ARCHIVED - Quarterly Financial Report - For the quarter ended 30 September 2012

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Quarterly Financial Report - For the quarter ended 30 September 2012 [PDF 155 KB]

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program

Introduction

The quarterly financial report for the National Energy Board (NEB or Board):

  • should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates;
  • has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board; and
  • has not been subject to an external audit or review.

The Board’s top priorities are the protection of the environment, and the safety of the public and the people who build and operate NEB-regulated pipeline facilities. The Board has taken action to hold those we regulate accountable for results in the public interest with a rigorous compliance monitoring and enforcement program.

A summary description of the NEB’s program activities can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates.

The NEB receives most of its funding through annual Parliamentary authorities. The majority of these expenditures are subsequently recovered from the companies regulated by the NEB and the funds are deposited in the Consolidated Revenue Fund of the Government of Canada.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the National Energy Board’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department, consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the 2012-13 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The National Energy Board uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

As part of the Parliamentary business of supply, the Main Estimates must be tabled in Parliament on or before March 1 preceding the new fiscal year. Budget 2012 was tabled in Parliament on March 29, after the tabling of the Main Estimates on February 28, 2012. As a result the measures announced in the Budget 2012 could not be reflected in the 2012-13 Main Estimates.

In fiscal year 2012-2013, frozen allotments will be established by Treasury Board authority in departmental votes to prohibit the spending of funds already identified as savings measures in Budget 2012. In future years, the changes to departmental authorities will be implemented through the Annual Reference Level Update, as approved by Treasury Board, and reflected in the subsequent Main Estimates tabled in Parliament.

Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Fiscal Year to Date Results

Actual Expenditures

The significant variances in the second quarter and year-to-date expenditures between 2011-12 and 2012-13 are as follows:

  • Personnel expenditures are up by $1.2M in the first two quarters of 2012-13 over the same period in the previous year. This increase is due to the timing of expenditures for such things as a) planned leaves and b) amended Terms and Conditions of Employment for certain classifications.
  • Overall travel and communications spending is approximately $200K greater than 2011-12. This is due to a net increase in hearing and review related travel.

Planned Expenditures

Authorities increased by almost $9.3M in the second quarter of 2012-13 as identified below:

  • 2011-12 Operating Budget Carryforward - $2.5M
  • Budget 2012 initiative to strengthen pipeline safety - $5.9M
  • Reimbursement of eligible paylist and severance payouts - $0.9M

The allocation of these additional authorities contributed to the following significant variances in 2012-13 planned spending compared to 2011-12.

  • Planned personnel expenditures have increased by $1.6M over 2011-12. This represents the net effect of $4.3M for additional staff to strengthen pipeline safety and the allocation of the reimbursement received for eligible paylist and severance payouts ($0.9M), offset by a decrease of $3.1M related to the expiration of the collective agreement on 31 October 2011. It is expected that funding for the collective agreement will be received prior to 31 March 2013.
  • The additional funding for pipeline safety received through Budget 2012 has contributed to an increase of $1.0 in planned spending for the acquisition of machinery and equipment over 2011-12.
  • Transfer Payments represents the NEB’s Participant Funding Program (PFP) which is used to provide financial assistance to support the engagement of Aboriginal groups, landowners, not-for-profit organizations and other eligible persons in the regulatory assessment processes for major facility projects. The increase of 217% or $3.0M in planned spending from 2011-12 to 2012-13 reflects a specific purpose one time increase in funding.

Risks and Uncertainties

The NEB operates within an evolving economic, environmental and social landscape. Dynamics such as high levels of sovereign debt in industrialized economies worldwide and an abundant energy supply in North America have impacted energy markets. Due to the nature of its mandate, the NEB’s expenditures are influenced by planned and unplanned events (internal and external) that create uncertainty in expenditures and resource pressures.

The skills and experience needed by the NEB to fulfill its mandate are in high demand throughout the oil and gas industry. The NEB has experienced increasing attrition rates and non-productive staffing processes, highlighting a potential return to the very competitive recruitment environment for skilled staff within the energy sector. To mitigate this risk, the NEB has initiated a strong and strategic focus on recruitment and retention to ensure it has the right people, at the right time, for the right jobs.

The uncertain result of the ongoing negotiations related to the expiration of the current collective agreement on 31 October 2011 also creates a level of ambiguity related to staffing expenditures for the next few years.

Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs

The approval of additional personnel to enhance priority processes for the National Energy Board will result in an increase to NEB authorities.

Budget 2012 Implementation

This section provides an overview of the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 that will be implemented in order to refocus government and programs; make it easier for Canadians and business to deal with their government; and, modernize and reduce the back office.

The NEB is unaffected by the savings measure as announced in Budget 2012 however the department will receive $13.5 million over two years to strengthen pipeline safety. It is expected that inspections will increase from 100 to 150 per year and the number of annual comprehensive audits will double from 3 to 6.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by,

The original version was signed by
_________________________________
Gaétan Caron, Chair and CEO

(Calgary, Canada)
(29 November 2012)

The original version was signed by
_________________________________
Ed Jansen, Chief Financial Officer

STATEMENT OF AUTHORITIES (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2012-2013
(in thousands of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2013[a] Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end

More information is available in the attached table.

[a] Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Vote 25 - Net Operating expenditures 61,846 15,070 27,414
Budgetary statutory authorities 6,520 1,624 3,247
Total Budgetary authorities 68,366 16,694 30,661
Non-budgetary authorities      
Total authorities 68,366 16,694 30,661
Fiscal year 2011-2012
(in thousands of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012 Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 25 - Net Operating expenditures 55,024 13,521 26,013
Budgetary statutory authorities 7,099 1,775 3,549
Total Budgetary authorities 62,123 15,296 29,562
Non-budgetary authorities      
Total authorities 62,123 15,296 29,562

More information is available in the attached table.
* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

DEPARTMENTAL BUDGETARY EXPENDITURES BY STANDARD OBJECT (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2012-2013
(in thousands of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013 Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:      
Personnel 48,524 13,728 25,599
Transportation and communications 3,898 998 1,612
Information 700 55 174
Professional and special services 6,897 1,396 2,276
Rentals 415 150 224
Repair and maintenance 1,041 133 295
Utilities, materials and supplies 699 89 146
Acquisition of land, buildings and works - - -
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,397 50 126
Transfer payments 4,340 59 123
Public debt charges - - -
Other subsidies and payments 455 36 86
Total net budgetary expenditures 68,366 16,694 30,661
Fiscal year 2011-2012
(in thousands of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012 Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:      
Personnel 46,903 12,500 24,531
Transportation and communications 3,711 791 1,415
Information 361 105 146
Professional and special services 7,403 1,406 2,524
Rentals 328 173 214
Repair and maintenance 826 54 352
Utilities, materials and supplies 790 104 173
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 49 - -
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 331 78 103
Transfer payments 1,366 63 63
Public debt charges - - -
Other subsidies and payments 55 22 41
Total net budgetary expenditures 62,123 15,296 29,562
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Rapport financier trimestriel - Trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2012

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Rapport financier trimestriel - Trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2012 [PDF 203 ko]

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Introduction

Le rapport financier tLe rapport financier trimestriel de l’Office national de l’énergie...

  • devrait être lu parallèlement avec le budget principal des dépenses;
  • a été établi par la direction conformément à l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor;
  • n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification ou d’un examen externe.

Les priorités absolues de l’Office sont la protection de l’environnement ainsi que la sécurité du public et des personnes qui construisent ou exploitent les installations pipelinières de son ressort. En s’appuyant sur un programme rigoureux de surveillance de la conformité et de mise en application, l’Office a pris des mesures visant à tenir les sociétés qu’il réglemente responsables de produire des résultats qui sont dans l’intérêt du public.

Une description sommaire des activités de programme se trouve dans la partie II du Budget principal des dépenses.

La plus grande partie du financement de l’Office provient d’autorisations parlementaires annuelles. L’Office recouvre ultérieurement la majorité de ces dépenses auprès des sociétés qu’il réglemente et les montants recouvrés sont déposés dans le Trésor du gouvernement du Canada.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été produit par la direction à l’aide d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par l’Office, de manière cohérente avec le budget principal des dépenses et le budget supplémentaire des dépenses pour l’exercice 2012-2013. Le présent rapport trimestriel a été établi à l’aide d’un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière ayant trait à l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut pas dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées sous forme de limites annuelles, au moyen de lois de crédits, ou sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées, au moyen de lois.

