intérieur des États-Unis, l'Office des terres et des eaux de la vallée du Mackenzie (comme en témoigne la photo), l'Office d'examen des répercussions environnementales de la vallée du Mackenzie, le Comité d'examen environnemental préalable inuvialuit, le Bureau inuvialuit d'examen des répercussions environnementales, l'Office des eaux du Nunavut et la Commission du Nunavut chargée de l'examen des répercussions.
  • Les services de l'Office feront l'objet d'une demande sans précédent parce que le Nord suscite un intérêt et des activités accrus de la part de l'industrie. Pour nous assurer d'être en mesure de satisfaire à cette hausse de la demande, nous nous efforçons d'accroître notre capacité. Pour ce faire, nous ajoutons à notre effectif d'autres employés qualifiés pour disposer de toutes les compétences requises.
  • Vous êtes sans aucun doute au courant du consensus sur les modalités de l'entente de transfert de responsabilités qui a été annoncé le 11 mars dernier. Selon l'entente devant entrer en vigueur en avril 2014, le gouvernement du Canada transférera au gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest des responsabilités administratives visant la gestion des terres publiques et des eaux intérieures, ainsi que la compétence législative à cet égard.
  • Afin d'assurer la continuité une fois que l'ONÉ ne sera plus l'organisme de réglementation compétent, nous nous sommes engagés à offrir le soutien ainsi que les compétences et l'expertise nécessaires au processus de transfert des responsabilités en matière de pétrole et de gaz aux organismes de réglementation du Nord, au gouvernement du Canada et au gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest.
    • Nous travaillons par exemple à mettre au point des protocoles d'entente et des conventions de service avec les organismes de réglementation du Nord, afin d'assurer le transfert des connaissances et des compétences et de favoriser l'élaboration de lois et règlements.
  • Dans un effort de coopération et de soutien mutuel, l'ONÉ tâche de conclure une entente relative au projet avec l'office d'examen des répercussions environnementales (aussi connu sous l'acronyme anglais EIRB) dans le but de coordonner l'examen de la coentreprise d'exploration dans la mer de Beaufort de l'Impériale.
  • Nous faisons également partie d'un groupe de travail conjoint industrie-gouvernement chargé d'explorer les diverses options d'examen environnemental coordonné de projets de forage dans la région du Sahtu.

 

Une participation significative

Carte de participation des Territoires du Nord-Ouest

 

Cliquer pour voir les notes d’allocution (diapo 5)
  • Il faut qu'un certain nombre d'éléments clés soient réunis pour assurer la réussite d'un cadre de réglementation solide pour le Nord. L'un de ces éléments est la participation significative de la population et des organismes du Nord susceptibles d'être touchés par les activités potentielles, afin d'appuyer les objectifs communs de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement. Cet élément a une importance particulière pour l'Office, qui en a fait l'une de ses priorités stratégiques.
  • Pendant la Revue des forages extracôtiers dans l'Arctique canadien, nous nous sommes engagés à poursuivre le dialogue. Et c'est dans le même esprit que nous continuons de solliciter la participation de chacun d'entre vous. La carte montre les collectivités où nous avons tenu des rencontres au cours des deux dernières années.
  • Cette année seulement, des membres de notre personnel et de l'Office ont tenu plus de 50 rencontres à la grandeur du Nord afin de continuer d'être à l'écoute des personnes qui seront le plus touchées par les activités pétrolières et gazières.
    • Pendant ces rencontres, nous avons longuement discuté de vos principales préoccupations relativement à l'exploration et à la mise en valeur pétrolières et gazières, avons expliqué notre rôle et avons recueilli vos commentaires quant au meilleur moyen de concevoir nos futures activités de participation, dans le but de faciliter le plus possible la participation de la population du Nord.
    • Nous nous attendons par ailleurs à ce que les sociétés qui souhaitent mener des activités d'exploration et de mise en valeur dans le Nord travaillent en collaboration avec les gens et les organismes du Nord. C'est en étant à l'écoute les uns des autres, en nous respectant mutuellement et en nous faisant profiter de nos connaissances et de notre expertise respectives que nous pourrons améliorer le rendement en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement.
  • Pour l'avenir, notre objectif est de faire en sorte que les gens du Nord continuent de voir l'ONÉ comme une organisation fiable et crédible, qui tient les sociétés assujetties à sa réglementation responsables de résoudre les préoccupations des collectivités en matière d'environnement et de sécurité.

 

Des attentes claires à l’égard des sociétés

Exigences de dépôt relatives aux forages extracôtiers dans l’Arctique canadien

 

