ARCHIVED - Quarterly Financial Report - For the quarter ended 31 December 2012

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Quarterly Financial Report - For the quarter ended 31 December 2012 [PDF 102 KB]

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program

Introduction

The quarterly financial report for the National Energy Board (NEB or Board):

  • should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates;
  • has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board; and
  • has not been subject to an external audit or review.

The Board’s top priorities are the protection of the environment, and the safety of the public and the people who build and operate NEB-regulated pipeline facilities. The Board has taken action to hold those we regulate accountable for results in the public interest with a rigorous compliance monitoring and enforcement program.

A summary description of the NEB’s program activities can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates.

The NEB receives most of its funding through annual Parliamentary authorities.The majority of these expenditures are subsequently recovered from the companies regulated by the NEB and the funds are deposited in the Consolidated Revenue Fund of the Government of Canada.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the National Energy Board’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department, consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the 2012-13 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The National Energy Board uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

As part of the Parliamentary business of supply, the Main Estimates must be tabled in Parliament on or before March 1 preceding the new fiscal year.  Budget 2012 was tabled in Parliament on March 29, after the tabling of the Main Estimates on February 28, 2012.  As a result the measures announced in the Budget 2012 could not be reflected in the 2012-13 Main Estimates.

In fiscal year 2012-2013, frozen allotments will be established by Treasury Board authority in departmental votes to prohibit the spending of funds already identified as savings measures in Budget 2012.  In future years, the changes to departmental authorities will be implemented through the Annual Reference Level Update, as approved by Treasury Board, and reflected in the subsequent Main Estimates tabled in Parliament.

Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Fiscal Year to Date Results

Actual Expenditures

The significant variances in the third quarter and year-to-date expenditures between 2011-12 and 2012-13 are as follows:

  • Personnel expenditures are up by $1.8M in the first three quarters of 2012-13 over the same period in the previous year.  A portion of this increase is due to the timing of expenditures for planned leaves and amended Terms and Conditions of Employment for certain classifications.  The remaining increase is a result of staffing actions that were completed in Q3.
  • Overall travel and communications spending is approximately $440K greater than 2011-12.  This is due to a net increase in hearing and review related travel.

Planned Expenditures

Authorities increased by approximately $4.6M during the third quarter of 2012-13 with the receipt of the funding to cover 2012-13 salary allowances as well as additional reimbursements for eligible paylist and severance payouts.

The allocation of these additional authorities, combined with the $9.3M previously received in 2012-13 were contributing factors to the following variances in planned spending compared to the same period in 2011-12.

  • Planned personnel expenditures are now expected to be approximately $6.2M greater than 2011-12.  This increase is a result of the funding for additional staff to strengthen pipeline safety that was received in the second quarter and the allocation of the reimbursement received for eligible paylist and severance payouts.
  • The additional funding for pipeline safety received through Budget 2012 has contributed to an increase of $1.0M in planned spending for the acquisition of  machinery and equipment over 2011-12.
  • Transfer Payments represents the NEB’s Participant Funding Program (PFP) which is used to provide financial assistance to support the engagement of Aboriginal groups, landowners, not-for-profit organizations and other eligible persons in the regulatory assessment processes for major facility projects.  The increase of 217% or $3.0M in planned spending from 2011-12 to 2012-13 reflects a specific purpose one time increase in funding.

Risks and Uncertainties

The NEB operates within an evolving economic, environmental and social landscape. Dynamics such as high levels of sovereign debt in industrialized economies worldwide and an abundant energy supply in North America have impacted energy markets. Due to the nature of its mandate, the NEB’s expenditures are influenced by planned and unplanned events (internal and external) that create uncertainty in expenditures and resource pressures.

The skills and experience needed by the NEB to fulfill its mandate are in high demand throughout the oil and gas industry. The NEB has experienced increasing attrition rates and non-productive staffing processes, highlighting a potential return to the very competitive recruitment environment for skilled staff within the energy sector. To mitigate this risk, the NEB has initiated a strong and strategic focus on recruitment and retention to ensure it has the right people, at the right time, for the right jobs.