L’Office utilise la méthode de la comptabilité financière intégrale pour préparer et présenter ses états financiers annuels, qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement. Néanmoins, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement demeurent axées sur les dépenses.

Dans le cadre des travaux des subsides du Parlement, le Budget principal des dépenses doit être déposé au Parlement le 1er mars, ou avant cette date, précédant le début du nouvel exercice. Le budget de 2012 a été déposé au Parlement le 29 mars après le dépôt du Budget principal des dépenses le 28 février 2012. Par conséquent, les mesures annoncées dans le budget de 2012 ne figurent pas dans le Budget principal des dépenses 2012-2013.

Pour l’exercice 2012-2013, des affectations bloquées dans les crédits ministériels seront établies par le Conseil du Trésor en vue d’empêcher que les fonds déjà réservés pour des mesures d’économies dans le budget de 2012 ne soient décaissés. Au cours des exercices suivants, les modifications aux pouvoirs ministériels seront mises en oeuvre par l’intermédiaire de la mise à jour annuelle des niveaux de référence, approuvée par le Conseil du Trésor, et figureront dans le Budget principal des dépenses ultérieur déposé au Parlement.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs à ce jour

Dépenses réelles

Les écarts importants dans les dépenses du deuxième trimestre et les dépenses cumulatives à ce jour entre 2011-2012 et 2012-2013 sont les suivants :

  • les frais de personnel ont augmenté de 1,2 million de dollars au cours des deux premiers trimestres de 2012-2013 par rapport à la période correspondante de l’exercice précédent - cette augmentation est attribuable au moment où des dépenses découlant par exemple a) de congés prévus ou b) de la modification des conditions de certaines catégories d’emploi ont été engagées;
  • les frais de transports et communications dans leur ensemble sont supérieurs d’environ 200 000 $ à ce qu’ils étaient en 2011-2012 - cette hausse découle d’une augmentation nette des déplacements liés aux audiences et aux examens.

Dépenses prévues

Les autorisations ont augmenté de presque 9,3 millions de dollars aux deuxième trimestre pour les raisons suivantes :

  • report du budget de fonctionnement de 2011-2012 - 2,5 millions de dollars;
  • projet visant à renforcer la sécurité pipelinière dans le budget de 2012 - 5,9 millions de dollars;
  • remboursements admissibles liés au traitement et indemnités de départ - 0,9 million de dollars.

Ces autorisations supplémentaires ont contribué aux écarts importants suivants à l’égard des dépenses prévues en 2012-2013 comparativement à celles de 2011-2012.

  • Les frais de personnel prévus ont augmenté de 1,6 million de dollars par rapport à 2011-2012. Ce montant représente l’incidence nette d’une somme de 4,3 millions de dollars à consacrer à l’ajout de personnel en vue de renforcer la sécurité pipelinière ainsi que des remboursements admissibles liés au traitement et indemnités de départ (0,9 million de dollars), neutralisée par une diminution de 3,1 millions de dollars attribuable à l’échéance de la convention collective le 31 octobre 2011. Il est prévu que des fonds en rapport avec la convention collective seront reçus avant le 31 mars 2013.
  • Le financement supplémentaire obtenu pour la sécurité pipelinière dans le budget de 2012 a été à l’origine d’une hausse de 1,0 million de dollars des dépenses prévues en vue de l’acquisition de machines et de matériel comparativement à 2011-2012.
  • Les paiements de transfert correspondent aux montants engagés par l’Office dans le programme d’aide financière aux participants à l’appui de la participation des groupes autochtones, des propriétaires fonciers, des organisations à but non lucratif et des autres personnes admissibles aux processus d’examen réglementaire des grands projets d’installations. L’accroissement de 217 %, ou 3,0 millions de dollars, des dépenses prévues de 2011-2012 à 2012-2013 rend compte d’une augmentation unique de l’aide financière à des fins précises.

Risques et incertitudes

Les conditions économiques, environnementales et sociales dans lesquelles l’Office évolue ne cessent de changer. Une conjoncture mettant en présence une forte dette souveraine des pays industrialisés et une offre énergétique abondante en Amérique du Nord a eu des répercussions sur les marchés de l’énergie. En raison de la nature de son mandat, les dépenses de l’Office varient en fonction d’événements imprévus, à l’interne comme à l’extérieur, qui sont à l’origine d’incertitudes et de pressions sur les ressources.

