Board Member Accountability Profile

JOB TITLE: Board Member

ORGANIZATION: National Energy Board

LOCATION: Calgary, Alberta

PROFILE DATE: 16 April 2010

GROUP AND LEVEL: GC-Q6 (salary up to $168,300)

The National Energy Board (NEB) is recognized as the senior energy regulatory agency in Canada.

The National Energy Board is a court of record, with the powers, rights and privileges of a superior court, established in 1959 by the National Energy Board Act. For major applications and inquiries, the Board holds public hearings at which parties must submit evidence into the public record and decisions must be based on the evidence submitted.

Primary Focus:

As one of nine permanent members of a quasi-judicial tribunal, a Board Member's principal accountability is to take decisions that regulates pipelines, energy development and trade in the Canadian public interest. The Board regulates inter-provincial and international pipelines, international power lines, the export and import of energy, and tolls and tariffs, as well as oil and gas activities on frontier lands.

Specific Accountabilities:

  1. Ensures that Canada's energy resources are used effectively and prudently in the interests of Canadians through the approval of appropriate inter-provincial and international energy projects, the subsequent monitoring and regulation of energy facilities, the approval of energy exports, and the establishment of tolls and tariffs (rates for the transport of energy products).
  2. Ensures that NEB-regulated energy facilities/infrastructure are constructed and operated in a manner that is safe, and perceived to be safe.
  3. Ensures that NEB-regulated facilities are built and operated in a manner that is safe, protects the environment and respects the rights of landowners, the general public, Indigenous groups and energy companies.
  4. Ensures that the NEB meets the evolving energy-related needs of the Canadian public by engaging all types of stakeholders, and maintaining the openness of the NEB application and regulatory processes through NEB regulatory hearings and other forums.
  5. Maintains a comprehensive understanding of industry developments, and reviews audits of both the physical operations and economic impact of energy facilities and projects, to ensure the continued relevance of NEB decisions and its regulatory framework.
  6. Advises the government on the development and use of energy resources, and on energy markets and international trade, related to the NEB mandate.

Note: The above accountabilities are not listed in any order of priority, as all are considered to be of equal importance.

Reporting Relationships:

Report to:

Board Members report to Parliament and work in an autonomous, collegial and yet independent environment, similar to that of a judge in the civil court system. Board decisions are final; only export licences and certificates for new facilities, must be approved by Cabinet. Board decisions are generally subject to appeal only on grounds of law or jurisdiction.

For administrative purposes, Board Members report to the NEB Chairperson.

Direct Reports:

As Members of a quasi-judicial tribunal, Board Members do not have any direct reports, although they are required to lead Project Working Groups.

Dimensions:

Energy Industry Projects: individual projects ranging up to $5 to 10 billion in capital costs

Tariffs/Tolls under NEB Jurisdiction: $4.5 billion/year

Landowner Impact: 45,000 km of pipeline in rural and urban settings across Canada

Energy Commodity Exports Subject to NEB Licensing: $70 billion/year

Economic Impact: The Canadian energy industry represents 6% of overall GDP, 12% of total merchandise exports and employs approximately 290,000 Canadians

Challenges, Issues and Initiatives:

The Canadian energy industry continues to change and evolve, creating new challenges for the NEB in response to such factors as:

  • the integration of the industry within a North American context, including deregulation, increased competition, and the "convergence" of energy providers and commodities;
  • increasing competition and restructuring within the pipeline industry;
  • ageing pipeline infrastructures and potential public safety and environmental issues;
  • evolving public interests and concerns regarding environmental impacts for regulated facilities, as well as increasing consideration for landowner and aboriginal rights; and
  • development of new supply basins (e.g. Scotian shelf and Arctic gas).

Canadians rely on an efficient natural gas and oil transmission system to safely deliver energy to them throughout the year. Board Member decisions on pipeline tolls and tariffs, new pipeline facilities and exports impact directly on the reliability and efficiency with which natural gas and oil are delivered to Canadian homes, businesses, industrial users and other consumers.

In the electricity industry, the Board's mandate includes approving the construction of international power lines and the export of electricity. Ongoing changes in the structure of the Canadian electricity industry present a significant challenge. The Board must be fully conversant with the changes and their potential impacts, while continuing to carry out its legislated regulatory obligations.

Due to these significant factors, the nature of regulatory work requires complex decision making, usually involving large amounts of technical evidence and the need to balance the interests and rights of a diverse range of interest groups. Such decision making relies on a thorough knowledge and understanding of the energy industry, as well as professional knowledge of economics, engineering, environmental science, finance and law.

