Quarterly Financial Report - For the quarter ended 30 June 2017

Quarterly Financial Report - For the quarter ended 30 June 2017 [PDF 136 KB]

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program

Introduction

The quarterly financial report for the National Energy Board (NEB or Board):

  • Should be read in conjunction with Main Estimates;
  • has been prepared by management as required by Section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act (FAA) and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board (TB); and
  • has not been subject to an external audit or review.

A summary description of the NEB’s core responsibilities can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates.

The Board’s strategic priorities are: Leading Regulatory Excellence, Taking Action on Safety and Engaging with Canadians.

The NEB receives its funding through annual Parliamentary authorities.  The majority of expenditures are subsequently recovered from the companies regulated by the NEB and the funds are deposited in the Consolidated Revenue Fund of the Government of Canada.

Basis of Presentation

The quarterly financial report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the National Energy Board’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department, consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the 2017-18 fiscal years. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The National Energy Board uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Fiscal Year to Date Results

Planned expenditures analysis

As reflected in the Statement of Authorities, the department’s planned expenditures in the fiscal year as at March 31, 2018 is $85.67 million (M), as compared to $89.43 M as at March 31, 2017. The decrease of $3.76 M is primarily: a decrease of $5.09 M related to Budget 2012 Pipeline Safety Program funding sun setting; a decrease of $3.60 M related to Budget 2014 Regulatory Review of Mega Projects funding sun setting; a decrease of $4.01 M related to Budget 2015 for Energy Transportation Infrastructure; a decrease of $0.71 M related to the rate reduction for Employee Benefit Plan; an increase of $3.84 M related to Budget 2016 for  Interim Strategy on Pipelines Program; and an increase of $5.81 M increase related to Budget 2017 which renewed sunset funding for Budget 2012 Pipeline Safety Program and the Public Awareness portion of the Budget 2014 Regulatory Review of Mega Projects funding.

Actual Expenditures analysis

As reflected in the Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object, the department’s actual expenditures in the first quarter of this fiscal year are $5.36 M, as compared to $18.78 M same period last year. The decrease of $13.42 M in actual expenditures is primarily due to a decrease of $12.46 M in personnel, compared to the same period last fiscal year. This is salaries from period one to three that have not been entered into the system as a result of Departmental Results Framework implementation to the financial system. Access to enter expenditures into the financial system was unavailable until the last week of June 2017.

Risks and Uncertainties

Due to the nature of its mandate, the NEB’s expenditures are influenced by planned and unplanned events (internal and external) that create uncertainty in expenditure and resource pressures. The NEB’s responsibilities are not only shaped by emerging energy trends, but also by the proactive consideration of safety, environmental, societal and economic trends that may influence the NEB’s ability to carry out its responsibilities in the Canadian public interest.

Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs

The NEB is an early adopter of the Departmental Results Framework under the TB Policy on Results in 2017-18, which will change the way we assess our performance. The NEB has developed more clearly defined programs, activities and initiatives to establish a baseline for performance measurement.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by,

The original version was signed by
_________________________________
C. Peter Watson, P. Eng. FCAE
Chair and CEO

(Calgary, Canada)
(29 August 2017)

The original version was signed by Sandy Leveque, Acting Chief Financial Officer for
_________________________________
Paula Futoransky
Chief Financial Officer

STATEMENT OF AUTHORITIES
(unaudited)

Fiscal year 2017-2018 and Fiscal year 2016-2017
(in thousands
of dollars)
Fiscal year 2017-2018 Fiscal year 2016-2017
  Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2018Table Note a Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2017 Year to date used at quarter-end Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2017Table Note a Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end
Operating expenditures 77,404 3,518 3,518 80,581 16,570 16,570
Contributions to employee benefit plans 8,268 1,840 1,840 8,844 2,211 2,211
Total Budgetary authorities 85,672 5,358 5,358 89,425 18,781 18,781
Non-budgetary authorities            
Total authorities 85,672 5,358 5,358 89,425 18,781 18,781

DEPARTMENTAL BUDGETARY EXPENDITURES BY STANDARD OBJECT (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2017-2018 and Fiscal year 2016-2017
  Fiscal year 2017-2018 Fiscal year 2016-2017
(in thousands of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2018 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2017 Year to date used at quarter-end Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2017 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 59,685 3,384 3,384 60,265 15,839 15,839
Transportation and communications 4,442 248 248 5,228 696 696
Information 506 19 19 498 88 88
Professional and special services 12,337 885 885 15,684 1,514 1,514
Rentals 809 5 5 1,494 55 55
Repair and maintenance 607 78 78 996 331 331
Utilities, materials and supplies 506 55 55 498 49 49
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 27 27
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,416 520 520 498 43 43
Transfer payments 5,364 160 160 4,264 130 130
Public debt charges
Other subsidies and payments 4 4 9 9
Total gross budgetary expenditures 85,672 5,358 5,358 89,425 18,781 18,781
Less            
Total Revenues netted against expenditures
Total net budgetary expenditures 85,672 5,358 5,358 89,425 18,781 18,781
Date modified:

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2017

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2017 [PDF 136 ko]

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Introduction

Le rapport financier trimestriel de l’Office national de l’énergie...

La partie II du Budget principal des dépenses renferme une description sommaire des responsabilités essentielles de l’Office.

Les priorités stratégiques de l’Office sont les suivantes : faire preuve d’excellence en matière de réglementation, être actif dans le domaine de la sécurité et se rapprocher des Canadiens.

