National Energy Board – 2015–2016 Departmental Performance Report - Section II: Expenditure Overview

Section II: Expenditure Overview

Actual Expenditures

Budgetary Financial Resources (dollars)
2015–16
Main Estimates
2015–16
Planned Spending
2015–16
Total Authorities
Available for Use
2015–16
Actual Spending
(authorities used)
2015–16
Difference
(actual
minus planned)
76,820,510 77,550,511 96,437,428 82,396,568 4,846,057
Human Resources (Full-Time Equivalents [FTEs])
2015–16
Planned
2015–16
Actual
2015–16
Difference
(actual
minus planned)
471.2 457.5 (13.8)

Budgetary Performance Summary

Budgetary Performance Summary for Programs and Internal Services (dollars)
Strategic
Outcome(s),
Program(s)
and Internal
Services
2015–16
Main
Estimates
2015–16
Planned
Spending
2016–17
Planned
Spending
2017–18
Planned
Spending
2015–16
Total
Authorities
Available
for Use
2015–16
Actual
Spending
(authorities
used)
2014–15
Actual
Spending
(authorities
used)
2013–14
Actual
Spending
(authorities
used)
1.1 Energy Regulation Program 49,588,459 52,632,974 61,322,894 44,906,857 62,723,358 43,185,092 45,310,493 47,970,746
1.2 Energy Information Program 5,982,273 5,620,814 7,648,605 7,018,161 8,475,092 9,018,344 6,567,390 6,156,305
Subtotal 55,570,732 58,253,788 68,971,499 51,925,018 71,198,450 52,203,436 51,877,883 54,127,051
Internal Services Subtotal 21,249,778 19,296,723 24,633,776 21,920,428 25,238,978 30,193,132 35,443,200 27,555,630
Total 76,820,510 77,550,511 93,605,275 73,845,446 96,437,428 82,396,568 87,321,083 81,682,681

There was an increase of $4.8 million in actual spending during 2015–16 compared to planned spending. This is mainly due to increased stakeholder engagement for the NEB’s National Engagement Initiative, safety and environmental protection activities, development and implementation of the Operations Regulatory Compliance Application (ORCA), as well as the development of new governance tools to support the NEB’s strategic outcome.

The NEB’s total spending authority increased to $96.4 million from planned spending of $77.5 million in 2015–16. This increase stems from Budget 2015 which foresaw an increase of $80 million to the appropriations of the NEB for safety and environmental protection and engagement with Canadians. This funding is divided over five years and approximately $18.1 million (23%) was allocated to 2015–2016.

The $18.1 million was only available to the NEB very late in the fiscal year (March 2016), because Parliament voted the funds later than usual due to the federal election in October 2015. This further delayed the actual receipt of the funding by the NEB and as a result only $5.9 million of the funds could be used. A small organization like the NEB needs lead time to spend such extensive increases in a timely fashion, as it has little flexibility to risk-manage large amounts of spending without Parliamentary authorization.

While the NEB had total authorities of $96.4 million, actual spending was $82.4 million which resulted in a lapse of $14 million as follows:

  • $12.2 million attributed to late Parliamentary authorization of Budget 2015 funding; and
  • Approximately $5 million resulted from delays beyond the control of the NEB for major applications (Energy East and Imperial).

These lapses were partially offset by $3.2 million which was absorbed for eligible paylist and collective bargaining amounts. Despite the total lapse of $14 million, the NEB was able to deliver on all programs.

FTEs and associated salaries from Legal Services and Communications Business Unit were part of planned spending in the Energy Regulation Program in the 2015–16 RPP, however these FTEs were moved into Internal Services and thus account for the variance between actual and planned spending.

Departmental Spending Trend

Departmental Spending Trend Graph
Text description of this graph

Departmental Spending Trend Graph

This bar graph shows the National Energy Board’s planned and actual spending for the fiscal years 2013–14 to 2018–19.