Initiatives where the Board is leading the industry in addressing the above

  • encouraging negotiated toll settlements
  • initiating goal-oriented regulations (e.g. safety management program, environmental management program)

Working Environment and Conditions:

i. Pressures:

Work pressure is an inherent feature of a Board Member's responsibility. Board Members must balance the energy industry applicants' demand for timely decisions with the interests of other stakeholders. In addition, NEB decisions often involve proposals for very large capital expenditures that can have significant pressure impacts. The NEB also handles a large volume of applications (in excess of 900) which further add to work pressures.

ii. Sensory Attention:

Board Members are required to sustain a very high level of sensory attention in assessing evidence submitted to the Board both orally and in written form. There often is a very large amount of evidence presented (in great depth and breadth), covering a wide variety of legal, technical, economic and social areas.

iii. Demands:

NEB Board Members are regularly required to travel to other locations across Canada for hearings or other meetings/investigations. While Board Members are required to reside in Calgary, the duration of hearings (anywhere in Canada) can be several weeks to several months often requiring evening and weekend sessions.

Core Competencies:

i. Conceptual / Innovative Thinking

The incumbent is required to assimilate, interpret and make decisions on large volumes of complex and conflicting information across a broad range of disciplines and bodies of knowledge that relate to numerous Acts and Regulations (notably, NEBA, COGOA, CEAA 2012, and CPRA) unique to the energy industry. On occasion, this involves new and unique issues for which there is no definitive answer and the Member is required to consider innovative or new approaches to resolve or address the issue.

ii. Leadership

The incumbent must demonstrate intellectual leadership in defining the future direction of energy development and in the interpretation and application of energy industry research (e.g. pricing of transportation services through negotiated settlements). Leadership is an implicit competency for this role as Members direct the work of a Project Working Group during a hearing process, and ultimately take decisions, requiring the balancing of divergent interests among various stakeholders.

iii. Flexibility

The incumbent must display significant flexibility, as the challenge of understanding and appreciating different and opposing viewpoints/perspectives with respect to the viability and desirability of various energy projects is always evident. Incumbents must be able to adapt to changes in government policy with respect to energy issues (e.g. deregulation).

iv. Impact and Influence

The incumbent must be continually aware of how NEB policies and decisions affect public interests; must be sensitive to various stakeholder needs/agendas; and must demonstrate strong persuasive abilities. Board decisions always impact, to greater or lesser extent, the energy industry and general public from safety, economic and environmental perspectives.

v. Listening, Understanding and Responding

The incumbent is required to demonstrate an understanding of various stakeholder positions and general energy industry situations, based on accurately hearing and interpreting all forms of written and oral communication. This competency is an obvious aspect of all public hearings, but also extends to interaction with NEB staff. Board Members also interface with senior government officials at federal and provincial levels, business and labour representatives and international organizations (e.g. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission in the U.S.). Written decisions must be clear, concise and well reasoned.

Date modified:

Profil de responsabilisation des membres

TITRE DU POSTE : Membre de l'Office

ORGANISATION : Office national de l'énergie

LIEU : Calgary (Alberta)

DATE DU PROFIL : 16 avril 2010

GROUPE ET NIVEAU : GC-Q6 (salaire jusqu'à 168 300 $)

L'Office national de l'énergie (ONÉ) est reconnu comme le principal organisme de réglementation de l'énergie au Canada.

L'Office national de l'énergie, créé en 1959 par la Loi sur l'Office national de l'énergie, est un tribunal d'archives ayant les pouvoirs, les droits et les privilèges d'une cour supérieure. Pour les demandes et les enquêtes majeures, l'Office tient des audiences publiques au cours desquelles les parties doivent soumettre des preuves sur lesquelles doivent être basées les décisions prises.

Objet premier :

La principale responsabilité du membre de l'Office, en tant qu'un de neuf membres permanents d'un tribunal quasi judiciaire, consiste à prendre des décisions visant à réglementer, dans l'intérêt public canadien, les pipelines, la mise en valeur des ressources énergétiques et le commerce de l'énergie. L'Office réglemente les pipelines interprovinciaux et internationaux, l'exportation et l'importation d'énergie, les droits et tarifs énergétiques ainsi que les activités relatives au pétrole et au gaz dans les terres domaniales.

Responsabilités précises :

En tant que vice-président ou vice-présidente :

1) S'assurer que les ressources énergétiques du Canada sont utilisées efficacement et prudemment dans l'intérêt des Canadiens au moyen de l'approbation des projets énergétiques interprovinciaux et internationaux appropriés, de la réglementation et du contrôle subséquents des installations énergétiques, de l'approbation des exportations d'énergie et de l'établissement de droits et de tarifs (pour le transport de produits énergétiques).

2) S'assurer que les installations et infrastructures énergétiques réglementées par l'ONÉ sont construites et utilisées d'une manière à la fois sécuritaire et perçue comme telle.

