ARCHIVED - National Energy Board

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

National Energy Board [PDF 1319 KB]

National Energy Board

Gaétan Caron, Chair and CEO
National Energy Board
(NEB) 20 November 2013

 

 

Slide 1 speaking notes (click to view)

Thank you very much for the opportunity to speak with you today on who we are, what we do and how in all of this, the public interest of Canadians is always front of mind for the National Energy Board.

Many people in this room are landowners and may be affected by existing NEB regulated pipelines or by projects coming or currently before the Board. The NEB has always maintained a positive working relationship with the UPA and its members. It is important that we hear from you.

 

Who is the National Energy Board?

NEB inspector onsite Meeting in a board room NEB inspector onsite

 

Slide 2 speaking notes (click to view)

I'd like to begin with some background on the NEB. The NEB is an independent federal agency established by the Parliament of Canada in 1959 to regulate:

  • the construction and operation of international and interprovincial pipelines, and international power lines;
  • pipeline tolls & tariffs;
  • oil, natural gas, liquefied natural gas (LNG), natural gas liquids and electricity exports, and natural gas imports;
  • exploration, development, and production of oil and gas on federal lands, such as the Northwest Territories, and federal offshore areas such as part of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, and the Beaufort Sea.

In addition to our role as a regulator, the NEB reports on specific energy matters, holds public inquiries when appropriate, and monitors current and future supplies of Canada's major energy commodities.

Our Board includes up to 9 permanent Board Members, who are appointed by Government in Council, each for a 7 year term, and 7 temporary Board Members. Our offices are located in Calgary and we have over 450 professionals with a wide variety of specializations (engineering, economics, finance, environment, socio-economics, lands, law, and accounting, just to name a few).

 

What does the NEB regulate?

Map of NEB regulated pipelines

 

Slide 3 speaking notes (click to view)

The map shows all NEB regulated pipelines. We regulate over 71,000 km of pipelines.

 

Independence of the Regulator

NEB inspectors supervising pipeline construction

 

Slide 4 speaking notes (click to view)

Unlike other federal government departments, the NEB doesn’t set public policy. Policy direction, as well as the legislation which governs the actions and decisions of the NEB, is set by Parliament.

The NEB is responsible for implementing the mandate set by Parliament through its legislation, however as an independent regulator separate from government, we are required to carry out our business and make decisions free from political influence. This is necessary in order to preserve the public’s confidence in the fairness of the decision-making process.

While the NEB operates at arm’s length from government, we are still required to report on our activities to Canadians through Parliament. The NEB does this through the Minister of Natural Resources.

 

Regulating throughout the life of a pipeline

NEB inspectors onsite

 

Slide 5 speaking notes (click to view)

We take very seriously the burden of trust Canadians have placed upon our shoulders to require safe energy development, and we continue to respond through activities such as inspections and audits and, when required, strong enforcement actions.

The Board's many protection programs are designed to make sure companies are effective in managing safety and environmental protection throughout the entire lifecycle of a pipeline. Board staff routinely conduct activities such as inspections, emergency exercises, audits and investigations all with prevention and the ultimate goal of zero incidents in mind.

 

Enforcement

NEB inspectors onsite

 

Slide 6 speaking notes (click to view)

We actively monitor compliance and will take all available actions to protect the public and the environment. Pipeline companies are required to report to the Board any non-compliance by the public and landowners. When a non-compliance is detected, the NEB expects immediate correction and an assessment of the root causes in order to prevent the issue from happening again. 

The Board works with landowners to ensure our regulatory requirements are understood and to achieve compliance.  Our current approach under the Damage Prevention Framework is designed to ensure that pipeline companies, landowners and third parties understand and fulfill their responsibilities for preventing damage to pipelines. 

This year, the NEB gained a new enforcement tool.  In addition to the NEB's existing enforcement toolkit, which includes  Inspection Officer Orders and Board Orders , we now also have the ability to issue financial penalties. These are called Administrative Monetary Penalties or AMPs. Under our published policy for enforcement, facilitated compliance such as letters, orders and commitments will be used in most cases of non-compliance.  AMPs will be used when other tools are not working.

