ARCHIVED - Quarterly Financial Report - For the quarter ended 31 December 2014

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Quarterly Financial Report - For the quarter ended 31 December 2014 [PDF 72 KB]

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program

Introduction

The quarterly financial report for the National Energy Board (NEB or Board):

  • should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates;
  • has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board; and
  • has not been subject to an external audit or review.

The Board's top priorities are the continual improvement of safety and environmental protection, a robust regulatory framework for the North, and a flexible and efficient organization able to meet new and ongoing priorities.

A summary description of the NEB’s program activities can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates.

The NEB receives its funding through annual Parliamentary authorities.  The majority of these expenditures are subsequently recovered from the companies regulated by the NEB and the funds are deposited in the Consolidated Revenue Fund of the Government of Canada.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the National Energy Board’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department, consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the 2014-15 fiscal years. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The National Energy Board uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Fiscal Year to Date Results

Actual Expenditures

  • Year to date personnel spending at the end of the second quarter is $7.3M greater than the same period in the previous year. Approximately $4.6M of this variance is related to the elimination of the employee severance pay program for represented employees in 2013-14.  These amounts are recoverable as part of the eligible pay list and this variance is expected to be eliminated at or prior to fiscal year end. The remaining $2.7M increase in personnel costs is related to the signing of a new collective agreement in the third quarter of 2013-14, and filling vacancies resulting in an increase of FTEs over last year.
  • The increase of $1.6M in other subsidies and payments is mostly due to a one-time transition payment in Quarter 1 for implementing salary payment in arrears by the Government of Canada.
  • The NEB office relocation has also affected various expenditures.  Rentals have increased by $2.4M for swing space, acquisition of machinery and equipment has increased by $1.1M, acquisition of land, buildings and works has increased by $0.9M, and professional and special services expenditures have decreased by $2.4M at the end of the second quarter over the same period in the previous year, primarily due to this office relocation. 

Planned Expenditures

The variances in planned expenditures for 2014-2015 over the previous year are as follows:

  • The office relocation accounts for approximately $8.3M in additional funding for 2014-15, a decrease of $4.1M received for the move in 2013-14.
  • Funding for the NEB’s Participant Funding Program has increased by $1.5M in 2014-15 over the previous year as a result of special purpose funding for projects that were expected to occur in 2014-15. An allocation of $2.25M was frozen for this program in Quarter 3, resulting in a net YTD decrease of $0.8M.
  • Other significant planned expenditure changes are: $5.8M was received in Q3 of 2014-15 for Mega Hearing Funding, the Operating Budget Carry Forward (OBCF) received in 2014-15 was $1.6M higher than the OBCF received in 2013-14, and the Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) Devolution decreased our authorities by $1.6M.

Risks and Uncertainties

Due to the nature of its mandate, the NEB’s expenditures are influenced by planned and unplanned events (internal and external) that create uncertainty in expenditures and resource pressures. The NEB’s responsibilities are not only shaped by emerging energy trends, but also by the proactive consideration of safety, environmental, societal and economic trends that may influence the NEB’s ability to carry out its responsibilities in the Canadian public interest.

The NEB employs a risk-informed compliance verification program, which considers resource requirements to perform compliance activities and ensure those activities are completed in accordance with the plan. Corrective actions are monitored and regulated companies’ operating environments observed for emerging risks and trends. In addition to increasing the number of inspections and audits conducted, the NEB’s Administrative Monetary Penalties (AMPs) framework provides the NEB with additional enforcement mechanisms

The skills and experience needed by the NEB continue to be in high demand due to private sector demand in Calgary and increased workloads at the NEB. The NEB regularly reviews its People Strategy and measures employee engagement and work-life balance on a quarterly basis, which informs leadership decisions on areas of focus and assists in responding to staff concerns and interests. Staff development is supported with access to training and new career opportunities in a challenging work environment.

Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs

The National Energy Board office relocation that occurred in the first quarter of 2014-15 resulted in an increase to NEB authorities. 