Total Spending and planned spending by period is as follows:

  • 2013–14: $81.7 million
  • 2014–15: $87.3 million
  • 2015–16: $82.4 million
  • 2016–17: $93.6 million
  • 2017–18: $73.8 million
  • 2018–19: $72.2 million

The Spending Trend Graph shows the NEB’s actual spending (2013–14 through 2015–16) and planned spending (2016–17 through 2018–19).

The NEB’s expenditures in 2015–16 show a decrease of $4.9 million from the prior fiscal year, due to the difference in increased spending in some areas and decreased spending in others, primarily in the following:

  • Increased salaries ($2.2 million);
  • Increased cost of Information Technology services ($1.3 million) mainly related to: stakeholder engagement initiatives; safety and environmental protection; the implementation of government-wide systems such as Phoenix, the pay system; My GCHR, the Human Resource Information Technology application; Canada.ca; and Open Government;
  • A decrease in the amount of severance termination benefits paid out the previous year due to the elimination of the employee severance pay program in 2014–15 ($4.6 million);
  • Decreased costs associated with the move to a new office in Calgary ($3.4 million); and
  • Decreased costs for general goods and services such as training, and hospitality ($0.4 million).

2017–18 planned spending is $19.8 million less than 2016–17 planned spending. This is mainly due to:

  • The expiration of temporary funding from Treasury Board Submissions 2012 and 2014 at the end of 2016–17 ($5.7 million) that was for NEB safety and security programs as well as public awareness;
  • The expiration of temporary funding for Mega Projects, the majority of which expires at the end of 2016–17 ($6.4 million);
  • Decreased funding for the Operating and Maintenance portion of Budget 2015 which was front-end loaded with contracting and training to ramp-up initiatives related to safety and environmental protection and engaging with Canadians ($4.0 million); and
  • Decreased funding for operational budget carry forward from 2016–17 to 2017–18 as it is expected the NEB’s full appropriation will be spent in 2016–17 ($3.3 million).

Approximately 95 percent of the NEB’s appropriations are recovered from regulated companies and monies go directly to the Consolidated Revenue Fund by virtue of the National Energy Board Cost Recovery Regulations, enacted pursuant to Section 24.1(1) of the National Energy Board Act. The NEB does not have the authority to unilaterally raise its ratio for cost recovery from regulated companies. Parliament would make that decision.

The NEB does not currently recover costs related to its work under the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act (COGOA) and the Canada Petroleum Resources Act, which currently represent about 5 percent of the NEB’s operating costs. The Energy Safety and Security Act, which came into force on 26 February 2016, allows the Governor in Council to make regulations to recover costs from COGOA-regulated companies.

Expenditures by Vote

For information on the National Energy Board’s organizational voted and statutory expenditures, consult the Public Accounts of Canada 2016.

Alignment of Spending With the Whole-of-Government Framework

Alignment of 2015–16 Actual Spending With the Whole-of-Government Framework (dollars)
Program Spending Area Government of Canada Outcome 2015–16 Actual Spending
1.1 Energy Regulation Economic affairs Strong economic growth 43,185,092
1.2 Energy Information Economic affairs Strong economic growth 9,018,344
Total Spending by Spending Area (dollars)
Spending Area Total Planned Spending Total Actual Spending
Economic Affairs 58,253,788 52,203,436
Social Affairs 0 0
International Affairs 0 0
Government Affairs 0 0

Financial Statements and Financial Statements Highlights

Financial Statements

The NEB’s Financial Statements can be found on the NEB’s website.

Financial Statements Highlights

The National Energy Board operates on a full accrual accounting basis according to Treasury Board’s policy for reporting based on generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP). The tables below provide highlights from the NEB’s Statement of Operations and Statement of Financial Position, as presented in its 2015–16 financial statements. As such, differences do exist between these tables and those presented in other sections of the Departmental Performance Report, which are prepared on the modified cash basis of accounting.

