National Energy Board - fact sheet

What is the National Energy Board?

The National Energy Board is an independent federal regulator established in 1959.

The NEB has quasi-judicial powers, with the rights and privileges of a superior court, established by the National Energy Board Act (NEB Act). Our decisions are all enforceable in law. For major applications and inquiries, we hold public hearings where parties must submit evidence into the public record and decisions must be based on the evidence submitted.

We do not create or debate federal energy policy. The Parliament of Canada and its elected officials have that mandate. The only way we participate in the government's energy policy is if we are asked to provide expert opinion on energy matters that are then used by the government in setting energy policy.

What is the NEB's mandate?

The NEB's purpose is to promote safety and security, environmental protection and efficient energy infrastructure and markets in the Canadian public interest. We do this within the mandate set by Parliament in the regulation of pipelines, energy development and trade.

Our main responsibilities include regulating the construction and operation of interprovincial and international oil and gas pipelines, international power lines and designated interprovincial power lines. We also regulate the tolls and tariffs for pipelines under its jurisdiction. As well, the we regulate the export of natural gas, oil, natural gas liquids (NGLs) and electricity, and the import of natural gas.

The NEB publishes assessments to inform Canadians on trends, events and issues that may affect Canadian energy markets. As well, we regulate oil and gas exploration and development on specified areas that are not regulated under joint federal/provincial accords.

Our regulatory oversight extends over 73,000 kilometres of pipeline across the country, and approximately 1,400 kilometres of international power lines.

How does the NEB operate?

Applications are made to the NEB for any of the activities we regulate. After an application is submitted, we review it and determine whether a hearing is required and if so, whether it is to be a written or an oral hearing. A hearing will typically be held for certain types of applications, such as for new interprovincial or international pipelines more than 40 kilometres in length (these are known as section 52 facility applications or Part III applications, referring to the section and part of the NEB Act under which they are submitted).

To convene a hearing, we issue a hearing order that provides details on the process, including how persons who are directly affected or who have relevant information or expertise can participate, and the deadline to apply to participate. More information is available on our website in the National Energy Board Hearing Process Handbook. Applications filed under section 58 or Part IV of the NEB Act do not automatically trigger a public hearing.

The NEB's involvement in a project does not end with an approval. We can attach any number of conditions to project approvals. We then monitor and enforce them throughout the life cycle of the project, from approval to abandonment.

What does the NEB consider when reviewing an application?

During the review of an application, we consider all information that is relevant, keeping in mind our mandate and jurisdiction. For an application where a hearing order is issued, we will typically include a list of issues outlining what we will consider.

How does the NEB protect the environment and ensure public safety of NEB-regulated projects?

Environmental assessment

Since our beginning in 1959, the NEB has considered the environment when making regulatory decisions. Our environmental responsibility includes promoting environmental protection during planning, construction, operation, and abandonment of facilities within our jurisdiction.

Making sure the right safety measures are in place and taking the appropriate enforcement actions are key to protecting the environment. We have some 75 staff with expertise in environmental protection, including those specializing in:

  • physical and meteorological environment
  • soil, soil productivity and vegetation
  • wetlands, water quality and quantity
  • fish, wildlife, and their habitat
  • species at risk or species of special status and related habitat
  • heritage resources
  • traditional land and resource use
  • human health, aesthetics and noise

Companies planning to build energy facilities are required to satisfy the NEB that they have anticipated environmental effects likely to be associated with the project. We conduct an environmental assessment during our review of applications as a part of our public interest mandate.

Some major NEB-regulated projects also require an environmental assessment under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 (CEA Act 2012). As a "responsible authority" under the CEA Act 2012, we ensure the right environmental assessments are conducted for projects under our jurisdiction, according to standards prescribed by the legislation.

We also audit and inspect a company’s activities, including routine maintenance and monitoring procedures over the life cycle of an energy project. We do this to confirm that the project complies with regulatory requirements and any conditions we have imposed.

Environmental protection and safety

If a project is approved, we expect the company to continue to protect the environment, public health and safety. We confirm this by auditing and inspecting the company's construction activities, maintenance and monitoring procedures during the operation of the pipeline, and its procedures during abandonment.