3) S’assurer que les installations réglementées par l’Office sont construites et exploitées de manière sécuritaire et respectueuse de l’environnement et des droits des propriétaires fonciers, de la population en général, des groupes autochtones et des sociétés d’énergie.

4) S'assurer que l'ONÉ répond aux besoins énergétiques en évolution de la population canadienne en retenant les services d'intervenants de tous genres et en maintenant l'ouverture des processus de demandes et de réglementation de l'ONÉ au moyen des audiences réglementaires de l'ONÉ et d'autres tribunes.

5) Maintenir une compréhension exhaustive des développements de l'industrie et examiner les vérifications à la fois des opérations matérielles et de l'incidence économique des installations et des projets énergétiques, afin d'assurer la pertinence permanente des décisions de l'ONÉ et de son cadre de réglementation.

6) Conseiller le gouvernement au sujet du développement et de l'utilisation des ressources énergétiques et au sujet des marchés de l'énergie et du commerce énergétique international dans le contexte du mandat de l'ONÉ.

Remarque : Les responsabilités ci-dessus ne sont énumérées dans aucun ordre de priorité, car elles sont considérées comme étant toutes d'égale importance.

Rapports hiérarchiques :

Reddition de comptes :

Les membres de l'Office rendent des comptes au Parlement et travaillent dans un cadre autonome, collégial et cependant indépendant, semblable à celui d'un juge d'un tribunal civil. Les décisions de l'Office sont définitives; seuls les licences d'exportation et les certificats pour les nouvelles installations doivent être approuvés par le Cabinet. Les décisions de l'Office ne peuvent en général faire l'objet d'un appel qu'en vertu d'une loi ou que pour une question de compétence.

Les membres de l'Office relèvent du président ou de la présidente de l'ONÉ à des fins administratives.

Subordonnés directs :

En tant que membres d'un tribunal quasi judiciaire, les membres de l'Office n'ont aucun subordonné direct, bien qu'il leur faille diriger des groupes de travail de projet.

Données chiffrées :

Projets relatifs à l'industrie de l'énergie : projets individuels atteignant 5 à 10 milliards de dollars en coûts d'immobilisations.

Droits et tarifs sous la compétence de l'ONÉ : 4,5 milliards de dollars par année.

Impact sur les propriétaires de terres : 45 000 km de pipeline dans les zones rurales et urbaines sur tout le territoire du Canada.

Exportations de produits énergétiques sous licence délivrée par l'ONÉ : 70 milliards de dollars par année.

Impact économique : L'industrie canadienne de l'énergie représente 6 % du PIB total et 12 % des exportations de marchandises totales et emploie environ 290 000 Canadiens.

Défis, enjeux et initiatives :

L'industrie canadienne de l'énergie continue de changer et d'évoluer, créant de nouveaux défis pour l'ONÉ, qui doit faire face entre autres aux réalités suivantes :

  • l'intégration de l'industrie dans un contexte nord-américain, caractérisé par la déréglementation, une concurrence accrue et la « convergence » des fournisseurs d'énergie et des produits énergétiques;
  • une concurrence de plus en plus grande dans le secteur des pipelines et une restructuration de celui-ci;
  • le vieillissement des infrastructures de pipeline et les risques potentiels pour la sécurité et l'environnement;
  • l'évolution des intérêts et des préoccupations de la population au sujet des impacts environnementaux des installations réglementées, ainsi qu'une plus grande attention à l'égard des droits des propriétaires de terres et des droits des autochtones;
  • le développement de nouveaux bassins d'approvisionnement (p. ex. la Plate-forme Néo-Écossaise et le gaz de l'Arctique).

Les Canadiens comptent sur un système efficient de transport du pétrole et du gaz naturel pour leur apporter de l'énergie de façon sécuritaire tout au long de l'année. Les décisions des membres de l'Office au sujet des droits et tarifs relatifs aux pipelines, des nouveaux pipelines et des exportations ont un impact direct sur la fiabilité et l'efficience de la livraison du pétrole et du gaz naturel aux foyers canadiens, aux entreprises, aux utilisateurs industriels et aux autres consommateurs.

En ce qui concerne l'industrie de l'électricité, l'Office a pour mandat d'approuver la construction de lignes internationales de transport d'électricité et l'exportation d'électricité. Les changements continus dans la structure de l'industrie canadienne de l'électricité représentent un défi important. L'Office doit très bien connaître ces changements et leurs répercussions potentielles, tout en continuant à remplir ses obligations de réglementation qui lui sont imposées par la loi.

En raison de ces facteurs importants, le travail de réglementation requiert de par sa nature la prise de décisions complexes faisant habituellement intervenir un grand nombre de preuves techniques et tenant compte de la nécessité d'assurer un équilibre entre les droits et les intérêts de diverses parties. De telles décisions sont basées sur une connaissance approfondie de l'industrie de l'énergie ainsi que sur une connaissance professionnelle de l'économie, de l'ingénierie, de la science environnementale, de la finance et du droit.

