National Energy Board – 2017–18 Departmental Plan

Operating context: conditions affecting our work

As part of our drive to regulatory excellence, the NEB has been one of the early adopters of the DRF in 2017–18, and has developed more clearly defined programs, activities and initiatives to establish a baseline for performance measurement. The NEB performance results will demonstrate to Canadians that the NEB effectively fulfils its mandate by having a strong focus on results.

In order to achieve regulatory excellence, the NEB needs to demonstrate management excellence. In 2016–17, the NEB put in place both a Board Member Operating ModelFootnote 1 and Management System. In 2017–18 and going forward, these guiding frameworks will serve as the cornerstones of clearly defined governance and processes for the NEB.

There is an increasingly complex energy dialogue in Canada on the interactions between energy infrastructure, safety and environmental protection. The NEB recognizes the importance of stakeholder contributions to this dialogue and will continue to serve the interests of Canadians and inform stakeholders by providing accessible, credible and transparent energy information.

Regulatory Excellence

As Canada’s federal energy regulator, the NEB is striving for regulatory excellence based on a foundation of the following three attributes that are embedded in all that we do:

Stellar Competence – Ensuring that NEB employees have the knowledge, capabilities, and tools required to fully serve the public interest;

Utmost Integrity – Improving our ability to serve the public interest by clarifying governance, while ensuring we work within the applicable legal framework; and

Empathic Engagement – Ensuring that our engagement with the public is transparent and respectful, through strong links to our engagement strategy.

Date modified:

Plan ministériel 2017-2018 – Office national de l'énergie

Contexte opérationnel : les conditions qui influent sur notre travail

Dans la foulée des mesures prises à l’égard de l’excellence réglementaire, l’Office a été l’un des premiers organismes à adopter le cadre ministériel des résultats en 2017-2018. Il a en outre élaboré des programmes, activités et initiatives précis pour établir une base de mesure du rendement. Les résultats obtenus prouveront aux Canadiens que l’Office accomplit efficacement son mandat et que sa démarche est fortement axée sur les résultats.

Pour atteindre l’excellence réglementaire, l’Office doit faire preuve d’excellence en matière de gestion. En 2016-2017, l’Office a mis en place un modèle opératoire à l’intention des membres de l’OfficeNote de bas de page 1 et un système de gestion. À compter de 2017-2018, ces cadres d’orientation serviront de fondement à une gouvernance et à des processus clairement définis pour l’Office.

On assiste au Canada à un dialogue de plus en plus complexe sur l’énergie à l’égard des interactions entre l’infrastructure énergétique, la sécurité et la protection de l’environnement. L’Office reconnaît l’importance du rôle que jouent les parties prenantesce dialogue et continuera à servir les intérêts des Canadiens et à éclairer ces dernières en fournissant une information accessible, crédible et transparente sur l’énergie.

Excellence réglementaire

En sa qualité d’organisme fédéral de réglementation du secteur énergétique du Canada, l’Office vise l’excellence réglementaire et pour y arriver, toutes ses actions reposent sur ces trois attributs :

Compétences exceptionnelles – Faire en sorte que les employés de l’Office aient les connaissances, les capacités et les outils nécessaires pour pleinement servir l’intérêt public.

Intégrité absolue – Améliorer sa capacité à servir l’intérêt public en clarifiant sa gouvernance, tout en accomplissant ses tâches dans le respect du cadre juridique qui est le sien.

Engagement empathique – Faire en sorte que la mobilisation de la population soit transparente et respectueuse et qu’elle soit étroitement liée à la politique de l’Office en la matière.

Date de modification :