Budget 2012 Implementation

This section provides an overview of the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 that will be implemented in order to refocus government and programs; make it easier for Canadians and business to deal with their government; and, modernize and reduce the back office.
The NEB was unaffected by the savings measure announced in Budget 2012.  Conversely the department received additional funding to strengthen pipeline safety.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by,

The original version was signed by
_________________________________
C. Peter Watson, P.Eng. FCAE
Chair and CEO

(Calgary, Canada)
(27 February 2015)

The original version was signed by
_________________________________
John Pinsent, CGA
Chief Financial Officer

STATEMENT OF AUTHORITIES (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2014-2015
(in thousands of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2015[a] Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2014 Year to date used at quarter-end

More information is available in the attached table.

[a] Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end .

Operating expenditures 74,219 17,762 58,187
Contributions to employee benefit plans 7,578 1,690 5,071
Total Budgetary authorities 81,797 19,452 63,258
Non-budgetary authorities - - -
Total authorities 81,797 19,452 63,258
Fiscal year 2013-2014
(in thousands of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2014[b] Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2013 Year to date used at quarter-end

More information is available in the attached table.

[b] Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Operating expenditures 74,026 15,160 46,189
Contributions to employee benefit plans 7,195 1,799 5,396
Total Budgetary authorities 81,221 16,959 51,585
Non-budgetary authorities - - -
Total authorities 81,221 16,959 51,585

DEPARTMENTAL BUDGETARY EXPENDITURES BY STANDARD OBJECT (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2014-2015
(in thousands of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2015[c] Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2014 Year to date used at quarter-end

[c] Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Expenditures:      
Personnel 56,064 15,149 48,381
Transportation and communications 4,463 948 2,054
Information 994 96 239
Professional and special services 13,633 1,902 4,451
Rentals 862 211 2,839
Repair and maintenance 1,299 187 876
Utilities, materials and supplies 399 139 307
Acquisition of land, buildings and works - 412 841
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 2,719 303 1,553
Transfer payments 1,364 55 111
Public debt charges - - -
Other subsidies and payments - 50 1,606
Total gross budgetary expenditures 81,797 19,452 63,258
Fiscal year 2013-2014
(in thousands of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2014[d] Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2013 Year to date used at quarter-end

[d] Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Expenditures:      
Personnel 53,917 13,727 41,060
Transportation and communications 3,524 851 2,168
Information 574 65 207
Professional and special services 6,575 2,004 6,674
Rentals 3,931 78 412
Repair and maintenance 471 35 533
Utilities, materials and supplies 471 86 229
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 7,822 - -
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,750 39 187
Transfer payments 2,114 91 102
Public debt charges - - -
Other subsidies and payments 72 (17) 13
Total gross budgetary expenditures 81,221 16,959 51,585
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2014

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Rapport financier trimestriel - Trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2014 [PDF 76 ko]

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Introduction

Le rapport financier trimestriel de l’Office national de l’énergie…

  • devrait être lu parallèlement avec le budget principal des dépenses;
  • a été établi par la direction conformément à l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor;
  • n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification ou d’un examen externe.

L’Office a comme priorité absolue l’amélioration constante de la sécurité et de la protection de l’environnement, un cadre de réglementation robuste pour le Nord, et une organisation suffisamment souple et efficace pour permettre la réalisation de priorités nouvelles et continues.

Une description sommaire des activités de programmes de l’Office se trouve dans la partie II du Budget principal des dépenses.

Le financement de l’Office provient d’autorisations parlementaires annuelles. L’Office recouvre ultérieurement la majorité de ces dépenses auprès des sociétés qu’il réglemente et les montants recouvrés sont déposés dans le Trésor du gouvernement du Canada.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été produit par la direction à l’aide d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint au rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par l’Office national de l’énergie, de manière cohérente avec le budget principal des dépenses et le budget supplémentaire des dépenses pour l’exercice 2014-2015. Le présent rapport trimestriel a été établi à l’aide d’un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière ayant trait à l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut pas dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées sous forme de limites annuelles, au moyen de lois de crédits, ou sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées, au moyen de lois.