The uncertain result of the ongoing negotiations related to the expiration of the current collective agreement on 31 October 2011 also creates a level of ambiguity related to staffing expenditures for the next few years.

Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs

The approval of additional personnel to enhance priority processes for the National Energy Board will result in an increase to NEB authorities. 

Budget 2012 Implementation

This section provides an overview of the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 that will be implemented in order to refocus government and programs; make it easier for Canadians and business to deal with their government; and, modernize and reduce the back office.

The NEB is unaffected by the savings measure as announced in Budget 2012 however the department will receive $13.5 million over two years to strengthen pipeline safety. It is expected that inspections will increase from 100 to 150 per year and the number of annual comprehensive audits will double from 3 to 6.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by,

The original version was signed by
_________________________________
Gaétan Caron, Chair and CEO

(Calgary, Canada)
(25 February 2013)

The original version was signed by
_________________________________
Ed Jansen, Chief Financial Officer

STATEMENT OF AUTHORITIES (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2012-2013
(in thousands of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2013 Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 25 - Net Operating expenditures 66,459 15,175 42,589
Budgetary statutory authorities 6,520 1,624 4,871
Total Budgetary authorities 72,979 16,799 47,460
Non-budgetary authorities      
Total authorities 72,979 16,799 47,460
Fiscal year 2011-2012
(in thousands of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012 Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 25 - Net Operating expenditures 57,024 13,757 40,169
Budgetary statutory authorities 7,099 1,775 5,324
Total Budgetary authorities 64,123 15,532 45,493
Non-budgetary authorities      
Total authorities 64,123 15,532 45,493

DEPARTMENTAL BUDGETARY EXPENDITURES BY STANDARD OBJECT (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2012-2013
(in thousands of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:      
Personnel 53,137 12,989 38,588
Transportation and communications 3,898 1,233 2,845
Information 700 389 563
Professional and special services 6,897 1,683 3,959
Rentals 415 156 380
Repair and maintenance 1,041 37 332
Utilities, materials and supplies 699 161 307
Acquisition of land, buildings and works - - -
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,397 122 248
Transfer payments 4,340 - 123
Public debt charges - - -
Other subsidies and payments 455 29 115
Total gross budgetary expenditures 72,979 16,799 47,460
Fiscal year 2011-2012
(in thousands of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:      
Personnel 46,903 12,327 36,858
Transportation and communications 5,067 993 2,407
Information 361 49 195
Professional and special services 8,047 1,577 4,499
Rentals 328 177 391
Repair and maintenance 826 60 412
Utilities, materials and supplies 790 97 271
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 49 16 16
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 331 210 314
Transfer payments 1,366 26 89
Public debt charges - - -
Other subsidies and payments 55 0 41
Total gross budgetary expenditures 64,123 15,532 45,493
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Rapport financier trimestriel - Trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Rapport financier trimestriel - Trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012 [PDF 125 ko]

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Introduction

Le rapport financier trimestriel de l’Office national de l’énergie…

  • devrait être lu parallèlement avec le budget principal des dépenses;
  • a été établi par la direction conformément à l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor;
  • n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification ou d’un examen externe.

Les priorités absolues de l’Office sont la protection de l’environnement ainsi que la sécurité du public et des personnes qui construisent ou exploitent les installations pipelinières de son ressort. En s’appuyant sur un programme rigoureux de surveillance de la conformité et de mise en application, l’Office a pris des mesures visant à tenir les sociétés qu’il réglemente responsables de produire des résultats qui sont dans l’intérêt du public.

Une description sommaire des activités de programme se trouve dans la partie II du Budget principal des dépenses.

La plus grande partie du financement de l’Office provient d’autorisations parlementaires annuelles. L’Office recouvre ultérieurement la majorité de ces dépenses auprès des sociétés qu’il réglemente et les montants recouvrés sont déposés dans le Trésor du gouvernement du Canada.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été produit par la direction à l’aide d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par l’Office, de manière cohérente avec le budget principal des dépenses et le budget supplémentaire des dépenses pour l’exercice 2012-2013. Le présent rapport trimestriel a été établi à l’aide d’un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière ayant trait à l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser

Le gouvernement ne peut pas dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées sous forme de limites annuelles, au moyen de lois de crédits, ou sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées, au moyen de lois. L’Office utilise la méthode de la comptabilité financière intégrale pour préparer et présenter ses états financiers annuels, qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement. Néanmoins, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement demeurent axées sur les dépenses.

