ARCHIVED - Pipeline Safety

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Pipeline Safety
Opening Statement
Senate Committee on Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources

Presented by
Gaétan Caron
Chair and Chief Executive Officer
National Energy Board

5 February 2013

Introduction

Good evening honourable senators and thank you for the chance to speak with you on what the National Energy Board is doing to continually improve the safety of pipelines in Canada.

You have already heard from two of my colleagues on this topic, Patrick Smyth our Business Unit Leader of Operations and Iain Colquhoun, our Chief Engineer - two of the NEB’s top technical experts on pipeline safety. I trust that their testimony before this committee has been useful in your endeavour, which is, to understand the current state of the safety elements of the bulk transport of hydrocarbon products in Canada through NEB-regulated pipelines.

Vision for Pipeline Safety

For the NEB, protecting the interests of Canadians by keeping them safe and protecting the environment is paramount. The NEB expects regulated companies to lay a strong foundation for a pervasive culture of safety, forcefully affirmed by the organization’s leadership, rigorously documented, known to all employees, and consistently acted upon across the organization.

Regulated companies must identify all hazards and assess and mitigate the risks of those hazards to the public, workers and the environment when it comes to the construction and operation of pipelines. The NEB evaluates its regulated companies and their facilities year round to plan how it will verify compliance. As a part of this, we look at a number of criteria including a pipeline’s location, type, age, and operating history. We also look at historical information on the company’s management of these factors through previous compliance monitoring activities such as inspections and audits. Based on this information, the NEB strategically allocates resources where they can be of the greatest impact.

Evolution of Pipeline Safety

The National Energy Board’s regulations, along with our expectations of companies, continue to change as technology and the public interest evolve. The Board’s Onshore Pipeline Regulations, 1999 already require regulated companies to have comprehensive and effective programs, which are used to address operational hazards and risks. Amendments to these regulations are presently following the federal regulatory development process, which included a thirty-day comment period in which the Board heard from interested Canadians. Based on the comments we received, along with our own experience and research on best practices, the Board believes these amendments will strengthen our ability to promote pipeline safety in Canada.

Management systems are central in our strategy of continual improvement in pipeline safety. Both companies and other regulatory bodies across North America and beyond are recognizing their effectiveness and moving in the same direction. At their very essence, management systems document how people are to carry out the responsibilities of their position.

The NEB expects its regulated companies to have well developed and fully implemented management systems, which have been shown to consistently promote the protection of critical infrastructure and lead to a culture of safety. Management systems must have three key elements in order to be effective: they must be consistently applied; they must be incorporated into all areas of company operations; and they must have specific assigned accountability. Management systems must also be designed to share information and intelligence between all levels of an organization in order to promote better decisions.

The proposed amendments to the Onshore Pipeline Regulations, 1999 clarify the Board’s expectation that management systems must apply to the key program areas for which companies are responsible, those being: safety, pipeline integrity, security, emergency management and environmental protection. The amendments also require companies to have a process for internal reporting of hazards, near misses and incidents. This includes the conditions under which immunity from disciplinary action will be granted to the reporting individual. In addition, these amendments explicitly require programs and functions in management system design and implementation to be seamlessly linked to each other. This integration is essential to the proper functioning of a management system. And finally, they include new provisions holding a company’s senior leadership accountable for its management system, safety culture and the achievement of outcomes related to safety and environmental protection.

Creating a management system on paper is one thing, but fully implementing it into the day to day operations of an organization takes work. Effective management systems support a safety culture that is pervasive throughout the company. This happens when everybody in the company, from the top down, believes in safety, talks about it, promotes it and lives it. When there is a strong safety culture, leadership focuses on safety as much as the bottom line, and employees have the confidence that they will be backed up from the very top of the organization if they stop or delay a project over safety concerns.

