National Energy Board – 2017–18 Departmental Plan

Spending and human resources

Planned spending

Departmental spending trend graph

Text description of this graph

Departmental spending trend graph

This bar chart shows the National Energy Board’s six-year spending trend. It includes actual spending for the fiscal years 2014–15 and 2015–16, forecast spending for the year 2016–17 and planned spending for the years 2017–18 to 2019–20.

Actual Spending by period is as follows:

  • 2014–15: $87,321
  • 2015–16: $82,397

Forecast Spending by period is as follows:

  • 2016–17: $82,382

Planned Spending by period is as follows:

  • 2017–18: $79,840
  • 2018–19: $70,191
  • 2019–20: $70,191

Budgetary planning summary for Core Responsibilities and Internal Services (dollars)

Budgetary planning summary for Core Responsibilities and Internal Services (dollars)
Core Responsibilities and Internal Services 2014–15 Expenditures 2015–16 Expenditures 2016–17 Forecast spending 2017–18 Main Estimates 2017–18 Planned spending 2018–19 Planned spending 2019–20 Planned spending
Energy Adjudication 30,209,718 26,172,193 25,235,723 28,333,982 28,333,982 20,495,319 20,495,319
Safety and Environment Oversight 15,100,775 17,012,899 20,617,163 22,807,608 22,807,608 21,503,435 21,503,435
Energy Information 6,567,390 9,018,344 5,973,956 7,289,921 7,289,921 5,755,352 5,755,352
EngagementNote a n/a n/a 2,534,233 2,528,944 2,528,944 3,645,316 3,645,316
Subtotal 51,877,883 52,203,436 54,361,076 60,960,455 60,960,455 51,399,422 51,399,422
Internal Services 35,443,200 30,193,132 28,021,243 18,879,531 18,879,531 18,791,809 18,791,809
Total 87,321,083 82,396,568 82,382,319 79,839,986 79,839,986 70,191,231 70,191,231

The decrease of approximately $2.5 million in planned spending in fiscal year 2017–18 compared to forecast spending in fiscal year 2016–17 is mainly attributed to the decrease in funding related to Budget 2012 Pipeline Safety Program ($5.1 million) and Budget 2014 Regulatory Review of Mega Projects ($2.1  million), partially offset by an increase in funding related to Budget 2016 Interim Strategy on Pipelines Program ($4.7 million).

The decrease of approximately $9.6 million in planned spending in fiscal year 2018–19 compared to planned spending in fiscal year 2017–18 is mainly attributed to a decrease in funding related to Budget 2016 Interim Strategy on Pipelines Program ending at the end of fiscal year 2017–18 ($4.7 million), a decrease in the re-profiled funding primarily for Budget 2014 Mega Hearings ending at the end of fiscal year 2017–18 ($4.2 million), a decrease in funding related to Budget 2015 Energy Transportation Infrastructure ($4.0 million), as well as a decrease in funding related to Budget 2012 Pipeline Safety ($1.0  million).

The NEB is funded through Parliamentary appropriations. The Government of Canada currently recovers approximately 97 per cent of the appropriation from the industry the Board regulates. All collections from cost recovery invoices are deposited to the account the Receiver General for Canada and credited to the Consolidate Revenue Fund.

Pipeline and power line companies regulated by the NEB (authorized under the NEB Act) are subject to cost recovery. Applications before the Board for new facilities are not subject to cost recovery until the facility is placed into service, unless the company does not have any prior facilities regulated by the Board in which case a one-time levy is assessed following the authorization of construction. 

Cost recovery is carried out on a calendar year basis.