Dans le cadre des travaux des subsides du Parlement, le Budget principal des dépenses doit être déposé au Parlement le 1er mars, ou avant cette date, précédant le début du nouvel exercice. Le budget de 2012 a été déposé au Parlement le 29 mars après le dépôt du Budget principal des dépenses le 28 février 2012. Par conséquent, les mesures annoncées dans le budget de 2012 ne figurent pas dans le Budget principal des dépenses 2012-2013.

Pour l’exercice 2012-2013, des affectations bloquées dans les crédits ministériels seront établies par le Conseil du Trésor en vue d’empêcher que les fonds déjà réservés pour des mesures d’économies dans le budget de 2012 ne soient décaissés. Au cours des exercices suivants, les modifications aux pouvoirs ministériels seront mises en oeuvre par l’intermédiaire de la mise à jour annuelle des niveaux de référence, approuvée par le Conseil du Trésor, et figureront dans le Budget principal des dépenses ultérieur déposé au Parlement.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Dépenses réelles

Les écarts importants dans les dépenses du troisième trimestre et les dépenses cumulatives à ce jour entre 2011-2012 et 2012-2013 sont les suivants :

  • les frais de personnel ont augmenté de 1,8 million de dollars au cours des trois premiers trimestres de 2012-2013 par rapport à la période correspondante de l’exercice précédent – une partie de cette augmentation est attribuable au moment où des dépenses découlant de congés prévus et de la modification des conditions de certaines catégories d’emploi ont été engagées, le reste étant le résultat d’activités de dotation menées à terme au cours du troisième trimestre;
  • les frais de transports et communications dans leur ensemble sont supérieurs d’environ 440 000 $ à ce qu’ils étaient en 2011-2012 – cette hausse découle d’une augmentation nette des déplacements liés aux audiences et aux examens.

Dépenses prévues

Les autorisations ont augmenté de quelque 4,6 millions de dollars au troisième trimestre de 2012-2013 alors que des fonds ont été reçus en vue de leur affectation, au cours de ce même exercice, au traitement et à des remboursements supplémentaires admissibles à la rubrique traitement et indemnités de départ.

L’obtention de ces autorisations supplémentaires, ajoutées au montant de 9,3 millions de dollars précédemment reçu en 2012-2013, a contribué aux écarts suivants entre les dépenses prévues et celles engagées au cours de la période correspondante en 2011-2012.

  • Les frais de personnel prévus devraient maintenant être plus élevés d’environ 6,2 millions de dollars par rapport à ceux engagés en 2011-2012. Cette augmentation est le résultat des fonds reçus au deuxième trimestre pour du personnel supplémentaire afin de renforcer la sécurité des pipelines ainsi que des remboursements admissibles obtenus et affectés à la rubrique traitement et indemnités de départ.
  • Le financement supplémentaire obtenu pour la sécurité pipelinière dans le budget de 2012 a été à l’origine d’une hausse de 1,0 million de dollars des dépenses prévues en vue de l’acquisition de machines et de matériel comparativement à 2011-2012.
  • Les paiements de transfert correspondent aux montants engagés par l’Office dans le programme d’aide financière aux participants à l’appui de la participation des groupes autochtones, des propriétaires fonciers, des organisations à but non lucratif et des autres personnes admissibles aux processus d’examen réglementaire des grands projets d’installations. L’accroissement de 217 %, ou 3,0 millions de dollars, des dépenses prévues de 2011-2012 à 2012-2013 rend compte d’une augmentation unique de l’aide financière à des fins précises.

Risques et incertitudes

Les conditions économiques, environnementales et sociales dans lesquelles l’Office évolue ne cessent de changer. Une conjoncture mettant en présence une forte dette souveraine des pays industrialisés et une offre énergétique abondante en Amérique du Nord a eu des répercussions sur les marchés de l’énergie. En raison de la nature de son mandat, les dépenses de l’Office varient en fonction d’événements imprévus, à l’interne comme à l’extérieur, qui sont à l’origine d’incertitudes et de pressions sur les ressources.

