ARCHIVED - Quarterly Financial Report - For the quarter ended 31 December 2013

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Quarterly Financial Report - For the quarter ended 31 December 2013 [PDF 3009 KB]

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program

Introduction

The quarterly financial report for the National Energy Board (NEB or Board):

  • should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates;
  • has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board; and
  • has not been subject to an external audit or review.

The Board's top priorities are the continual improvement of safety and environmental outcomes, a robust regulatory framework for the North, and a flexible and efficient organization able to meet new and ongoing priorities.

A summary description of the NEB’s program activities can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates.

The NEB receives most of its funding through annual Parliamentary authorities.  The majority of these expenditures are subsequently recovered from the companies regulated by the NEB and the funds are deposited in the Consolidated Revenue Fund of the Government of Canada.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the National Energy Board’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department, consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the 2013-14 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The National Energy Board uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Fiscal Year to Date Results

Actual Expenditures

Year to date personnel spending at the end of the second quarter is $2.5M greater than the same period in the previous year as a result of additional staffing outlined in Budget 2012.  Additional information can be found in the Budget 2012 Implementation section of this document.

Transportation and communication and information spending decreased a total of $1.0M in 2013-14 from the previous year. Expenditures in these areas were greater in 2012-13 due to activity related to the Northern Gateway hearing. Professional and special services expenditures are $2.7M greater as compared to the same period in 2012-13. The majority of this increase is related to charges for the NEB office relocation that will take place in fiscal year 2014-15.

Planned Expenditures

Additional funding of $18.9M was received in Q3 and allocated as follows:

  • $5.6M allocated to personnel expenditures related to eligible paylist reimbursements and funding to cover 2013-14 salary allowances.
  • Additional funding of $12.3M for the NEB office relocation that will take place in fiscal year 2014-15.  This funding was allocated to professional and special services ($0.4M), rentals ($3.3M), acquisitions of land, buildings and works ($7.8M) and acquisition of machinery and equipment ($0.8M).
  • The 2012-13 operating budgets carry forward of $1.0M was also received in Q3 and the majority of this was allocated for IT related projects.

The allocation of this additional funding in Q3 resulted in significant variances in the areas of rentals and acquisition of land, buildings and works related to the office move. The other significant variance in 2013-14 planned spending is the reduction in transfer payments of $2.2M. The NEB’s Participant Funding Program received an additional $3.0M in special purpose funding in the previous year. Subsequently the projects associated with this one time funding were postponed and the $3.0 has been reprofiled; $0.75M was allocated to 2013-14 and $2.25M has been allocated to 2014-15.

Risks and Uncertainties

The NEB operates within an evolving economic, environmental and social landscape and due to the nature of its mandate the NEB’s expenditures are influenced by planned and unplanned events (internal and external) that create uncertainty in expenditures and resource pressures.  Parliamentarians and the public continue to show increased interest in the energy industry and concern regarding the safety and environmental impacts of energy pipeline incidents.  The NEB has responded to this concern by increasing their work in the area of safety and environment compliance and enforcement.  There has also been an increase in public hearings and requests under the Access to Information Act. As well, the NEB acquired new responsibilities as a result of changes to the NEB Act by the passing of the Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity Act.

The skills and experience needed by the NEB to fulfill its mandate are in high demand throughout the oil and gas industry. The NEB has experienced increasing attrition rates and non-productive staffing processes, highlighting the very competitive recruitment environment for skilled staff within the energy sector. To mitigate this risk, the NEB has initiated a strong and strategic focus on recruitment and retention to ensure it has the right people, at the right time, for the right jobs.

Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs

The approval of additional personnel to enhance priority processes for the National Energy Board has resulted in an increase to NEB authorities. 

Approval has been received to relocate the NEB offices in 2014-15.  The cost of this move will result in additional one-time authorities of $12.3M in 2013-14 (received in Q3 through Supplementary Estimate (B)) and $8.4M in 2014-15.