Les compétences et l’expérience nécessaires à l’Office pour qu’il remplisse son mandat sont en forte demande partout dans l’industrie pétrolière et gazière. L’Office a connu une hausse des taux d’attrition et du nombre de processus de dotation improductifs, ce qui laisse croire à un retour possible à un monde fortement concurrentiel pour le recrutement de personnel spécialisé dans le secteur. Afin d’atténuer ce risque, l’Office favorise des activités de recrutement stratégiques très ciblées en vue du maintien en poste des bonnes personnes, embauchées au moment opportun dans le but d’accomplir les tâches voulues.

La convention collective a pris fin le 31 octobre 2011 et même si des négociations sont en cours pour son renouvellement, il n’en demeure pas moins qu’il existe un certain degré d’incertitude quant aux dépenses liées à la dotation pour les prochaines années.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

L’approbation d’un ajout à l’effectif pour l’amélioration des processus prioritaires à l’Office sera à l’origine d’une hausse des autorisations accordées.

Mise en oeuvre du budget de 2012

La présente section donne un aperçu des mesures d’économie annoncées dans le budget de 2012 et qui seront mises en oeuvre dans le but de recentrer le gouvernement et les programmes, de faciliter les rapports des Canadiens et des entreprises avec leur gouvernement ainsi que de moderniser et de rationaliser les services administratifs.

L’Office n’est pas touché par les mesures d’économie annoncées dans le budget de 2012 et il recevra 13,5 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour renforcer la sécurité pipelinière. Les inspections devraient ainsi passer de 100 à 150 par année, et le nombre d’audits exhaustifs devrait pour sa part doubler et passer de 3 à 6 par année.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

La version originale a été signée par

Le président et premier dirigeant,

____________________________
Gaétan Caron

(Calgary, Canada)
Le 29 novembre 2012
La version originale a été signée par

Le dirigeant principal des finances,

________________________
Ed Jansen, CA

ÉTAT DES AUTORISATIONS (non vérifié)

Exercice financier 2012-2013
(en milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013[a] Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre

Voir le tableau qui suit pour un complément d’information.

[a] Ne comprend que les autorisations disponibles accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Crédit 25 - Dépenses de fonctionnement nettes 61,846 15,070 27,414
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 6,520 1,624 3,247
Total des autorisations budgétaires 68,366 16,694 30,661
Autorisations non budgétaires      
Total des autorisations 68,366 16,694 30,661
Exercice financier 2011-2012
(en milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 25 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 55 024 13 521 26 013
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 7 099 1 775 3 549
Autorités budgétaires totales 62 123 15 296 29 562
Autorisations non budgétaires      
Autorisations totales 62 123 15 296 29 562

Voir le tableau qui suit pour un complément d’information.
* Ne comprend que les autorisations disponibles accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

DÉPENSES MINISTÉRIELLES BUDGÉTAIRES PAR ARTICLE COURANT (non vérifié)

Exercice financier 2012-2013
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013 Crédits utilisés au trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :      
Personnel 48 524 13 728 25 599
Transports et communications 3 898 998 1 612
Renseignements 700 55 174
Services professionnels et spéciaux 6 897 1 396 2 276
Locations 415 150 224
Réparation et entretien 1 041 133 295
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 699 89 146
Acquisition des terrains, de bâtiments et d'installations - - -
Acquisition de machines et de matériel 1 397 50 126
Paiements de transfert 4 340 59 123
Frais de la dette publique - - -
Autres subventions et paiements 455 36 86
Total des dépenses budgétaires nettes 68 366 16 694 30 661

 

Exercice financier 2011-2012
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2012 Crédits utilisés au trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :      
Personnel 46 903 12 500 24 531
Transports et communications 3 711 791 1 415
Renseignements 361 105 146
Services professionnels et spéciaux 7 403 1 406 2 524
Locations 328 173 214
Réparation et entretien 826 54 352
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 790 104 173
Acquisition des terrains, de bâtiments et d'installations 49 - -
Acquisition de machines et de matériel 331 78 103
Paiements de transfert 1 366 63 63
Frais de la dette publique - - -
Autres subventions et paiements 55 22 41
Total des dépenses budgétaires nettes 62 123 15 296 29 562
Date de modification :