National Energy Board – 2017–18 Departmental Plan

Raison d’être, mandate and role: who we are and what we do

Raison d’être

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator of several parts of Canada’s energy industry. It regulates pipelines, energy development and trade in the public interest with safety as its primary concern. The Minister of Natural Resources is responsible for this organization‎.

Mandate and role

The NEB regulates under the NEB Act, among other things, the construction, operation and abandonment of pipelines that cross provincial or international borders, international power lines and designated interprovincial power lines, imports of natural gas and exports of crude oil, natural gas liquids, natural gas, refined petroleum products, and electricity. The NEB is also charged with providing timely, accurate and objective information and advice on energy matters.  

Additionally, in specified areasFootnote 1 the Board has regulatory responsibilities for oil and gas exploration and production activities under the NEB Act, Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act (COGOA), the Canada Petroleum Resources Act (CPRA), and the North West Territories’ Oil and Gas Operations Act (OGOA) and Petroleum Resources Act (PRA).

The NEB conducts thorough, science-based environmental assessments during its review of all applications for projects under its jurisdiction. For certain projects, the Board also conducts environmental assessments as required by federal legislation, such as the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act 2012 (CEAA 2012), the Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act, and the Inuvialuit Final Agreement or the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement. Certain Board inspectors are appointed Health and Safety Officers by the Minister of Labour to administer Part II of the Canada Labour Code as it applies to NEB-regulated facilities and activities.

The NEB also monitors aspects of energy supply, demand, production, development and trade.

The NEB reports to Parliament through the Minister of Natural Resources.

NEB Modernization

The Minister of Natural Resources has been mandated by the Prime Minister to modernize the NEB and to ensure its composition reflects regional views and has sufficient expertise in such fields as environmental science, community development, and Indigenous traditional knowledge.

Natural Resources Canada has launched a review of the NEB’s structure, role, and mandate. This is an opportunity to strengthen the regulatory process and ensure that Canada continues to have a modern, efficient and effective regulator. The NEB is committed to supporting this review. The results of the review and resulting decisions will strongly influence future organizational plans.

To accomplish this review, the Government established an Expert Panel to engage Indigenous peoples, interested stakeholders, provinces and territories, as well as the public. The panel expects to deliver a report for the Minister of Natural Resources in 2017 with its findings, conclusions, and recommendations to modernize the NEB. This will include a summary of the input received from the public, Indigenous Peoples, provinces and territories, and any other interested group or organization.

Concurrently, as part of the comprehensive review of environmental and regulatory processes, federal environmental assessment processes are also under review. The review of environmental assessment processes concerns matters related to the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012. An Expert Panel announced by the Minister of Environment and Climate Change leads this review.Footnote 2 NEB staff and management have been working closely with other departments to support this review and the renewal of environmental assessment processes. A report of recommendations is due to the Minister of Environment and Climate Change in 2017.

For more general information about the NEB, see the “Supplementary information” section of this report. For more information on the Minister of Natural Resources’ mandate letter, including commitments for the NEB, see the Minister’s mandate letter on the Prime Minister of Canada’s website.Footnote 3

Date modified:

Plan ministériel 2017-2018 – Office national de l'énergie

Raison d’être, mandat et rôle : composition et responsabilités

Raison d’être

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme fédéral indépendant qui réglemente plusieurs aspects du secteur énergétique au Canada. Il réglemente les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l’énergie, dans l’intérêt public canadien, en plaçant la sécurité au cœur de ses préoccupations. L’organisme relève du ministre des Ressources naturelles.

Mandat et rôle

En vertu de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, ce dernier réglemente notamment la construction, l’exploitation et la cessation d’exploitation des pipelines qui franchissent des frontières provinciales et internationales, des lignes internationales de transport d’électricité et des lignes interprovinciales désignées, les importations de gaz naturel ainsi que les exportations de pétrole brut, de liquides de gaz naturel, de gaz naturel, de produits pétroliers raffinés et d’électricité. Il lui incombe par ailleurs de diffuser de l’information à jour, exacte et objective sur l’énergie en plus de fournir des conseils sur des questions énergétiques.

L’Office a également des responsabilités de nature réglementaire dans certaines régionsNote de bas de page 1 précises en ce qui concerne les activités d’exploration et de production pétrolières et gazières, selon la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada, la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbure>, la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et la Loi sur les hydrocarbures des Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Durant l’examen de toutes les demandes relatives à un projet de sa compétence, l’Office réalise des évaluations environnementales scientifiques approfondies. Pour certains projets, l’Office effectue également des évaluations environnementales en application d’autres lois fédérales, notamment la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012), la Loi sur la gestion des ressources de la vallée du Mackenzie, la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit ou l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut. Le ministre du Travail nomme des inspecteurs de l’Office comme agents de santé et de sécurité afin d’assurer le respect de la partie II du Code canadien du travail, en ce qui a trait aux installations et activités réglementées par l’Office.

L’Office surveille également divers aspects de l’offre et de la demande, de la production, de la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et du commerce de l’énergie. 

L’Office rend compte au Parlement par l’entremise du ministre des Ressources naturelles.

Modernisation de l’Office

Le ministre des Ressources naturelles a été mandaté par le premier ministre pour moderniser l’Office et faire en sorte que les membres qui le composent représentent des valeurs régionales et possèdent une expertise suffisante dans les domaines de la science de l’environnement, du développement communautaire et du savoir traditionnel autochtone.

Ressources naturelles Canada a lancé un examen de la structure, du rôle et du mandat de l’Office. Il s’agit d’un moment opportun pour renforcer le processus de réglementation et prendre des moyens pour que l’organisme de réglementation du Canada demeure moderne et efficace. L’Office s’est engagé à appuyer l’examen. Les résultats de l’examen et les décisions subséquentes auront une incidence majeure sur les plans organisationnels futurs.

Pour réaliser l’examen, le gouvernement a mis sur pied un comité d’experts qui mobilisera les peuples autochtones, les parties prenantes intéressées, les provinces et territoires ainsi que le public. Ce comité prévoit déposer un rapport auprès du ministre des Ressources naturelles en 2017, afin d’exposer ses constatations, ses conclusions et ses recommandations à l’égard de la modernisation de l’Office. Le rapport comprendra un résumé des commentaires reçus du public, des peuples autochtones, des provinces et territoires ainsi que de tout autre groupe ou organisation concerné.

Parallèlement, dans le cadre de l’examen approfondi des processus environnementaux et réglementaires, les processus fédéraux d’évaluation environnementale font également l’objet d’un examen, qui porte sur des questions liées à la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012). L’examen sera réalisé par un comité d’experts, dont la création a été annoncée par le ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatiqueNote de bas de page 2. Le personnel et la direction de l’Office ont collaboré étroitement avec d’autres ministères pour appuyer l’examen et le renouvellement des processus d’évaluation environnementale. Un rapport de recommandations devrait être déposé auprès du ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique en 2017.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements généraux sur l’Office, consulter la section « Renseignements supplémentaires » du présent rapport. Pour des renseignements supplémentaires sur la lettre de mandat du ministre des Ressources naturelles, notamment sur les engagements relatifs à l’Office, consulter le site Web du premier ministre du Canada.Note de bas de page 3

Date de modification :