Budget 2012 Implementation

This section provides an overview of the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 that will be implemented in order to refocus government and programs; make it easier for Canadians and business to deal with their government; and, modernize and reduce the back office.

The NEB was unaffected by the savings measure announced in Budget 2012. Conversely the department received additional funding to strengthen pipeline safety.  Inspections increased from 100 to 150 per year and the number of annual comprehensive audits doubled from 3 to 6. 

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by,

The original version was signed by
_________________________________
Gaétan Caron, Chair and CEO

(Calgary, Canada)
(21 February 2014)

The original version was signed by
_________________________________
Ed Jansen, Chief Financial Officer

STATEMENT OF AUTHORITIES (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2013-2014
  Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2014 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2013 Year to date used at quarter-end
Operating expenditures 74,026 15,160 46,189
Contributions to employee benefit plans 7,195 1,799 5,396
Total Budgetary authorities 81,221 16,959 51,585
Non-budgetary authorities - - -
Total authorities 81,221 16,959 51,585

More information is available in the attached table.

Fiscal year 2012-2013
  Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end
Operating expenditures 66,459 15,175 42,589
Contributions to employee benefit plans 6,520 1,624 4,871
Total Budgetary authorities 72,979 16,799 47,460
Non-budgetary authorities      
Total authorities 72,979 16,799 47,460

More information is available in the attached table.

DEPARTMENTAL BUDGETARY EXPENDITURES BY STANDARD OBJECT (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2013-2014
(in thousands of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2014 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2013 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:      
Personnel 53,917 13,727 41,060
Transportation and communications 3,524 851 2,168
Information 574 65 207
Professional and special services 6,575 2,004 6,674
Rentals 3,931 78 412
Repair and maintenance 471 35 533
Utilities, materials and supplies 471 86 229
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 7,822 - -
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,750 39 187
Transfer payments 2,114 91 102
Public debt charges - - -
Other subsidies and payments 72 (17) 13
Total gross budgetary expenditures 81,221 16,959 51,585
Fiscal year 2012-2013
(in thousands of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:      
Personnel 53,137 12,989 38,588
Transportation and communications 3,898 1,233 2,845
Information 700 389 563
Professional and special services 6,897 1,683 3,959
Rentals 415 156 380
Repair and maintenance 1,041 37 332
Utilities, materials and supplies 699 161 307
Acquisition of land, buildings and works - - -
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,397 122 248
Transfer payments 4,340 - 123
Public debt charges - - -
Other subsidies and payments 455 29 115
Total gross budgetary expenditures 72,979 16,799 47,460
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Rapport financier trimestriel - Trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2013

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Rapport financier trimestriel - Trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2013 [PDF 3442 ko]

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Introduction

Le rapport financier trimestriel de l’Office national de l’énergie…

  • devrait être lu parallèlement avec le budget principal des dépenses;
  • a été établi par la direction conformément à l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor;
  • n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification ou d’un examen externe.

L’Office donne la priorité absolue à une amélioration constante en matière de sécurité et de protection de l’environnement ainsi qu’à un cadre de réglementation robuste pour le Nord à l’intérieur d’une organisation suffisamment souple et efficiente afin d’avoir la possibilité de toujours élargir son action prioritaire en fonction des nouveaux besoins pouvant se dessiner.

Une description sommaire des activités de programme de l’Office se trouve dans la partie II du Budget principal des dépenses.

La plus grande partie du financement de l’Office provient d’autorisations parlementaires annuelles. L’Office recouvre ultérieurement la majorité de ces dépenses auprès des sociétés qu’il réglemente et les montants recouvrés sont déposés dans le Trésor du gouvernement du Canada.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été produit par la direction à l’aide d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par l’Office, de manière cohérente avec le budget principal des dépenses et le budget supplémentaire des dépenses pour l’exercice 2013-2014. Le présent rapport trimestriel a été établi à l’aide d’un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière ayant trait à l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut pas dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées sous forme de limites annuelles, au moyen de lois de crédits, ou sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées, au moyen de lois.