 

Emergency Response and Financial Responsibility

NEB inspectors onsite

 

Slide 7 speaking notes (click to view)

We hold NEB regulated companies responsible for anticipating, preventing, mitigating and managing incidents of any size or duration. If there is an incident, as mentioned, we expect an immediate response.

The NEB's top priority in any emergency is to make sure that people are safe and secure, and that property and the environment are protected. The NEB has a comprehensive Emergency Management Program which can include a field response. Any time there is a serious incident on an NEB-regulated energy facility, NEB staff may attend the site to oversee the company's response. We require that all reasonable actions are taken to protect employees, the public and the environment. We will verify that the regulated company conducts an adequate and appropriate clean-up and remediation of any environmental effects caused by the incident.

Each regulated company is required to have an Emergency Management Program which includes an up-to-date Emergency Procedures Manual or Contingency Plan. These manuals and plans must outline each company's emergency management, environmental protection and worker and public safety management procedures to be followed during an incident. Additionally, companies are required to develop a training program and conduct exercises to verify their capabilities to respond to incidents.

These plans must take into account how a company will pay for its response. To that end, we require all companies to appoint an accountable officer who has the authority over the company's human and financial resources required to ensure that the company meets its obligations for safety, security and protection of the environment. 

 

Emerging Issues in Safety Management

Pipeline construction

 

Slide 8 speaking notes (click to view)

In June this year, the NEB held a Safety Forum in Calgary. This was a key action committed to by the Board in its Action Plan on Safety and Environmental Protection. With industry leaders, we discussed and emphasized the importance of  their role in building and maintaining a safety culture, effectiveness of management systems and performance measurement's role in risk management.

It was at the Forum that the NEB confirmed that a goal of zero incidents is not only the right goal, but also an achievable goal. With strong, well-implemented management systems and a safety culture that permeates every aspect of the organization, incidents are preventable and the NEB will continue to take steps to make this goal a reality. 

We expect our regulated companies to demonstrate a similar commitment to continually improving their safety culture in the months and years ahead.

Coming out of the Safety Forum, the Board reaffirmed its commitment to transparency and will be consulting Canadians on the kinds of information they would like to see about the facilities we regulate.  We have agreed with the Standing Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources recent recommendations to provide information on the location of pipelines.  We are also committed to having information on company emergency response plans made available.

 

Public Hearings

A public hearing room

 

Slide 9 speaking notes (click to view)

Safety and security are our top priorities. However, the responsibility that we are best known for is our review of applications and public hearings.

Applications are made to the NEB for any of the activities that the NEB regulates. After an application is submitted, the NEB will review it and determine whether a hearing is required and if so, whether it is to be a written or an oral hearing. For hearings, the Board may use video-conferencing and remote participation. By leveraging technology, we are making our hearings accessible to more Canadians and helping reduce travel costs for participants.

A hearing will typically be held for certain types of applications, such as for new interprovincial or international pipelines over 40 kilometers in length. Applications for pipelines under 40km in length, as well as the maintenance or replacement of pipeline facilities do not automatically trigger a public hearing.

A hearing will typically consider 4 broad areas: safety and security, environmental protection, efficient energy infrastructure, and the rights & interests of those affected by a project.

 

Participation

A public hearing room

 

Slide 10 speaking notes (click to view)

The goal of public hearings is to determine if a project is in the Canadian public interest. The public interest is inclusive of all Canadians and refers to a balance of environmental, economic and social considerations that changes as society's values and preferences evolve over time.

The Board must hear from the people who are directly impacted by a proposed project, and may hear from those who have information and expertise that could help the Board make its decision.

Everyone must apply to participate and the Board will consider each application to participate on a case-by-case basis. When determining if a person is directly affected the Board will consider the nature of the person's interest, for example whether a person has specific and detailed interest in the project, rather than general public interest. The Board will set out the methods of participation for the hearing in the Hearing Order, but usually you can apply to be an Intervenor or to submit a Letter of Comment.