Planned human resources

Human resources planning summary for Core Responsibilities and Internal Services
(full-time equivalents)

Human resources planning summary for Core Responsibilities and Internal Services (full-time equivalents)
Core Responsibilities and Internal Services 2014–15
Full-time equivalents
2015–16
Full-time equivalents
2016–17
Forecast
full-time equivalents
2017–18
Planned
full-time equivalents
2018–19
Planned
full-time equivalents
2019–20
Planned
full-time equivalents
Energy Adjudication 201.08 150.36 143.95 121.20 120.39 120.39
Safety and Environment Oversight 91.22 101.16 113.09 141.20 141.66 141.66
Energy Information 46.20 48.08 38.69 41.42 40.56 40.56
EngagementNote a n/a n/a 10.00 15.45 13.63 13.63
Subtotal 338.5 299.6 305.73 319.27 316.23 316.23
Internal Services 102.1 157.9 163.80 133.58 128.37 128.37
Total 440.6 457.5 469.53 452.85 444.60 444.60

The decrease of approximately 17 full-time planned human resources in fiscal year 2017–18 compared to forecast human resources in fiscal year 2016–17 is mainly attributed to the decrease in funding related to Budget 2012 Safety Program and Budget 2014 Regulatory Review of Mega Projects. The decrease of approximately 8 full-time equivalents in planned human resources in fiscal year 2018–19 compared to planned human resources in fiscal year 2017–18 is mainly attributed to the Budget 2016 Interim Strategy on Pipelines and Budget 2014 Mega Hearings ending at the end of fiscal year 2017–18.

Estimates by vote

For information on the NEB’s organizational appropriations, consult the 2017–18 Main Estimates.

Future-Oriented Condensed Statement of Operations

The Future-Oriented Condensed Statement of Operations provides a general overview of the NEB’s operations. The forecast of financial information on expenses and revenues is prepared on an accrual accounting basis to strengthen accountability and to improve transparency and financial management.

Because the Future-Oriented Condensed Statement of Operations is prepared on an accrual accounting basis, and the forecast and planned spending amounts presented in other sections of the Departmental Plan are prepared on an expenditure basis, amounts may differ.

A more detailed Future-Oriented Statement of Operations and associated notes, including a reconciliation of the net cost of operations to the requested authorities, are available on the NEB’s website.

Future Oriented Condensed Statement of Operations for the year ended March 31, 2018 (dollars)

Future Oriented Condensed Statement of Operations
for the year ended March 31, 2018 (dollars)

Future Oriented Condensed Statement of Operations for the year ended March 31, 2018 (dollars)

Future Oriented Condensed Statement of Operations for the year ended March 31, 2018 (dollars)
Financial information 2016–17
Forecast results
2017–18
Planned results
Difference
(2017–18 Planned results
minus
2016–17 Forecast results)
Total expenses 99,234,413 96,328,839 (2,905,574)
Total revenues
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers 99,234,413 96,328,839 (2,905,574)

2017–18 planned expenses are $96.3 million, a decrease of $2.9 million over the 2016–17 forecasted expenses of $99.2 million. This is primarily due to the following:

  • a decrease of $2.5 million between 2016–17 forecasted expenditures and 2017–18 planned expenditures is mainly attributed to the decrease in funding related to Budget 2012 Safety Program and Budget 2014 Regulatory Review of Mega Projects, partially offset by an increase in funding related to Budget 2016 Interim Strategy on Pipelines Program;
  • a decrease of services provided without charge of $0.7 million which relates to a decreased employee benefit plan rate, which is provided by Treasury Board; and
  • an increase of amortization of $0.3 million relates to increased planned capital acquisition.
Date modified:

Plan ministériel 2017-2018 – Office national de l'énergie

Dépenses et ressources humaines

Dépenses prévues

Tendances relatives aux dépenses du ministère

Version textuelle de ce graphique

Tendances relatives aux dépenses du ministère

Ce graphique présente les tendances des dépenses de l’Office national de l’énergie sur une période de six ans (en milliers de dollars). S’y trouvent le total des dépenses réelles pour les exercices financiers 2014-2015 et 2015-16, le total des dépenses projetées pour l’exercice 2016-2017 et les dépenses prévues pour les exercices 2017-2018 à 2019-2020.