The NEB's environmental responsibility includes promoting environmental protection during the planning, construction, operation and abandonment of energy projects within its jurisdiction. When making our decisions, we may consider:

  • environmental concerns related to air, land and water pollution
  • disturbance of renewable and non-renewable resources
  • the integrity of natural habitats
  • the disruption of land and resource use
  • the protection of landowner rights

Safety is one of the NEB’s top priorities. We are responsible for ensuring companies meet regulations on the safety of employees, public and environment, as they may be affected by the design, construction, operation, maintenance and abandonment of a pipeline or international power line. We work with the Canadian Standards Association to establish safety regulations and technical standards for federally regulated pipelines.

Through an agreement between the NEB and Human Resources and Social Development Canada, certain NEB staff members have been designated as safety officers for the occupational health and safety of pipeline company field staff. These health and safety duties are usually combined with other construction site and facility inspections.

The NEB shares responsibility with the Transportation Safety Board (TSB) for incident investigation. We investigate pipeline incidents to determine whether our regulations have been followed and if those regulations may need to be changed. The TSB investigates the cause and contributing factors. We also monitor excavation activity by third parties near pipelines to enforce compliance with existing regulations.

We have a rigorous compliance monitoring and enforcement program – we hold companies accountable for results in the public interest. The program includes compliance audits and inspection of construction and operating facilities. When a violation or an unsafe condition is detected, we expect immediate correction and an assessment of the root causes, so the issue doesn’t happen again. Failure to address a violation or unsafe condition can result in further NEB sanction, such as suspension of operation.

What happens if there is a release?

Our focus is on preventing incidents from happening in the first place. We expect regulated companies to strive for zero spills or releases. However, should an incident occur, our top priority is the safety and security of people, as well as the protection of the environment.

Each regulated company must maintain an up-to-date emergency procedure manual outlining its emergency management procedures to be followed during an incident. The procedures must address emergency management, environmental protection, and worker and public safety. This plan must be on file with the NEB and the TSB.

Companies are responsible for reporting any incident to the TSB and the NEB and for implementing their emergency response plan. We initiate our incident response procedures, which may include activation of our Emergency Operations Centre.

We will verify that a company conducts an adequate and appropriate cleanup and remediation of any environmental effects resulting from the incident.

Download National Energy Board – Fact Sheet [PDF 213 KB]

Contact information

Contact information
Address: National Energy Board
Suite 210, 517 Tenth Avenue SW
Calgary, Alberta
T2R 0A8
General email: info@neb-one.gc.ca
Library email: library@neb-one.gc.ca
Publications email: publications@neb-one.gc.ca
Lands email: LandsInfo@neb-one.gc.ca
Website: www.neb-one.gc.ca
Telephone: 403-292-4800
Toll free: 1-800-899-1265
Fax: 403-292-5503
Toll free fax: 1-877-288-8803
TTY (teletype): 1-800-632-1663
Date modified:

Office national de l’énergie - Fiche d’information

Qu’est-ce que l’Office national de l’énergie?

L’Office national de l’énergie est un organisme de réglementation fédéral indépendant qui a été créé en 1959.

L’Office a un pouvoir quasi judiciaire et possède les mêmes droits et privilèges qu’une cour supérieure; ces attributions lui sont conférées par la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie (la Loi). Les décisions de l’Office sont exécutoires en vertu de la loi. Pour les demandes visant des projets de grande envergure et les enquêtes importantes, l’Office tient des audiences publiques où les parties doivent déposer des preuves au dossier public, sur lesquelles reposent les décisions.

L’Office national de l’énergie n’élabore pas la politique énergétique fédérale et ne tient pas de débat à cet égard. Cela relève du mandat du Parlement du Canada et des représentants élus. La seule contribution de l’Office en la matière consiste à formuler, quand il est invité à le faire, un avis spécialisé sur des questions reliées à l’énergie, que le gouvernement utilise ensuite pour élaborer la politique énergétique.

Quel est le mandat de l’Office?

La raison d’être de l’Office est de promouvoir, dans l’intérêt public canadien, la sûreté et la sécurité, la protection de l’environnement et l’efficience de l’infrastructure et des marchés énergétiques, dans le cadre du mandat que lui a confié le Parlement au chapitre de la réglementation des pipelines, de la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et du commerce de l’énergie.

La principale fonction de l’Office consiste à réglementer la construction et l’exploitation des oléoducs et gazoducs interprovinciaux et internationaux, des lignes internationales de transport d’électricité et des lignes interprovinciales désignées. L’Office réglemente aussi les droits et les tarifs des pipelines relevant de sa compétence, les exportations de gaz naturel, de pétrole, de liquides de gaz naturel et d’électricité ainsi que les importations de gaz naturel.