L’Office national de l’énergie utilise la méthode de la comptabilité financière intégrale pour préparer et présenter ses états financiers annuels, qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement. Néanmoins, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement demeurent axées sur les dépenses.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs à ce jour

Dépenses réelles

  • Les dépenses relatives au personnel à ce jour à la fin du deuxième trimestre sont supérieures de 7,3 M$ à celles de la période correspondante de l’exercice précédent. Une tranche d’environ 4,6 M$ de cet écart est attribuable à l’élimination du programme d’indemnités de départ des employés représentés en 2013-2014. Ces dépenses sont des frais recouvrables admissibles au titre de la rémunération et l’écart devrait normalement être comblé d’ici la fin de l’exercice. La tranche restante de 2,7 M$ de l’augmentation des dépenses relatives au personnel découle de la signature d’une nouvelle convention collective au troisième trimestre de 2013-2014 et de la dotation de postes à pourvoir à l’origine d’un accroissement du nombre d’ETP comparativement à l’exercice précédent.
  • La hausse de 1,6 M$ des autres subventions et paiements découle d’un paiement de transition unique au premier trimestre pour la mise en œuvre de l’arriéré de paiement salarial par le gouvernement du Canada.
  • Le déménagement des bureaux de l’Office a aussi eu des incidences sur diverses dépenses. Le montant des locations s’est accru de 2,4 M$ en raison de l’occupation de locaux transitoires, la somme liée à l’acquisition de machines et de matériel a augmenté de 1,1 M$, et l’augmentation pour l’acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et de travaux a été de 0,9 M$ tandis que les dépenses pour les services professionnels et spéciaux ont diminué de 2,4 M$ à la fin du deuxième trimestre comparativement à la période correspondante de l’exercice précédent, le déménagement étant la principale cause de ces fluctuations.

Dépenses prévues

Les écarts au chapitre des dépenses prévues en 2014-2015 comparativement à l’exercice précédent sont les suivants :

  • Le déménagement des bureaux compte pour environ 8,3 M$ du financement supplémentaire en 2014-2015, une diminution de 4,1 M$ du montant reçu pour le déménagement en 2013-2014.
  • Le financement du Programme d’aide financière aux participants de l’Office a augmenté de 1,5 M$ en 2014-2015 par rapport à l’exercice précédent en raison de fonds spéciaux affectés à des projets qui devaient se réaliser en 2014-2015. Une allocation de 2,25 M$ a été bloquée pour ce programme au troisième trimestre, entraînant une diminution nette de 0,8 M$ depuis le début de l’exercice.
  • Les autres changements aux dépenses prévues sont les suivants : 5,8 M$ ont été reçus au troisième trimestre de 2014-2015 pour le financement d’audiences visant des mégaprojets; le report du budget de fonctionnement en 2014-2015 a été de 1,6 M$ supérieur à celui de 2013-2014; enfin, le transfert des responsabilités au gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest a diminué nos autorisations de 1,6 M$.

Risques et incertitudes

Vu la nature du mandat de l’Office, les dépenses varient en fonction d’événements prévus et imprévus, à l’interne comme à l’extérieur, qui sont à l’origine d’incertitudes et de pressions sur les ressources. Les responsabilités de l’Office ne sont pas uniquement façonnées par les tendances émergentes en matière énergétique, mais aussi par l’analyse proactive des tendances dans les domaines de la sécurité, de l’environnement et de l’économie ainsi que dans la société en général. Ces tendances peuvent influer sur la capacité de l’Office de s’acquitter de ses obligations dans l’intérêt public canadien.

L’Office mise sur un programme de vérification de la conformité tenant compte du risque pour analyser ses besoins en ressources en vue de réaliser ses activités de vérification de la conformité et d’assurer le respect de son plan. Les mesures correctives font l’objet d’un suivi, et le milieu où évoluent les sociétés réglementées est observé afin d’en relever les tendances et les risques émergents. Outre le nombre accru d’inspections et de vérifications effectuées, l’Office a mis en place un cadre de travail pour les sanctions administratives pécuniaires qui lui procure de nouveaux mécanismes d’application de la réglementation.