Le total des dépenses réelles par période sont les suivantes :

  • 2014-2015 : 87 321 $
  • 2015-2016 : 82 397 $

Le total des dépenses projetées par période sont les suivantes :

  • 2016-2017 : 82 382 $

Le total des dépenses prévues par période sont les suivantes :

  • 2017-2018 : 79 840 $
  • 2018-2019 : 70 191 $
  • 2019-2020 : 70 191 $

Sommaire de la planification budgétaire pour les responsabilités essentielles et les Services internes (dollars)

Sommaire de la planification budgétaire pour les responsabilités essentielles et les Services internes (dollars)
Responsabilités essentielles et services internes Dépenses pour 2014-2015 Dépenses pour 2015-2016 Dépenses prévues pour 2016-2017 Budget principal des dépenses de 2017-2018 Dépenses prévues pour 2017-2018 Dépenses prévues pour 2018-2019 Dépenses prévues pour 2019-2020
Processus décisionnel 30 209 718 26 172 193 25 235 723 28 333 982 28 333 982 20 495 319 20 495 319
Surveillance de la sécurité et de l’environnement 15 100 775 17 012 899 20 617 163 22 807 608 22 807 608 21 503 435 21 503 435
Information sur l’énergie 6 567 390 9 018 344 5 973 956 7 289 921 7 289 921 5 755 352 5 755 352
MobilisationNote a s.o. s.o. 2 534 233 2 528 944 2 528 944 3 645 316 3 645 316
Total partiel 51 877 883 52 203 436 54 361 076 60 960 455 60 960 455 51 399 422 51 399 422
Services internes 35 443 200 30 193 132 28 021 243 18 879 531 18 879 531 18 791 809 18 791 809
Total 87 321 083 82 396 568 82 382 319 79 839 986 79 839 986 70 191 231 70 191 231

La diminution d’environ 2,5 millions de dollars des dépenses prévues pour l’exercice 2017-2018, par rapport aux dépenses projetées pour l’exercice 2016-2017, est principalement attribuable à la baisse du financement lié au programme de sécurité du budget de 2012 (5,1 millions de dollars) et à l’examen réglementaire de mégaprojets du budget de 2014 (2,1 millions de dollars), recul en partie contrebalancé par une hausse du financement lié aux programmes de la stratégie provisoire visant les pipelines dans le budget de 2016 (4,7 millions de dollars).

La diminution d’environ 9,6 millions de dollars des dépenses prévues pour l’exercice 2018-2019, comparativement à l’exercice 2017-2018, est largement attribuable à une baisse du financement lié aux programmes de la stratégie provisoire visant les pipelines du budget de 2016, qui prend fin à la fin de l’exercice 2017-2018 (4,7 millions de dollars), à un recul du financement destiné essentiellement à des audiences visant des mégaprojets du budget de 2014, qui se termine à la fin de l’exercice 2017-2018 (4,2 millions de dollars), à une diminution des fonds liés à l’infrastructure de transport de l’énergie du budget de 2015 (4.0 millions de dollars) ainsi qu’à une diminution des fonds liés à la sûreté des pipelines du budget de 2012 (1,0 million de dollars).

L’Office est financé au moyen de crédits parlementaires. Le gouvernement du Canada recouvre environ 97 % de ces crédits auprès de l’industrie réglementée par l’Office. Toutes les sommes recouvrées sont versées dans le compte du receveur général du Canada et créditées au Trésor.

Les sociétés pipelinières et de transport d’électricité relevant de la compétence de l’Office (conformément à la Loi) sont assujetties au recouvrement des coûts. Les demandes présentées devant l’Office et visant de nouvelles installations ne sont pas assujetties à un tel recouvrement tant que les installations en question ne sont pas en service. Toutefois, si ce sont là les premières installations de la société réglementées par l’Office, celui-ci impose une redevance unique une fois leur construction autorisée.

Les coûts à recouvrer sont calculés chaque année civile.