When determining if a person has relevant information or expertise, the Board will consider the source of the person's knowledge (e.g. local, regional or Aboriginal), the extent to which the information is within the project scope and related to the list of issues, and how much value the information will add to the Board's decision or recommendation.

There is financial assistance to support intervenor participation in a hearing.

When applying to participate, we encourage anyone to contact one of the Board's Process Advisors.  You can find their contact information on the Major Applications and Projects page of our website. They can provide one-on-one support about the Board's processes and the Application to Participate form.

The Board also will typically hold online and in-person information sessions where members of the community can ask questions directly to NEB staff and receive additional information about the NEB's mandate and public hearing process.

 

Status of TransCanada's Energy East Project

Map of TransCanada's Energy East project

 

Slide 11 speaking notes (click to view)

I also wanted to briefly mention the TransCanada Energy East pipeline project. I imagine many of you have heard of it already. Energy East is an example of a potential application that will be reviewed by the NEB and I wanted to provide an update. 

We have not received a project description from TransCanada. A Project Description is a pre-application filing that initiates NEB pre-Application engagement activities such as public information sessions and Participant Funding.

At this time, if you have specific questions about Energy East, contact TransCanada directly. We will be updating our website and project webpage regularly. You can also sign up for email updates through the project webpage.

 

Questions?

Inspector looks over rolling fields

 

Thank you

National Energy Board offices in Calgary

Contact Us:

 

National Energy Board
517 Tenth Avenue SW
Calgary, Alberta
T2R 0A8

Toll free 1-800-899-1265

www.neb-one.gc.ca

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Office national de l’énergie

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Office national de l’énergie [PDF 1271 KB]

Office national de l’énergie

Gaétan Caron, président et premier dirigeant
Office national de l'énergie

le 20 novembre 2013

 

 

Cliquer pour voir les notes d’allocution (diapo 1)

Je suis vraiment ravi de l'occasion qui m'est offerte aujourd'hui de vous parler de l'Office national de l'énergie, de ce qu'il fait et de la façon dont l'intérêt public des Canadiens demeure constamment à l'avant-plan.

Beaucoup de gens dans cette salle sont des propriétaires fonciers qui peuvent être touchés par les pipelines que réglemente actuellement l'Office ou par les projets qui lui sont soumis ou qui pourraient l'être. L'Office a toujours entretenu des relations de travail positives avec l'UPA et ses membres, et il est attentif à ce que vous avez à dire.

 

Qu’est l’Office national de l’énergie?

Inspecteur de l’Office sur le terrain Meeting in a board room Inspecteur de l’Office sur le terrain

 

Cliquer pour voir les notes d’allocution (diapo 2)

D'abord quelques renseignements généraux sur l'Office. C'est un organisme fédéral indépendant mis sur pied par le Parlement canadien en 1959 pour les raisons suivantes :

  • la construction et l'exploitation des pipelines internationaux et interprovinciaux et des lignes internationales de transport d'électricité;
  • les droits et les tarifs pipeliniers;
  • les exportations de pétrole, de gaz naturel, de gaz naturel liquéfié, de liquides de gaz naturel et d'électricité ainsi que les importations de gaz naturel;
  • l'exploration, la mise en valeur et la production pétrolières et gazières sur le territoire domanial, par exemple dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et dans des zones extracôtières fédérales comme certaines parties du golfe Saint-Laurent et la mer de Beaufort.

Outre son rôle d'organisme de réglementation, l'Office publie des rapports sur certains enjeux liés à l'énergie, mène des enquêtes publiques au besoin et surveille les approvisionnements du Canada, actuels et futurs, pour les principaux produits énergétiques.

L'Office compte neuf membres permanents désignés par le gouverneur en conseil, chacun étant nommé pour un mandat de sept ans, et 7 membres temporaires. Il a ses bureaux à Calgary et compte sur plus de 450 spécialistes dans un grand nombre de domaines (ingénierie, économie, finances, environnement, socioéconomie, questions foncières , droit et comptabilité, pour ne citer que ceux-là).

 

Que réglemente l’Office?