Les initiatives par lesquelles l'Office joue un rôle de leadership auprès de l'industrie en s'attaquant aux défis mentionnés ci-dessus sont les suivantes :

  • encourager l'établissement de droits négociés
  • établir des règlements axés sur les objectifs (p. ex. programme de gestion de la sécurité, programme de gestion environnementale)

Conditions et environnement de travail :

i. Pressions :

Travailler sous la pression constitue une caractéristique inhérente aux responsabilités des membres de l'Office. Ceux-ci doivent maintenir un équilibre entre les demandes de décisions rapides des demandeurs de l'industrie de l'énergie et les intérêts des autres parties concernées. De plus, les décisions de l'ONÉ ont souvent pour objet des propositions de dépenses d'immobilisations considérables qui peuvent être une source importante de pression. L'ONÉ traite en outre un grand nombre de demandes (plus de 900), ce qui ajoute encore à la pression du travail.

ii. Habiletés sensorielles :

Les membres de l'Office doivent avoir une très grande habileté de concentration pour évaluer les preuves soumises à l'Office à la fois verbalement et par écrit. Les preuves présentées (de façon approfondie et en détail) sont souvent très nombreuses et couvrent un vaste éventail d'aspects juridiques, techniques, économiques et sociaux.

iii. Exigences :

Les membres de l'ONÉ doivent régulièrement voyager à travers le Canada pour tenir des audiences, assister à des réunions ou effectuer des enquêtes. Bien qu'ils doivent avoir comme lieu de résidence Calgary, les audiences (qui peuvent avoir lieu n'importe où au Canada) peuvent durer plusieurs semaines ou plusieurs mois et comportent souvent des séances de soir ou de fin de semaine.

Compétences de base :

i. Réflexion innovatrice / conceptuelle

Le ou la titulaire doit assimiler, interpréter et prendre comme base de décisions d'importants volumes d'informations complexes et conflictuelles englobant un vaste éventail de disciplines et de secteurs de connaissances liés à de nombreux règlements et lois (notamment la Loi sur l'ONÉ, la LOPC, la LCÉE 2102, la LFH et la LPN) particuliers à l'industrie de l'énergie. À l'occasion, des questions uniques et nouvelles se présentent pour lesquelles il n'existe pas de réponse précise, et le membre doit examiner des approches nouvelles ou innovatrices pour les traiter ou les résoudre.

ii. Leadership

Le ou la titulaire doit démontrer un leadership intellectuel dans la définition de l'orientation future du développement de l'énergie et dans l'interprétation et l'application de la recherche relative à l'industrie énergétique (p. ex. l'établissement des prix des services de transport au moyen de négociations). Le leadership constitue une compétence implicite pour ce rôle, car les membres dirigent les activités d'un groupe de travail de projet au cours d'un processus d'audience, et ils prennent en bout de ligne des décisions, ce qui les oblige à assurer l'équilibre entre les intérêts divergents des diverses parties intéressées.

iii. Souplesse

Le ou la titulaire doit faire montre de beaucoup de souplesse, car la difficulté que présente le fait de comprendre et d'apprécier des perspectives et des points de vue différents et opposés à l'égard de la viabilité et de l'opportunité de divers projets énergétiques est toujours évidente. Il ou elle doit être capable de s'adapter aux changements dans les politiques gouvernementales relatives à l'énergie (p. ex. la déréglementation).

iv. Impact et influence

Le ou la titulaire doit continuellement être au courant des impacts des politiques et des décisions de l'ONÉ sur l'intérêt public, être sensible aux besoins et aux orientations des divers intéressés, et faire montre de solides habiletés de persuasion. Les décisions de l'Office ont toujours un impact, dans une mesure plus ou moins grande, sur l'industrie de l'énergie et sur la population en général sur les plans de la sécurité, de l'économie et de l'environnement.

v. Écoute, compréhension et réaction

Le ou la titulaire doit démontrer une compréhension des positions des diverses parties intéressées et des situations générales de l'industrie de l'énergie, sur la base d'une compréhension et d'une interprétation exactes de toutes les formes de communications écrites et verbales. Cette compétence constitue une exigence évidente pour toutes les audiences publiques, mais elle s'étend également aux interactions avec le personnel de l'ONÉ. Les membres de l'Office ont également des relations avec des cadres supérieurs des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux, des représentants d'entreprises et de syndicats et des organismes internationaux (p. ex. la Federal Energy Regulatory Commission des États-Unis). Les décisions écrites doivent être claires, concises et bien motivées.

Date de modification :