Condensed Statement of Operations
For the Year Ended March 31, 2016 (dollars)
Financial Information 2015–16
Planned Results
2015–16
Actual
2014–15
Actual
Difference
(2015–16 actual
minus
2015–16 planned)
Difference
(2015–16 actual
minus
2014–15 actual)
Total expenses 91,503,211 98,624,642 90,281,795 7,121,431 8,342,847
Total revenues - - - - -
Net cost of operations
before government funding
and transfers
91,503,211 98,624,642 90,281,795 7,121,431 8,342,847

The variance between 2015–16 actual and planned expenditures is primarily due to additional funding received (Budget 2015) in the fourth quarter of 2015–16 to cover expenses related to safety and environmental protection, and enhancing engagement with Canadians.

The significant increase in actual expenditures from the previous year is primarily due to an increase in transfer payments for the Participant Funding Program ($2.2 million); an increase in salaries mainly related to hiring FTEs under Budget 2015 for safety and environmental protection and enhanced engagement with Canadians ($4.2 million), an increase in amortization mainly related to a leasehold improvement to the new office in Calgary ($1.3 million) and an increase in professional services mainly related to central initiatives, change management and the hearing process ($3.2 million). At the same time there was a decrease in the relocation costs to a new office within Calgary ($2.6 million).

Condensed Statement of Financial Position
As at March 31, 2016 (dollars)
Financial Information 2015–16 2014–15 Difference
(2015–16
minus
2014–15)
Total net liabilities 19,031,783 28,439,130 (9,407,347)
Total net financial assets 13,189,146 11,847,875 1,341,271
Departmental net debt 5,843,637 16,591,255 (10,747,618)
Total non-financial assets 22,873,096 24,928,416 (2,055,320)
Departmental net financial position 17,029,459 8,337,161 8,692,298

Total net liabilities and Departmental net debt have a decrease of $9.4 million and $10.7 million, respectively. Overall Departmental net financial position has improved by $8.7 million. This is mainly due to adjustment of a levy under the Section 5.2(1) of the National Energy Board Recovery Regulations that was invoiced for levies and collected from newly regulated parties in 2014–15. In 2014–15, there were payables of $11 million, representing levies collected from newly regulated parties. These amounts reduced the cost recovery levies of the other regulated parties and were recorded as payable to these parties until this adjustment was made in the year after the Section 5.2(1) levy had been invoiced.

Date modified:

Office national de l'énergie – Rapport ministériel sur le rendement 2015–2016 - Section II : Vue d’ensemble des dépenses

Section II : Vue d’ensemble des dépenses

Dépenses réelles

Ressources financières budgétaires (en dollars)
Budget principal
des dépenses
2015–2016
Dépenses prévues
2015–2016
Autorisations totales
pouvant être utilisées
2015–2016
Dépenses réelles
(autorisations utilisées)
2015–2016
Écart
(réelles
moins
prévues)
76 820 510 77 550 511 96 437 428 82 396 568 4 846 057
Ressources humaines (équivalents temps plein [ETP])
Prévu
2015–2016
Réel
2015–2016
Écart
(réel moins prévu)
2015–2016
471,2 457,5 (13,8)

Sommaire du rendement budgétaire

Sommaire du rendement budgétaire pour les programmes et les Services internes (en dollars)
Programmes
et Services internes
Budget principal
des dépenses
2015–2016
Dépenses prévues
2015–2016
Dépenses prévues
2016–2017
Dépenses prévues
2017–2018
Autorisations totales
pouvant
être utilisées
2015–2016
Dépenses réelles
(autorisations utilisées)
2015–2016
Dépenses réelles
(autorisations utilisées)
2014–2015
Dépenses réelles
(autorisations utilisées)
2013–2014
1.1 Programme : Réglementation de l’énergie 49 588 459 52 632 974 61 322 894 44 906 857 62 723 358 43 185 092 45 310 493 47 970 746
1.2 Programme : Information sur l’énergie 5 982 273 5 620 814 7 648 605 7 018 161 8 475 092 9 018 344 6 567 390 6 156 305
Total partiel 55 570 732 58 253 788 68 971 499 51 925 018 71 198 450 52 203 436 51 877 883 54 127 051
Services internes 21 249 778 19 296 723 24 633 776 21 920 428 25 238 978 30 193 132 35 443 200 27 555 630
Total 76 820 510 77 550 511 93 605 275 73 845 446 96 437 428 82 396 568 87 321 083 81 682 681