Carte de tous les pipelines réglementés par l’Office

 

Cliquer pour voir les notes d’allocution (diapo 3)

Cette carte présente tous les pipelines réglementés par l'Office, qui courent sur plus de 71 000 kilomètres.

 

Indépendance de l’organisme de réglementation

Inspecteurs de l’Office supervisant la construction d’un pipeline

 

Cliquer pour voir les notes d’allocution (diapo 4)

À la différence d'autres organismes et ministères fédéraux, l'Office ne définit pas la politique publique. Celle-ci est établie à la discrétion du Parlement, qui adopte aussi les lois qui régissent les mesures que l'Office prend et les décisions qu'il rend.

L'Office remplit le mandat qui lui est conféré par le Parlement dans sa loi constitutive. Cependant, en tant qu'organisme de réglementation indépendant du gouvernement, il mène ses activités et rend ses décisions sans être soumis à une influence politique. Cette indépendance est nécessaire pour conserver la confiance de la population quant à l'équité de son processus décisionnel.

Même si l'Office fonctionne sans lien de dépendance avec le gouvernement, il doit néanmoins faire rapport de ses activités aux Canadiens devant le Parlement, ce qu'il fait par l'entremise du ministre des Ressources naturelles.

 

Réglementation pendant tout le cycle de vie d’un pipeline

Inspecteurs de l’Office sur le terrain

 

Cliquer pour voir les notes d’allocution (diapo 5)

L'Office prend très au sérieux la confiance que la population canadienne lui accorde afin qu'il exige une mise en valeur sans danger des ressources énergétiques, ce qu'il continue de faire par la voie d'inspections et d'audits et, si nécessaire, par l'adoption de mesures fermes de mise en application.

Les nombreux programmes de protection de l'Office sont conçus pour garantir que les sociétés gèrent efficacement la sécurité et la protection de l'environnement tout au long du cycle de vie d'un pipeline. Son personnel exerce toutes sortes d'activités : inspections, exercices d'urgence, audits et enquêtes, tout cela à l'intérieur d'une démarche préventive dont l'objectif ultime est de réduire à néant le nombre d'incidents.

 

Mesures d’application

Inspecteurs de l’Office sur le terrain

 

Cliquer pour voir les notes d’allocution (diapo 6)

En juin dernier, l'Office a tenu son Forum sur la sécurité à Calgary. C'était là un engagement clé dans le cadre de son Plan d'action en matière de sécurité et de protection de l'environnement. Avec les chefs de file de l'industrie, nous avons discuté sans détour de l'importance de leur rôle dans la création et le maintien d'une culture de la sécurité, l'efficacité des systèmes de gestion et l'utilité de la mesure du rendement dans la gestion des risques.

C'est à cette occasion que l'Office a confirmé que l'objectif d'élimination totale des incidents est non seulement le bon but à se fixer, mais aussi un objectif réalisable. Grâce à des systèmes de gestion solides et bien appliqués et à une culture de la sécurité qui imprègne un organisme sous tous ses aspects, il est possible de prévenir les incidents et l'Office continuera de faire le nécessaire pour que ce but devienne réalité.

Nous attendons des sociétés réglementées qu'elles manifestent la même volonté de constamment renforcer leur culture de la sécurité dans les mois et les années à venir.

À l'issue du Forum, l'Office a réaffirmé son engagement en matière de transparence. Il consultera les Canadiens sur la nature de l'information qu'ils aimeraient obtenir au sujet des installations réglementées. Nous sommes d'accord avec les recommandations récentes du Comité sénatorial sur l'énergie, l'environnement et les ressources naturelles pour que soient fournies des données de localisation des pipelines. Nous nous sommes également engagés à ce que les gens soient renseignés sur les mesures d'intervention d'urgence des sociétés.

 

Intervention d’urgence et responsabilité financière

Inspecteurs de l’Office sur le terrain

 

Cliquer pour voir les notes d’allocution (diapo 7)

L'Office tient les sociétés qu'il réglemente responsables d'anticiper, d'atténuer et de gérer les incidents, peu en importe l'ampleur et la durée, et en cas d'incident, l'intervention se doit d'être immédiate.