Ressources humaines planifiées

Sommaire de la planification des ressources humaines pour les responsabilités essentielles et Services internes (équivalents temps plein ou ETP)

Sommaire de la planification des ressources humaines pour les responsabilités essentielles et Services internes (équivalents temps plein ou ETP)
Responsabilités essentielles et services internes Dépenses pour 2014-2015 Dépenses pour 2015-2016 Dépenses prévues pour 2016-2017 Budget principal des dépenses de 2017-2018 Dépenses prévues pour 2017-2018 Dépenses prévues pour 2018-2019
Processus décisionnel 201,08 150,36 143,95 121,20 120,39 120,39
Surveillance de la sécurité et de l’environnement 91,22 101,16 113,09 141,20 141,66 141,66
Information sur l’énergie 46,20 48,08 38,69 41,42 40,56 40,56
MobilisationNote a s.o. s.o. 10.00 15,45 13,63 13,63
Total partiel 338,5 299,6 305,73 319,27 316,23 316,23
Services internes 102,1 157,9 163,80 133,58 128,37 128,37
Total 440,6 457,5 469,53 452,85 444,60 444,60

La baisse (environ 17) du nombre de ressources humaines prévues (équivalents temps plein) pour l’exercice 2017-2018, par rapport aux projections pour l’exercice 2016-2017, est essentiellement attribuable à la diminution du financement lié au programme de sécurité (budget de 2012) et à l’examen réglementaire de mégaprojets (budget de 2014). La diminution (environ 8) du nombre de ressources humaines prévues (équivalent temps plein) pour l’exercice 2018-2019, comparativement nombre prévu pour l’exercice 2017-2018, est principalement attribuable à la stratégie provisoire visant les pipelines (budget de 2016) et aux audiences visant des mégaprojets (budget de 2014) qui se terminent à fin  de l’exercice 2017-2018.

Budget des dépenses par crédit voté

Pour obtenir de l’information sur les crédits de l’Office national de l’énergie consulter le Budget principal des dépenses de 2017-2018.

État des résultats condensé prospectif

L’état des résultats condensé prospectif donne un aperçu général des opérations de l’Office national de l’énergie. Les prévisions des renseignements financiers concernant les dépenses et les recettes sont préparées selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice afin de renforcer la responsabilisation et d’améliorer la transparence et la gestion financière.

Étant donné que l’état des résultats condensé prospectif est préparé selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice et que les montants des dépenses projetées et des dépenses prévues présentées dans d’autres sections du Plan ministériel sont établis selon la méthode de comptabilité axée sur les dépenses, il est possible que les montants diffèrent.

Un état des résultats prospectif plus détaillé et des notes afférentes, notamment un rapprochement des coûts de fonctionnement nets et des autorisations demandées, se trouve sur le site Web de l’Office national de l’énergie.

État des résultats condensé prospectif
Pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018 (en dollars)

État des résultats condensé prospectif – Pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018 (en dollars)
Renseignements financiers Résultats projetés de 2016-2017 Résultats prévus pour 2017-2018 Écart
(résultats prévus pour 2017-2018
moins
résultats projetés pour 2016-2017)
Total des dépenses 99 234 413 96 328 839 (2 905 574)
Total des revenus
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement du gouvernement et les transferts 99 234 413 96 328 839 (2 905 574)

Les dépenses prévues pour 2017-2018 correspondent à 96,3 millions de dollars, soit une diminution de 2,9 millions de dollars par rapport aux dépenses projetées pour 2016-2017, qui s’établissaient à 99,2 millions de dollars. Cette baisse s’explique principalement par ce qui suit :

  • écart de 2,5 millions de dollars entre les dépenses projetées pour 2016-2017 et les dépenses prévues pour 2017-2018 principalement attribuable à la baisse du financement lié au programme de sécurité (budget de 2012) et à l’examen réglementaire de mégaprojets (budget de 2014), écart en partie contrebalancé par une hausse du financement lié aux programmes de la stratégie provisoire visant les pipelines (budget de 2016).
  • diminution des services fournis gratuitement de 0,7 million de dollars liée à la baisse du taux du régime d’avantages sociaux des employés, qui a été approuvée par le Conseil de Trésor;
  • augmentation de l’amortissement de 0,3 million de dollars liée à l’augmentation prévue de l’acquisition d’immobilisations.
Date de modification :