Les compétences et l’expérience nécessaires à l’Office pour qu’il remplisse son mandat sont en forte demande partout dans l’industrie pétrolière et gazière. L’Office a connu une hausse des taux d’attrition et du nombre de processus de dotation improductifs, ce qui laisse croire à un retour possible à un monde fortement concurrentiel pour le recrutement de personnel spécialisé dans le secteur. Afin d’atténuer ce risque, l’Office favorise des activités de recrutement stratégiques très ciblées en vue du maintien en poste des bonnes personnes, embauchées au moment opportun dans le but d’accomplir les tâches voulues.

La convention collective a pris fin le 31 octobre 2011 et même si des négociations sont en cours pour son renouvellement, il n’en demeure pas moins qu’il existe un certain degré d’incertitude quant aux dépenses liées à la dotation pour les prochaines années.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

L’approbation d’un ajout à l’effectif pour l’amélioration des processus prioritaires à l’Office sera à l’origine d’une hausse des autorisations accordées.

Mise en oeuvre du budget de 2012

La présente section donne un aperçu des mesures d’économie annoncées dans le budget de 2012 et qui seront mises en oeuvre dans le but de recentrer le gouvernement et les programmes, de faciliter les rapports des Canadiens et des entreprises avec leur gouvernement ainsi que de moderniser et de rationaliser les services administratifs.

L’Office n’est pas touché par les mesures d’économie annoncées dans le budget de 2012 et il recevra 13,5 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour renforcer la sécurité pipelinière. Les inspections devraient ainsi passer de 100 à 150 par année, et le nombre d’audits exhaustifs devrait pour sa part doubler et passer de 3 à 6 par année.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

La version originale a été signée par

Le président et premier dirigeant,

____________________________
Gaétan Caron

(Calgary, Canada)
Le 25 février 2012
La version originale a été signée par

Le dirigeant principal des finances,

________________________
Ed Jansen

ÉTAT DES AUTORISATIONS (non vérifié)

Exercice financier 2012-2013
(en milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 25 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 66 459 15 175 42 589
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 6 520 1 624 4 871
Autorités budgétaires totales 72 979 16 799 47 460
Autorisations non budgétaires      
Autorisations totales 72 979 16 799 47 460
Exercice financier 2011-2012
(en milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 25 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 57 024 13 757 40 169
Autorisations législatives budgétaires 7 099 1 775 5 324
Autorités budgétaires totales 64 123 15 532 45 493
Autorisations non budgétaires      
Autorisations totales 64 123 15 532 45 493

DÉPENSES MINISTÉRIELLES BUDGÉTAIRES PAR ARTICLE COURANT (non vérifié)

Exercice financier 2012-2013
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013 Dépenses engagées durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :      
Personnel 53 137 12 989 38 588
Transports et communications 3 898 1 233 2 845
Renseignements 700 389 563
Services professionnels et spéciaux 6 897 1 683 3 959
Locations 415 156 380
Services de réparations et d’entretien 1 041 37 332
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 699 161 307
Acquisition des terrains, de bâtiments et d'installations - - -
Acquisition de machines et de matériel 1 397 122 248
Paiements de transfert 4 340 - 123
Frais de la dette publique - - -
Autres subventions et paiements 455 29 115
Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales 72 979 16 799 47 460
Exercice financier 2011-2012
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 Dépenses engagées durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :      
Personnel 46 903 12 327 36 858
Transports et communications 5 067 993 2 407
Renseignements 361 49 195
Services professionnels et spéciaux 8 047 1 577 4 499
Locations 328 177 391
Services de réparations et d’entretien 826 60 412
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 790 97 271
Acquisition des terrains, de bâtiments et d'installations 49 16 16
Acquisition de machines et de matériel 331 210 314
Paiements de transfert 1,366 26 89
Frais de la dette publique - - -
Autres subventions et paiements 55 0 41
Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales 64 123 15 532 45 493
Date de modification :