La priorité absolue de l'Office en cas d'urgence consiste à assurer la sécurité et la sûreté des personnes ainsi que la protection de l'environnement et des biens. Il dispose d'un programme exhaustif de gestion des urgences qui peut notamment être à l'origine d'une intervention sur le terrain. En présence d'un incident grave mettant en cause des installations énergétiques relevant de la compétence de l'Office, des membres de son personnel peuvent être envoyés sur place afin de voir comment la société réagit. Il faut que toutes les mesures raisonnables soient prises pour protéger les employés, la population et l'environnement. L'Office vérifie si les travaux de nettoyage se déroulent comme il se doit et si les mesures correctives appropriées sont prises pour remédier aux effets que l'incident a eus sur l'environnement.

Chaque société réglementée est tenue d'avoir un programme de gestion qui comprend un manuel des mesures d'urgence ou un plan d'intervention à jour. Ces documents doivent préciser toutes les marches à suivre par la société en cas d'incident, que ce soit pour gérer la situation, protéger l'environnement ou veiller à la sécurité des travailleurs et de la population en général. En outre, les sociétés doivent élaborer un programme de formation et mener des exercices pour vérifier leur capacité d'intervention en cas d'incident.

Il faut aussi tenir compte de la façon dont les coûts d'intervention seront acquittés. Dans cette optique, l'Office exige de chaque société qu'elle nomme un dirigeant responsable qui a autorité compétente à l'égard des ressources humaines et financières requises pour remplir ses obligations sur les plans de la sécurité, de la sûreté et de la protection de l'environnement. 

 

Questions émergentes en gestion de la sécurité

Construction d’un pipeline

 

Cliquer pour voir les notes d’allocution (diapo 8)

En juin dernier, l'Office a tenu son Forum sur la sécurité à Calgary. C'était là un engagement clé dans le cadre de son Plan d'action en matière de sécurité et de protection de l'environnement. Avec les chefs de file de l'industrie, nous avons discuté sans détour de l'importance de leur rôle dans la création et le maintien d'une culture de la sécurité, l'efficacité des systèmes de gestion et l'utilité de la mesure du rendement dans la gestion des risques.

C'est à cette occasion que l'Office a confirmé que l'objectif d'élimination totale des incidents est non seulement le bon but à se fixer, mais aussi un objectif réalisable. Grâce à des systèmes de gestion solides et bien appliqués et à une culture de la sécurité qui imprègne un organisme sous tous ses aspects, il est possible de prévenir les incidents et l'Office continuera de faire le nécessaire pour que ce but devienne réalité.

Nous attendons des sociétés réglementées qu'elles manifestent la même volonté de constamment renforcer leur culture de la sécurité dans les mois et les années à venir.

À l'issue du Forum, l'Office a réaffirmé son engagement en matière de transparence. Il consultera les Canadiens sur la nature de l'information qu'ils aimeraient obtenir au sujet des installations réglementées. Nous sommes d'accord avec les recommandations récentes du Comité sénatorial sur l'énergie, l'environnement et les ressources naturelles pour que soient fournies des données de localisation des pipelines. Nous nous sommes également engagés à ce que les gens soient renseignés sur les mesures d'intervention d'urgence des sociétés.

 

Audiences publiques

Une salle d’audience publique

 

Cliquer pour voir les notes d’allocution (diapo 9)

La sécurité et la sûreté sont prioritaires, mais la responsabilité pour laquelle nous sommes le mieux connus est celle de l'examen des demandes et de la tenue d'audiences publiques.

L'Office reçoit des demandes pour toutes les activités qu'il est appelé à réglementer. Il les examine pour établir si une audience est requise et, le cas échéant, si cette audience doit être orale ou par voie de mémoires. Dans le cas d'audiences, l'Office peut y intégrer vidéoconférences et participation à distance. En profitant de la technologie existante, les audiences sont accessibles à un plus grand nombre de Canadiens. Par ailleurs, cela peut aider à réduire les coûts de déplacement des participants.