Les compétences et l’expérience dont l’Office a besoin continuent d’être en forte demande dans le secteur privé à Calgary, ce qui a comme conséquence d’accroître la charge de travail du personnel. L’Office passe régulièrement en revue sa stratégie des personnes; il mesure tous les trimestres l’engagement de son personnel et l’équilibre travail-vie personnelle pour orienter les décisions de la direction sur les aspects à privilégier et l’aider à répondre aux préoccupations et intérêts des employés. Le perfectionnement professionnel se traduit par des occasions de formation et de nouvelles possibilités de carrière dans un milieu de travail stimulant.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Le déménagement des bureaux de l’Office national de l’énergie au premier trimestre de 2014-2015 a été à l’origine d’un accroissement de ses autorisations. 

Mise en oeuvre du budget de 2012

La présente section donne un aperçu des mesures d’économie annoncées dans le budget de 2012, qui seront mises en œuvre pour recentrer le gouvernement et les programmes, faciliter les rapports des Canadiens et des entreprises avec leur gouvernement, en plus de moderniser et rationaliser les services administratifs.

L’Office n’a pas été touché par les mesures d’économie annoncées dans le budget de 2012. Au contraire, il a reçu des fonds supplémentaires pour renforcer la sûreté pipelinière.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

La version originale a été signée par
____________________________
C. Peter Watson, P.Eng. FCAE
Président et premier dirigeant

(Calgary, Canada)
27 février  2015
La version originale a été signée par
________________________
John Pinsent, CGA
Dirigeant principal des finances

ÉTAT DES AUTORISATIONS (non vérifié)

Exercice 2014-2015
  Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015[a] Crédits utilisés au trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre

Voir le tableau qui suit pour un complément d’information.

[a] Ne comprend que les autorisations disponibles accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Dépenses de fonctionnement 74 219 17 762 58 187
Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 7 578 1 690 5 071
Total des autorisations budgétaires 81 797 19 452 63 258
Autorisations non budgétaires - - -
Total des autorisations 81 797 19 452 63 258
Exercice 2013-2014
  Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2014[b] Crédits utilisés au trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre

Voir le tableau qui suit pour un complément d’information.

[b] Ne comprend que les autorisations disponibles accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Dépenses de fonctionnement 74 026 15 160 46 189
Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 7 195 1 799 5 396
Total des autorisations budgétaires 81 221 16 959 51 585
Autorisations non budgétaires - - -
Total des autorisations 81 221 16 959 51 585

DÉPENSES BUDGÉTAIRES PAR ARTICLE COURANT (non vérifié)

Exercice 2014-2015
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015[c] Crédits utilisés au trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre

[c] Ne comprend que les autorisations disponibles accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Dépenses :      
Personnel 56 064 15 149 48 381
Transports et communications 4 463 948 2 054
Information 994 96 239
Services professionnels et spéciaux 13 633 1 902 4 451
Locations 862 211 2 839
Reparation et entretien 1 299 187 876
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 399 139 307
Acquisition des terrains, de bâtiments et d'installations - 412 841
Acquisition de machines et de matériel 2 719 303 1 553
Paiements de transfert 1 364 55 111
Frais de la dette liée publique - - -
Autres subventions et paiements - 50 1 606
Total des dépenses budgétaires brutes 81 797 19 452 63 258
Exercice 2013-2014
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2014[d] Crédits utilisés au trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre

[d] Ne comprend que les autorisations disponibles accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Dépenses :      
Personnel 53 917 13 727 41 060
Transports et communications 3 524 851 2 168
Information 574 65 207
Services professionnels et spéciaux 6 575 2 004 6 674
Locations 3 931 78 412
Reparation et entretien 471 35 533
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 471 86 229
Acquisition des terrains, de bâtiments et d'installations 7 822 - -
Acquisition de machines et de matériel 1 750 39 187
Paiements de transfert 2 114 91 102
Frais de la dette liée publique - - -
Autres subventions et paiements 72 (17) 13
Total des dépenses budgétaires brutes 81 221 16 959 51 585
Date de modification :