L’Office publie des analyses périodiques pour renseigner la population sur les tendances, les événements et les enjeux susceptibles d’influer sur les marchés canadiens de l’énergie. De plus, l’Office réglemente l’exploration et la mise en valeur du pétrole et du gaz dans les régions qui ne sont pas réglementées au titre d’accords conjoints fédéraux-provinciaux.

La surveillance réglementaire de l’Office s’applique à plus 73 000 kilomètres de pipelines qui sillonent le pays, et à quelque 1 400 kilomètres de lignes internationales de transport d’électricité.

Comment l’Office fonctionne-t-il?

Des demandes sont présentées à l’Office pour toutes les activités soumises à sa réglementation. L’Office examine ces demandes et détermine s’il y a lieu de tenir une audience et, le cas échéant, si elle doit se dérouler oralement ou sur pièces (par écrit). Certains types de demande donnent généralement lieu à une audience. C’est le cas des nouveaux pipelines interprovinciaux ou internationaux de plus de 40 kilomètres de longueur (demandes d’installations présentées aux termes de l’article 52 ou de la partie III de la Loi).

Pour convoquer une audience, l’Office publie une ordonnance renfermant des renseignements complets sur le processus, y compris la marche à suivre pour les personnes directement touchées ou ayant des renseignements pertinents ou une expertise appropriée qui désirent participer à l’audience, ainsi que la date limite pour faire une demande de participation. De plus amples renseignements sont disponibles dans le Guide sur le processus d’audience de l’Office national de l’énergie sur le site Web de l’Office. Les demandes présentées aux termes de l’article 58 ou de la partie IV de la Loi n’entraînent pas automatiquement la tenue d’une audience publique.

Le rôle de l’Office ne s’arrête pas une fois qu’un projet a été autorisé. L’Office peut assortir ses autorisations de nombreuses conditions, dont il assure le respect en exerçant une surveillance tout au long du cycle de vie des projets, de l’autorisation à la cessation d’exploitation.

Quels éléments l’Office examine-t-il quand une demande d’autorisation lui est présentée?

Lorsque l’Office étudie une demande, il prend en considération tous les renseignements qui sont pertinents, en tenant compte de son mandat et de son champ de compétence. En général, quand une demande nécessite la publication d’une ordonnance d’audience, l’Office y joint une liste des questions qu’il se propose d’étudier.

Quels moyens l’Office prend-il pour protéger l’environnement et assurer la sécurité de la population canadienne pour les projets soumis à sa réglementation?

Évaluation environnementale

Depuis sa création en 1959, l’Office tient compte de l’environnement dans ses décisions de réglementation. Il doit favoriser la protection de l’environnement durant la planification, la construction, l’exploitation et la cessation d’exploitation des installations de son ressort.

La protection de l’environnement repose principalement sur les mesures de sécurité en place et l’application de la loi. L’Office compte sur quelque 75 spécialistes de la protection de l’environnement, notamment dans les domaines suivants :

  • milieu physique et environnement météorologique;
  • sol, productivité du sol et végétation;
  • zones humides, qualité et quantité de l’eau;
  • poissons, faune et leur habitat;
  • espèces en péril ou à statut particulier et habitat connexe;
  • ressources patrimoniales;
  • usage des terres et des ressources à des fins traditionnelles;
  • santé humaine, esthétique et bruit.

Les sociétés qui projettent de construire des installations énergétiques doivent convaincre l’Office qu’elles ont envisagé les effets environnementaux pouvant découler du projet. Lorsque l’Office examine une demande relative à un projet, il réalise une évaluation environnementale afin de s’assurer qu’il agit dans l’intérêt public.

Certains grands projets réglementés par l’Office exigent aussi la tenue d’une évaluation environnementale en application de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012) [LCEE (2012)]. À titre d’autorité responsable aux termes de la LCEE (2012), l’Office veille à ce que les évaluations environnementales appropriées soient menées pour les projets de son ressort, en respectant les normes prescrites dans la loi.

En outre, l’Office vérifie et inspecte les activités des sociétés, notamment les procédures de surveillance et d’entretien périodique tout au long du cycle de vie des projets énergétiques. L’Office confirme ainsi que les projets sont conformes à toutes les conditions qu’il a imposées.

Protection de l’environnement et sécurité

Lorsqu’un projet est approuvé, l’Office attend de la société qu’elle protège l’environnement de même que la santé et la sécurité du public. L’Office confirme que ces exigences sont satisfaites en vérifiant et en inspectant les activités de construction, d’entretien et de surveillance menées par les sociétés pendant l’exploitation des pipelines, ainsi que la procédure de cessation d’exploitation.