Il y a eu une augmentation de 4,8 millions de dollars au chapitre des dépenses réelles en 2015–2016 comparativement aux dépenses prévues. Cela est dû principalement à la participation accrue des parties prenantes à l’Initiative nationale de mobilisation, aux activités de sécurité et de protection environnementale, à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre de l’Application de conformité réglementaire des activités (ACRA), de même qu’à la mise au point de nouveaux outils de gouvernance pour soutenir les résultats stratégiques de l’Office.

Les autorisations de dépenser totales de l’Office ont augmenté à 96,4 millions de dollars par rapport aux dépenses prévues de 77,5 millions de dollars en 2015–2016. Cette augmentation provient du budget 2015, qui prévoyait une augmentation de 80 millions de dollars au compte de crédits de l’Office pour la sécurité et la protection de l’environnement ainsi que la mobilisation des Canadiens. Ces fonds sont répartis sur cinq ans, et environ 18,1 millions (23 %) ont été affectés à l’exercice 2015–2016.

Le montant de 18,1 millions de dollars n’a été mis à la disposition de l’Office que très tard dans l’exercice financier (mars 2016), le Parlement ayant approuvé les crédits plus tard que d’habitude en raison de l’élection fédérale en octobre 2015. Cela a retardé davantage la réception des fonds par l’Office et, par conséquent, seulement 5,9 millions de dollars ont pu être utilisés. L’Office étant une petite organisation, il a besoin d’un délai d’exécution pour dépenser des augmentations de cet ordre de manière opportune, car il dispose de peu de flexibilité pour gérer judicieusement des montants élevés de dépenses sans autorisation parlementaire.

L’Office avait des autorisations totales de 96,4 millions de dollars, mais les dépenses réelles ont été de 82,4 millions, ce qui a entraîné une péremption de 14 millions de dollars répartis comme suit :

  • 12,2 millions de dollars en raison du retard dans les autorisations parlementaires de fonds budgétaires de 2015;
  • approximativement 5 millions de dollars en raison de retards indépendants de la volonté de l’Office pour des demandes visant des projets d’envergure (Énergie Est et Impériale).

Cette péremption a été partiellement neutralisée par une somme de 3,2 millions de dollars qui a été amalgamée pour des montants admissibles au titre de la feuille de paye et des négociations collectives. Malgré la péremption totale de 14 millions de dollars, l’Office a pu réaliser tous ses programmes.

Les ETP et salaires connexes du Secteur des services juridiques et des communications faisaient partie des dépenses prévues dans le Programme de réglementation de l’énergie du RPP 2015–2016, mais ces ETP ont été déplacés vers les services internes, ce qui explique l’écart entre les dépenses réelles et prévues.

Tendances relatives aux dépenses du ministère

Tendances relatives aux dépenses du ministère
Interprétation de ce diagramme

Tendances relatives aux dépenses du ministère

Le diagramme à barres montre les dépenses réelles, de 2013–2014 à 2015–2016, et prévues, de 2016–2017 à 2018–2019, de l’Office.

Le total des dépenses réelles et prévues est indiqué ci-après, selon la période.

  • 2013–2014 : 81,7 millions de dollars
  • 2014–2015 : 87,3 millions de dollars
  • 2015–2016 : 82,4 millions de dollars
  • 2016–2017 : 93,6 millions de dollars
  • 2017–2018 : 73,8 millions de dollars
  • 2018–2019 : 72,2 millions de dollars

Le graphique sur la tendance des dépenses montre les dépenses réelles (2013–2014 jusqu’en 2015–2016) et prévues (2016–2017 jusqu’en 2018–2019) de l’Office.