Le financement de l’Office provient d’autorisations parlementaires annuelles. L’Office recouvre ultérieurement la majorité de ses dépenses auprès des sociétés qu’il réglemente et les montants recouvrés sont déposés dans le Trésor du gouvernement du Canada.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Le rapport financier trimestriel a été produit par la direction à l’aide d’une méthode de comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint au rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par l’Office, de manière cohérente avec le budget principal des dépenses et le budget supplémentaire des dépenses pour l’exercice 2017-2018. Le présent rapport trimestriel a été établi à l’aide d’un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière ayant trait à l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut pas dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées sous forme de limites annuelles, au moyen de lois de crédits, ou sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées, au moyen de lois.

L’Office utilise la méthode de la comptabilité financière intégrale pour préparer et présenter ses états financiers annuels, qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement. Néanmoins, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement demeurent axées sur les dépenses.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs à ce jour

Analyse des dépenses prévues

Comme il est indiqué dans l’état des autorisations, les dépenses prévues de l’organisation s’élèvent à 85,67 millions de dollars pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018, comparativement à 89,43 millions de dollars au 31 mars 2017. La diminution de 3,76 millions de dollars correspond essentiellement à ce qui suit : baisse de 5,09 millions de dollars reliée à la temporisation du financement pour le programme de sûreté des pipelines dans le budget de 2012; baisse de 3,60 millions de dollars reliée à la temporisation du financement des examens réglementaires de mégaprojets d’infrastructure énergétique dans le budget de 2014; baisse de 4,01 millions de dollars reliée à l’infrastructure de transport d’énergie dans le budget de 2015; baisse de 0,71 million de dollars reliée au taux de réduction du Régime d’avantages sociaux des employés; augmentation de 3,84 millions de dollars pour la stratégie provisoire visant les pipelines dans le budget de 2016; augmentation de 5,81 millions de dollars reliée au renouvellement, dans le budget de 2017, du financement temporisé pour le programme de sûreté des pipelines dans le budget de 2012 et pour la partie du financement des examens réglementaires de mégaprojets visant la sensibilisation du public dans le budget de 2014.

Analyse des dépenses réelles

Comme en témoignent les dépenses budgétaires par article courant, les dépenses réelles de l’organisation au cours du premier trimestre du présent exercice s’élèvent à 5,36 millions de dollars, comparativement à 18,78 millions de dollars à la période correspondante de l’exercice précédent. La diminution de 13,42 millions de dollars dans les dépenses réelles est attribuable principalement à une baisse de 12,46 millions de dollars pour le personnel comparativement à la même période du dernier exercice financier. Il s’agit des salaires de la première à la troisième période qui n’ont pas été saisis dans le système par suite de la mise en œuvre du cadre ministériel des résultats dans le système financier. L’accès n’était pas disponible jusqu’à la dernière semaine de juin 2017.

Risques et incertitudes

Les dépenses de l’Office varient en fonction d’événements prévus et imprévus, à l’interne comme à l’externe, qui sont à l’origine d’incertitudes et de pressions sur les ressources. Les responsabilités de l’Office ne sont pas uniquement façonnées par les tendances émergentes en matière énergétique, mais aussi par l’analyse proactive des tendances dans les domaines de la sécurité, de l’environnement et de l’économie ainsi que dans la société en général. Ces tendances peuvent influer sur la capacité de l’Office de s’acquitter de ses obligations dans l’intérêt public canadien.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

L’Office a tôt fait d’adopter le cadre ministériel des résultats, conformément à la Politique sur les résultats du Conseil du Trésor en 2017-2018, qui change le mode d’évaluation de notre rendement. L’Office a élaboré des programmes, des activités et des initiatives plus clairement définis afin d’établir une base pour la mesure du rendement.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

Le président et premier dirigeant,

La version originale a été signée par

____________________________
C. Peter Watson, P.Eng. FCAE

(Calgary, Canada)
(29 août 2017)
La dirigeante principale des finances,

La version originale a été signée par le dirigeant principal des finances par intérim, Sandy Leveque, pour

________________________
Paula Futoransky

ÉTAT DES AUTORISATIONS (non audité)

Exercice 2017-2018 et Exercice 2016-2017
(en milliers
de dollars)
Exercice 2017-2018 Exercice 2016-2017
  Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2018Note de tableau a Crédits utilisés au trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2017Note de tableau a Crédits utilisés au trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses de fonctionnement 77 404 3 518 3 518 80 581 16 570 16 570
Contributions aux régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés 8 268 1 840 1 840 8 844 2 211 2 211
Total des autorisations budgétaires 85 672 5 358 5 358 89 425 18 781 18 781
Autorisations non budgétaires            
Total des autorisations 85 672 5 358 5 358 89 425 18 781 18 781

DÉPENSES BUDGÉTAIRES PAR ARTICLE COURANT (non audité)

Exercice 2017-2018 et Exercice 2016-2017
  Exercice 2017-2018 Exercice 2016-2017
(en milliers
de dollars)
Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2018 Crédits utilisés au trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2017 Crédits utilisés au trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 59 685 3 384 3 384 60 265 15 839 15 839
Transports et communications 4 442 248 248 5 228 696 696
Information 506 19 19 498 88 88
Services professionnels et spéciaux 12 337 885 885 15 684 1 514 1 514
Locations 809 5 5 1 494 55 55
Réparation et entretien 607 78 78 996 331 331
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 506 55 55 498 49 49
Acquisition des terrains, de bâtiments et de travaux 27 27
Acquisition de machines et de matériel 1 416 520 520 498 43 43
Paiements de transfert 5 364 160 160 4 264 130 130
Frais de la dette publique
Autres subventions et paiements 4 4 9 9
Total des dépenses budgétaires brutes 85 672 5 358 5 358 89 425 18 781 18 781
Moins            
Total des produits affectés aux dépenses
Total des dépenses budgétaires nettes 85 672 5 358 5 358 89 425 18 781 18 781
Date de modification :