Une audience sera normalement requise pour certains types de demandes, par exemple pour de nouveaux pipelines interprovinciaux ou internationaux d'une longueur de plus de 40 kilomètres. Il n'y a pas automatiquement audition publique des demandes relatives à des pipelines de moins de 40 kilomètres ni pour l'entretien ou le remplacement d'installations pipelinières.

Dans une audience, on s'attache en général à quatre grands aspects : sécurité et sûreté, protection de l'environnement, efficacité de l'infrastructure énergétique et droits et intérêts des gens touchés par un projet.

 

Participation

Une salle d’audience publique

 

Cliquer pour voir les notes d’allocution (diapo 10)

Les audiences publiques visent à établir si un projet est conforme à l'intérêt public canadien. L'intérêt public englobe les intérêts de tous les Canadiens. Il s'agit d'un équilibre entre les intérêts environnementaux, économiques et sociaux, qui change en fonction de l'évolution des valeurs et des préférences de la société.

L'Office entendra les personnes susceptibles d'être touchées directement par le projet proposé; il pourrait aussi entendre celles qui possèdent des renseignements ou une expertise pouvant l'aider à prendre sa décision.

Pour participer à une audience, il faut en faire la demande, et l'Office examinera ensuite chacune de ces requêtes au cas par cas. Au moment de juger si une personne est directement touchée par un projet, il regardera la nature de l'intérêt de la personne et déterminera s'il s'agit d'un intérêt particulier et précis plutôt que de l'intérêt public général. Il établira les méthodes de participation dans  l'ordonnance d'audience, mais d'ordinaire on peut demander à être intervenant ou à produire une lettre de commentaires.

Quand il s'agit de déterminer si une personne a de l'information utile ou une compétence particulière, l'Office examinera la source des connaissances (locales, régionales ou autochtones) de l'intéressé, la mesure dans laquelle les renseignements en question relèvent de la portée du projet et de la liste des questions, et la valeur que cette information ajoutera à sa décision ou recommandation.

Nous prévoyons une aide financière pour la participation des intervenants aux audiences.

Nous encourageons les gens, au moment de demander à participer, à prendre contact avec un des conseillers sur les processus de l'Office. Leurs coordonnées figurent à la page Demandes et projets d'envergure de son site Web. Ces conseillers peuvent aider individuellement les demandeurs en ce qui concerne les processus de l'Office et son formulaire de demande de participation.

L'Office tiendra généralement des séances d'information en ligne ou en personne à l'occasion desquelles les membres de la collectivité pourront poser directement des questions à des membres de son personnel et recevoir d'autres renseignements sur son mandat et son processus d'audience publique.

 

État du projet Énergie Est de TransCanada

Carte du project Énergie Est de TransCanada

 

Cliquer pour voir les notes d’allocution (diapo 11)

J'aimerais aussi brièvement évoquer le projet d'oléoduc Énergie Est de TransCanada. J'imagine que vous êtes nombreux à en avoir déjà entendu parler. Énergie Est est un exemple de demande que pourrait examiner l'Office et c'est pourquoi je désire faire le point ici.

Nous n'avons pas reçu de description de projet de TransCanada. C'est là un document préalable à la demande qui lance les activités préparatoires de l'Office, comme les séances d'information publiques et l'aide financière aux participants.

Si pour l'instant vous avez des questions précises à poser au sujet d'Énergie Est, vous devez vous adresser directement à TransCanada. Nous garderons à jour le site Web de l'Office, et de plus, à partir de la page présentant les projets en cours, vous pourrez vous inscrire pour recevoir des courriels de mise à jour.

 

Des questions?

Inspecteur dans un champ vallonné

 

Merci.

Bureaux de l’office national de l’énergie à Calgary

Pour communiquer avec nous:

 

Office national de l’énergie
517, Dixième Avenue S.-O.
Calgary (Alberta)
T2R 0A8

Tél. sans frais : 1-800-899-1265

Courriel : www.neb-one.gc.ca

Date de modification :