L’Office doit veiller à la protection de l’environnement pendant la planification, la construction, l’exploitation et la cessation d’exploitation des projets énergétiques de son ressort. Pour rendre une décision, il peut tenir compte de ce qui suit :

  • préoccupations environnementales reliées à la pollution de l’air, du sol et de l’eau;
  • perturbations des ressources renouvelables et non renouvelables;
  • intégrité des habitats naturels;
  • perturbations dans l’usage des terres et des ressources;
  • protection des droits des propriétaires fonciers.

La sécurité fait partie des priorités absolues de l’Office, qui doit aussi veiller à ce que les sociétés observent les règlements relatifs à la sécurité des travailleurs, de la population et de l’environnement, qui peuvent être touchés par la conception, la construction, l’exploitation, l’entretien et l’abandon d’un pipeline ou d’une ligne internationale de transport d’électricité. L’Office collabore avec l’Association canadienne de normalisation pour établir des règlements et des normes techniques applicables aux pipelines de ressort fédéral.

Dans le cadre d’un accord conclu entre l’Office et Emploi et Développement social Canada, certains employés de l’Office ont été désignés comme agents de sécurité pour les besoins de santé et sécurité au travail du personnel sur le terrain des sociétés pipelinières. Ces tâches sont généralement menées de concert avec les inspections de chantiers de construction et d’installations.

L’Office partage la responsabilité des enquêtes sur des incidents pipeliniers avec le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST). L’enquête de l’Office sert à déterminer si ses règlements ont été observés et s’il y a lieu d’apporter des modifications réglementaires; celle du BST vise à découvrir la cause et les facteurs qui ont contribué à l’incident. L’Office surveille aussi les travaux d’excavation effectués par des tiers à proximité des pipelines pour assurer la conformité aux règlements en vigueur.

L’Office tient les sociétés responsables de produire des résultats dans l’intérêt public au moyen d’un programme rigoureux de surveillance de la conformité et du respect des exigences. Ce programme comprend des vérifications de la conformité et des inspections des installations durant la construction et l’exploitation. Lorsqu’une infraction ou une situation risquée est repérée, l’Office s’attend à ce que le problème soit corrigé sans délai et à ce que les causes fondamentales soient évaluées afin que cela ne se reproduise plus. Si l’infraction ou la situation n’est pas corrigée, l’Office peut infliger une sanction, telle que la suspension de l’exploitation.

Qu’arrive-t-il en cas de rejet?

L’Office s’efforce d’abord et avant tout de prévenir les incidents. Il s’attend à ce que les sociétés réglementées fassent tout en leur possible pour éviter complètement les déversements ou rejets. Néanmoins, lorsqu’un incident survient, la priorité absolue est la sûreté et la sécurité des personnes, de même que la protection de l’environnement.

Toutes les sociétés réglementées doivent tenir à jour un manuel des mesures d’urgence décrivant le plan de gestion des urgences à suivre lors d’un incident. Les mesures doivent englober la gestion des urgences, la protection de l’environnement et la sécurité des travailleurs et du public. Ce plan doit être soumis à l’Office et au BST.

Les sociétés sont responsables de signaler les incidents au BST et à l’Office, et d’appliquer leur plan d’intervention d’urgence. L’Office lance ensuite ses mesures d’intervention en cas d’incident, qui peuvent inclure l’utilisation du Centre des opérations d’urgence au besoin.

L’Office vérifie que les opérations menées par une société pour nettoyer et atténuer les effets environnementaux causés par l’incident sont adéquates.

Télécharger le document Office national de l’énergie – Fiche d’information [PDF 275 ko]

Coordonnées

Coordonnées
Adresse : Office national de l'énergie
517, Dixième Avenue S.-O., bureau 210
Calgary (Alberta)
T2R 0A8
Courriel : info@neb-one.gc.ca
Courriel – Bibliothèque : bibliotheque@neb-one.gc.ca
Courriel – Publications : publications@neb-one.gc.ca
Courriel – Questions foncières : infoterres@neb-one.gc.ca
Site Web : www.one-neb.gc.ca
Téléphone : 403-292-4800
Sans frais : 1-800-899-1265
Télécopieur : 403-292-5503
Télécopieur sans frais : 1-877-288-8803
TTY (téléimprimeur) : 1-800-632-1663
Date de modification :