NEB’s role in Pipeline Safety

Through its Regulations, the NEB clearly defines outcomes that each regulated company must achieve. Companies must determine how to best achieve these outcomes. The NEB then verifies the actions taken by each company through inspections, compliance meetings, emergency exercises, audits and investigations. If at any point non-compliances are found, the Board will take action using a suite of tools such as imposing safety orders that restrict operations, issuing stop-work orders and revoking authorizations, as well as pursuing criminal prosecution.

No matter the requirement, all of the NEB’s safety programs are designed to ensure companies effectively manage safety and environmental protection from the design of a pipeline to construction, operation and its eventual abandonment.

NEB’s direction moving forward

The Board will continue to demonstrate its commitment to safety and environmental protection in the months and years ahead. Parliament has provided the NEB with additional funds to hire more staff, increase the number of annual inspections for regulated companies from 100 to 150, and double the number of comprehensive audits from three to six. These measures will provide the NEB with additional “boots on the ground” to verify the pipelines we regulate are operating safely. In addition, Parliament has provided us a new enforcement tool in the form of administrative monetary penalties, which will allow us to issue financial penalties to companies, third-party contractors and individuals for violations of safety and environmental protection legislation. We will be ready to implement this new tool in July 2013.

In June of this year, the Board will host a Safety Forum. Key issues of this forum will include corporate leadership’s role in building and maintaining a safety culture, effective management systems and safety performance measurement. Since a strong safety culture begins with leadership, we expect the senior management of the companies we regulate to participate in the Forum. I firmly believe that issues discussed at the Safety Forum will contribute to a continually improving, robust industry-wide culture of safety.

The Safety Forum will feature experts such as Dr. Mark Fleming from Saint Mary’s University. Dr. Fleming has, in his own words, “spent the past 20 years working to understand safety culture in order to enhance safety”. His extensive research on safety culture has served to inform the basis of the Board’s philosophy and expectations for its regulated companies. I know he will be a valuable addition to the Forum.

Closing Remarks

Oil and gas remain important energy sources in our society. Canadians demand these resources to be developed safely and responsibly. The National Energy Board agrees and sees this as a fundamental element of the work that we do in keeping Canadians safe and protecting the environment.

Thank you once again for giving me the opportunity to address the current state of the NEB’s role in pipeline safety and our ongoing effort to look for new and better ways to improve on our core work, protecting Canadians and their interests. I will be happy to address any questions that you may have.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Sécurité des pipelines

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sécurité des pipelines
Déclaration préliminaire
Comité sénatorial sur l’énergie, l’environnement et les ressources naturelles

Présenté par
Gaétan Caron
Président et premier dirigeant de
l'Office national de l'énergie

5 février 2013

Introduction

Bonsoir honorables sénateurs. Je vous remercie de me donner l’occasion de discuter avec vous de la façon dont l’Office national de l’énergie s’y prend pour constamment accroître la sécurité des pipelines au Canada.

Patrick Smyth, chef de secteur pour les opérations, et Iain Colquhoun, ingénieur en chef, deux de nos plus brillants esprits en matière de réglementation de la sécurité des pipelines, se sont déjà adressés à vous. Je suis convaincu que leurs témoignages devant ce comité vous ont aidé à mieux comprendre l’état actuel des divers aspects de la sécurité du transport en vrac des produits d’hydrocarbures au Canada dans les pipelines soumis à la réglementation de l’Office.

Vision de la sécurité des pipelines

Au coeur de la mission de l’Office se trouve la sauvegarde des intérêts des Canadiens et Canadiennes, ce qui consiste à veiller sur leur sécurité et à protéger l’environnement. L’Office attend des sociétés qu’il réglemente qu’elles établissent des assises solides pour bâtir une culture de sécurité omniprésente, soutenue avec force par la direction, documentée avec rigueur, connue par tous les employés et appliquée de façon uniforme à la grandeur de l’entreprise.