Les dépenses de l’Office en 2015–2016 ont diminué de 4,9 millions de dollars par rapport à l’exercice financier précédent en raison d’une augmentation enregistrée sous certains postes budgétaires et d’une diminution sous d’autres postes budgétaires, principalement les suivants :

  • Salaires accrus (2,2 millions de dollars)
  • Coût accru des services informatiques (1,3 million de dollars) surtout pour ce qui suit : initiatives de participation des parties prenantes; sécurité et protection environnementale; mise en œuvre de systèmes pangouvernementaux, tels que Phoenix (rémunération), Mes RHGC (ressources humaines), Canada.ca et Gouvernement ouvert;
  • Diminution des indemnités de départ versées l’année précédente en raison de l’abolition du programme d’indemnités de départ pour les employés en 2014–2015 (4,6 millions de dollars);
  • Diminution des coûts associés au déménagement dans un nouveau bureau à Calgary (3,4 millions de dollars);
  • Diminution des coûts pour les produits et services généraux, tels que frais de formation et d’accueil (0,4 million de dollars).

Les dépenses prévues en 2017–2018 sont inférieures de 19,8 millions de dollars à celles de 2016–2017. Cela est dû principalement à ce qui suit :

  • La cessation, à la fin de 2016–2017, du financement temporaire prévu dans les présentations au Conseil du Trésor 2012 et 2014 (5,7 millions de dollars), qui visait les programmes de sécurité, de sûreté et de sensibilisation du public de l’Office;
  • La cessation du financement temporaire pour les mégaprojets dont la majorité se terminent à la fin de 2016–2017 (6,4 millions de dollars);
  • Diminution des fonds pour la partie du budget 2015 réservée à l’exploitation et à l’entretien, regroupée en début d’exercice avec les contrats et la formation pour accélérer les initiatives reliées à la sécurité, à la protection environnementale et à l’engagement auprès des Canadiens (4,0 millions de dollars);
  • Diminution des fonds reportés du budget de fonctionnement de 2016–2017 à 2017–2018, vu que le financement par crédits de l’Office devrait être intégral en 2016–2017 (3,3 millions de dollars).

Environ 95 % des comptes de crédits de l’Office sont récupérés auprès des sociétés réglementées; les fonds sont versés directement au Trésor conformément au Règlement sur le recouvrement des frais de l’Office national de l’énergie, pris en application du paragraphe 24.1(1) de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie. L’Office n’a pas le pouvoir d’augmenter unilatéralement son ratio pour le recouvrement des coûts auprès des sociétés réglementées. Le Parlement doit prendre cette décision.

À l’heure actuelle, l’Office ne recouvre pas les coûts liés au travail effectué en application de la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada et de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures, qui représentent environ 5 % de ses frais de fonctionnement. La Loi sur la sûreté et la sécurité en matière énergétique, qui est entrée en vigueur le 26 février 2016, permet au gouverneur en conseil de prendre un règlement pour recouvrer les coûts auprès des sociétés réglementées sous le régime de la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada.

Dépenses par crédit voté

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet des dépenses votées et législatives de l’Office national de l’énergie, veuillez consulter les Comptes publics du Canada 2016.

Harmonisation des dépenses avec le cadre pangouvernemental

Harmonisation des dépenses réelles pour 2015–2016 avec le cadre pangouvernemental (en dollars)
Programme Secteur de dépenses Résultat du gouvernement du Canada Dépenses réelles
2015–2016
1.1 : Réglementation de l’énergie Affaires économiques Une croissance économique forte 43 185 092
1.2 : Information sur l’énergie Affaires économiques Une croissance économique forte 9 018 344
Total des dépenses par secteur de dépenses (en dollars)
Secteur de dépenses Total des dépenses prévues Total des dépenses réelles
Affaires économiques 58 253 788 52 203 436
Affaires sociales 0 0
Affaires internationales 0 0
Affaires gouvernementales 0 0

États financiers et Faits saillants des états financiers

États financiers

Les états financiers de l’Office sont disponibles sur son site Web.