L’Office utilise la méthode de la comptabilité financière intégrale pour préparer et présenter ses états financiers annuels, qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement. Néanmoins, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement demeurent axées sur les dépenses.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Dépenses réelles

Les dépenses relatives au personnel à ce jour à la fin du deuxième trimestre sont supérieures de 2,5 M$ à celles de la période correspondante de l’exercice précédent en raison des ajouts à la dotation mentionnés dans le budget de 2012. Un complément d’information est fourni dans la section sur la mise en oeuvre du budget de 2012 du présent document.

Les dépenses en matière de transports et communications ainsi que celles pour les renseignements ont diminué en tout de 1,0 M$ en 2013-2014 comparativement à l’exercice précédent. Elles avaient été plus élevées en 2012-2013 en raison des activités menées dans le contexte de l’audience Northern Gateway. Les dépenses au titre des services professionnels et spéciaux surpassent de 2,7 M$ celles de la période correspondante en 2012-2013. La plus grande partie de cette augmentation est en rapport avec des frais liés au déménagement des bureaux de l’Office en 2014-2015.

Dépenses prévues

Un financement supplémentaire de 18,9 M$ a été reçu au troisième trimestre et ce montant a été réparti de la façon suivante :

  • une tranche de 5,6 M$ a été affectée aux dépenses relatives au personnel dans le contexte des remboursements admissibles au chapitre de la rémunération ainsi qu’à la couverture des indemnités salariales de 2013-2014;
  • une autre tranche, celle-là de 12,3 M$, a été consacrée aux frais liés au déménagement des bureaux de l’Office en 2014-2015, soit plus précisément aux services professionnels et spéciaux (0,4 M$), aux locations (3,3 M$), à l’acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et d’installations (7,8 M$) ainsi qu’à l’acquisition de machines et de matériel (0,8 M$);
  • une dernière tranche représentait le report au troisième trimestre de budgets de fonctionnement de 2012-2013 à hauteur de 1,0 M$, somme devant servir presque entièrement à des projets de TI.

Ce financement supplémentaire au troisième trimestre a été à l’origine d’écarts significatifs pour ce qui est des locations ainsi que de l’acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et d’installations dans le cadre du déménagement. L’autre écart important par rapport aux dépenses prévues en 2013-2014 est la baisse de 2,2 M$ des paiements de transfert. Le Programme d’aide financière aux participants de l’Office avait bénéficié d’un montant supplémentaire de 3,0 M$ destiné à des fins particulières au cours de l’exercice précédent, mais les projets visés par ce montant ont par la suite été remis à plus tard, ce qui fait que les 3,0 M$ ont été reportés en 2013-2014 pour une tranche 0,75 M$, et en 2014-2015 pour une tranche de 2,25 M$.

Risques et incertitudes

L’Office évolue dans un contexte économique, environnemental et social en constante mutation, et en raison de la nature de son mandat, ses dépenses varient en fonction d’événements imprévus, à l’interne comme à l’extérieur, qui sont à l’origine d’incertitudes et de pressions sur les ressources. Les parlementaires et le public en général continuent de faire preuve d’un intérêt accru à l’endroit du secteur de l’énergie, ainsi que de préoccupations plus marquées par rapport aux impacts sur la sécurité et l’environnement d’incidents mettant en cause des pipelines. L’Office a réagi en élargissant son champ d’action dans le domaine de la conformité aux règlements en matière de sécurité et d’environnement, et de leur application. Par ailleurs, il tient un plus grand nombre d’audiences publiques et reçoit davantage de demandes en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. De plus, l’Office a hérité de nouvelles responsabilités compte tenu des changements apportés à sa loi constitutive suivant l’adoption de la Loi sur l’emploi, la croissance et la prospérité durable.