En ce qui concerne la construction et l’exploitation des pipelines, les sociétés réglementées doivent déceler tous les dangers, puis analyser et atténuer les risques qu’ils posent pour le public, les travailleurs et l’environnement. Afin d’établir un plan en matière de vérification de la conformité, l’Office effectue, toute l’année, des évaluations des sociétés qu’il réglemente et de leurs installations. Ainsi, il analyse divers critères, comme l’emplacement et le type d’installations, l’âge et les antécédents concernant l’exploitation. Il étudie aussi les éléments qui se dégagent des activités de surveillance de la conformité, par exemple des inspections et des audits, pour savoir comment la société a géré ces éléments dans le passé. À partir de ces informations, l’Office peut redéployer ses ressources de façon stratégique et les affecter là où elles auront le plus d’impact.

Évolution de la sécurité des pipelines

À l’image de la technologie et de l’intérêt public, la réglementation touchant l’Office national de l’énergie et les attentes de celui-ci à l’égard des sociétés évoluent constamment. Le Règlement de 1999 sur les pipelines terrestres exige déjà que les sociétés aient en place des programmes exhaustifs et efficaces pour parer aux dangers et aux risques liés à l’exploitation. Les modifications proposées au Règlement suivent actuellement le processus fédéral d’élaboration de la réglementation, qui comprend une période de commentaires de trente jours. Celle-ci a permis à l’Office d’écouter ce que les Canadiens et Canadiennes qui s’intéressent à question avaient à dire. Tirant profit des commentaires reçus, de sa propre expérience et des recherches sur les pratiques exemplaires, ces modifications renforceront, selon l’Office, sa capacité à promouvoir la sécurité des pipelines au Canada.

Les systèmes de gestion constituent la pierre angulaire de notre stratégie d’amélioration constante de la sécurité des pipelines. Que ce soient les sociétés ou les autres organismes de réglementation en Amérique du Nord et ailleurs, tous reconnaissent l’efficacité de ces systèmes et s’engagent dans la même direction. À la base, les systèmes de gestion décrivent comment les personnes doivent s’acquitter des responsabilités se rattachant à leur poste.

L’Office attend des sociétés réglementées qu’elles élaborent et déploient entièrement des systèmes de gestion bien pensés, dont la capacité à favoriser, de façon uniforme, la protection des infrastructures essentielles et à déboucher sur une culture de sécurité a été démontrée. Pour être efficace, un système de gestion doit comporter trois éléments : il doit être appliqué avec logique, être intégré à toutes les facettes de l’exploitation de l’entreprise et attribuer l’obligation de rendre des comptes à des personnes précises. Il doit aussi être conçu pour permettre le partage de l’information et des renseignements entre les divers échelons de l’entreprise, afin de favoriser la prise de décisions plus éclairées.

Les modifications proposées au Règlement de 1999 sur les pipelines terrestres précisent les attentes de l’Office en ce qui a trait à la façon dont les systèmes de gestion doivent être appliqués aux principales composantes des programmes qui relèvent de la société, soit la sécurité, l’intégrité du pipeline, la sûreté, la gestion des urgences et la protection de l’environnement. Ces modifications obligent aussi les sociétés à se doter d’une politique de rapports internes sur les dangers, les quasi-accidents et les incidents. Cette politique doit indiquer les conditions dans lesquelles la personne qui fait le signalement est exemptée de toute mesure disciplinaire. En outre, ces modifications exigent expressément que les programmes et les fonctions du système de gestion soient conçus et mis en œuvre de manière à assurer une totale transparence entre eux. Cette intégration est essentielle au bon fonctionnement d’un système de gestion. Enfin, les modifications comprennent de nouvelles dispositions qui rendent un membre de la haute direction de l’entreprise responsable du système de gestion, de la culture de sécurité et de l’atteinte des résultats en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement.

Élaborer un système de gestion sur papier est une chose. Le mettre en œuvre à la grandeur d’une organisation pour qu’il fonctionne au quotidien en est une autre et demande des efforts. Un système de gestion efficace soutient une culture de sécurité omniprésente dans l’entreprise. Et, cela se produit quand tout le monde, du haut au bas de la pyramide, croit dans la sécurité, parle de sécurité, fait la promotion de la sécurité et intègre la sécurité à sa vie. Dans les entreprises où il y a une solide culture de sécurité, la direction se préoccupe tout autant de la sécurité que de la rentabilité, et les employés savent qu’ils seront soutenus, jusqu’au plus haut niveau, s’ils arrêtent ou retardent un projet pour des considérations liées à la sécurité.