Faits saillants des états financiers

Conformément à la politique du Conseil du Trésor indiquant que les rapports financiers doivent respecter les principes comptables généralement reconnus (PCCR), l’Office national de l’énergie a utilisé la comptabilité d’exercice pendant toute la période à l’étude. Les tableaux ci-dessous présentent les faits saillants des états des opérations et des états financiers de l’Office, tels qu’ils sont présentés dans les états financiers pour l’exercice 2015–2016. Il est à noter qu’il existe des écarts entre les données fournies dans ces tableaux et celles mentionnées dans les autres sections du présent rapport, ce dernier étant préparé selon la comptabilité des crédits modifiée.

État condensé des opérations
Pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016 (en dollars)
Information financière Résultats prévus
2015–2016
Réels
2015–2016
Réels
2014–2015
Écart
(réels 2015–2016
moins
prévus 2015–2016)
Écart
(réels 2015–2016
moins
réels 2014–2015)
Total des charges 91 503 211 98 624 642 90 281 795 7 121 431 8 342 847
Total des charges Total des revenus - - - - -
Coût de fonctionnement net
avant le financement du gouvernement
et les transferts
91 503 211 98 624 642 90 281 795 7 121 431 8 342 847

L’écart entre les dépenses réelles et prévues en 2015–2016 est dû principalement au financement supplémentaire reçu (budget 2015) au quatrième trimestre de 2015–2016 pour couvrir les dépenses reliées à la sécurité, à la protection environnementale et à l’accroissement de l’engagement auprès des Canadiens.

L’augmentation considérable des dépenses réelles par rapport à l’année précédente est due principalement aux facteurs suivants : paiements de transfert plus élevés pour le Programme d’aide financière aux participants (2,2 millions de dollars); hausse au chapitre des salaires reliée surtout à l’embauche d’ETP à partir du budget 2015 pour la sécurité, la protection environnementale et l’engagement amélioré auprès des Canadiens (4,2 millions de dollars); augmentation de l’amortissement due principalement à une tenure à bail améliorée du nouveau bureau à Calgary (1,3 million de dollars); augmentation des services professionnels principalement pour les initiatives centrales, la gestion du changement et le processus d’audience (3,2 millions de dollars). Parallèlement à cela, on note une baisse des coûts liés au déménagement dans un nouveau bureau à Calgary (2,6 millions de dollars).

État condensé de la situation financière
Au 31 mars 2016 (en dollars)
Information financière 2015–2016 2014–2015 Écart
(2015-2016
moins
2014-2015)
Total des passifs nets 19 031 783 28 439 130 (9 407 347)
Total des actifs financiers nets 13 189 146 11 847 875 1 341 271
Dette nette du ministère 5 843 637 16 591 255 (10 747 618)
Total des actifs non financiers 22 873 096 24 928 416 (2 055 320)
Situation financière nette du ministère 17 029 459 8 337 161 8 692 298

Le total des passifs nets et la dette nette du ministère ont diminué de respectivement 9,4 millions de dollars et 10,7 millions de dollars, alors que la situation financière nette du ministère a augmenté de 8,7 millions de dollars. Cela est dû principalement aux redevances ajustées en vertu du paragraphe 5.2(1) du Règlement sur le recouvrement des frais de l’Office national de l’énergie, qui ont été perçues auprès de parties nouvellement réglementées en 2014–2015. En 2014–2015, il y avait des sommes à verser de 11 millions de dollars, représentant des redevances perçues auprès de parties nouvellement réglementées. Ces montants ont réduit les redevances payables par les autres parties réglementées et ont été inscrits à titre de sommes à verser à celles-ci jusqu’à ce que l’ajustement soit effectué l’année suivant la facturation des redevances aux termes du paragraphe 5.2(1).

Date de modification :