Cliquer pour voir les notes d’allocution (diapo 6)
  • Les exigences de dépôt et les documents d'orientation visent à clarifier, pour l'industrie et le public, les attentes de l'Office à l'égard des sociétés, plus particulièrement en ce qui concerne les renseignements que doit inclure la demande. Le demandeur doit montrer à l’Office qu’il s’est conformé aux lois et règlements applicables.
  • Par le passé, la réglementation de l’Office était normative et prescrivait des éléments de conception et d’exploitation. Nous avons toutefois constaté que ce type de réglementation présente certains défis, car il ne convient pas à toutes les situations. Nous sommes ainsi passés à une réglementation axée sur les buts, qui comporte au besoin des éléments normatifs, notamment en ce qui concerne les processus de gestion et les renseignements à communiquer, et qui offre suffisamment de souplesse pour assurer un niveau de rendement uniforme.
  • Nous avons élaboré les Exigences de dépôt relatives aux forages extracôtiers dans l’Arctique canadien en fonction des commentaires reçus au cours de la Revue des forages extracôtiers dans l'Arctique canadien. Puisque chaque demande est unique, ces exigences se veulent un guide de haut niveau, à l'intention de l'industrie, en ce qui concerne les renseignements que doit contenir une demande. L'Office dispose ainsi de la souplesse nécessaire pour déterminer au cas par cas les renseignements précis qui seront nécessaires à son examen de la valeur de chaque projet.
  • En d'autres termes, les Exigences de dépôt n'empêchent pas l'Office d'exiger des renseignements supplémentaires au sujet d'une demande s'il estime que de tels renseignements sont pertinents dans le cadre du projet. En guise de complément des Exigences de dépôt, nous travaillons à la création de documents d'orientation visant des cas précis, afin d'établir des attentes claires pour les sociétés. Par exemple, l'Ébauche des lignes directrices en matière de viabilité financière et de solvabilité a été publiée en mai 2013 aux fins de commentaires. D'autres documents d'orientation devraient être publiés au cours de l'été 2013, notamment :
    • des exigences de dépôt visant les activités géophysiques;
    • des exigences de dépôt visant les activités de forage au moyen de procédés de fracturation hydraulique.
  • L'Office a officiellement demandé aux parties intéressées de lui faire part de leurs commentaires sur l'Ébauche des lignes directrices en matière de viabilité financière et de solvabilité d'ici le 31 octobre 2013. Les lignes directrices visent à indiquer clairement au demandeur les renseignements qu'il doit fournir pour prouver qu'il a les ressources financières nécessaires pour mener l'activité proposée en toute sécurité (la viabilité financière) et pour intervenir en cas de pire scénario, c'est-à-dire en cas d'événement grave qui a des répercussions importantes (la solvabilité). Le demandeur doit par exemple fournir une estimation de tous les coûts associés au projet et au pire scénario de déversement, y compris le confinement, la dépollution environnementale et l'indemnisation des parties touchées, et prouver sa capacité d'assumer ces coûts. Au besoin, l'Office pourra accéder librement à des fonds pour payer les coûts découlant d'un incident si l'exploitant ne les paie pas lui-même.
  • Bien que nous ne tiendrons pas d'appel de commentaires formel sur les autres documents d'orientation, les parties intéressées peuvent toujours communiquer avec l'Office pour exprimer leurs préoccupations au sujet des documents d'orientation, ou pour en discuter.

 

Mise à exécution - Promotion de la sécurité et protection de l’environnement

Kakiska Falls

 

Cliquer pour voir les notes d’allocution (diapo 7)
  • L’Office met la sécurité et l’environnement en tête de liste de ses responsabilités pour protéger la population canadienne et il exige des sociétés pétrolières et gazières de son ressort qu'elles améliorent constamment leur rendement à cet égard. Pour y arriver, nous adoptons de solides processus de vérification de la conformité et de fermes mesures de mise à exécution, fondés sur plus de 40 années d'expertise en évaluation environnementale, et nous montrons la voie en vue de l’adoption, au moment opportun, de changements de fond qui pourraient être nécessaires.
  • Nous continuerons de prendre toutes les mesures nécessaires pour assurer la protection de la population et de l’environnement.
  • L’Office estime que des systèmes de gestion bien pensés et soigneusement mis en oeuvre sont ce que l’industrie peut faire de mieux pour assurer la sécurité des personnes ainsi que la protection de l’environnement. Il a été possible de constater dans les rapports récemment produits sur les causes des incidents majeurs, comme la rupture de l’oléoduc au Michigan ou encore l’éruption du puits dans le golfe du Mexique, des lacunes dans les systèmes de gestion efficaces qui ont entraîné une hausse exponentielle des répercussions négatives.
  • Une autre constatation clé de ces rapports, également dégagée au cours de la Revue des forages extracôtiers dans l’Arctique canadien menée par l’Office en 2011, est la présence répétée de modèles de cultures organisationnelles qui ne placent pas la sécurité au premier rang. Les propos que l’Office a tenus aux sociétés qu’il réglemente ont été explicites : il doit exister une culture de sécurité où chacun, peu importe le poste occupé, cherche activement et de façon consciencieuse à nourrir en permanence une telle culture par ses façons d’agir.
  • Des systèmes de gestion rigoureuse constituent l’outil par excellence pour atteindre ce résultat. L’Office doit être convaincu que le système de gestion procure une assise solide à une culture de sécurité omniprésente qui est soutenue vigoureusement par la haute direction, documentée avec rigueur, connue de tous les employés et mise en pratique à tous les échelons, du siège social à la plateforme de forage en passant par la station de pompage.

 

Des questions?

Ours polaires

 

Cliquer pour voir les notes d’allocution (diapo 8)
  • En ce qui concerne l'avenir, nous continuerons à collaborer avec chacun de vous pour atteindre nos objectifs communs de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement dans le cadre des activités d’exploration et de mise en valeur de pétrole et de gaz dans le Nord. Le dialogue est ouvert et il le restera. N'hésitez surtout pas à me faire part de vos questions et commentaires.
Date de modification :