Le rôle de l’Office dans la sécurité des pipelines

La réglementation permet à l’Office de définir clairement les résultats que doit atteindre chaque société réglementée. Il incombe ensuite à celle-ci de choisir la meilleure façon d’y parvenir. L’Office contrôle ensuite les mesures qu’elle prend, au moyen d’inspections, de réunions sur la conformité, d’exercices d’urgence, d’audits et d’enquêtes. Si, à un moment quelconque, il découvre des situations de non-conformité, l’Office prend les mesures nécessaires parmi celles à sa disposition, comme des décrets de sécurité limitant ou suspendant les activités, la révocation des autorisations ou des poursuites au criminel.

Quelle que soit l’exigence, tous les programmes de l’Office en matière de sécurité sont conçus pour que les sociétés gèrent efficacement la sécurité et la protection de l’environnement, de la conception d’un pipeline à sa construction, son exploitation et sa cessation ultime d’exploitation.

Orientation future de l’Office

Au cours des prochains mois et des prochaines années, l’Office continuera de manifester la même détermination en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement. Grâce aux fonds supplémentaires que lui a accordés le Parlement, l’Office pourra recruter du personnel afin d’accroître de 100 à 150 le nombre d’inspections qu’il mènera auprès des sociétés qu’il réglemente, et doubler le nombre d’audits exhaustifs qu’il fait, de trois à six par année. Ces mesures permettront à l’Office d’être plus présent sur le terrain, de manière à s’assurer que les pipelines de son ressort sont exploités en toute sécurité. Le Parlement a aussi muni l’Office d’un nouvel outil d’application : les sanctions administratives pécuniaires. Grâce à elles, il pourra imposer des pénalités financières aux sociétés, entrepreneurs et particuliers coupables d’infractions aux lois sur la sécurité et la protection de l’environnement. Ce nouvel outil sera mis en œuvre en juillet prochain.

En juin, l’Office sera l’hôte du Forum sur la sécurité. À cette occasion, il sera notamment question du leadership des entreprises dans la création et le maintien d’une culture de sécurité, des systèmes de gestion efficace et de la prise de mesures du rendement en matière de sécurité. Puisqu’une solide culture de sécurité commence par le leadership, l’Office s’attend à ce que les dirigeants des sociétés qu’il réglemente soient présents. Je crois fermement que les thèmes qui seront abordés lors du Forum sur la sécurité contribueront à sans cesse améliorer et renforcer la culture de sécurité à la grandeur de l’industrie.

Parmi les conférenciers vedettes au Forum sur la sécurité, je tiens à mentionner M. Mark Fleming, de l’Université Saint Mary’s. Comme il le dit lui-même, M. Fleming a passé les 20 dernières années à essayer de comprendre la culture de sécurité afin d’améliorer la sécurité. Ses recherches poussées sur le sujet servent de base à la philosophie et aux exigences de l’Office à l’égard des sociétés réglementées. Sa contribution au Forum sera inestimable.

Mot de la fin

Le pétrole et le gaz demeurent des sources d’énergie importantes dans notre société. La population canadienne exige que ces ressources soient mises en valeur de façon sécuritaire et responsable. L’Office national de l’énergie partage cette vision et juge qu’il s’agit d’une composante fondamentale de son mandat pour assurer la sécurité des Canadiens et Canadiennes et la protection de l’environnement.

Je vous remercie de nouveau de m’avoir donné l’occasion de faire le point sur le rôle de l’Office national de l’énergie en ce qui a trait à la sécurité des pipelines et ses efforts constants pour chercher de nouveaux et meilleurs moyens de s’acquitter de sa fonction principale, qui est de protéger les Canadiens et Canadiennes et leurs intérêts. Je répondrai volontiers à vos questions.

Date de modification :