Regulation of Pipelines and Power Lines

Pipelines

Interprovincial and international oil and gas pipelines and additions to existing pipeline systems under federal jurisdiction require the Board's approval before they may be built. Public oral or written hearings are held for pipeline construction applications exceeding 40 kilometres in length or any other applications at the discretion of the Board. Pipelines which lie completely within the borders of a single province are regulated by that province's regulatory body.

In determining whether a pipeline project should proceed, the Board reviews, among other things, its economic, technical and financial feasibility, and the environmental and socio-economic impact of the project.

To ensure that engineering, safety and environmental requirements are met, the Board audits and inspects the construction and operation of pipelines. Since February 1987, Board inspectors have also been responsible for enforcing Part II of the Canada Labour Code, applying to the occupational safety and health of pipeline workers in the field.

The NEB shares responsibility with the Transportation Safety Board for incident investigation. The NEB investigates pipeline incidents to determine whether its regulations have been followed and if those regulations may need to be changed. The Transportation Safety Board investigates the cause and contributing factors. The NEB also monitors excavation activity by third parties near pipelines to ensure compliance with existing regulations.

Power Lines

Most electric power lines and facilities fall within provincial jurisdiction. The Board authorizes the construction and operation of international power lines and designated interprovincial lines under federal jurisdiction.

When determining the suitability of an application, the Board reviews, among other things, the technical feasibility of the project, its effect on adjacent provinces and its environmental impact.

Almost all provinces bordering the U.S. have interconnections with neighbouring American utilities.

Environmental Protection

The Board's environmental responsibility includes ensuring environmental protection during the planning, construction, operation and abandonment of energy projects within its jurisdiction. When making its decisions, the Board may take into consideration environmental concerns related to air, land and water pollution, disturbance of renewable and non-renewable resources, the integrity of natural habitats, the disruption of land and resource use, and the protection of landowner rights.

Companies preparing an application to the Board are usually required to anticipate the environmental issues and concerns that the proposed project could create and to discuss these with all levels of government, public interest groups, and affected landowners.

If the project application is approved, the Board ensures that the company continues to protect the environment and public health and safety by auditing and inspecting the company's construction activities, the operation of its system, and the company's routine maintenance and monitoring procedures.

Environmental Assessment

Under the NEB Act, the Board is required to consider matters of public interest as they may be affected by the granting of an application. The Board has assumed a mandate for environmental protection as a component of the public interest. The Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 (CEA Act 2012) provides an additional mechanism to ensure that projects receive appropriate levels of assessment before they proceed. The CEA Act 2012 sets out uniform requirements for environmental assessments by all federal government departments and agencies. As a "responsible authority" under the CEA Act 2012, the Board ensures that appropriate environmental assessments are conducted for projects under its jurisdiction, according to standards prescribed by the legislation. For more information refer to the FAQs on Environmental Assessments.

Public Safety

Safety is a matter of primary public interest and has been included in the Board's mandate since 1959. The Board is responsible for monitoring how companies comply with regulations and commitments concerning the safety of employees, the public, and the environment, as they may be affected by the design, construction, operation, maintenance and abandonment of a pipeline. For the past 45 years the Board has worked with CSA International to develop technical standards currently in effect for federally regulated pipelines.

In addition, through an agreement between the Board and Human Resources and Social Development Canada, Board staff have been designated as Health and Safety Officers for the occupational health and safety of pipeline company field staff. These health and safety duties are usually combined with other inspections.

Date modified:

Règlementation des pipelines et des lignes de transport d’électricité

Pipelines

Les gazoducs et oléoducs interprovinciaux et internationaux ne peuvent être construits qu’avec l’approbation de l’Office. Il en va de même lorsque les réseaux pipeliniers de compétence fédérale doivent être agrandis. Des audiences publiques, orales ou par voie de mémoires, se tiennent pour l’examen des demandes de construction de pipelines dépassant 40 kilomètres de longueur et pour toutes autres demandes, à la discrétion de l’Office. Les pipelines qui se trouvent entièrement sur le territoire d’une province sont du ressort de l’organisme de réglementation de celle-ci.

Lorsqu’il détermine si un projet pipelinier doit aller de l’avant, l’Office examine, entre autres choses, sa faisabilité sur les plans économique, technique et financier, ainsi que ses effets environnementaux et socioéconomiques.