Les compétences ainsi que l’expérience nécessaires à l’Office pour qu’il remplisse son mandat sont en forte demande partout dans l’industrie pétrolière et gazière. L’Office a connu une hausse des taux d’attrition et du nombre de processus de dotation improductifs, ce qui est signe d’un monde fortement concurrentiel pour le recrutement de personnel spécialisé dans le secteur. Afin d’atténuer ce risque, l’Office favorise des activités de recrutement stratégiques très ciblées en vue du maintien en poste des bonnes personnes, embauchées au moment opportun dans le but d’accomplir les tâches voulues.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

L’approbation d’ajouts à l’effectif pour l’amélioration des processus prioritaires à l’Office a été à l’origine d’une hausse des autorisations accordées.

Le déménagement des bureaux de l’Office en 2014-2015 a été approuvé, ce qui sera à l’origine d’autorisations uniques supplémentaires de 12,3 M$ en 2013-2014 (montant reçu au troisième trimestre par la voie du budget supplémentaire des dépenses B) et de 8,4 M$ en 2014-2015.

Mise en oeuvre du budget de 2012

La présente section donne un aperçu des mesures d’économie annoncées dans le budget de 2012, et qui seront mises en oeuvre dans le but de recentrer le gouvernement et les programmes, de faciliter les rapports des Canadiens et des entreprises avec leur gouvernement, ainsi que de moderniser et de rationaliser les services administratifs.

L’Office n’a pas été touché par les mesures d’économie annoncées dans le budget de 2012 mais a plutôt reçu des fonds supplémentaires pour renforcer la sécurité pipelinière. Les inspections sont passées de 100 à 150 par année, et le nombre d’audits exhaustifs a doublé pour ainsi passer de 3 à 6 par année.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

La version originale a été signée par

Le président et premier dirigeant,
____________________________
Gaétan Caron

(Calgary, Canada)
Le 21 février 2014
La version originale a été signée par

Le dirigeant principal des finances,

________________________
Ed Jansen

ÉTAT DES AUTORISATIONS (non vérifié)

Exercice 2013-2014
  Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014 Crédits utilisés au trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses de fonctionnement 74 026 15 160 46 189
Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 7 195 1 799 5 396
Total des autorisations budgétaires 81 221 16 959 51 585
Autorisations non budgétaires - - -
Autorisations totales 81 221 16 959 51 585

Voir le tableau qui suit pour un complément d’information.

Exercice 2012-2013
  Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2013 Crédits utilisés au trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses de fonctionnement 66 459 15 175 42 589
Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 6 520 1 624 4 871
Total des autorisations budgétaires 72 979 16 799 47 460
Autorisations non budgétaires      
Autorisations totales 72 979 16 799 47 460

Voir le tableau qui suit pour un complément d’information.

DÉPENSES MINISTÉRIELLES BUDGÉTAIRES PAR ARTICLE COURANT (non vérifié)

Exercice 2013-2014
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014 Crédits utilisés au trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :      
Personnel 53 917 13 727 41 060
Transports et communications 3 524 851 2 168
Renseignements 574 65 207
Services professionnels et spéciaux 6 575 2 004 6 674
Locations 3 931 78 412
Réparation et entretien 471 35 533
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 471 86 229
Acquisition des terrains, de bâtiments et d'installations 7 822 - -
Acquisition de machines et de matériel 1 750 39 187
Paiements de transfert 2 114 91 102
Frais de la dette liée publique - - -
Autres subventions et paiements 72 (17) 13
Total des dépenses budgétaires brutes 81 221 16 959 51 585
Exercice 2012-2013
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2013 Crédits utilisés au trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :      
Personnel 53 137 12 989 38 588
Transports et communications 3 898 1 233 2 845
Renseignements 700 389 563
Services professionnels et spéciaux 6 897 1 683 3 959
Locations 415 156 380
Réparation et entretien 1 041 37 332
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 699 161 307
Acquisition des terrains, de bâtiments et d'installations - - -
Acquisition de machines et de matériel 1 397 122 248
Paiements de transfert 4 340 - 123
Frais de la dette liée publique - - -
Autres subventions et paiements 455 29 115
Total des dépenses budgétaires brutes 72 979 16 799 47 460
Date de modification :