Pour s’assurer que ses exigences en matière d’ingénierie, de sécurité et d’environnement sont respectées, l’Office mène des vérifications et des inspections des travaux de construction et des activités d’exploitation des pipelines. Depuis le mois de février 1987, les inspecteurs de l’Office sont aussi chargés de l’application de la partie II du Code canadien du travail, pour ce qui est de sécurité et de la santé des travailleurs pipeliniers sur les chantiers.

L’Office partage avec le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada des pouvoirs relativement aux enquêtes sur les incidents pipeliniers qui surviennent. Dans de tels cas, l’Office fait enquête pour déterminer si ses règlements ont été respectés et s’il est nécessaire de les modifier. Pour sa part, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports enquête sur la cause et les facteurs contributifs. L’Office surveille aussi les travaux d’excavation effectués par des tiers près des pipelines pour s’assurer que ses règlements sont respectés.

Lignes de transport d’électricité

La plupart des lignes de transport d’électricité et des installations connexes sont du ressort des provinces. L’Office autorise la construction et l’exploitation des lignes internationales de transport d’électricité et de certaines lignes interprovinciales désignées qui sont de compétence fédérale.

Lorsqu’il doit rendre une décision sur une demande, l’Office examine, entre autres choses, la faisabilité technique du projet, ses incidences sur les provinces voisines et ses répercussions sur l’environnement.

Presque tous les services d’électricité provinciaux possèdent des interconnexions avec les services d’électricité américains voisins.

Protection de l’environnement

L’Office doit veiller à la protection de l’environnement durant la planification, la construction, l’exploitation et la cessation d’exploitation des ouvrages relevant de sa compétence. Lorsqu’il doit rendre une décision, l’Office peut tenir compte de préoccupations environnementales comme la pollution de l’air, du sol et de l’eau, la perturbation des ressources renouvelables et non renouvelables, l’intégrité des habitats naturels, l’utilisation des terres et des ressources, et la protection des droits des propriétaires fonciers.

Durant la préparation d’une demande, une société est habituellement tenue de prévoir les incidences et les préoccupations environnementales que son projet pourrait susciter et d’en discuter avec tous les ordres de gouvernement, les groupes de défense de l’intérêt public et les propriétaires fonciers touchés.

Une fois un projet approuvé, l’Office veille à ce que la société continue de protéger l’environnement et d’assurer la santé et la sécurité publiques, en procédant à la vérification et à l’inspection des travaux de construction, des activités d’exploitation du réseau pipelinier et des procédures courantes d’entretien et de surveillance de la société.

Évaluation environnementale

En vertu de la Loi sur l’Office national de l’énergie, l’Office est tenu de prendre en considération les questions d’intérêt public qui peuvent être touchées par l’approbation d’une demande. Il a rempli un mandat pour la protection de l’environnement en tant que composante de l’intérêt public. La Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012) [LCÉE (2012)] offre un mécanisme supplémentaire pour veiller à ce que les projets soient étudiés correctement avant d’aller de l’avant. La LCÉE 2012 définit des exigences uniformes pour les évaluations environnementales menées par tous les ministères et tous les organismes du gouvernement fédéral. En sa qualité d’« autorité responsable » en vertu de la LCÉE 2012, l’Office fait en sorte que les évaluations environnementales appropriées soient réalisées pour les projets de son ressort en respectant les normes prescrites dans la loi. Pour un complément d’information : FAQ - Les évaluations environnementales.

Sécurité du public

La sécurité est une question d’intérêt public primordiale qui fait partie intégrante du mandat de l’Office depuis 1959. L’Office doit veiller à ce que les sociétés respectent les règlements concernant la sécurité des employés, le public et l’environnement, dans la mesure où cela touche à la conception, à la construction, à l’exploitation, à l’entretien et à la cessation d’exploitation d’un pipeline. Au cours des 45 dernières années, l’Office a collaboré avec CSA International à l’élaboration des règlements et des normes techniques qui sont actuellement en vigueur pour tous les pipelines du ressort fédéral.

Par ailleurs, dans le cadre d’un accord conclu entre l’Office et Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada, des employés de l’Office ont été désignés agents de la sécurité pour veiller à la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs des sociétés pipelinières sur le terrain. Ces inspections sont habituellement combinées à d’autres interventions.

Date de modification :